BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/09/2005

Lanai Window Enclosures, Inc.

Phone: (239) 549-5268Fax: (239) 549-2216

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We Contracted with a Mr ** ***** To install Lanai Sliding windows. Part of the project was to re screen the Lanai. The spline used was to small for the aluminum frame. I have contacted Mr. ***** and he will not correct this problem. His claim is that the aluminum extrusions are old and worn out. This is not the case. A larger spline is needed and he will not make it right. The installers used only what the had with them that day. 220 spline is required. One call back for service was done March of 2014 to repair loose screen. The screen is loose this season as well. Thank you *** ********

Desired Settlement
Install new spline .220

Business Response
This response was taken verbally by the **** Everything was done on Jan 07, of 2013. This was the date on the contract. His screen wall was built in 1970, that is when the units were built. He is on the gulf, and has had this in for two years. These are aluminum extrusions and salt water corrodes aluminum, the extrusions are 45 years old. He has had this for two years and now he has a problem and I explained to him in the beginning that he would have a problem. All we did was put in the screen, the extrusions were all ready present. This has nothing to do with the work we did. The only way this could be corrected is if he puts in all new aluminum extrusions. We do not do this. The screen wall belongs to the condo association and not to the home owner.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Larger spline was required for the job. We have a resident that has worked with aluminum extrusions as he had a business as such. He does not agree that the extrusions are worn out. It was a sloppy job with the smaller spline. The condos were built in the early eighties. A good job would have been appreciated . All that was needed was .220 spline.

03/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unsafe living conditions
On June 9, 2014 Mr. ** ***** ownder/estimater gave me a price of $3,471 to replace my rear wall consisting of two windows, security door w/screens and i assumed an outlet and switch (inside) and a light (outside). The following week, two of his men came and tore down the wall, door and windows. At that time of the men informed me that they do no electrical work and that I would have to hire one, to which i stated that was not our deal. The next day I approached mr. ***** about the matter and he became extremely ignorante towards me and stated that there was no room for negotiation on the subject because he gave me a good price to begin with. I again tried to reason with him and he rudely asked me "do i bring the windows or not" to which i replied that no matter what, I was a man of my word. He then very sarcastically told me his men would be back on july 9 to finish. I told mr. ***** I was taking my children to the keys then and he said that makes no difference, he men could do it without me. Although I have two large sliders as security, I had no curtains for privacy. I had to sleep on my couch each and every night with a weapon to provide security for my family at least while we were there. (no security for 4 days while in the keys! Then while driving home from the keys earlier than i anticipated because of the opening, mr. ***** called to inform me that his men would be there friday to finish due to inclement weather. I feel that my family and I were put in a very bad and possibly dangerous situation due to mr. ****** total lack concern for another person let alone their family including my 12 yr. old grandaughter.

Desired Settlement
Seeing how I served our country and provided security for him and his family (Vietman and Iraq/afganistan) he should do the same for my family ( I can take care of myself). Mr. ***** as the owner of the company should at least give me a reduction in the price for the safety issues, not to mention the stress factor.

Business Response
In response to the complaint made by case # XXXXXXXX is as follows.

The customer was given a 15% discount at the initial signing of the contract for his lanai on June 9, 2014. The removal of jalousie windows on rotted wood and the new framing was done on June 23, 2014.
In that time frame the window manufacturing company was shut down from June 30 thru July 4 for their vacation. We could not complete the installation on July 9 because of rain. We guarantee against leakage and if it rains we can not seal. The job on his lanai with acrylic windbreaks was completed on July 11, 2014.
When the job was completed both customer and wife were very pleased and happy. He gave the remaining balance on completion in a check dated Aug 11, 2014. I called the customer to tell him of the date and we would drop by for him to correct it. He refused o do so and at this point he has not paid the remaining balance as stated on his contract.
In reference to the electrical, both owner and the installer told the customer that we do not do electrical work and he would have to call an electrician.
There was nothing inferior to this customer as we would in a timely manner for all customers. We give the best possible installation of any company in the business.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What
r. ***** failed to mention is that there was no mention of his not replacing the existing outlet, switch and exterior lighting. And his obnoxious attitude when I approached him on the matter! My wife and I are very happy with the job done by the two mechanics he sent to complete the job, but very unsatisified with ********* behavior. And Mr. ***** can cash the final apyment check when it is 9/11/14. I don't consider that too much of an inposition for him.....like to one my family had to live with.

Final Consumer Response
The door which was installed did not close properly.
I called both Mr. ***** (the owner) and the operator on or about 12/14, but I had to hire another person to fix the problem. It's Feb. 24t and still haven't heard from Lanai. That is soo wrong!

Mr. ***** should apologize to the condo owner and his family for their inconvience and be made to pay the charges incurred by Mr. ******* ($125.00).

Final Business Response
This response was taken verbally by the BBB: I apologize for the inconvenience that my customer has experienced. When it was time for Mr. ******* to pay the bill for my services, he gave me a post dated check, for one month. Which is not proper protocol for payment. Due to the post dated check, I informed Mr. ******* that it would be a month before I could make the repair on the door. When I called Mr. ******* to make the repair, he informed me that he had already taken care of. There will be no refund. Mr. ******* did not allow me to make the repair, as I did inform him of the time line. The repair on the door would have been a goodwill gesture, since there is no warranty on the door. Thank you.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.