BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In West Florida

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Florida Lifetime Window and Door, Inc.

Phone: (813) 968-8838Fax: (813) 968-8838View Additional Phone Numbers2502 Thornbrook Pl, TampaFL 33618-3245http://www.tampawindows.org

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Florida Lifetime Window and Door, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Florida Lifetime Window and Door, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Florida Lifetime Window and Door, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: I have a signed contract with Fl Lifetime Impact windows. I have two defective windows that they want to charge to fix. Company not honoring Warranty
Bought all new Gorell windows in Sept 2011 ( paid Florida Lifetime Windows ( $17,968), in June 2012 two of the windows were defective ( heat coming through) and were replaced at n/c by **** **** owner of Florida Lifetime Windows.Now May 2014 same two windows are defective and company says I will need to pay to have the windows repaired. I have a signed Contract with Florida Lifetime dated 8/26/11, that states the windows are warrantied for 50 years against defects

Initial Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience to our client Mr. ********. We would like, very much, to help him with this glass issue and we told him that we would work to resolve this problem. The next day he complained to the BBB. We would have appreciated having a day or two to see if there was anything more we could do. The warranty in question is a manufacturer's warranty that covers the glass and unfortunately the original manufacturer has gone out of business but the new manufacturer is willing to help as much as possible by giving very special pricing on any glass that needs replacing. The reason the glass was replaced (before) free of charge was that the manufacturer had not yet closed. We are unable, in order to stay in business, to cover all of the costs associated with this glass problem that the "old manufacturer" had. We have many, many clients and if every one of our clients had one small piece of glass that needed replacing, and we had to absorb the cost of the glass, we would surely go out of business. We would then, not be able to help any of our clients with any issues that they might have at all. Of course, we are more than willing to install and service the windows, help expedite service part ordering and everything associated with assisting our clients with whatever they need and we always will. For the most part (except for the "bad glass" cases) we have very little service issues because our installation is second to none and we care deeply about doing a stellar job for each and every one of our clients. We must not, however, put ourselves in a predicament (especially if caused by another company- that we had no knowledge or control over and which unfortunately hurts us)in which we take on responsibilities and costs that cause us to close our doors. That would hurt everyone. We will continue to work with Mr. ******** to resolve this issue. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: mold. seal not in tact
having trouble getting a response. Gorel windows are supposed to have a lifetime warranty. Pay $3000.00 more than your neighbors for windows and get mold. How nice! Please look into it. Thank you, ****** *********

Consumer's Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

The company called me at 5pm yesterday after receiving the BBB complaint. They set an appointment to come out and look at my concerns and I am satisfied with that. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/13/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/29/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/29/2011Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/27/2009Business started: 12/15/2008
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of 259444 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2008, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Kerri L. Lane (President)Mr. Michael S. Lane II
Business Category

Window Companies, Door Companies, Siding Contractors, Patio, Porch and Deck Enclosure Companies

Products & Services

This company offers sales and installation of aluminum and vinyl windows, fiberglass swing doors, steel garage doors, and aluminum and vinyl patio doors.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Florida Lifetime Window and Door, Inc.

2502 Thornbrook Pl

Tampa, FL 33618-3245

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2502 Thornbrook Pl 

    Tampa, FL 33618-3245(813) 968-8838

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Florida Lifetime Window and Door, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 695-0212
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Window Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.