BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/02/2013

Northpointe Bank

Find a Location

(616) 940-9400View Additional Phone Numbers3333 Deposit Drive NE, Grand RapidsMI 49546-1429 Send email to Northpointe Bank

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/02/2013

BBB has determined that Northpointe Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Accreditation applies to the West Michigan locations in Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Grand Haven and Holland locations of Northpointe Bank.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Northpointe Bank's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Northpointe Bank

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid off loan on 7/21 but was still charged for the following month. Called several times to have money and escrow refunded but no results.
We paid off a loan of $29,203 on July 21 in person at the bank. The teller checked with loan office for the exact amount at the time. We had a little money in an escrow account and was told that it should be to us within two weeks. After two weeks I checked in and was told someone would check on it and we should get the money soon. A couple of weeks went by and on the date we had previously paid our monthly loan, $117 was taken from our account. We later received a letter telling us we were late with the August payment and had late fees associated with the loan. I called on 8/25 and was told to forget about the late fee letter and the check for the $117 and escrow amount was going to be put in the mail to me right after the phone call. Today I received another late notice and no check as yet.

Desired Settlement
I believe I should receive all money due to me and whatever interest earned during the time they have had my money. An apology would be great too!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** **********, EVP & COO
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***.**********@northpointe.com
Dear Mr. *********,

We had received the above complaint from the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and investigated your issue.

In review of your case we had received a payoff of your loan on July 21, 2014. Your loan was automatically being paid monthly through electronic ACH payments taken out of your account and these payments should have stopped with the payoff of the loan. However, the employee handling the payoff of your loan did not follow our procedures to cancel your monthly ACH payment, which then subsequently occurred again on August 6, 2104. The employee is no longer working in this department.

This mishap was not discovered until your call to us of August 25, 2014, at which time our customer service person investigated the error and corrected your problem. A check for the amount of the payment and the remaining balance in your escrow was mailed to you on August 27, 2014, which to my understanding has been received.

Your complaint also brought to my attention several other key critical errors that were committed, especially in that no one had acted upon the original mistake until you had called, which is unacceptable. We have taken steps to correct this as well.

I want to extend my sincere appreciation for bringing this matter to our attention. I apologize for this error and for any inconvenience it may have caused.


03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks, Loans

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/22/2000Business started: 05/21/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1998, MI

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leo Ditchcreek (Executive VP/COO)Mr. Charles A. Williams (President)
Number of Employees

59

Business Category

Banks, Loans

Alternate Business Names
Northpointe Bancshares, Inc.

If you choose to do business with Northpointe Bank, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Northpointe Bank

3333 Deposit Drive NE

Grand Rapids, MI 49546-1429

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • 950 Taylor Ave Ste 220 

    Grand Haven, MI 49417-2283(616) 296-0700

  • 3333 Deposit Drive NE 

    Grand Rapids, MI 49546-1429(616) 940-9400
    (888) 672-5626
    (616) 974-8405

  • 320 N 120th Ave 

    Holland, MI 49424-2696

  • 3275 W Centre Ave 

    Portage, MI 49024-4820(866) 343-6212

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Northpointe Bank is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 672-5626
  • (616) 974-8405
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews as of January 1, 2013. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Banks

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.