BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/25/2011

Vetionx

(616) 808-32904460 44th St SE, Ste C, Grand RapidsMI 49512-4150 Send email to Vetionx



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/25/2011

BBB has determined that Vetionx meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Vetionx's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Vetionx

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/13/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vetionx advertised an arthritis product for cats offered at "buy 3 and get 2 more "free". Product did not work! 90-day money back guarantee not honor
They advertised online about an arthritic formula for cats that came with a 90-day full money back guarantee according to the phone rep I spoke with.The offer was "buy 3 and get 2 more free" (5 total for the price of 3). First shipment came damaged (3 bottles), and they replaced those at no additional charge. After using 2, our cat began to experience severe itching, which suddenly stopped after stopping use of this product. Our veterinarian advised to stop use. We called and were told to just return the 3 bottles paid for (the 2 additional were free with the original offer), and we would get a full refund. We were issued a "return authorization number (#****), and afterwards only received credit for $53.28 (the original price paid was $111 with free shipping). We had to bear the shipping cost to return the 3 bottles which made out cat sick. After calling them today, they NOW changed their requirement saying that we had to return all 5 bottles to get the full refund, and even then, we would only receive back 80% of original purchase price. This was cleverly NEVER mentioned when I first called them to purchase the product!! They also now claim that "all of those technicals are posted on their web site. This is deceiving, and totally contrary to what the sales rep first told me when first purchasing the product. I have also filed for a full chargeback with my ******** ******* card used to make the purchase. I have paid out over an additional $10-15 just to twice return their products, first when some arrived damaged, then second on the final return. They have NEVER offered compensation for these unnecessary customer expenses either!! If this Co. were on ********** soil, I can and would sue them for any vet bills incurred due to the bad reaction from it's product. We are requesting the additional $57.72 refund on original amount that was paid of $111, less the $53.28 they chose to only refund. Also, they should refund our return postage of about $15, which THEY required us to do.

Desired Settlement
Additional refund of $57.72 plus $15 additional postage expenses (2 different returns).

Business Response
Response to complaint number 37042108:

**. ***** purchased our product package "buy 3 get 2 free" with free shipping on April 1st 2013. He contacted us on April 5th letting us know that 3 bottles arrived damaged. We sent 3 new bottles out the same day with a prepaid return label for the 3 damaged bottles which were returned empty on April 10th.

When **. ***** made the original purchase he asked about the return policy and was advised that we have a 60-day satisfaction guarantee starting from the day of purchase to return the product for a refund. The representative told him that he has to return all 5 bottles full or empty to get the allowed refund for his purchase. He was also told that there is a 20% return processing fee and if he returns all 5 bottles his refund would be $88.80, there is no refund on shipping charges. He agreed to all the terms and proceeded to make his purchase.

We record our phone calls for training purposes and can forward these calls to the appropriate party as proof of the actual conversations. The phone calls can be sent via e-mail attachments.

We did honor our 60-day satisfaction guarantee for **. *****, he received a return authorization number and a refund in accordance with our return policy.
The refund **. ***** received was a partial refund for only 3 bottles returned. We certainly don't want the customer to be dissatisfied with our service and offer to refund the difference if the remaining 2 bottles are returned also.

Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we always try our best to provide the best customer service possible.

All return details are on our website, each product page refers to our return policy which states that ALL bottles need to be returned and that a 20% processing fee will be applied:
http:/**********************************

We also offer an "Ask our Vet" option available through our website at:
************************************
Here all customers can post questions directly to a licensed Veterinarian - free of charge.

Please let us know if you have any questions,
With kind regards
Customer Service
***************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response, as can be seen, does NOT annotate exactly HOW they arrived at only refunding $53.22, a whopping $57.72 LESS than originally paid. The original cost was $22.20 PER BOTTLE ($111 divided by 5 bottles). Thus, even by their own cockeyed calculations, they STILL would have to have refunded $66.60 for 3 bottles. This type-calculation is most often rooted in European-based small business theories, whereby, the "spirit" of "100% guarantee" is not present, rather, a begrudging "absolute cutthroat minimum" basis is applied just in an attempt to "cover" some idea of warranty, however minimal!! This type of refund given defeats the whole purpose of a 100% satisfaction guarantee! Further, it is actually in "bad faith" since such a minor portion of the original amount paid is given, and with such defensiveness. The fact that the original shipment was damaged is NOT material to this refund issue, but they try to insert this so as to "prop-up" their defense that they can "justify" their minute refund given. Empty bottles returned prove absolutely nothing except to make it more difficult for the customer to keep tract of IN THE HOPES THAT the dissatisfied customer will forget & discard them so they can fall back on some pointless technicality to justify less or no refund. If this co. were on ********** soil I would compel them to explain this nonsensical policy before a court of law...and they would likely lose. Who ever heard of an 80% guarantee ? You either stand behind your product or you DO NOT!!!

Final Business Response
Calculating the $53.28 refund is quite simple: 5 bottles ordered, 3 were returned. That is 60% of the original $111 order. Our refund policy is very clear on our website, and states that there is a 20% returns processing fee. This works out to: $111 X 0.60 X 0.80 = $53.28. Or, we can go with $111 / 5 bottles = $22.20 per bottle. 3 bottles returned = 3 X $22.2 X 0.80 = $53.28. Either way you choose, the math does work out. If all five bottles were returned, the refund would be $111 X 0.80 = $88.80. The purpose of our 20% returns processing fee is just what the name implies, to cover some of the expense incurred in handling returns (and complaints associated with returns, such as this). This has been our policy since 2009, and we feel that our 20% returns processing fee is very reasonable, and in-line with that of other online retailers such as Amazon.com.

The mention of the return label is not just to make us look good. In the original complaint, **. ***** specifically states: "I have paid out over an additional $10-15 just to twice return their products, first when some arrived damaged, then second on the final return." This is not the case, as we provided a pre-paid shipping label for the first return of damaged product.

The fact that **. ***** specifically inquired about the return policy in his initial call is important in this discussion as well. Our call center staff are trained to very thoroughly explain all details of our return policy to those asking. While this may turn away some customers from buying, we believe that being upfront about the requirements and fees mitigates problems in the future. ** ***** asked about and was informed about our return processing fee prior to placing his order. The recorded phone conversations will proof that and are available to listen to.

We have concluded to waive the return processing fee for Mr. *****. The payment can be sent to **. ***** as soon as the chargeback has been resolved. For your information, **. ***** filed a chargeback with his credit card company for the whole order amount of $111.00, although he already received a refund in the amount of $53.28.

Please let us know if you have any questions,
With kind regards
Customer Service
***************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/12/2009Business started: 01/30/2007
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2007, MI

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Albert Duoibes (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Petra Frueauf (Customer Service Manager)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Internet Shopping

Products & Services

This company offers nutritional supplements for pets.

Alternate Business Names
IonxHealth, Inc.

If you choose to do business with Vetionx, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Vetionx

4460 44th St SE, Ste C

Grand Rapids, MI 49512-4150

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4460 44th St SE, Ste C 

    Grand Rapids, MI 49512-4150(616) 808-3290

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Vetionx is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews as of January 1, 2013. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.