BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/23/2009

Stormfitters Corporation

Phone: (727) 544-0575Fax: (727) 545-23652501 Anvil St N, Saint PetersburgFL 33710-3902Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/23/2009

BBB has determined that Stormfitters Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Stormfitters Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Stormfitters Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company not following up with schooled time to discuss options for settlement of inferior products.
bought new hurricane impact windows from them in May of 2015. Discovered fingerprints, scratches, bubbles on the inside of the inside windows. I was told to contact manufacturer, Custom Window Systems of Ocala to take care of the issues. CWS has replaced three windows three times, and they are all the same poor quality; ie fingerprints, scratches and bubbles! Now the manufacturer is telling me to contact Stormfitters, and I have and they say they are coming out, but nobody shows. Am I to accept that I am just going to have to live with windows that are defective? Is there no quality control, or pride in work anymore? I have no confidence in the manufacturer producing a quality product, nor Stormfitters wanting to fix the problems. they got their money, so what do they care?

Desired Settlement
I have little confidence that the manufacturer can produce a quality window free from ANY defects, but am willing to see if they can. This could go on forever, and eventually cost them more in travel, employees pay, etc. So a monetary compensation is the only way I see that this will end in a timely fasion. But I'm willing to have the manufacturer keep trying, if the rep from Stormfitters would ever appear. I'm not paying a window cleaning company a third time so they can see the defects!

Business Response
Mrs. ***** did get bad glass in several of her windows and CWS has made several trips to correct the issues, as have Stormfitters. The problem we are having is that the flaws are so micro small that you can only see them at certain times of the day when the sun is hitting the windows just right. It was in fact so hard to see the flaws that Mrs. ***** hired a window cleaning company to clean them so we could actually see what she was seeing, however on the day we were scheduled to go out she canceled because the sun had already gone over her house and she knew we would be unable to see. Unfortunately the next day we had already committed ourselves to projects and were unable to get to her home. We have spent dozens of hours processing paperwork and making phone calls to assure that CWS is in fact held accountable. We all have made multiple trips to correct the issues. We feel that we have gone above and beyond in trying to make her happy. What profit ever made on this project is long gone. Mrs. ***** is a very nice person, we are sorry this happened. However CWS has certain standards to gauge what an actual defect is. They have already stated most of issues were acceptable to them but went ahead and changed the glass anyway.
If what she is seeing is so small and can only be seen at very specific times I feel that CWS will not replace them again. However we will continue to work with her to resolve this matter.

09/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Quality of work and no response after contacting them with complaint and issues brought to their attention. Work not completed when promised.
Contracted to remodel kitchen and start work end of August and agrees to have work done end of September. We were there over thanksgiving and work still not completed and many issues with craftsmanship. Several text messages received that they will be there sometime that week and no one ever showed up. To date, none of the issued corrected and photographs of all issues taken and can be provided along with all text messages and email documentation.

Desired Settlement
Complete the job with quality craftsmanship. Replace and repair all issues with the work completed. Reimbursement of the $100.00 paid to repair the issue with the drain under the kitchen sink and any future cost that their poor craftsmanship once a new company is contracted to do so.

Business Response
We are attempting to reach the homeowners. They do not live here full time, as soon as we can arrange to meet with them we will make every attempt to resolve their installation issues.

Consumer Response

10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
6 windows installed, all extremely hard to open and close, also leaks, calked myself. windows put in crooked, which is why too difficult to operate.
had carpenter check windows to see problem. all put in crooked, needs to be taken out and redone. called **** to talk about issues, said too late to register complaint. was assured by installer windows would loosen up with use. **** said he could send someone but charge would be $85.00 per hour. Weather stripping is coming off also. I think he should stand behind his product and installation, and make this right.

Desired Settlement
I want windows replaced or corrected so they operate easily. Weather stripping needs to be replaced and secured. Some windows I don't use at all, they are just to hard.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The job was originally done in April 2007. There was a 1 year warranty on installation and a limited lifetime warranty on parts. Within a year you should know if the installation is done right and if it leaked. The windows have been installed for 6 years, the customer did call for service in 2011 saying they were hard to operate. We explained there was a service charge and she was not happy about that.

As always it is our intent at Stormfitters to respond to any problem whether it is under warranty or not. I am more than happy to do whatever it takes to make the customer happy but I have been unable to get in touch with her. I have left two messages since this complaint was filed. If the customer wants to contact the owner directly she can reach me at the office or my cell phone number.

Final Consumer Response
I did get a response from **** *********, Storm Shutters Inc. owner president.
He called and we discussed the issue, however stating that since so much time has elapsed, there was little he could
do for free,. He did however come out to look and see the difficulties that I've had with these windows from day 1.
Again, we, (my significant other, who is rather a large and commanding presence) told **** about his installer insisting
that the windows would loosen up with time and use to where they would be smooth operating. Finally after some conversation
and **** trying all the windows with this problem, he did see that they were not operating correctly. Still he kept
going back to the time lapse. Finally he conceded that he would send someone out to do any repair, replacement or
whatever necessary to correct this problem. Again he said that the cost for this appointment with his mechanic would
cost approx. $80.00, "after all it was his worker, his truck at his expense etc". Seeing that this did not make us happy, especially
my guy,*****, before leaving, he did say "well ok, I'll come out and take care of this myself at no charge"
We'll see if he's a man of his word. In return he said I had to promise him that I would contact you folks at BBB and
tell you that the situation is taken care of. As this is a blemish on his company, he wants it removed. We told him
we would be happy to do this, after we are satisfied with the outcome and repair of windows.

Just a note: Yes it is still a man's world and as hard as women try and as far as we have come, men seem to still have the
upper hand. Ya see that's why I had***** here, because he would not and did not speak to me like he did on the phone
on the 2 occasions that I called him, Totally unconcerned and aloof, basically telling me to go to **** without saying it.
He was extremely sweet to me and honey poured from his lips to*****. I have gone thru this before, being a single woman.
Women are talked down to, whereas a man on equal ground are given much more respect. Frankly I am sick to death
that this is so. Sorry *****, just had to vent!!

**** let you know when this complaint is totally resolved. And thank you so much, Mr. ********* would never had agreed
to this without BBB.

Thanks again, talk soon I hope.
**************

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/30/2001Business started: 07/13/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL 33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

Business Tax Receipt/St Petersburg
PO Box 2842
Saint Petersburg, FL 33731-2842
(727) 893-7241
http://www.stpete.org/billing/business tax division

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL 33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

Pasco County Contractor's License
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL 34654-5598
(727) 847-8009

Sarasota County Contractor's License

Sarasota, FL 34231
(941) 861-3285

Hernando County Contractor Licensing Div
789 Providence Blvd
Brooksville, FL 34601-3043
(352) 754-4050

BBB records show a license number of CGC1516020 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of I-CGC1516020 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 16-00030913 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/St Petersburg. Their web address is http://www.stpete.org/billing/business tax division.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CGC1516020 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CGC1516020 for this company, issued by Pasco County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CTBLDB-CGC1516020 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CGC1516020 for this company, issued by Hernando County Contractor Licensing Div.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2000, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William H. Covington (President / License Holder)
Business Category

Window Installation Companies, Remodelers, General Contractors, Window Companies, Shutter Suppliers, Door Companies, Hurricane Storm Protection

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Stormfitters Corporation

2501 Anvil St N

Saint Petersburg, FL 33710-3902

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2501 Anvil St N 

    Saint Petersburg, FL 33710-3902Fax: (727) 545-2365

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Stormfitters Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Window Installation Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.