BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1984

Superior Water Conditioning, Inc./Kinetico

Phone: (813) 961-1051Fax: (813) 961-7438

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Superior Water sent a representative who charged $98 and did nothing.
In early July we purchased a condo that came with a water softener. I called Betty at Superior Water & asked what it would cost to install it. She said she'd send someone to give us the estimate. It would cost $90 which would be applied toward the installation. On Tuesday, July 19, Bill ******** with Superior Water came to our house to give us an estimate of what it would cost to install a water softener and a water filter under the kitchen sink. He told my husband that the water softener needed to be plugged in & 2-3 bags of salt pellets added & it should work. Then he told us the water filter could be installed & he would call us to tell us what that cost would be. He said first we'd have to pay the $98 before he could give us the estimate. I called his office & paid the $98. He then called & told us it would cost $170 plus parts to install the water filter. We felt that charge should have had the $98 of the estimate deducted, at the very least, but he insisted that normally there would be an additional trip charge added for the tech & he was waving it. We felt the charge was excessive. First, we were told the estimate would be $90, not $98, but we went along as we expected this charge to be deducted from the installation of the water softener & filter, but since Bill told my husband the softener didn't need any installation, we expected the charge to be even less as it would only be for the water filter. Meantime, we called other water treatment specialists in the area & they quoted us $75-$89 for the installation. Also, meantime, we're not even sure the water softener is working properly.. We, therefore, feel that Superior Water ought to return to us the $98 we paid them so we can move on the another vendor who can do the work of at least installing the water filter for half the price or less.

Desired Settlement
We want the $98 we paid refunded as we got nothing in return. Neither the water softener is working nor the filter installed & we're out $98. Or at the very least have Superior Water send a tech to install the water filter for $170-$98=$72. We already have the parts. That was the deal I was expecting when I talked to Betty of Superior Water in early July. That's what she told me & what I expected.

Business Response
***Document Attached***
Attached is Service Work Order #XXXXX dated 7/19/16. It is signed by Mr. ****** with the charges clearly stated. We apologize for the apparent misunderstanding regarding our standard procedures and have already initiated a refund of $98.00 to their credit card. Mrs. ****** has been notified by phone.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Superior water refunded the $98. They have lived up to their reputation for good customer service. We have been a customer for many years. It appears their business has changed to be more sales oriented toward their kinetico brand. We are happy with their response of our complain but feel it should have been handled when I called them directly on the phone with the complaint. I thank the Better Business Bureau for their intervention & superior water for their quick response.

02/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchase was made from a local Kinetico dealer. When system was bought the sales man came to the
home. City water is used. Sales Man tested the water. There was no chlorine coming from the
refrigerator and a small amount coming from the faucet at the kitchen sink. The sales man told them no dechlorinator was needed since such a small amount of chlorine is coming through the water supply.
The contract does say the dechlorinator was denied. System has worked great for the first few years.
The laundry now is coming out out as a clear, debris is being left in the drain and a film is in the toilet.
When the low water pressure started the consumer called the local dealer. This is when the
dechlorinator was brought up. Feels the company should have been straight forward that city water
causes the resin to break down due to the chlorine. Wonders why the company didn't explain the need for the dechlorinator at the point of sale.

Business Response
The following is our response to the above referenced complaint:

Mr. ********* purchased a Kinetico water softener from our company on August 28, 2009 and
we installed it at his home on September 26, 2009. At the time the purchase was made, Mr.
********* was offered a variety of water treatment equipment along with an explanation of
their function. Since it may be difficult to recall all the details of the conversation, it is our policy
to not only document what systems our customers choose, but also what they decline.
Attached you will find a copy of the purchase agreement documenting that in addition to the
softener he purchased, Mr. ********* was offered and declined both a Drinking Water System
and a Dechlorinator.
Resin (sometimes referred to as "media"), is very much like tires on an automobile and requires
periodic replacement. We always recommend a dechlorinator to our company's municipal
water customers and the overwhelming majority (about 99%) choose to ad one. It would have
been $500.00 more if purchased at the same time as the water softener; however Mr.
********* declined. Since it is well documented that the disinfectant in municipal water
(chlorine and chloramines, also known as oxidizing agents) can shorten the useful life of resin, it
is a common warranty exclusion in our industry. Attached is a copy of the Kinetico warranty
which was provided to Mr. ********* and was in effect at the time of his purchase. It clearly
states the following: ( ** When oxidizing agents are present, the softener must be o Kinetico
Carbon Combination System or be preceded by a Kinetico Dechlorination System. Additionally,
the carbon media in these systems must be maintained and replaced according to the system's
operating instructions. If these conditions are not met, the ion exchange resin is not covered).
As examples, attached are copies of two other national brand's warranties also showing the
exclusion of "resin" (media).
The first call we ever received from Mr. ********* from the time of installation was on March
19,2013, when he called with questions about mineral removal from water. At that time, I
reminded him that he did not have a dechlorinator, I reviewed the reasons for needing it and
suggested he purchase one. He again declined.

Mr. ********* called our office last month (September 2013), four years after installation
describing a water pressure drop. We discussed that it was likely a resin issue and suggested a
service call and I explained the related charges. He declined that as well and got very angry and
threatening. I said to him that even though he's angry with us, he was still our customer and
we would be happy to arrange a service call and repairs if he changed his mind.
It is our position that we did everything reasonably possible to inform Mr. ********* of what
types of water treatment equipment were available and what these systems will and won't do.
The choices and decisions were his and are well documented.
Also, let me apologize for not responding more promptly to this complaint which was received
by our company on Saturday October 12, 2013. l was on vacation last week and today is my
first day back at the office.
It is very important to us to maintain our meticulous reputation with your Division. Please let
me know if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,

******* *********
Sales Manager

Final Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We purchased the water system 4 years ago on the advice of the company sales representative. he specifically told me that we did not need any additional equipment because the chlorine was 3 parts per million. After a few years we started to notice a color to the water from the washing machine. We called the company and their only answer to us is that it was our fault for declining the chlorinator. The company signed off on the equipment contract and since they are the experts that should have known that we need a chlorinator. I paid $3850 for a system that was supposed to last a lifetime. After this experience I started having problems with my health. I'm not 100% certain the problems were caused by the water from this system but when the company refused to help us we went out to Home Depot and bought a new unit that is specifically for our water type. I think we should get at least half of our money back and they can have their unit.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.