BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1991

Amway (Headquarters)

(616) 787-1000View Additional Phone Numbers7575 Fulton Street East, AdaMI 49355-0001 Send email to AmwayView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1991

BBB has determined that Amway meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Amway's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Amway

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
01/12/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My sixteen-year old son was invited to a Amway presentation and signed up. As a minor, he used my name, but I was never contacted about this agreement
Amway sales representatives that know my child was a minor, should have followed-up and contacted me about this negotiation process. This is a misconduct and not following the rules and regulations of the company when speaking to minors. I knew about this when i received a package from Amway with my name on it. This is nontransparent process, even though my son was at fault for not telling me about this, but it the representatives are also accountable for not explaining my son the rules and regulations about the system.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a full refund and will return the initial membership Amway package.

Business Response
I have forwarded this to the Business Conduct & Rules department for investigation. I should have a response to you by January 22, 2015.

09/29/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I mailed in Double X vitamin coupons and they didn't ship them to me. I called to remind them and they agreed to send them, but still no vitamins.
I mailed in Double X vitamin coupons and they didn't ship them to me. I called to remind them and they agreed to send them, but still no vitamins. I mailed them in the fall of 2013, and called to remind them a few months ago, probably in the January to February timeframe.

Desired Settlement
Ship the vitamins.

Business Response
The oversight has been resolved and the product was shipped September 17, 2014. We apologize for the oversight and are considering the matter closed.

05/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lied about her products, gave me the wrong products and took extra money. Never showed up to any appointments.
Never showed up to any of the appointments, ripped me off. Once, my total was $35.00, but took $40.00. She gave me all the wrong products and would not change for the right ones, so I had to tell her I will call the cops, if she doesn't give me the right products and give me money back. So, she just gave me mt money back.

Desired Settlement
I want the personal retailer to be warned about her selling the wrong products.

Business Response
Hello. Our Rules Division contacted the IBO that the customer worked with. It appears that there was some miscommunication as to product the customer wanted, how to deliver and when. The IBO has indicated to Amway that they have worked to get the correct product to the customer. Amway is considering the matter closed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Amway distributor (*****************************) that was selling me products gave me used products clearly. There was no mis-communication, she is just making that excuse up. I told the distributor clearly in person the first day what I wanted and she handed me those products in person and took more money than the site stated, plus shipping. When she left, I saw they were used and one of the products was not the right color. I called her right away stating that these are used and not what I wanted. She then stated to make another appointment with her. So, I tried to make appointments with her about 10 times and she cancelled all of them or would not show up. I told her in my texts about more than 10 times what I clearly wanted (the texts state clearly, its proof). She would not meet up with me, 3 months had passed and I would ask her almost every other week and she would cancel last minute (The clear proof is all in the texts). Finally, after she met with me (only because she was coming to my college campus for some event party, not because she came herself for the appointment), she bought the products in a pink plastic small bag tied up inside and took my money for a extra vitamin bottle i wanted and left, also taking my old products back with her. After she left, i opened the bag and yet again saw all the wrong products. None of her products were ever packed. I called her right away again and I was furious, though she stated again that they should make another appointment. I knew she wouldn't make another appointment until months after. She was making many excuses for so long. There was absolutely no mis-communication, the distributor was just deceiving to get money. I told her she better come back or I will have to sue her, so she came back after making excuses that she is on the highway and cant turn around. So, when she arrived, she said that she is out of the products. So, I was confused as in why she kept fooling around and giving me wrong products, and taking my money for no reason. I handed all the products back to her and asked for my money back. She insisted she will not give the money back because she "had put the money away." So, I told her, I will call the police right now to deal with this matter then because she now wont give me my money and never gave me the right products. She got scared and went to the car with her whole family inside and gave the money back to me. She was clearly a deceiver and greedy. I do like the Amway products, but this distributor was not successful in giving them out properly which made Amway look bad. I would like to continue buying Amway products, but I would want a trustworthy distributor and this distributor should be warned. She is very inconsiderate and greedy. She makes excuses, after excuses. She does not care about her customers at all. She should be warned about what type of business she is doing, she is a fraud and I have proof in all my texts.

Final Business Response
Please extend my apologies to the customer on behalf of Amway Corporation.
Amway will need to pursue this further with the IBO. Please allow 2 weeks for Amway to investigate further. I will respond back to you no later than Monday May 19.

02/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This feels like a scam and I am not willing to be subjected to this anymore.
I was contacted by an ************ (************) who I went to college with. She asked if I would want to work with an ********** for their Amway company, which I said no. Today, I received a call from a ************** (************) who got my information from *******. He refused to answer my question as to what Amway does and what he wanted from me as a potential employee. When I told him he was not authorized to contact me, he said that he was authorized and that I had authorized it (I had never spoken to him before). He then said he didnt work for Amway, he worked for *************. He later retracted this and said he worked for Amway, who partners with *****, ********, *********, and other big-name companies. I told him I was not interested in being scammed and would contact BBB; he said he didn't care and I hung up.

Desired Settlement
I want Amyway to remove me from any contact list and to never contact me in the future. They do not have my permission to seek out me anymore.

Business Response
I have received from our Business Conduct and Rules Division the results of communication between Amway and the IBO involved. It is my understanding that *********** name was given to ************* by ******** as a potential IBO. Our Business Conduct and Rules Division has counseled ************* on the appropriate methods to approach a potential IBO and are confident that this is an isolated incident. Therefore, Amway is considering the matter closed.

10/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** claims to be a leading Internet retailer, yet, they do not allow their sales reps (***) to market and sell their ******* via personal websites.
I was contacted by ***** on 6/18 (***** ******, ***** **************, ***** ******** ******* * *****. (***) ***-****). I was told I was not allow to promote ****** products via "mass communication". Confused, I asked what that meant. I was told posting ****** links on a personal website (which I did) was not allowed. ***** claims to be a leader in online sales (see this article on their website: *************************************). I have removed my website with ***** products on it, but I can forward an example of what it looked like if required. I can forward ****** emails as well.

Desired Settlement
I want Amway to drop all claims that they are an "Internet retailer". This is very misleading and implies their sales reps can sell Amway via the Internet...when in fact they are not. Amway is a direct sales company. They do not allow Internet marketing of any kind.

Business Response
To the best of my knowledge this is the first communication Amway has received on this complaint. I have forwarded the complaint to Business Conduct and Rules for investigation. I hope to have a response for you by October 8.

Page 1 of 2
09/25/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
An unconscionable situation, whereby a person who represent Amway, built a friendship with me and said how his upline would likely donate money.
(It is possible that Amway, itself, is not to blame. However, I called them after trying to solve this myself, and they said they would have the upline call me, who did not.)

A person named Chad (upline: Doug Hunt, Idaho) met me and we talked for three visits. From the very beginning Chad told me of this Doug, saying what a man of fine character he was, and that he was almost certain to provide cash donations to a registered non profit of which I am on the board. This was ENTIRELY unsolicited by me. I had not any idea whatsoever that this involved Amway. Chad met with me three times, and continued to discuss character, generosity , etc. and twice asked me to meet Doug at a meeting he was conducting. There was no mention that this meeting had anything to do with business, only character skills. Finally, on the third meeting, I asked Chad if he would follow through with his good heartedness, and seek these donations from Doug, and to my utter shock, he said that it was Amway, yet still did not say that they wanted me to meet him to discuss businesses. i do not have time for business, we help disabled people and family problems, to get their lives together. It has been three weeks and I have not heard from Chad. I called Amway about three weeks ago, and they gave me the phone number for Doug hunt. I called him about 18 days ago, and left a cheerful message, yet he did not call me back. Amway only provided one phone number for Doug, to me, they only one they had. I called Amway, last week, and they had me call their practices division. I called when I was asked to, and not being anyone there, I left messages on their short answering system. They called back and eventually agreed to have Mr. Doug Hunt call me. He has not.

All of this has called tremendous grief. Imagine meeting someone and him keep on insisting on how they want to help, even after I expressed our need for a small amount of working capital. I would never approach a stranger for fundraising, in fact, we do not even discuss funding with anyone, unless they bring it up. Then to continue to meet with me and say how urgent it is that Doug and I meet, only to find out that, it seems it was merely an attempt to get me to become a distributor of theirs. Chad knew I do not have any time at all for business endeavors. We feel that Amway has fine products and policies, and do not blame them for this, yet it is their agents who are in question, and my three calls to Amway, showed me their lack of desire to solve this. Now they have it in writing. thank you. (More info, if you need it.

Desired Settlement
That they think thus through, discuss policies with both Chad and Doug and provide a good faith monetary compensation to us.

Business' Initial Response
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I have forwarded the complaint to our Business Conduct and Rules Division for investigation. We should have a response by Tuesday, October 2.

Consumer's Final Response
Hello. Now we were able to see their reply. We have found that when people know they are wrong, will lie and cover up. The facts, as I stated, are correct. There was no mention of Amway or prospecting me. All due respect, but it is all a lie.

Of all the gall--in no way would I seek donations from a stranger, this is also slanderous. Yes, I called the phone number that was provided to me by Amway employees, for Mr **** ****. He did not return my call, and to say he did not know, means that he got the message, most likely. PLUS- the dept which handles these concerns, ASSURED me that they would call him and have him call me. (He did not)

Please, just be honest. We are not trying to be unkind or unfair. Your reply makes it look as though we are to blame. We will now go to the attorney general, and other means necessary. This is in no way meant to he harsh, but lying will not get anyone anywhere. Surely a great company like Amway, would consider this a small cost to avoid negative press or lowering their rating. thank you.

Business' Final Response
The Rules Division has completed their investigation of this complaint. It appears that Mr. ***** and the IBO had different ideas of their meetings. It appears the Mr. ***** was looking for donations for his non-profit organization. The IBO, **** *********, had indicated to Amway that he was prospecting Mr. ***** about the Amway business. Mr. **** has indicated that he is unsure whether or not he received any mesages from Mr. *****, but at this time he is not interested in making a donation.

At this time, Amway is considering the matter closed.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Multi-Level Selling Companies, Cookies & Crackers, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Cleaning Supplies, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Hair Products and Equipment, Skin Care, Vitamins & Food Supplements, Health & Diet Food Products - Wholesale & Manufacturing, Manufacturers & Producers, Cosmetics - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/03/1970Business started: 10/09/1959
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1949, MI

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Doug De Vos (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Paula Voss (Legal Specialist)Mr. Scott Balfour (Vice President, Lega)Mr. Steve Van Andel (Chairman)
Number of Employees

21000

Business Category

Multi-Level Selling Companies, Cookies & Crackers, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Cleaning Supplies, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Hair Products and Equipment, Skin Care, Vitamins & Food Supplements, Health & Diet Food Products - Wholesale & Manufacturing, Manufacturers & Producers, Cosmetics - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Products & Services

Alticor Inc. is the parent firm for the following business units: Amway Corp and Access Business Group, LLC.

Amway Corporation was founded in 1959 by Rich DeVos and Jay Van Andel. Amway is a multi-level direct selling company operating in the United States, U.S. Territories, Puerto Rico, Canada, and other markets globally.

A separate reports is available for Acess Business Group, LLC upon request.

Amway Corp operates using a form of marketing and distribution called "Direct Selling." Amway markets over 450 company branded products to consumers with a business plan by which independent distributors can earn income on retail sales of Amway products and services and by sponsoring other distributors who do the same. Each distributor is an independent businessperson, whose individual success depends upon his or her own efforts and the selling efforts of those whom they sponsor.

Alternate Business Names
Amway Corporation, Alticor, Alticor, Inc.

If you choose to do business with Amway, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Amway

7575 Fulton Street East

Ada, MI 49355-0001

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7575 Fulton Street East 

    Ada, MI 49355-0001(616) 787-6000
    (616) 787-1000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Amway is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (616) 787-7000
  • (616) 787-6000
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews as of January 1, 2013. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Multi-Level Selling Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.