BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/18/2014

Douglas Manufacturing

Phone: (727) 442-3158Fax: (727) 442-8576View Additional Phone Numbers1115 Cleveland St, ClearwaterFL 33755-4808FacebookGoogle+

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of windows, doors, and storm shutters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/18/2014

BBB has determined that Douglas Manufacturing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Douglas Manufacturing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Douglas Manufacturing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Chipped a large chunk of silver off my antique mirror and didn't keep it or intend to help us find it
My mirror came back with a large chunk missing from my silver frame. They seemed to think this large chunk missing wasn't a big deal and they swept it into their dirt pile and dismissed it!!

When we called and asked for it they said they wanted to go home in 5 minutes at 3:45 on a Friday but they'd see if they find it. I told them I was coming then and to hold the doors for me.

When I walked in the owner said his guy was looking in the back for it and sent me out back. When I went out back his guy wasn't looking for it, he was cutting a piece of glass.

I started looking around him.

When he was done he started looking and I started crying and asking what he does with the dirt that falls off the table etc. We started fighting and the guy was 3 times my size as I am only 4'9" and he was very aggressive with me and refused to help me.

The owner came out, I told him it was ******** that they weren't trying to help me and he told me to leave or he'd call the police. He photo'd my license plate like I was some big threat to him.


My husband had to go back and find the metal himself and refuse to leave until he found it.


They even charged him $15 for the piece of glass they cut that they couldn't fit in the mirror while they broke it.

Desired Settlement
$300

I need to pay a professional to repair the 150 year old antique metal frame which once belonged to my great grandmother

Business Response
Case # XXXXXXXX
When her husband first came in we told him we weren't sure we could even put mirror in the frame, he said to just bend the frame out, put the mirror in and bend it back best as possible. He said he needed to get it fixed before his wife found out and got mad at him for breaking it, we warned him. A small piece was broken off by accident, and I apologize for that and I understand her being upset, but she has gone beyond what was necessary.

We tried our best and we will gladly refund her the money he paid, but I will not pay her $300.00. If she would like to get 3 reasonable estimates from local repair shops, we will pay for the repair.

We always close at 4 on Friday and tell every customer that, so it's not that she was being rushed. (Our shop guy even stayed until 5:00pm until he found the piece.) Our shop guy was looking but had to finish up another customers order. She came in cussing and yelling at my employee, which she coincidentally has not mentioned in any of her complaints or reviews. I have included the slanderous reviews she has submitted on other review sites. My shop worker was called an "as*****", stupid, worthless and many other names. She also pushed our glass table so hard it broke the wheel off. I have also included pictures.

I understand her being upset about her antique but the way she handled herself was terrible and now she is posting reviews, exaggerating and not telling how she behaved. Pointing out our employee's size, making him sound like some sort of aggressive criminal is unacceptable. His feelings are very hurt by the things she has said to and about him. Her behavior was out of control; she was in so much rage she even threw her own phone across the street.

She also fails to mention the other jobs we have done for her that have been completed and have never once had an issue with. We value our customers and would never treat them the way she says we have.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes I swore. Yes I pushed the table.

His employee also swore at me and his size is true and my size is true.

The wheel on the table was tied on by a string and the wheel dislodged as I slid it. I only slid it after the employee had done so, there was no indication that this was something I wasn't supposed to do to find my piece of silver.

I am not aware of any local repair shops, I have found one in LA that can do it.

I do not accept their offer of finding a local repair company unless they know of one that specializes in that whom I do not.



Final Business Response
I have spoken to the company below and they do this type of repair and can give you a quote. Please take it there and let us know the results.

****** P **** ************
*** ******** **
*********** *** XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

10/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not deliver what was promised. Even after three requests!
I had an appointment in the apartment with ****,a company representative on 9/30/2013. After he was done taking measurements, he wrote down my email address and promised to send me the estimate to my email the following day. After several days had gone by and I never received an email from the company, I called and left a message on their phone. A friendly reminder that I was still waiting for the email quote. This message was left on Wednesday evening 10/9/13. Again I did not get any response even though I clearly left my phone number and repeated it twice to make sure it could be noted down by the listener.
Since I didn't hear back, I called again today, 10/11/13 at 1:13 PM and was able to speak to **** directly. I asked him where the email quote was, if he had sent it he said "NO" but he also promised that I would definitely have it by the end of the day. Later, I checked my email and still had not received the quote, therefore I called Douglas Manufacturing again at 3:59 PM only to be told that **** had left for the day and would be back on Monday.
The woman I spoke to said she could take a message and **** would call me back on Monday. I said this was not what I wanted and explained about the missing email. She wanted to look it up but could not even find any paperwork. She said she would call **** and get back to me in a few minutes. I agreed. VERY shortly later, at 4:07 PM she called and told me that they would not be wanting to do the job after all!
This wasted several days of my time waiting for an estimate that would never have come even though it was promised at the personal appointment I had with ****.
This is just unacceptable business practice and very unprofessional.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have an apology and a detailed written explanation as to why I was told that they rather would not want to do the job, eleven (11) days after I was told that I would receive a quote via email.
You just don't let customers hang like that.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******- V. Presidet
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********************
I apologize that you did not receive the quote in a timely manner. I had been trying to come up with a proper product to use to reseal your window, so that you wouldn't have the problem again in the future. Unfortunately it took much longer then expected.

I did not find a product I was satisfied with and I should have said we can not help you at this time and not promised to get you a quote. I apologize.

I understood you had 11 bids on this work so I didn't feel I was leaving you without options, again I apologize.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I accept the apology but I cannot accept the reasoning. I never said I had eleven (11) other bids! I did mention that it was a lot of work for me to call so many different companies, eleven all together only to find out that most of them have no license to work above the 3rd floor and this condo being on the 10th floor didn't fall into their acceptable category. How can you construe 11 bids from this conversation - I don't understand! What upset me is that I spoke to **** ****** on the phone. I expressed my disappointment that I had not received the promised email with his quote after over one week and that I had called and left a message to remind him about it. Also this message was disregarded and never answered. He apologized for the neglect and promised on the phone that I would definitely have the email quote for sure by the end of the day (Friday). When I then called shortly BEFORE the end of the day to inquiry about the still missing email, I was told that Mr. **** ****** had already gone for the day and would be back on Monday. THIS is what REALLY upset me. To be ensured that I would get it at end of day and then be completely ignored.
Respectfully,
***** ** *******

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/08/1994Business started: 01/01/1948
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach
100 S Myrtle Ave Rm 202
Clearwater, FL33756-5520
(727) 562-4567
http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp

BBB records show a license number of C-9932 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of C-10350 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of BTR-0026860 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach. Their web address is http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1961, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Miller (President)Ms. Amy L. Miller (Vice President)
Business Category

Window Repair Companies, Window Companies, Storm Windows Doors Suppliers, Shutter Suppliers, Door Companies

Alternate Business Names
Shales, Inc., Douglas Mfg.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Douglas Manufacturing

1115 Cleveland St

Clearwater, FL 33755-4808

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1115 Cleveland St 

    Clearwater, FL 33755-4808(727) 442-3159

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Douglas Manufacturing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 442-3159
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Window Repair Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.