BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Western Michigan

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/15/2011

Awesome Critter Gitters

(269) 429-9821View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 514, NilesMI 49120-0514 Send email to Awesome Critter Gitters

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Awesome Critter Gitters

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/15/2011

BBB has determined that Awesome Critter Gitters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Awesome Critter Gitters' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Reviews on Awesome Critter Gitters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Raccoons left on own, but still charged entire amount, even though didn't have to deal with relocation of animals.
Raccoons left on own for some reason, without being caught in trap. Since no relocation of animals was required, I felt that some of my money should have been returned. In fact, the raccoons are still living by my garage now, so they could come back. But the manager refused to give me any refund because he said they had to go out all 5 days of the contract to check the trap. But the 5 days is part of their contract, as well as removing the animals to another area, so what is he complaining about? Also, his service was very poor at communication.m His man made me pay in full at time of setting trap, when the contrat says to pay at time of completion of job. He told me to call in a couple of days if the trap caught the animal, but when I talked to the manager, he said they come out every day to check the trap. The service man said nothing about that, so I assumed they only came out when I called. I wasn't told to read on the back of the receipt, which I assumed was just a receipt. Then they were supposed to get back with me on blocking off the chimney so the raccoons couldn't get back in, but I had to keep calling them, until finally they told me they couldn't cap it off because it was an old-style chimney. Just the day before the manager told me to get it capped off so the animals that they "didn't catch" couldn't get back in. So now I have paid $250 and I'm right back where I started!

Initial Business Response
Ms. ******** told me raccoons ripped off their siding and entered their home, as I described on their work order. We covered the hole with our trap so the raccoon could not come or go without entering the trap. We checked the trap for 5 days with no catch. Our contract clearly stated there's no Guarantee to catch animals. It actually cost us more to return checking traps for 5 days than if we caught the animal the first night. If Ms. ******** knew the animal left on it's own she should have told us and we wouldn't have checked the trap every day. The fact is she didn't know until we made sure it wasn't in the home and sealed the hole up with hardware cloth to prevent reentry before the ********'s could repair the siding permanently. Ms. ********'s for got to mention we sealed the hole, in her haste to try and make us look bad. While we were there she said they had coons enter their chimney LAST year and asked if we could seal it also. We couldn't seal it and didn't charge her for climbing up on the roof, inspecting and measuring it. If Ms. ******** would send a copy of her signed work order, you could see that all we addressed this year was the hole in the siding, like she originally complained about. Ms. ******** seems to think she owns wildlife that crosses her property. Wildlife is the property of the State of Indiana. We are DNR licensed and not allowed to trap animals "crossing backyards" for no reason. We have to inspect property damage to legally justify trapping animals. Even then we do not have a "license to kill" without the homeowner taking measures to prevent further property damage in the future. Ms. ******** said coons are now in the garage. They need to repair and maintain their home to prevent coons from walking into their property, at will.
Ms. ******** claims our company has left her family defenseless to coons entering their chimney. Please inform her she can call a chimney contractor for barriers to be installed according to building code. We can't just fasten wire across a fireplace opening, that could plug up and harm people.
State law requires traps to be checked daily. We ask the homeowner to report a catch to us if they can see the trap. Some people do, others forget. If we don't have a catch in 2 days max. we come check the trap and bait anyway. Then if we still don't have a report from the homeowner, we check it daily ourselves.

Ms. ******** is not right back where she started. We covered the coon entry hole so animals couldn't enter before she repairs the siding. We told her she needed a chimney barrier installed to prevent coons from entering. Now I'm even informing her she needs further repair on her garage to prevent coons from entering there also.

Knowledge has value also, that she doesn't appreciate. If she had it, she would have repaired and maintained her home and garage so coons couldn't get in! We are not paid to trap coons, we are hired to "REMOVE COONS FROM HOMES AND PREVENT PROPERTY DAMAGE". WE DID WHAT WE WERE HIRED FOR. Thank you, ***

PS; I'm not complaining.....you are!

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Paid $250 for mouse traps but pest problem remained after traps were collected.
We contacted Awesome Critter Gitters in January in regards to noises we were hearing in our basement. I spoke with *** on the phone who told me it sounded like we had a squirrel or chipmunk in our basement. Awesome Critter Gitters came to our home on January 10 and one person did a perimeter check while ***** came and looked in the basement. The person who did the perimeter checked yelled after a couple minutes indicating he saw tracks outside. ***** told me the tracks meant there were mice in the house. He said there could be a large quantity of mice in the house and would need to put out large traps in order to catch them. He told me he would not charge us a service fee but it was $250 for the traps he was putting out. He said he would call in a couple weeks to set an appointment to collect the traps. When ***** called a couple weeks later to make the appointment to collect the traps, I told him we were still hearing the same noises we had been hearing when we first called them. He dismissed my concern by saying that the traps had been out for plenty long enough and we shouldn't be hearing anything. When he came to our house to collect the traps, I reiterated that we continued to hear the same noises. Again, he dismissed my concern saying that the traps had been out long enough. He added that if it was a chipmunk, there wasn't anything he could do until the spring anyway. He then went on to advise me to have them come out in the spring to seal the house for an additional $2,000. I asked how many mice they had collected in the traps but was told that he could not open them because they were live traps and they would get out. A couple weeks later, *** called me to confirm that the problem was taken care of and we were not hearing any noises. I told him that we were indeed still hearing the noises and I was very concerned that the problem had not been taken care of. I asked him how many mice were collected in the traps. *** told me the information on how many mice were collected would be on our work order but he did not have that with him. He then told me they could come out on Saturday to look again. I never heard from the Awesome Critter Gitters again until I called on Tuesday, March 11 to complain about the noises we were still hearing. *** told me he had a call on the other line but would call me back. *** called me later in the day to ask for my information again. He said his secretary was not able to find out work order. I gave *** our information and the service date. He said he would call me back. I did not hear anything from *** on Wednesday so I called again on Thursday to discuss my concern. I told *** that I would like to receive my money back for the services because the services rendered did not solve our problem. *** told me that I had been advised when they did the inspection of our house that it was a chipmunk and there was nothing they could do until the spring. This is incorrect. On the work order, they had originally written that it was a squirrel in the basement. When they came to do the inspection, they crossed squirrel out and wrote mice. *** was not willing to hear my concerns or answer my questions about how many mice were caught and what the $250 was for. I told him that we had solved the problem on our own and I was not interested in them coming back to our home but wanted our money back. *** told me he was not going to answer my questions and then hung up on me.

Initial Business Response
I'm at a loss to Ms *******'s complaint. Like she said, we inspected the home, trapped mice and solved her problem....without any other company's help. Please tell me how she was not smart enough to solve her own problem before we came, then became smart enough after we left? Please visit our mice-rat link on our web site: ************************************************************************************************

It explains how we handle mice-chipmunks etc., seal the house up. When we came to Ms *******'s home, there was three feet of snow all around the house. I did an inspection and found mice tracks entering a hole under a bump out window and several other holes under the siding in the only areas we could inspect. As stated on our web site:

Although expensive, we are able to seal most homes with a Written Warranty to keep the mice out. The jobs are labor intensive and require expensive equipment just to find all the holes. For that reason the home inspection, estimate and consultation is $150-up for most residential homes. Most homes run $150-up to seal the mice out with a Full Warranty. All our exclusion sealing products and materials are purchased from professional pest control supply companies and proven effective.
As Ms ******* states: we DID NOT CHARGE HER FOR AN INSPECTION like is clearly stated we do on our web site. I told her we would come back in the spring, to complete the inspection before the chipmunks woke up from hibernation. She had many questions about "HOW DO YOU DO IT" so I gladly answered her "interrogation". "What kind of material do you use"? "How do you do it"? "Did you find any holes today"? I told her the truth about everything. While I inspected outside , my son ******* inspected inside and found mouse feces and urine....everywhere. We told her we could trap most of the mice, but would leave cold weather glue boards in the attic to catch any stragglers. Ms ******* will not show you the back of her contract stating the service was for "5 day of trapping" because she wants to tell her story....her way. We left the traps for 2 weeks, then called her to see if all was quite. She said she hadn't heard any noise lately, so we drove 30 miles to pick up the traps. Think about it, we have hundreds of multi catch mouse traps, why would I care if the traps stayed another two weeks? Ms *******'s work order copy was at our bookkeepers when she first called. When I obtained it, to verify she did actually use our company for the service, I told her when the snow melted, we would come out and finish the inspection. She declined starting: "we already sealed the house up our selves, we just want our money back". I told her all we charged her for was mice trapping, which she received. We did not charge her for the inspection (which she used to seal the house herself) nor did she have any Warranty because we didn't do any exclusion work.

My wife was a office manager in a doctors office for 22 years. I had Ms ******* on speaker phone so everyone one in the office could hear her screaming at me. I could not get a word in because she was shouting continuously. Finally my wife said, " you might as well hang up on her because you gave her what she paid for, and you don't have to take that abuse."

In all the years of dealing with people, I've never heard my wife give up on satisfying the customer.

When we first started business, we inspected homes for free. It's people like Ms ******* that has changed all that. She thinks it's acceptable to have two professional, licensed, insured men drive 30 miles to use flexible, lighted cameras and mirrors to find rodent holes and EXPLAIN THE ENTIRE EXCLUSION PROCESS THEN say: "OK THANKS ALOTT, SEE YOU LATER. If Ms ******* wants her money back, have her get it from her husband, whom we instructed how to "do it our selves". Next time she calls a company for help, make absolutely sure she CAN NOT DO THE WORK THEMSELVES, before asking pros to bless them with knowledge.....for free.

Sincerely, *** *********

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is very frustrating to have a business owner fabricate details in order to validate his story.

1) As I said initially, Mr. ********* was outside for only a couple of minutes when he screamed inside that he found tracks. ***** told me he saw evidence of mice inside because of "chewed" styrofoam. He made NO mention of mouse urine or feces. My husband and I never saw any evidence of mice anywhere in the house.

2) I did not ask Mr. ********* how they did their job nor did I ask him what materials they used. The question I repeatedly asked Mr. ********* was how many mice they caught in the traps. The first time I asked him, he told me they wrote that information on the service reports but he was not in the office and did not have record. The second time, he told me he was not able to answer that question. I also asked Mr. ********* what the $250 we paid was for. Again, he told me he could not and would not answer that question.

3) Before my call to request a refund, the only mention of returning in the spring was to seal the house for $2,000. They never made additional mention to returning in the spring.

Final Business Response
I read in the BBB newsletter that business could op in for BBB mediation. I've already given enough information for a Judge to make a determination, please stop bothering me with these ridiculous allegations. Look at Ms**s "Signed Contract". Am I a mind reader? Do we just show up at someone house demanding money for a pest problem I conceive by driving by their home? NO, Ms * called me and said," she thought she had a squirrel in her basement" so I wrote "Squirrel in Basement". It's a job description written on W/O for the field tech, not a dreamed up problem. We must come prepared to deal with the problem the customer describes. Many of our W/O state: "animal in wall" or "scratching in attic" we do not require a diagnosis by the customer, some, like Ms * volunteer it. If we come and find no squirrel or evidence of squirrel we offer a solution for what we find.
To hear Ms * tell her story, there was no mice spore in the basement, when she accompanied my son during the inspection. That's why she already had many mouse traps working. In her next response she will probably claim my son put her in a headlock until she agreed to have professionals trap her mice. Oh yes, headlocks are how we get jobs when we can't rely on customer's eyesight and intelligence. NOT

In Ms *'s first complaint, I "yelled", now this time I "SCREAMED". I had to scream because my son had her in a headlock with his arms over her ears! Well maybe not. I spoke quietly when I stood by her garage door with snow on my feet. Not wanting to track snow and water into the home, I raised my voice until I received a response from Ms * and my son in the basement. It's my company policy for the outside inspector to stand by a customers door and alert them he is inside, requesting permission to enter the home. If the inside inspector has the attention of the customer, in another part of the house, we do not invite ourselves in, walking around without permission.

BBB agent, did you even visit our web site at the link I sent before? It's self explanatory about how we handle exclusion work. We perform an inspection, charge for it, and write up a detailed estimate ON OUR SIGNED WORK ORDER-CONTRACT. Where exactly on Ms**s work order is this inspection fee we charged? nor can I see an estimate for $2000? Ms** does admit we wanted to return in the Spring to complete an inspection to give her an estimate for exclusion work. Like I said in my first response, I found a mouse entrance hole, under the window bump out so I knew at least one hole needed to be sealed up, but deep snow prevented us from performing a complete inspection we could warranty. March 11 was still deep snow and sub zero temperatures.

Ms * has NO WARRANTY for mouse trapping. We offer FULL WARRANTY for mouse exclusion work on the home, which she declined to have us perform an inspection for. Without sealing up homes, mice could reenter a day after we pick up our traps, or a week or month later. Please don't take my word for it. Call any pest company you like and ask them if they give mice removal warranty for two weeks of mice trapping. We told Ms * we could help alleviate the mice infestation problem, until we could return in the spring for a proper inspection and ultimately exclusion work.

If you (BBB) want to molly coddle cheapskate do it yourselfers, why don't you ask Ms * how she "took care of the problem herself". She can not produce another company's work order showing she had to pay someone else to trap animals we missed. Nor did she pay someone else to seal her home. She used the information she obtained from my inspection and sealed the entry hole I reveled to her when we were there. The hole I found, with the mouse tracks leading to it, might have been the only hole in the house. I couldn't be sure because of the snow.

Have you noticed Ms * conveniently hedges around telling you how she "fixed the problem herself". I would bet she claims she suddenly and unexpectedly became enlightened by, osmosis, to become an expert home inspector, overnight.

If she had this ability why did she call our company in the first place? Finally if the BBB would like me to respond to any information they can obtain from our "signed contract" please refer to my answers previously given.

If the BBB would like answers to wild eyed claims not on the contract, please contact a crystal ball reader, a soothsayer or ********, maybe they could give you better answers than I.

Ms * does not have mice trapping warranty, period. Most pest control companies charge for an ongoing mice trapping yearly contract. Like I explained to Ms * and I have clearly explained on our web site, we do not offer a yearly contract. We offer mice exclusion work with a warranty. Ms * opted not to have this service, hence she has no mice warranty with us. She has told you that she received what she paid for, 2 weeks of trapping. If she needed more trapping after that she should have bought more. We offered more but she said she "already took care of the problem."

BBB let's try to think on our feet now. Ms * hired us to solve her pest problem. It's solved with no further cost or intervention from any other company. Just because Ms * doesn't appreciate the knowledge we provided her with to solve the problem herself most certainly doesn't mean we owe her a dime. She got what she paid for.

You need to realize our company is not a pest control company, requiring yearly contracts. We have integrated wildlife control utilizing trapping and exclusion work to solve problems. When we remove the pest from a building, and the customer finishes the exclusion utilizing the knowledge and techniques we explain to them, this behavior does not entitle them to a trapping refund. I'm DONE with this. ***

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/19/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: this company was to remove squirrels from my home and seal up the areas where they were gaining entrance.
At the end of August, I called this company to have squirrels removed from my home. ******* came out on 8/27/12 and gave me an estimate for the work to be done. That same day, he set a trap. The following work was to be done:
* $150 for the inspection
* $600 for 6 dormers (I only have 3 dormers) which they said they would close off with tar foam and black roof rock
* $150 for a trap
* $100 to seal 2 triangular openings filling with foam to close openings at $50 on each side - the site where the squirrels were entering the house
* The foam was to be shaved/sanded and painted and caulked

The triangular openings were filled with foam. They were NOT shaved/sanded/smoothed or painted, as promised. I received a phone call on 9/21/12 asking me to pay my bill, but the work had not been completed. I emailed this company to tell them that the work had not been completed. On 9/25/12, ******* came back to the house to paint the foam white. (There was absolutely no sanding or smoothing of the foam prior to its painting, as promised. (See photos in previously sent letter)

Further, I have only three dormers, yet they charged $600 for six dormers. I see no indication of any foam or roof rock being applied. I asked to be notified and asked to be present when the work was being done, this did not happen.

I then received another phone call on 10/3/12 saying my bill was over a month overdue. The work hadn't been completed until 9/25/12. So, according to my calendar, that's only 7 days. And still the work is not complete.

I still have a squirrel in my home, that has been scratching between the walls. As it now has no way out, it has died between my walls and will only be found when the carcass begins to deteriorate and smell.

I do NOT want this company to come back to my house to "fix" the problem or finish the work they did not complete. Or remove the dead squirrel within my walls.

However, since I now will have to pay a professional to finish the job, tear up my walls, remove the dead squirrel, and repair the eyesore that their company created on the outside of my house, I would request that they refund the full $700 I paid them for the inadequate, unprofessional, and unsightly work they performed on my home.

Business' Initial Response
I notice Ms ****** didn't attach her work order. The order clearly states: Seal 2 overhang bumpouts..and spray either white or white caulk. We don't shave or sand, ever, on anyones job.

She already told you ***** painted it white, as agreed.
Three dormers have six sides. Don't take my word for the tar and roof rock, come down and see for yourself.
Our tech called her when he was on his way to the home, she pulled up in the driveway, turned around and left. Then she shorted our company $300 payment, almost two months later, only paying $700 of the agreed $1000.

Too bad about the squirrel, she claims is making noise in the wall. She should have told us about the squirrel when she heard it a day or two later, or a week later..or even a month later, we have warranty if the entire bill is paid.

Let me get this straight, we sealed the home 8/29/2012 and the squirrel has surrvived two months with no food or water? Sorry, when squirrels are sealed in a house, they either chew their way out in one day, or they starve to death within a week and smell within two weeks.

Grand Rapids isn't that far from us, I'll pay for your gas to come examine the dormers she claims were not sealed and smell the dead squirrel, she's playing you for. Note she has not attached an invoice from another company to remove a dead animal out of the wall, she is going to do it after you strong arm us into refunding her partial payment.

Neither the person reading this or Ms ****** are professionals, like we are. Please call any professional you like and ask them how long it takes to realize squirrels are sealed in a home. One day.She should have called and claimed warranty in August or September.

If she pays the remaining $300 plus $35 late fee and two months interest, we'll come out and remove the trapped squirrel. We still do not shave, sand or smooth anything.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/12/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services, Animals - Nuisance Control - Trapping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/06/2008Business started: 01/01/1995Business started locally: 01/13/1975New Owner Date: 01/01/1995
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William (Jim) Sheffield (Owner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Pest Control Services, Animals - Nuisance Control - Trapping

Alternate Business Names
Critter Getter, LLC

If you choose to do business with Awesome Critter Gitters, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 514 

    Niles, MI 49120-0514(269) 429-9821
    (800) 934-7454

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Awesome Critter Gitters is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 934-7454
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews as of January 1, 2013. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.