BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/24/1999

Cole Buick GMC Cadillac

(269) 323-3200View Additional Phone Numbers6600 S Westnedge Ave, PortageMI 49002-3553 Send email to Cole Buick GMC CadillacView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/24/1999

BBB has determined that Cole Buick GMC Cadillac meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cole Buick GMC Cadillac

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Had to pay for service twice on the same issue within a short time frame.
Brought 2007 saturn vue into dealership on 2/27 due to engine light coming on. Diagnosis was done and car was delivered back to me on 3/2. Service costs were $624 for parts and labor. A few days later the service light returned back on and I immediately contacted dealer. On 3/11 took vehicle back to dealership. Recieved call from service rep on Friday that that an additional ~$1500 in service would need to be completed. I instructed service rep to call me as the technician diagnosed the car to understand if all ~$1500 of service needed to be preformed. Did not hear back from the dealer until Tuesday evening which I had to call the dealer to find out about the status of the vehicle. All work had been preformed on the vehicle without any discussion from Friday till Tuesday evening.

Desired Settlement
Appropriate refund from dealer as the vehicle was already brought in for $600 worth of service and then an additional $1500 worth of service. Both of these couldn't have been solved the issue because the service light was still on after the first performed service

Business Response
Told Mr ****** yesterday that we realize that what we thought would fix the vehicle did not work. He gave us permission to continue with the exploration into the problem and we agreed that we could credit him the $633 he spent on the first attempt against whatever it costs after we drop the head on the vehicle and diagnose and repair the issue. Nothing has been repaired yet and he has not been charged $1500 for anything. He has given us permission to continue with pulling the head and finding the deeper issue with the engine.

Consumer Response
A portion of the labor costs should be shared by the dealer as discussed with service adviser.
Took 2007 saturn vue into dealer at the beginning of April for check engine light service. Car was diagnosed and repaired at a cost of $624. After two days of normal driving, check engine light returned. Took vehicle back to dealer on 3/10 and car was diagnosed to have an additional $1250 of work done. This required tearing the engine apart multiple times from the work that was originally done on the vehicle to diagnose the issue. Discussed with service advisor that I should not have to pay for all the labor associated with tearing the engine apart multiple times when the car was wrongly diagnosed. Dealer did provide a credit of the original $624 but $936 of the $1265 was due to labor which all could not have been attributed to the second service repair.

Final Business Response
We had to remove the cylinder heads to replace a sticking valve. Mr ****** was charged $936 in labor to complete this repair. Mr. ****** was given the $625 credit for our previous error in diagnosis. We do not feel that we owe any additional because he paid only for the valve replacement.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/29/1985Business started: 01/01/1972New Owner Date: 09/01/2015
Type of Entity


Incorporated: February 1992, MI

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy S. Cole (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Connie Born (Controller)Mr. Robert Baker (Vice President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Cole Century, Inc., Cole Automotive Group

If you choose to do business with Cole Buick GMC Cadillac, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cole Buick GMC Cadillac

6600 S Westnedge Ave

Portage, MI 49002-3553

To | From


1 Locations

  • 6600 S Westnedge Ave 

    Portage, MI 49002-3553(269) 323-3200
    (800) 783-5393

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cole Buick GMC Cadillac is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 783-5393

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews as of January 1, 2013. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.