BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/04/2008

Florida Beach Rentals, LLC

Phone: (727) 288-2020Fax: (727) 216-8833516 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater BeachFL 33767-1706Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/04/2008

BBB has determined that Florida Beach Rentals, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Florida Beach Rentals, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Florida Beach Rentals, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
05/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
None refund of security deposit of $1,955.24 on cancelled condo reservation for the period January 1, 2014- March 31, 2014
We rented a condo at Marina House **** for the period january 15, 2013- April 15, 2013. While there we decided to rent the unit again for the following year for the months of January 1, 2014- March 31, 2014.and notified Florida Beach Rentals of our intent and paid a 25% down payment totaling $1,955.24. During February 2013 we were made aware of a situation at home (Connecticut) that would make it impossible for us to come back next year. I called **** ******* at Florida Beach Rentals and made told her we would be unable to rent next season and would it be possible to get our deposit back. She indicated that we WOULD only receive it back if they were able to lease the unit for the period and the sooner we cancelled the reservation the better chance they would have to lease it. I then cancelled the reservation and **** indicated the calendar now showed the unit available. I asked **** how I would know if the unit was leased and she indicated all I would have to do is check the websites calendar. I checked the websites calendar on Wednesday May 8th and it indicated the unit was now leased for the time period which we originaaly had. I have yet to receive the refund back and am now told it is non refundable with a cancellation. I believe I was scammed by both **** ******* and Florida Beach Rentals as they gave me information which they knew was untrue in order to get me to cancel immediately and give them the most time to re-lease the unit and keep my down payment. This is an unscrupolous business practice and I will never lease from this business again as well as to tell eveyone I know of the business practices of this company.

Desired Settlement
I would like my credit card credited for the $1,955.24 originally paid.

Business' Initial Response
I pulled up the paperwork on Mr. ****** and have attached the attempted credit card chargeback.

As I told you on the phone and you can see in the attached paperwork, the booking party must put up a 25% non-refundable deposit in order to reserve a condo or home with us. Upon cancellation the deposit is forfeited, thus a NON-refundable deposit. Mr. ****** filled a charge dispute with his credit card company for this non-refundable deposit costing my company $35 for a dispute fee even though he did not win plus the time it cost the company to produce the paperwork and file a counter dispute to the chargeback. The resulting action from the credit card company was in our favor and we owe ****** nothing.

In addition, last year an associate incorrectly charged Mr. ****** and we ended up covering over $875 in taxes.

Our cancelation policy does not state any refund for any reason, however we do make some exceptions as a courtesy to our guests. Instead of waiting for us to find him a replacement tenant. He went ahead and disputed the legitimate charges.

Ironically, shortly after he filed the dispute we did indeed rebook the unit. But now we are uncertain that if we refund him he may dispute the charges again incurring more fees.

We are willing to refund him the cost of the deposit minus our fees minus the taxes that should have been paid by Mr. ****** last year, for a total of $1955.24-$35-876.96 =$1043.28. And we will not charge for the time to respond to the dispute. This offer is essentially for the full amount minus the $35 fee given that he should have paid the taxes anyway.

Thank you for your time,
****

Consumer's Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

I will accept their offer to credit $1043. I would like them to credit back the card I used.

10/18/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sea Breeze 602 misrepresented on website
Regarding R​EQ-XXXXXXX​692 for checking 9/28/12, the internet description is wrong and misrepresents the size beds in this condo. Had we known the truth about this condo, we would not have selected it. Also, the confirmation email describes the final payment being made at checking, yet this company called looking for money back in August, then again while I was travelling to the location. Upon checking in, we discover that Florida Beach Rentals was not the manager of the property and had not contacted the manager of our payment.

Desired Settlement
I would like 1 night of rental to be reimbursed by Florida Beach Rental. The condo manager, JCResort, moved us to a satisfactory unit for the 2nd and 3rd day of our stay. I would also like to have Florida Beach Rental correct the misinformation aboout this unit and change the rating on this unit's website to 2 stars, not 4.5 and 5.

Business' Initial Response
After reviewing our website for any errors, none could be found by us or the customer. The customer made a comment on the phone that he showed the listing to the front desk at JC Resorts, yet no one there remembers the conversation other than the customer being dissatisfied with the room and wanted to be moved. JC Resorts promptly upgraded him to a condo with a king size bed and said the customer was satisfied. Since the customer was upgraded to a bigger and better condo immediately, no refund of money is made. As for changing the condo the star rating, the customer was given the opportunity to provide his own input and the rating was adjusted accordingly even though the only issue was the customer apparently booked a room with the wrong size bed.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/29/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
01/13/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
09/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mis-sold holiday - REQ XXXXXXXXXX and not being informed of change of condo and even resort.
I booked a condo in February in Sea Breeze to arrive on 26th May and leave on 4th June 2013. I paid by cheque in full at that time. I particularly wanted to be in Madeira Beach because I had spent a lot of time there with my late husband and also because I knew it was near all the facilities of John's Pass. We were told to pick up the key at Ram Sea and then go on to Sea Breeze. My daughter and I arrived very tired late on the 26th. When we picked up the key it was clear that the condo was in that block. No explanation. I assumed that Ram Sea was a sister block and that it was in Madeira Beach. The next morning we decided to walk to John's Pass for breakfast, which I was assured wouldn't take more than ten minutes. Over one and a half hours later, footsore and tired, we arrived in John's Pass. I still thought I was at fault and the women on the front desk didn't offer any explanation either. Two days later after having to use buses and taxis we saw Sea Breeze and realised that in fact we were in the wrong condo, indeed in the wrong resort. Finally, after my daughter making lots of phone calls, we were offered a condo in Sea Breeze because someone had left early. We were also told that the elevator had broken down and as it was on the sixth floor I could not possibly have managed the stairs as I have a heart condition. We were told we should be grateful because the condo we were in was an upgrade to the one we had booked! Notwithstanding that it was in a completely different resort. When I got home I wrote to **** at Florida Beach and she told me that JC Resorts had written in the confirmation email that if circumstances were beyond their control (as in this case the condo had been sold) then they were at liberty to change my booking. But in a different resort without all the restaurants and facilities I had envisaged! **** finally offered to waive their commission of one fort dollars

Desired Settlement
I have had to carry on in this box because for some reasom I can't write any more in the other box.

**** finally offered to waive their fee of one forty dollars, which I turned down, stating I would accept three hundred dollars in lieu of bus and cab fares, also time wasted in getting to our destinations. I have not had the courtesy of a reply. My overriding question is why we weren't informed before we arrived of the change of condo. At least we could have cancelled and re-booked a condo in the resort of our choice. I have been met with total indifference.

Business' Initial Response
Ms. ******* did request a vacation rental thru Florida Beach Rentals. She booked the Sea Breeze ***.

Claims
1. We mis-sold the holiday.

RESPONSE: Enclosed copy of JC Resorts request for funds for *** Seller (mis-spelled) showing it was approved. Upon approval by JC Resorts and she received an email, (copy enclosed and highlighted), stating:

Once your booking is approved you have a rental agreement with the owner. You agree that FJBR will not be held responsible for cancellations. We reserve the right to substitute your reservation with another room/unit in the event oil" circumstances beyond our control.

Her booking request was approved by JC Resorts and the agreement was with JC Resorts. At this point Florida Beach Rentals had turned over the booking to the owner. Florida Beach Rentals acts as an agent to the owners of the properties. Thirty days prior to Ms. *******'s arrival JC Resorts gets paid by Florida Beach Rentals. And so we have no funds of Ms. ******* and as such, we cannot force compensation by JC Resorts.

While we would like to satisfy Ms. *******, however, her dispute is with JC Resorts.

1. We did book and get approval for her rental request thru JC Resorts.

2. We attempted to help her resolve her issues with JC Resorts.

3. We offered to refund all of our commission.

Further details have to do with the dispute between JC Resorts and Ms. *******.

During their stay l was contacted by the party. Outside of our responsibilities and in attempting to help, i subsequently phoned JC Resorts and was told that the condo was sold. l was also told *** was upgraded to the

Ram Sea and to a corner unit. However, if she was unhappy, they did have a unit available at the Sea Breeze if she wanted to move which they would offer her. It was on the sixth floor like her original unit. Unfortunately the elevator was broken and so with ***'s reported heart condition not an option.

Later that day l informed then that ***** was waiting to talk to them. Per my understanding, she offered them the place at Sea Breeze and for obvious reasons they decided to stay at the Ram Sea. After the fact, I have also sent JC Resorts Ms. *******'s requests for compensation and their response has been unsatisfactorily to Ms. *******.

Florida Beach Rentals prides itself on offering superior customer service. We have been with the Better Business Bureau for over 6 years and maintain an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. We have completed over 16,000 bookings and have less and .005% complaints. In the hospitality industry. this is almost unheard of. Our surveys show our office and staff is rated EXCELLENT by 99% of our customers.

Sincerely,
Florida Beach Rentals
******************************************

Consumer's Final Response
I complained about my treatment by Florida Beach Rentals and my complaint is on your website as having been closed in spite of it not having been resolved. There was a reply from J C Resorts on the BBB website stating that I had never been booked into Sea Breeze when I was informed that I was. I sent a copy of the letter to **** ******* but to date I have not had the courtesy of a reply. I would like to know why I was told that the condo had been booked in Sea Breeze when according to J C's letter it was not. I would also like to point out that when were finally offered a condo in Sea Breeze we were several days into our holiday and as our time there was short it would have been hardly worth moving and losing yet another day of our holiday.

Customer service is sadly lacking is Florida Beach Rentals. Communication is even worse. J C Resorts have been held up as being to blame for this fiasco but according to their letter they were not.

Please include this response to your website as I don't think it gives a true picture of our negotiations.

*** ******

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/26/2006Business started: 06/02/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach
100 S Myrtle Ave Rm 202
Clearwater, FL33756-5520
(727) 562-4567
http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of BTR-0030108 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach. Their web address is http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of BK3168464 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr.

Type: Board of Real Estate

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Vonfeldt (Managing Member)Ms. Lisa Bettner (Managing Member)
Business Category

Vacation Rentals

Products & Services

This company offers vacation rentals in Florida.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMSat: 10:00 AM to 09:00 PMSun: 10:00 AM to 09:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

The cancellation policy is as follows: A 25% deposit is required on all rentals at the time of booking. Although the deposit is non-refundable, should you need to CHANGE your reservation we will be happy to oblige if we have availability. Should you need to CANCEL your reservation we will be happy to refund your deposit if we are able to re-book the room/unit. NO REFUNDS for early departure and/or eviction.

Service Area

Florida's Central Gulf Coast

Industry Tips
BBB Warns of Deceptive Travel-Related Promotions
Timeshare Scams Can Bilk the Unsuspecting
Vacation and Travel

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Florida Beach Rentals, LLC

516 Mandalay Ave

Clearwater Beach, FL 33767-1706

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 516 Mandalay Ave 

    Clearwater Beach, FL 33767-1706

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Florida Beach Rentals, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.