BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/23/2004

Top Florida Properties, LLC

Phone: (239) 690-2030Fax: (239) 690-2050View Additional Phone Numbers2270 1st St, Fort MyersFL 33901-2960

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

TOP FLORIDA offers hand-picked vacation villas and powerful vacation property management in Southwest Florida. Our trademark personal service earns us top marks around the globe. We are members of the Florida Vacation Rental Manager Association and NAPW.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/23/2004

BBB has determined that Top Florida Properties, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Top Florida Properties, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Top Florida Properties, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We rented a vacation home from this company. The property was hazardous and unsafe. The company denied knowledge of problems and refused any refund.
We rented a vacation home from this company for a five night stay, beginning on August 9th,2013. The property was called "Villa Chandon" on their website. It is located at **** ** *** ****** Cape Coral, Fl XXXXX. When arriving at the property at at around 4:45pm, we could not gain access to the property because of an incorrect access code. After failing to get a hold of the property manager, we finally received a return call and gained access over a half an hour later. Once inside, we walked around the house and discovered it had been misrepresented. The house was very musty, everything was outdated and in poor condition. It only got worse however, when we started to walk up the stairs to the second floor and discovered that one banister was detaching from the wall and the other banister was extremely loose and even missing a rod. We had five children with us and realized we had a dangeruos situation. I called ***** ******** and told her the sitation and how upset we were. She did not offer an alternative property and said she could get a repair man out Monday. I told her it wouldn't be some quick fix, that we had children with us, which she was aware of and that Monday was three days into a five day rental. A repair man ended up calling me at aroound 9:30pm Friday night. He said he could come Saturday around 12:30. In the mean time, we discvered more problems. The bricks on the pool deck were loose and a balcony in an upstairs bedroom was cracked and covered in mold. We waited at the house on Saturday for the repair man and he came and looked at the problems listed abaove. He told me that he was the person who did repairs on the house and his father was the one that did the check outs. He stated that he was already aware of the problems and that ***** and the management company were already aware of them. He stated they had problems trying to get someone out to fix the pool deck and that they knew about the banister, but didn't realize it was "that loose." He also showed me where there had been water damage on the ceiling, at which point I looked up and could visibly see mold. This was especially upsetting because my family has allergies. The repair man said he could come back Monday and try to make the banister more secure. After he left, we decided we were going to check out early. We had already wasted so much time with the issues of the house, we had not even vacationed yet. We had already rented a boat for a three day rental, starting Saturday- (which also led us to discover that the boat lift was unusable and the boat rental guy told us it should be ripped down.)Our boat rental was due back Tuesday morning, so we decided to stay out of the house as much as possible and leave first thing Monday or Tuesday morning. I emailed ***** that evening and told her our intent to leave early and why. I asked for a refund of 50 percent of what we paid because of all the time wasted on the problems with the house, the hazardous conditions and our early check out. I told her I was not asking for a full refund because I knew we had used the facilities and utilities. I received no phone call and my email was not returned until Monday afternoon. The email was from her husband, *****. He stated that they had no prior knowledge of any problems and that since we had not vacated the property immediately when we got there, they could not refund any money. I sent an email back staing my shock at his attitude and attempted again to get some sort of refund and requested the information needed to check out. We got no response. My husband had to Call Tuesday morning to get someone to come over and check us out. I exchanged a couple more emails with ***** after arriving home and he still refused any compensation, lied about knowledge of the problems and even stated we wouldn't allow the repair man access to the property, even though he had in fact come over. This was a horrible vacation, horrible property and even worse vacation rental company.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a reembursement of $1,000 which is approximately half of what we paid for the five day rental.

Business Response
We apologize that this vacation experience did not meet the expectation of this valued guest, but we would like to ensure all our guests that the excellent condition of this home was not the cause. At TOP FLORIDA, delivering the best product and customer service is always top priority, as we can prove through thousands of happy and satisfied guests. Please rest assured that Villa Chandon is a top-notch million-Dollar villa, and you will have a wonderful vacation here - if you are in doubt, we will gladly open this home to any inspection prior your commitment. To address the issues mentioned: The pavers on the pool deck are laid in sand, and some are slightly lose as they are not cemented. This is normal and does not pose a safety risk. This home does also not have mold issues. There is a small discoloration on the ceiling where there was a small, previous roof leak that is fixed. The railing is also not detaching from the stairs, it does wiggle just a little bit, but after immediate inspection, it is found to be safe. We would also like to mention that our service staff went out immediately to investigate and address any possible issues - we value safety and satisfaction of our guests above everything else. If any guest feels unsafe or is not happy with the villa offered, we are more than happy to assist in finding a replacement or offer a refund. In this particular case, near the end of the vacation, we were requested to offer a full refund or "face the consequences". We are happy to work with our guests on valid and justified requests, which in this case where just not there. Clearly, this upset this guest, and for that we do apologize. As for the kids minding going home early, our service people could not help but notice what a wonderful time the children seemed to have in the huge pool, so we have a hard time to believe this was the cause for an early departure which, indeed, will not be refunded. Please feel free to ask any question or concerns you may have, we do hope that hundreds and thousands of happy guests do speak for the quality of our vacation villas and services we offer.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/07/2004Business started: 04/18/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate
400 W Robinson St STE N801
Orlando, FL 32801-1757
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/re

Lee County Business Tax Receipt

Fort Myers, FL 33901
http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria

BBB records show a license number of CND4600191 for this company, issued by Division of Real Estate. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/re.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of DWE4605054 for this company, issued by Division of Real Estate. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/re.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 0205145 for this company, issued by Lee County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dorit Dormayer (Owner)Mr. Mario Dormayer (Officer)
Business Category

Vacation Rentals, Real Estate Renters, Property Management Companies, Real Estate

Products & Services

* Vacation Home (estates, villas, houses, condos) Rentals
* Vacation Home Management
* Real Estate Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Top Florida Properties, LLC

2270 1st St

Fort Myers, FL 33901-2960

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Top Florida Properties, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (239) 823-8050
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Vacation Rentals

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.