BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Alliance Retail Services, LLC

(727) 488-0600 (Disconnected)View Additional Phone Numbers111 Kelsey Ln STE A, TampaFL 33619-4357View Additional Web Addresses! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers service, sales, and installation of windows and doors.

BBB Accreditation

Alliance Retail Services, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Alliance Retail Services, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate this this business has a pattern of complaints alleging service issues, to include, taking deposits for jobs that were not completed in a timely manner.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Alliance Retail Services, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
04/07/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased windows and portable hurricane screens from Alliance. The windows were installed on Jan. 29,2014. I never received the hurricane screens. I have emailed the Director of Sales, ***** *******, and left phone messages (4 emails & 5 phone messages) over the past month and he does not answer the emails or return my calls. I also reached out the the office manager and the sales and installation staff with no help. They are not communicating anything to me. My last actual conversation took place with ***** on 2/20/14 when he told me "they will be in next week". Since that date everyone in the company is avoiding me.

Desired Settlement
A check written to me and mailed ASAP to my home in the amount of $300

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I found the name of the manufacture for the missing screens. I called them and explained what happened. They said they had the screens that were ordered but the company never paid for them. I told them to call the company and tell them how upset I was. A few minutes later I received a call from ***** ******* at the company saying my screens came in. He said the company went out of business and they had their hands full. I told him I was upset that they did not communicate and he hung up on me. They did show up a few days later (March 28) to install the screens.

03/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Feb.8th,2014 I entered into a contract with this company to replace three sliding doors.I have called a number of times and get no reponse 1 month.
On Feb. 8th I entered into a contract with this company to replace three sliding glass doors. The contract amount was $9,000.00. I gave them a $1,000.00 deposit. About 1 week later a man came to measure the doors. I have called many times to find out when they will install them and I can not reach anyone, as the phone number goes right to voicemail. I have left many messages and get no response. I called the salesman but he no longer works for the company. They submitted my name to GE Capitol for financing and it was approved. The salesmans name is **** ****** and his phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. I either want them to complete the work as written on the contract or I want my money back.

Desired Settlement
I either want them to do the work or refund my down payment of $1,000.00.

Business Response
We have spoken to the customer and offered to complete the project. He requested we refund his deposit. We have mailed him a refund for $1000.00.

Final Consumer Response

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Approx job start date is 2.5 weeks. It is not 2 months and no word from company on start date.
Contract started on 1-28-14. 6 weeks later made contact with **** and was told that Therma Tru is taking longer to deliver than expected and there were issues with our measurements. When the contract was created we were told that there was no issue with our measurements. I was told by **** that he would call me by the 21st with at least an update. We called "XXXXXXXXXX" and left a message.I did not receive a call and found out that they have now changed there name "Home Exteriors of Florida" by a former employee. He gave me a new number to call. Today 3/24/14 I called that number "XXXXXXXXX" and left another message. I still have not received a call back. They have already taken $971.33 from my MasterCard.

Desired Settlement
What would make me satisfied for the aggravation of this is to install my door with no further payment past the amount taken. Or to replace the amount taken from my account with interest I have had to pay due to this situation.

Business Response
Mr. ********, I do apologize for how long this order has taken. We do have every intent on completing your project. Your door is due in on Thursday the 17th. As soon as it arrives we will call you to schedule the install. We will be prepared to install the door as soon as you are available. The balance due on the order is $1942.67. Can we split that down to $970.00? That will cover most of our cost for the door and pay the installers. Is that acceptable? Again, I truly apologize for the delay.

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I accept the offer of splitting the difference and paying $970, assuming that is 1/2 of what is owed. I apologize, but I do not have the contract in front of me.

Final Business Response
Thank you Mr. ********. Yes, that amount is just under half. We will touch base with you towards the end of next week and schedule your install.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will consider this an acceptable resolution as long as on or before the 17th as indicated the door is scheduled to be installed and the door is installed on the date scheduled professionally with warranty as indicated on the contract.

06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Alliance Retail has refused to complete the job and has not sent anyone to correct the window problem.
Windows delivered August 2013. I had requested bronze inside and outside. Windows came white inside. Installer said he did not have storm screen for front three windows and would return. Until this date no one has returned. Also I find that several of the top windows have separated at the corners. The gas between the doubled panes has escaped and water can get in. I have made phone calls and sent letters. No response from the company.

Desired Settlement
I wish the company to replace the windows that have separated at the corners, deliver the fabric storm screen and put up the pegs that hold the screen.

05/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Alliance Retail Services charged $20,188.00 to an account that I did not authorize. I want the money refunded, like they have promised it would be.
*****, a salesman from Alliance Retail Services, came to our house on 2/5/2014 and gave us a quote on 7 windows and 2 sliding glass doors. My husband and I both filled out a credit application which ***** took and promised that he would not run our credit until we gave him the okay as we were wanting to finance a car as well. Two days later I called ***** back and told him that we had decided to hold off as we wanted to pay off some debt before taking on more. ***** said okay and said that they would shred our paperwork. Much to our surprise, we received a letter from ******** about a week later congratulating us on our installment loan of $20,188.00 dated 2/6/2014. Which meant not only did they not shred the paperwork but they also opened an account in our name and charged the money to it. I immediately called ******** to let them know I did not authorize that money to be charged and closed the account. ******** told me not to file a dispute as long as the company is willing to work with me and just refund the money. I have been in contact with ***** ******* who was the manager of Alliance. He wrote an email on 2/17/2014 to ******** saying "This project is going to be refunded and customers account should be closed as we processed by accident." It has now been almost two months and the money is still not refunded and now **** is telling me he does not work for that company anymore? Alliance did agree to send me the first month's payment so this whole thing didn't go against our credit. I received the check for the first's month payment and paid it on 4/2/2014. But I still have not heard from who ever the manager/owner is of Alliance about the status of the refund. I've been told several times by **** that the manager would call me but he has yet to call. I finally asked for his number and called him yesterday and left a message but have not heard anything. As I have not heard anything and apparently **** no longer works there, I don't really have any other options. Absolutely no work has been done on our house by this company.

Desired Settlement
Refund the amount of $20,188.00 plus any interest accrued to the account.

09/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Salesman specifically stated that windows met the criteria for a 25 percent reduction in homeowners insurance and 40 percent reduction in power bill.
Contract Date was 8/28/2013 Contract was for 9 Pro Finish Windows and 4 glass doors with 13 impact screens. Product Numbers were 41-18, 43-06, 42-19,43-35, and 43-40, project number RWDXXXXX. Down Payment of $500.00. Financed $12,500. Sales Rep was ******* ******

Sales representative stated clearly that windows met the requirements for a reduction in 25 percent off of USAA homeowner policy.

USAA required a wind inspection (not mentioned by sales rep) to validate specs. USAA has indicated that windows do not meet the requirments for any kind of homeowners reduction.

Sales rep issued a certificate indicating that we would save a minimum of 40 percent off of energy bills. We have not had such savings.

Number provided on contract is not in service. I have no way to contact company and give them the opportunity to resolve the complain.

Desired Settlement
A 25 percent reduction in homewowners insurance would mean approximately $800.00 in yearly savings

A 40 percent reduction in energy savings at $70.00 a month would equal about $840.00 a year in savings.

First option is to replace windows so that they meet the criteria for the promised reduction in homeowner's insurance as well as cost in energy savings.

Second option is a cash settlement to compensate for the promised savings.


Third is for a reduction in the cost of the windows on the sales contract.

06/24/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered 14 windows and hurricane screens on 2/14/14 from Alliance.
The windows were installed 3/28/14, I have not received the hurricane screens.

I purchased 14 windows and hurricane screens from Alliance on 2/14/14 for $11700. The windows were installed on 3/28/14. I was told on 4/7/14 by their Rep ***** ******** that the hurricane screens would take about another week to come in. I never received any follow up call regarding the hurricane screens. After four calls from 4/25 to 4/29 to the salesman ***** *********** the Director of Sales, ***** ******* returned my call on 4/30 advising he was investigating and would callme right back.
There was no callback. I called Mr. ******* back on 5/1 and he advised that my purchase order had a zero balance and the screen company told him the screens been picked up but Mr. ******* was unable to locate their whereabouts and would call me back forthwith. Again there was no callback so on Monday 5/5/15, I called Mr. ******* back again and he advised that the hurricane screens had not been ordered yet and he would have everything taken care of by the end of the week. There was no follow up from Alliance. I called Mr. ******* back on 5/12/14 and received Voicemail. I left a message requesting a callback.
My call has not been returned.

Desired Settlement
Install the screens or issue me a refund check for the value of the hurricane screens.
Estimated @ $5.99 sq. ft.x 183 sq. ft.= $1096.17

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/11/2013Business started: 10/02/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

Pasco County Contractor's License
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL34654-5598
(727) 847-8009

BBB records show a license number of 241859 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CGC1506863 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CGC1506863 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 021292 for this company, issued by Pasco County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Paul Nowlan (Managing Member)
Contact Information
Mr. Elmer Cook (Licensed Qualifier)Mr. David M. Iverson (Director of Sales and Marketing)Mr. Steven Markley
Business Category

Window Companies

Products & Services

Alliance Retail Services offers the following products: replacement windows, vinyl windows, colored vinyl windows, painted vinyl windows, woodclad windows, sliding glass doors, vinyl sliding glass doors, and fiberglass sliding glass doors.

Alternate Business Names
Alliance Retail Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Alliance Retail Services, LLC

111 Kelsey Ln STE A

Tampa, FL 33619-4357

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 111 Kelsey Ln STE A 

    Tampa, FL 33619-4357(727) 488-0600
    (877) 878-1919

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Alliance Retail Services, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 878-1919 (Disconnected)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • https://www.facebook.com/Alliancewindowsanddoors
  • https://plus.google.com/116113258074116589931/about?gl=us&hl=en
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Window Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB files indicate this this business has a pattern of complaints alleging service issues, to include, taking deposits for jobs that were not completed in a timely manner.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.