BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/26/2010

Absolute Window & Shutter, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (941) 485-7774Fax: (941) 483-1850View Additional Phone Numbers171 Center Rd, VeniceFL 34285View Additional Web AddressesFacebookTwitterLinkedIn

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/26/2010

BBB has determined that Absolute Window & Shutter, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Absolute Window & Shutter, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Absolute Window & Shutter, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/09/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After over 2 years of delay tactics from faulty install, our replacement screens are currently at Absolute and we can't get anyone to install them.
Absolute installed the windows, doors, and screens in our new construction. During construction we had requested a different installer. **** replied that he was the only installer so **** accompanied the installer on the next visit. Within one year of our move-in date in 2010, problems began with the screens. ****** sent a part, and even though we do much of the work ourselves, and are very mechanical we could not repair it ourselves. They tried to repair them in 2011 with the original installer to no avail. In 2011 our communications with **** began, however, our latter voice mails were not acknowledged. On January 24th 2012 our communications with ***** began. In Sept. 2012 ***** called and said he was referring us to the Neuma Rep. ***** contacted the manufacturer who sent the Dist. rep. and a Service technician who stated they were installed improperly, and the screens needed to be replaced. This visit occurred at beginning of 2013. Then the Neuma Rep ******* had new screens delivered to Absolute by the end of May 2013. ***** called and said he would install the screens in the first full week of June 2013. He did not arrive or call. After 2 months, we made 6 futile attempts of communication with ***** via voice mails, e-mails, texts. We contacted Neuma Corporate on August 14th to see if ***** was still working with them. Then ***** called to get things rolling. Since then Absolute has told us they didn't do our install (and we have all the receipts) we were told that the screens would arrive August 23 however they were already there, and an install date would be scheduled after August 23. When we did not hear from them by August 27 we called and they stated they had no one to install the screens. ***** said Neuma was going to install them but ***** said his installer is in Texas and wouldn't be here for some time. ***** stated he would get in touch with Neuma. We currently have a call into Neuma Corp. asking for contact information for an installer on the West Coast of Florida who has had experience or training for installing Neuma retractable screens. We don't care if Neuma or Absolute installs the screens, however we do not want to go through this arduous ordeal again. We spent over $22,000 in we do not feel we should spend additional money to correct the faulty installation. There have been many phone calls to both Absolute and Neuma with empty promises, except that the new screens were delivered to Absolute.

Desired Settlement
We want the screens that have been sent to Absolute to be properly installed by a person qualified to install Neuma retractable screens.

Business Response
When we installed the product in January 2009, everything was installed properly. The statement about "faulty installation" is totally false and unsubstantiated. After the home was completed we performed a "punch out" on the home. We make sure everything operates properly. This was completed on 9/10/09. At this time we installed the retractable screens. They functioned properly when we installed them. These screens are very touchy when it comes to their operation. If a screw is tightened a little too much or not enough, they don't function perfectly. These specific retractable screens have no warranty from the manufacturer. As a good faith gesture, we ordered and have paid for the new retractable screens, and did not charge the homeowner. We have had other service issues with these particular retractable screens, and when we do, we call in the manufacturer for support. Unfortunately, we can not control the timeframe that the manufacturer gives a homeowner as far as completion time. At this time, we have the screens, the manufacturer has been made aware we have the screens, and they will contact the homeowner to install them. We will do everything we can to expedite this service.

Final Consumer Response
We were told someone would be out this week to fix the one screen that still is working correctly. So I would say we are still not satisfied.

Final Business Response
The Neuma rep spoke to the homeowner today and is trying to schedule for next week. This will be based on both the rep's and the homeowner's schedule. He will bring parts from stock screen door just in case a part is needed to get screen working better. He will notify me when it is scheduled and I will notify BBB.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/30/2007Business started: 01/06/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax
101 S Washington Blvd
Sarasota, FL34236-6940
(941) 861-8300
http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com

Sarasota County Contractor's License

Sarasota, FL34231
(941) 378-6126

Charlotte County Contractors License

Port Charlotte, FL33952
(941) 743-1201

Occupational License/Punta Gorda

Punta Gorda, FL33950
(941) 575-3369

BBB records show a license number of CGC1516962 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 4302620050882 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CGC1516962 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of FRO2138 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CGC1516962 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 15-00014870 for this company, issued by Occupational License/Punta Gorda.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 15-00016046 for this company, issued by Occupational License/Punta Gorda.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2000, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale E. Desjardins Jr. (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Kristi Gerathy (Office Admin.)Mr. Gary W. Bannan (License Holder)Mr. Sean Gerathy (Vice President)Mr. Patrick Leonard (Vice President)
Business Category

Window Installation Companies, Hurricane Storm Protection, Shutter Suppliers, Storm Windows Doors Suppliers, Window Companies

Products & Services

This company provides residential and commercial new construction window and sliding door installation and replacement.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Absolute Window & Shutter, Inc.

171 Center Rd

Venice, FL 34285

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1611 Manzana Ave 

    Punta Gorda, FL 33950-6019(941) 916-9003

  • 171 Center Rd 

    Venice, FL 34285

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Absolute Window & Shutter, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (941) 408-1920
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Window Installation Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.