BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/06/1999

Hom Excel, Inc.

Phone: (727) 723-8700Fax: (727) 723-2102View Additional Phone Numbers21945 US Highway 19 N, ClearwaterFL 33765-2359Twitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/06/1999

BBB has determined that Hom Excel, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hom Excel, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hom Excel, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
11/06/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hom Excel, Inc. telemarketed me on 9/27/13. My phone number is registered on the National Do Not Call list.
This company has telemarketed me before and I informed them my phone number was on the National Do Not Call registry and asked them to remove my number. They have not.

Desired Settlement
I am sure they will blame a third party who provided them with the phone numbers. Since they are paying for this service they should demand that they not recieve phone numbers that are on the National Do Not Call registry, but they have not. This is a shoddy business practice and should affect their BBB rating.

Business Response
I am responding to this complaint via fax because I am unsure how we contacted Ms. *******. When I put her phone number in our database it comes up on our Do Not Call list. We do not even have a contact phone number for her. I am attaching our calling list for ************ in***************** (This is our actual calling list), which is where ' she is located. As you will see, her name and number is NOT on this list. I confirmed with all of my phone room representatives (all 4 of them), and no one has a. call back or any contact information on her. I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused, but maybe it's possible she got our name confused with another company. Either way, please assure Ms. ******* that she IS on our Do Not Call List, and we will not be contacting her.

Final Consumer Response


Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

This company called me again yesterday, October 9 at 11:42am. The caller asked for me by name and said that they are in my area, Top of the World and asked if I wanted new windows. I had to ask who she was and what company is she calling from to find out that she was calling from Hom Excel. I told her that I was on the national do not call list and that they have been warned before not to call me. She then hung up on me. I wasn't able to get her name but I want the company to stop calling. I think it is shoddy business practice to call people on the national do not call list. They try to blame a third party that someone else gave them the number but it is their responsibility to make sure the company they are paying for the list is eliminating the national do not call list numbers. I wouldn't do business with them if they were the last window company in the world.


Business Response
Ms. ******* has our humblest of apologies.....The call she received was complete human error on OUR part...NOT a third party.....We have recently replaced the manager for that department and her new replacement ran the DNC list improperly...I'm sorry that she received another call from us....But....In a way I'm glad that Ms. ******* contacted you....Otherwise we could have gotten a lot more complaints like this...We aim to always abide by the DNC laws...I have corrected the situation and again offer our apologies to Ms. *******....****** ***** Operations Manager

02/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was lied to by the sales man on a few questions that my windows were hurricane proof. I was told they would withstand high winds and objects would not break through the glass that I could throw concrete at the window and nothing would happen. after the glass was already cracked by installer, and I could hit it with a bat and not break through the glass. ,the windows are not up to code of fl law and all the windows in the home were changed without them filing for a permit with the town. so when they were installing them a window broke and I realized they are not hurricane prof. the owner came here and was very nice but did not solve the problem. I was lied to and lead to believe that they were hurricane prof. I found out later from some friends that also had windows changed by home excel they were lied to. I have 4 different homes of people that herb spoke to and told them it was hurricane windows. they are all upset. I have all receipts and peoples names and address of people that are not *****. I also was not offered covers for the windows that they are not hurricane prof. like the manufacture told me they should have offered me.I do not know anything about window I was relying on the salesman to educate me instead I was lied to and ripped off
Product_Or_Service: simonton windows

Desired Settlement
I would like hurricane windows like I though I was getting and paid hard earned money for.I paid 8,000 dollars for windows that are not worth that!~!!!!!

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We went out to the customers home to understand his complaint. There was some miscommunication with what the sales person told the customer. We are going to honor the customers desired resolution and replace the windows with impact windows. We signed a new contract and plan to complete the resolution within the next 2-3 weeks.

Final Consumer Response


Final Business Response

06/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company repeated calls. Each time they are told we are on a DO NOT CALL LIST.
this company continues to call, despite us indicating we are on a DO NOT CALL list. Last week, I called the company and was told we were being deleted from the list. Today, June 10, 2013, we were called again. I was extremely arrogant in telling the company, "How many times do I have to tell you not to call." I'm fully expecting a call again next week. This has got to stop. I'm at my wits end. They are oh so non-compliant. At this point, it is total harassment. Please help us in making sure these calls do not continue.

Desired Settlement
We want this company to STOP calling. They need to be black listed.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

The customer called our office after receiving a phone call. She spoke with a phone room manager and I personally removed her immediately. This was approximately the end of last week and she has not received any more calls. She is confirmed to be removed from our database and we will not call her again.

07/03/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
12/16/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company repeatedly violates the Do No Call Registry. I get a call from their salespeople at least once per month.
This company repeatedly violates the Do No Call Registry. I get an illegal call from their salespeople at least once per month. I tell every caller I will never buy anything from a company like theirs that repeatedly violates the law and to stop calling me. Yet the calls continue.

Desired Settlement
I would like these people to start following the law and to stop calling me and the other people they are calling illegally.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****************
After receiving Mr. ******'s complaint, I checked our database and confirmed that he is indeed on our Do Not Call List. I checked the integrity of our system and found an error. I have corrected the problem. It serves us no purpose to contact people that do not wish to be contacted and we take the laws regarding the Do Not Call list very seriously. Please let Mr. ****** know that we are very sorry for disturbing him and we will never call again.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for the response. I just want them to stop calling me every month, and ideally everyone else on the Do Not Call List. If the calls actually do stop I will be satisfied.

Consumer Response
I had considered this issue to be closed after they responded to the initial complaint and promised to stop calling me. However, I received a sales call from one of their telemarketers at 2:47 PM on Wednesday, October 9. As do all of their telemarketers, the gentleman I spoke with promised to take me off their list of people to call. No doubt this promise will be as empty as the promises that all of their telemarketers give when confronted with the same information.

I would really like to know what it will take to actually get them to stop violating federal law and stop calling me, and stop calling all of the other people on the do not call list who they are probably annoying as well. Thank you.


Business Response
I truly apologize that Mr. ****** was contacted by our company. I just did an update to our list on 9/27/13, and I always double check to make sure my lists are accurate and that the Do Not Calls are removed. Unfortunately some numbers get missed. I must have missed his name and number and I am very sorry that we bothered him when we know he does not wish to be bothered by us. I manually went in & removed his number as to not contact him again. Please assure him that we will NOT contact him again. I highlighted his information on our list to assure that he will NEVER be bothered by our company again. Again, please assure Mr. ****** we are very sorry for calling him, and that it will NOT happen again.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have no idea how often they actually check the Do Not Call list. However, the couple of dozen calls I have received from them over the years clearly demonstrates that their screening process is not effective. I wish they would consider implementing a screening process that actually worked and would ensure that they didn't violate the law by repeatedly calling numbers listed on the Do Not Call list. I appreciate that no screening process is perfect, but my experience proves that there is an enormous amount of room for improvement.

I will be satisfied with this response from the business if I never receive another phone call from them.

Consumer Response
I received yet another illegal telephone call from the company today (Friday, November 15, 2013) at approximately 3:35 PM. The caller identified herself as ****, although I'm not sure of the exact spelling. When I asked for a last name, she said she was the only one in the office.

This company is obviously completely incapable of following the Do Not Call law, and appears to have no intention of even attempting to follow this law. Every time I have spoken to one of their telemarketers I have asked to be taken off the calling list, and every one of them assures me that they will take my name off the list. Obviously, every one of them has lied to me. Whoever is responding to these complaints from the company and has been assuring me that I will stop receiving these phone calls is obviously not telling the truth, either.

I would like to know what it will take for this company to stop harassing me, and the thousands of other people they are pretty obviously harassing as well. So far, the only benefit I have gotten from this complaint to the Better Business Bureau, is the fact that the frequencies of these illegal phone calls has decreased, but it has not stopped.


Business Response
I can search my system by name, phone #, and address. I searched his name and his address and neither is coming up. On his last complaint I personally went in the system and removed him manually.

I also do not have a **** employed here. I only have 4 phone room operators, 2 whom are females, and neither are named ****. Does he by chance have a phone number from where the phone call came from?

I want to be of service to Mr. ******, and we obviously do not want to bother anyone who does not want to receive phone calls from our company. We do adhere to the Do Not Call lists. And I have truly went above and beyond, personally, to be sure that his phone number and information was removed from our system, so that we would never burden him again,

If anymore info could be given to help assist in this matter that would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
****** *****


Consumer Response
Most of the calls I have gotten from telemarketers claiming to represent Hom Excel have come from private numbers that I cannot see on caller ID. Of course, most companies that make illegal telemarketing calls intentionally block their outgoing phone number to make it more difficult to collect evidence against them.

The individual who called me most recently said her name was ****. I did ask for a last name but she was not willing to provide one. She said she was the only **** working there. I do not know if the caller was giving a real name or not. I just know that the caller was claiming to represent this company and was trying to sell me replacement windows for my home.

After a lengthy conversation with this caller, she promised to remove my name from the company calling list. Naturally, I do not believe the caller. Every one of the last couple of dozen callers that has annoyed me has promised to take my name off the list, yet I continue to receive calls.

I appreciate that Ms. ***** personally went into the system and manually removed my information from their calling list after one of my recent complaints. Of course, since I have been on the Do Not Call list for more than four years I should never have been on the list in their system to begin with.

I did run a check with the donotcall.gov website within the past week to verify that my number is on the list, and the verification I received reported that I have been on the list since 2009.

Although I have not kept specific records of all of the illegal telemarketing calls I have received from the various telemarketing companies, I can say that I have received at least 30 telemarketing calls from this company over the past couple of years. On one instance, I received two telemarketing calls on the same day from this company. I do not believe that this would happen if the company was following the law.

It appears to me that there are only two possible causes for the DOZENS of illegal telephone calls I received from this company. One possibility is that they do make an effort to follow the law, but their process of ensuring they do not make illegal phone calls is completely dysfunctional. If they had a functional process and were trying to follow the law, my name would not have been in their system for Ms. ***** to remove. The other possibility is that they are making no effort to follow the law.

***** ******

03/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Monthly phone calls trying to sell windows. Each time told them not interested and to take me off call list.
N/A

Desired Settlement
Stop phone calls.

Business' Initial Response
Immediately after receiving a phone call from the BBB the complaintant was removed from our calling list. The day prior to being contacted by the BBB I received a call from the complaintant. He offered no information in order to remove his name and phone number from our list so I was not able to do so. We apologize for any inconveniece that we may have caused him.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They should have taken my name off the call list when I requested each month they called. Why wait for the BBB to call with a complaint? This is a poor business practice that drives business away. They have placed themselves on the same level as a "scam" operation.

06/01/2012Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/11/1998Business started: 03/11/1970Business started locally: 12/19/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Pasco County Contractor's License
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL34654-5598
(727) 847-8009

Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach
100 S Myrtle Ave Rm 202
Clearwater, FL33756-5520
(727) 562-4567
http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp

BBB records show a license number of C-7959 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of SCC131149902 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 014537 for this company, issued by Pasco County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of BTR-0002392 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach. Their web address is http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1997, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eugene C. Provenzano (President)Ms. Shawna Arnold (Administrative Assistant)Mr. Charles Dayhoff (Esquire)Mr. Daniel J. Provenzano (Vice President)
Business Category

Window Installation Companies, Window Companies, Door Companies, Stucco Exterior Coating Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers window and door replacement.

Alternate Business Names
Hom-Excel, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hom Excel, Inc.

21945 US Highway 19 N

Clearwater, FL 33765-2359

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 21945 US Highway 19 N 

    Clearwater, FL 33765-2359

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hom Excel, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 991-7199
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Window Installation Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.