BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/28/2003

Tuff Turf Molebusters

(616) 554-9499View Additional Phone Numbers8788 Eastern Ave SE, Byron CenterMI 49315-9318 Send email to Tuff Turf MolebustersView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/28/2003

BBB has determined that Tuff Turf Molebusters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tuff Turf Molebusters' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tuff Turf Molebusters

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/05/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Attempt at charging for services that I di not request or contract for.
I signed up for a SINGLE service via Angie's list in summer 2013. I received a mailed postcard from them in January 2014 stating that I was scheduled for additional services in spring 2014, and that my credit card would be charged. I did not order or contract for any additional services for 2014. I cancelled at that time. Now, I received another mailed postcard from them in January 2015 stating that I was scheduled for additional services in spring 2015, and that my credit card would be charged.

I emailed him, here is his response:

You bought an amazon deal last year and it slip through the crack, it should not renew internet deals like that. Sorry

Sincerely,

**** ******
Operations Manager

This should not happen!

Desired Settlement
Please remove all my personal and credit card info from all company records and do not contact me again.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******, President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************************
We did not nor would we attempt to charge anybody's credit card without their approval. We would not attempt a service without anybody's approval. *** hired us to fertilize his trees and shrubs in October of 2014. We fertilized his trees and shrubs on 10/20/14. On the work order that we left after the service it was mentioned in 2 locations in bold print that services continue from year to year and to simply call us if you wish to cancel. We mailed the renewal price in December. In January we sent an email and a post card as a reminder that if you don't want service you just have to let us know. *** let us know that his is not interested in the service this fall, so we cancelled it. Upon cancellation of his account the secure server at Chase Bank that hosts his credit card information was deleted. We were giving him a 9 month advance notice about the fall feeding of trees and shrubs. If we never made contact in these next 9 months, our last attempt would have been to knock on the door on the day of the service. If nobody was home to confirm the service, we would have cancelled the service on the spot and left a note to call us if he wanted it done.

10/03/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn & Tree Care, Lawn Maintenance, Pest Control Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/27/2002Business started: 01/24/1994
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1994, MI

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Zylstra (President)Ms. Jordan Goetz (Executive Assistant)
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

Lawn & Tree Care, Lawn Maintenance, Pest Control Services

Products & Services

This company offers residential and commercial lawn care as well as mole control and general pest control services.

Alternate Business Names
Molebusters, Tuff Turf Molebusters, Tuff Turf, Inc.

If you choose to do business with Tuff Turf Molebusters, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tuff Turf Molebusters

8788 Eastern Ave SE

Byron Center, MI 49315-9318

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8788 Eastern Ave SE 

    Byron Center, MI 49315-9318(616) 554-9499
    (269) 348-7571
    (231) 709-6021
    (313) 427-0140
    (517) 861-3411
    (888) 665-3287
    (616) 541-9539
    (616) 399-8379
    (269) 332-0235
    (269) 389-0744
    (616) 765-2698
    (616) 951-5801
    (616) 536-1413
    (616) 200-7182
    (248) 243-1186
    (248) 838-3164
    (248) 266-8205

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tuff Turf Molebusters is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (248) 677-2078
  • (269) 348-7571
  • (231) 709-6021
  • (313) 427-0140
  • (517) 861-3411
  • (888) 665-3287
  • (616) 541-9539
  • (616) 399-8379
  • (269) 332-0235
  • (269) 389-0744
  • (616) 765-2698
  • (616) 951-5801
  • (616) 536-1413
  • (616) 200-7182
  • (248) 243-1186
  • (248) 838-3164
  • (248) 266-8205
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews as of January 1, 2013. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn & Tree Care

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.