BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2010

Window World of Tampa Bay

Phone: (866) 946-3189Fax: (813) 830-6826View Additional Phone Numbers5910 Breckenridge Pkwy Ste B, TampaFL 33610-4236FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2010

BBB has determined that Window World of Tampa Bay meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Window World of Tampa Bay's rating include:

  • 5 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Window World of Tampa Bay's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Window World of Tampa Bay

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
04/19/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Install date was 8/28/15. On install 1 window was cracked. Company to call on 8/31/15 to schedule replacement; no contact from company. On 9/1/15 I emailed Dan ***** salesman, to inform him of the issues with the installation: 1 cracked window, 3 windows have debris between the layers of glass, off level windows, gaps between windows and trim, missing trim, tear in screen, warped moldings on window frames and messy caulking. I received a call on 9/2/15 from Chad S., field supervisor, he was to inspect windows on 9/8/15. On 9/3/15 a second window cracked, the county inspector failed the inspection due to 2 cracked windows and he noted debris in 3 windows. 9/8/15 met with Chad, he was to contact me when windows received from the manufacturer (CWS Windows) for install, including all outstanding issues. On 10/1/15, 10/8/15,and 10/12/15 I contacted Chad, not ready. I contacted Chad on 10/13/15, to install on 10/19/15. 10/19/15 installer arrived with 3 replacement panes; unable to install due to debris in all 3 panes. 10/22/15 Chad scheduled install date on 10/28/15. 10/28/15 no call/no show. 10/28/15, 11/4/15, I contacted Chad, not ready. 11/16/15 I called GM Robert S.; left message. 11/17/15 after no response I called Robert he stated windows to be ready 11/18/15. 11/18/15, 11/20/15, I contacted Chad, not ready, replacement window cracked. 12/7/15 I contacted Chad, ready 12/11 to install on 12/15/15. 12/14/15 I contacted Chad, not ready. 12/17/15 Chad contacted me, 2 of 3 windows shipped. 1/4/16 Chad contacted me, 3rd pane to be ready 1/6/16. 1/8/16 I contacted Chad, not ready, he was to check with CWS and let me know; no response from Chad. Since the windows have been installed, we have spent much time (5 days and many hours), energy; endured stress and anxiety; suffered embarrassment, are unable to reassemble our home or start other home projects: AND have made over $3,500 in payments on windows that are not acceptable. Also have learned other customers are experiencing the same issues.
Product_Or_Service: hurricane windows and installation
Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
We would expect all work to be completed immediately in full, now with lifetime warranty on all concerned items and labor. We expect full reimbursement of any monies spent up to the point that we deem the windows and installation satisfactory. We will expect all costs associated with this dispute to be included if contested, including a total refund and time missed from work.

Business Response
We have received Mrs. ******' complaint with the BBB. We apologize for the delay and completing her job. Chad ***** our Field Supervisor in the Tampa area has been in touch with Mrs. ****** and we are set to go to on 1/20 to complete her install. I hope that this is satisfactory with the BBB and Mrs. ******.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On 1/13/16 I was contacted by GM, G. ****** of Window World to discuss issues. He was to check with CWS windows and let me know the progress. 1/14/16 G. ****** called to inform me they were to receive windows on 1/15/16. 1/15/16 Chad contacted me to let me know the windows were received and good for install. To install on 1/20/16. 1/20/16 Chad and installers arrived; after inspection of new windows: all 3 windows were the same size, 1 window had a scratch in the glass, 1 window had debris in the glass. No windows were installed. Rich F. of CWS Windows arrived and assured me that the windows would be made right.

6 days and more time spent...



Final Business Response
I have received Mrs. ******' latest response with the BBB. An adjustment was submit to Mrs. ****** account on 4/7 with Wells Fargo to correct the balance. I apologize for the confusion Mrs. ****** and if I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to call or email me.

Final Consumer Response

03/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Manager ordered wrong size windows and won't take responsibility.
On November 14, 2014 Window World Manager came to my house to do a order for (9) nine windows for my property. Contract states customer is responsible for all measurements. Upon completion of all measurements. Mr. *** **** wrote down measurements on his order form. Mr. **** wrote down the wrong measurements of (2) two of the windows of which I was unaware of. My customer number is XXXXXX. I will accept some fault for not reading the document I signed for believing the information was true and correct.

Desired Settlement
I would want Window World to just trade out the (2) two windows that are wrong for the correct sized windows. Correct sized windows would need to be; 52 wide X 49 3/8 tall.

Business Response
We have received Mr. *****'s complaint from the BBB and have contacted him directly to resolve. As Mr. ***** stated in his complaint to the BBB, the Contract and Order Form that Mr. ***** signed clearly states that the measurements were his responsibility, as his job was sold as an uninstalled job, contrary to our standard procedure, at Mr. *****'s request. Additionally, our salesman hand-wrote a statement to that effect on the Order Form and had Mr. ***** initial to confirm his understanding. We advised Mr. ***** as above, and Mr. ***** stated he was willing to accept some responsibility, as he has stated in his complaint to the BBB. Mr. ***** also stated that he believed Window World was partially responsible. In the interest of resolving the complaint amicably, we have agreed with Mr. ***** to reorder the two windows in question and to split the cost with him as an accommodation. We will re-order the windows immediately and deliver to Mr. ***** as soon as received. Mr. ***** has agreed to pay his portion of the cost when the windows are delivered. We want Mr. ***** to know that we value him as a customer and appreciate his business. We look forward to delivering the windows when received, so Mr. ***** can complete his project. We trust this resolution is satisfactory to Mr. ***** and the BBB.

01/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They quoted me an invalid contract amount. They confirmed via email. They would not honor the price quoted. They were non-responsive to my concerns.
A salesman came to my home and provided a quote for windows and sliders. I emailed the salesman later to confirm the price, warranties, etc. I let hime know I was going to thaw my credit and apply for a credit card and that it took time and money to do that,wanted to make sure. He responded via email confirming the price and warranties. I then thawed my credit, applied and received a credit account with Window World. The salesman said he wanted to stop by to confirm measurments and sign the contract. He came to my home and said he made a mistake and that it was going to cost and additional $900. I escorted him out of my home and called Window World, asked for a manager. I was told he would call me. The next day at about 3:30 I had not heard from anyone. I called and asked for a manager. When they put a manager on the phone he told me he had been busy and traveling but he knew about my contact. He proceeded to tell me they wouldn't honor the price and he proceeded to tell me we didn't have a signed contract and the money shouldn't come out of their pocket. He seemed irritated that I bothered them with the complaint. I called again and asked for someone higher than the manager. I was instructed to email ************@winworldinfo.com. I received no response to that email and have not heard from them since.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive a check from Window World for $100. It cost me $10 for the credit thaw from Equifax and I spent a considerable amount of time with this company. The money is only part of the issue. I don't understand how a salesman can tell me they are the best company, show me JD Power awards and Good Housekeeping Seals of approval and then be so lax about a mistake and lack the customer care skills needed to address that mistake.

Business Response
We are in receipt of Mrs. ********'s complaint to the BBB and regret that she feels that we have been "non-responsive" to her concerns. We believe we have responded definitively, just not as Mrs. ******** would agree.

Our estimator visited Mrs. ********'s home and provided an estimate for window replacement. Mrs. ******** declined to sign a contract and order at that time. Mrs. ******** contacted the salesman at a later date to confirm that the estimate was still valid and then advised that she was ready to buy. The salesman returned to Mrs. ********'s home, at her request, to confirm measurements and sign a contract. Upon reviewing the estimate, the estimator discovered that he had made an addition error when totaling all of the line items on the contract. Our product prices are clearly pre-printed on the estimate and non-negotiable. Each line item on the estimate was correct, and the estimator simply made an addition error when totaling the line items for the total price. Our estimator and our Operations Manager have both explained to Mrs. ******** how the error occurred and that we will not honor the erroneous total price on the estimate.

We apologize to Mrs. ******** for the error and hope she realizes that it was indeed a simple human error. However, we do not agree that this simple error warrants the $900 discount it reflects from our already fair pricing if we were to honor the error, nor the $100 check Mrs. ******** is currently requesting. We wish Mrs. ******** the best of luck in purchasing her windows from another company.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I appreciate Windows World's willingness to compensate me $100 for my credit thaw and time. If possible, may I have an estimate of when I can can expect payment? Thank you, ******

Final Business Response
We are in receipt of Mrs. ********'s rebuttal to our response. Again, we apologize to Mrs. ******** for our error, but maintain that it was indeed a simple human error. We still do not agree that the error warrants that we honor the erroneous price. However, in the spirit of compromise and resolution, we will agree to compensate Mrs. ******** the $100 she requested for the cost of her credit thaw and her time. We will send Mrs. ******** a check for $100. We trust this resolution will be satisfactory to Mrs. ******** and the BBB. Again, we wish Mrs. ******** the best of luck in purchasing her windows from another company.

05/20/2015Problems with Product / Service
09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/09/2010Business started: 01/01/1980Business started locally: 09/03/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Pasco County Contractor's License
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL 34654-5598
(727) 847-8009

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL 33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL 33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL 33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

BBB records show a license number of SCC131151189 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 019548 for this company, issued by Pasco County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of SCC131150943 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 238384 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of I-SCC131151189 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of I-SCC131151663 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James W. "Jim" Roland (Manager/President)Mr. Joseph Pogash (General Manager)Mr. Steven Rogillio (License Holder)
Business Category

Window Companies, Storm Windows Doors Suppliers, Patio Door Suppliers, Door Companies, Window Installation Companies

Products & Services

This company offers residential window and door sales, replacement, and installation.

Alternate Business Names
Window World of Tampa Bay, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Window World of Tampa Bay

5910 Breckenridge Pkwy Ste B

Tampa, FL 33610-4236

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5910 Breckenridge Pkwy Ste B 

    Tampa, FL 33610-4236(727) 324-0142
    (866) 946-3189
    (813) 200-6204
    Fax: (813) 830-6826

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Window World of Tampa Bay is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 324-0142
  • (813) 200-6204
  • (888) 334-1970
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Window Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.