BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2012

Rightway Automotive Credit

Find a Location

(616) 258-57101680 28th St SW, WyomingMI 49519-7013 Send email to Rightway Automotive Credit

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2012

BBB has determined that Rightway Automotive Credit meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Rightway Automotive Credit's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Rightway Automotive Credit

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
09/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have been having mechanical issues with our vehicle since the day we bought it.
We went to Right Way when our old Subaru broke down on the side of the road. We were in the market for a DEPENDABLE car. They promised us they would get us into a good car. We went to Right Way because we have poor credit. We were not expecting a fabulous car. However we were looking for something that would work. We are aware that we are paying 5 times what this vehicle is worth and we were prepared for that. We were not prepared to get stuck with a car that is worth 1100 dollars when we owe over 7,000 dollars on it. We purchased the car in December 12th of 2012. When we went to test drive the vehicle it would not start. Chris ( the salesman ) assured us that it was just a fuse and it would be fine. With no other options we purchased the vehicle. The vehicle is 2002 Dodge Stratus. VIN # *****************. With a trade in/down payment of 1000 dollars the total amount with interest that we are paying for the vehicle is 13489.12 We pay 173.46 twice a month. The vehicle has broken down several times over the past few months. We have a friend who is a mechanic so luckily all we have to pay for are parts. Its the same issue over and over and over again with fuses blowing. We called the dealership about 3 weeks ago when the car broke down 3 times in 2 days after spending about 300 dollars to get it fixed. We asked if we could trade it in for a different vehicle and they said no. They offered no help just a referral to a shop that could take a look at it. We still owe over 7000 dollars on this vehicle and we really don't want to pay for it.

Desired Settlement
All we are looking for at this point is a vehicle that is DEPENDABLE. We have 2 small children and 1 car. My husband has to drive to work M-F and there have been countless mornings when the car won't start and he's been late for work. We can't pay for a car if we can't get to work. We are trying to fix our credit, not destroy it more.

Business Response
08/26/2013

The Better Business Bureau of Western Michigan

RE: Case # ********
************

To whom it may concern,

This is in response to the complaint made by Mrs. ******. Rightway Automotive takes customer satisfaction very seriously. That is the reason we have every vehicle safety inspected by an independent state licensed repair facility prior to making it available for sale. It's also why we provide every customer with an independent, 6 month or 6,000 mile warranty and 2 years worth of oil changes at no cost to them. We also have additional warranties from independent companies available for purchase although Mrs. ****** did not purchase one. I also think it's important to note that every customer is given ample time to test drive our vehicles and take them to their own mechanic for inspection before they purchase if they desire.

As Mrs. ****** mentions in her complaint, she and her husband came to us in desperate need of a vehicle. We were able to secure financing for her and she took delivery of her Stratus in early December, 2012. For well over 6 months and thousands of miles after delivery we never heard from her about any issues with her vehicle. Now, more than 9,000 miles after delivery, she called stating she was having service issues and she was demanding a rental car even though she admitted she was over 3,000 miles outside of her warranty. Her sales person reminded her that at delivery we review with our customers that Rightway does not provide rental cars and that we even had her sign a document acknowledging she was aware of our rental policy at delivery.

Regarding the previous conversations between Mrs. ****** and our staff, including myself, Mrs. ****** was very agitated and unruly on the phone yelling and screaming during most the conversation. I personally asked Mrs. ****** if I could please talk to her husband because she was being so unruly and she responded with "my husband's is a moron you don't need to talk to him". I understand how Mrs. ****** can be angry - having your vehicle breakdown is a stressful situation, which is why after she hung up on me, I called her back after some time to offer her some help with her vehicle. Even though she was out of warranty and we had no responsibility for any repairs, my offer was that I would help with some of the expense if she would have the vehicle towed to one of our preferred, third-party, state licensed service facilities to get the problem diagnosed so we could figure out exactly what we were talking about. Her husband called back that night demanding that we put something in writing that said we were going to pay for anything wrong with her vehicle or they were not going to accept our help. Obviously, I was not comfortable doing that without even knowing what was wrong with the vehicle. As I mentioned, in this situation we tried to help Mrs. ****** with their repair out of goodwill because they were out of warranty coverage, but they wouldn't even take the vehicle to one of our preferred service facilities in the area to diagnose the vehicle's problem.

I am still willing to assist in some way but I need to have the vehicle inspected by a facility I trust to have it diagnosed before I can make a reasonable commitment. Please have Mrs. ****** contact me calmly so we can come to a resolution.

Cordially,

Jay McCrum
Regional Manager
231 486 0360


Final Consumer Response
I called Right Way today. Spoke with a few different people. First *** who transferred me to ***** but a fellow named**** answered. Claimed to be the regional manager. Got snippy with me. Mind you I'm stressed out because our car is ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD! He had the nerve to tell me he wanted to speak to my husband because he wanted to talk to someone who KNEW what they were talking about. He ended up hanging up on me. I called back and a lady by the name of ****** answered and would not tell me whom I was speaking to before being hung up on. I explained that his name was **** or J something....I was like well you work there so figure out who I was speaking to. She then hung up on me. Finally got**** to agree to pay for repairs if I had it towed to a shop. Told my husband to call back to get that in writing before I do ANYTHING. They refused to give us anything in writing and then proceeded to ask that we remove this claim from the BBB

05/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Rightways website it states very clearly that you can pick from their inventory of 1500 cars and they will bring it to you.This is not true.
I went to their website and picked a couple of vehicles that I wanted to test drive and see. After making an appointment to see them, I showed up on time to be told that the cars were not there. I then rescheduled for a week later. I then received a phone call from one of their salesmen stating that they must run my credit and see if I am eligilbe to test drive and see the vehicles that I requested. I gave him all my information and then he stated that it costs about 400 dollars per vehicle to bring them to ******** **** for me to test drive but he would get them there. I then showed up for me second scheduled appointment and again the vehilces were not there. I attempted to contact the salesman that was "helping" me and he did not answer. I then attempted to contact the manager and he was also unavailable. The next day I received an email from someone at their corporate office asking if I wanted to reschedule my appointment for a third time and I started to get upset. I then explained that I have wasted my gas twice to go there and noone will explain to me why the vehicles I wanted were not there. She stated that she would have the manager call me and when he did I was on another call. I immediately called him back to be told he was unavailable. He once again did not call me back so I emailed Heater at corporate and explained that I was done with their company and would be making a complaint with the BBB and then I received the call from the manager I have been waiting almost 3 weeks for.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my gas reimbursed for the times that I went to their company. I know that there is nothing I can do about them running my credit.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: G********RIGHTWAY.COM
4/29/13

******** ******, BBB Case#: ********

To whom it may concern:
After speaking with Mr. and Mrs. ****** on the phone I set up a time to have them ***e in and meet with myself so we could go over this whole situation. The problem started when the customer didn't fully understand our ***pany policy on bringing vehicles from other locations, and the salesperson didn't fully explain why our ***pany policy is the way that it is. This incident was more of a mis***munication between the salesperson and the customer. I have had a chance to sit down with Mr. and Mrs. ****** myself and fully explained our process and we are working towards a solution to their vehicle needs. She is very happy now and we should have her in a new vehicle in the very near future.

Sincerely,

****** *****
Sales manager
**********************************************
***************.***

10/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged for a "free" extended warranty and wont follow through with cancelling it and refund money.
I bought a 2013 Chevrolet Sonic vin#***************** ON 15 June 2014. I was told that they would through in a free 6 year warranty but charged me $2000 for it. After reviewing warranty company through the BBB I most defiantly don't want to pay $2000 for it do to the bad reports and seeing it was suppose to be free. I contacted the warranty company and was informed that only the selling dealership could cancel the contract and to wright them a letter requesting so.I have mailed letters no response, multiple phone called and talk to Rudy. Every time I talk to them they just tell me the order for the cancellation has been placed but in over two months time they have still failed to cancel the warranty or refund the $2000.

Desired Settlement
I would like the warrant to be canceled and the full $2000 to be refunded.

Business Response
September 29, 2014

To whom it may concern,

This letter is regarding BBB Case # ********.

Rightway Automotive takes customer satisfaction very seriously. That is the reason we have every vehicle safety inspected by an independent state licensed repair facility prior to making it available for sale. It's also why we provide every customer with an independent, 6 month or 6,000 mile warranty and 2 years-worth of oil changes at no cost to the customer. We also have additional extended warranties from independent companies available for purchase.

There appears to be some confusion relating to Mr. ********** complaint. To clarify, we do include a 6 month, 6,000 mile power train warranty with every purchase. However, we also offer extended warranties for purchase from independent and licensed national warranty companies. Mr. ******** elected to purchase a very comprehensive 5 yr/60,000 mile extended warranty. He financed the warranty in his auto loan, the cost was separately indicated on all documents and he executed a separate warranty contract of which he received a copy. The contract reviews in detail the coverages as well as his rights and responsibilities. Mr. ******** indicates he has called and written us to process a cancellation on his warranty but we have received no such correspondence. After receiving this complaint, I personally called him and he told me he called 2 months ago but isn't sure who he talked to and his sales person indicates he did not have a conversation with him.

I am not sure what negative reports Mr. ******** has found in regards to the "First Extended Service Corporation" warranty that he purchased but I have utilized a number of warranty companies in my 30+ years in the industry and I know this one is excellent. In the last roughly 5 years, this warranty company has paid out over $2 million dollars in service repair bills helping take great care of our customers.

Regardless, I have initiated the process of cancelling Mr. ********** warranty based on this complaint/request. It generally takes about 2 weeks to complete. Since the cost of the contract was financed, his legally pro-rated refund will be sent to his lender who will apply the check to the balance of his auto loan reducing his payoff. I honestly do not feel this is in our customer's best interest and I sincerely hope that Mr. ******** has no service issues that would have been covered by this warranty. If he changes his mind about cancelling prior to the final processing of the cancellation, he should call me as soon as possible.

Sincerely,


**** *******
Regional Manager
Rightway Automotive
(616)*********


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I dont trust that they will do what they say they continue to lie to me. Like this **** ******* said he spoke with me. I have not spoke with a **** from Rightway. I don't know who he spoke with but not me . I have spoke with ** the sales man who sold me the car, and I do Know who I spoke with at Rightway about Canceling the warranty and gave his name in the original complaint. I had spoke with **** in the finance department because that is who I was told I had to speak with when I had originally called. he also told me it would take a couple of weeks to process and that was over two months ago. I still have a dated copy of the letter I wrote and sent as well. **** is right in there is paperwork I signed about the warranty but the twice my size intimidating finance guy towering over me pushing me to sign assured me that yes it was a free warranty that he was throwing in and that the paperwork was necessary and for show to get the warranty going. To assure Mr. ******* of, if I have an issue with my car, It is still under factory warranty, I checked with GM, and that is another lie they told to the warranty company. The paperwork that was just to get it going was marked that the vehicle was not under factory warranty. The factory warranty cancels out the extended warranty in the case of service according to the warranty agreement paperwork. With a list of lies from Rightway I will only accept a full refund of funds and only when the refund is complete. If Rightway continues to lie and fail to comply I know an investigative reporter for news 8 that would be interested in a corrupt dealership story.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/27/2000Business started: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1995, MI

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dick Garber (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Gary Walters (Regional Manager, West Michigan)Mr Mike Crane (General Manager)Mr. Roby Issac (Manager, Traverse City Location)Mr. Jay McCrum (Northern Regional Manager)Mr. Nick Miller (Manager, Mt. Pleasant Location)Mr. Greg Perrin (Detroit Area Regional Manager)Mr. Dan Reese (Manager, Comstock Park Location)Mr. Doug White (Central Regional Manager)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

Alternate Business Names
New Century Auto Sales, Inc.

If you choose to do business with Rightway Automotive Credit, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Rightway Automotive Credit

1680 28th St SW

Wyoming, MI 49519-7013

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rightway Automotive Credit is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews as of January 1, 2013. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.