BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/12/2006

Thomas and Son, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (813) 780-1132Fax: (813) 715-11184542 Gall Blvd, ZephyrhillsFL 33542-6261Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/12/2006

BBB has determined that Thomas and Son, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Thomas and Son, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Thomas and Son, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i would like them to either repair or replace this car
transmission problems,holes in the muffler and tailpipe and evap leaks fuel

Desired Settlement
i bought a 2004 dodge ram 1500 pickup from theses guys and after 1 week the check engine light came on and then afterwards the transmission went out on me spoke to *** and he told me there was nothing they could do they sold me a lemon with many issues and i consider them thieves without masks took out a 4 year payment plan and after the second payment i cannot use this car to get me to work ****** & sons doesnt care about me or you all they care about is selling you junk and giving you the big shaft they, dont care about you there motto is you buy and you lose i, will never recommened these guys to no one i, would rather die then to buy or recommend these lowlifes to anyone,stay far away from these thieves,they will sell you problems and rip you off they will forever be called rip off artists and bad people who rip off good people and sell you junk you, think that you have a transportation problem an you try to solve it by buying a car from these guys and they will screw you over there crooks and lowlife they should do the right thing and work with me by fixing the problem or replacing this car

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We have been in contact with the customer and we offered to put him in contact with our mechanic. The customer said the transmissions went out and asked if there was anything we could do to help. We offered to get him the part for our cost and we would see what we could do. The customer never called back so we assumed he got it done cheaper. The customer can still call us and we can try to help but the vehicle was purchased as-is with no warranty back in September so we cannot offer to do the repairs for free.

10/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
sold a lemon piece of junk would not honor the three day return. got a nice VW low miles and sold me a piece of junk air broke transmission problem
I sold my 2010 Volkswagen Jetta to ****** and Son I purchased a 2006 Chrysler Touring mini van. The next day after my purchase I went back to ****** and Son and spoke to ****** my sales person and told him I want my Jetta back as this van is junk. They quickly took off with my Jetta and removed it from the lot and said I couldn't have it. I was scheduled for back surgery and went to town and country hospital 5 days after purchase went to pre op and finished and went to leave and the van was broke down. I called **** ****** and he said have it towed to the dealership and they will fix as it was the starter went out. Then I went to have surgery 3 days later we had a tire blow out on the way back from the hospital. So now new tires a transmission leak the air conditioner went out and the list goes on....

Desired Settlement
I had 3500.00 equity in my VW I called to get out of this junky van and was told by *** couldn't do so I want some money back and he can have this junk mini van with all the problems.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We had the customer come in and she sat down with the owner. They both discussed the dispute and we fixed the issues. The car is running fine and she is currently making her payments again.

Final Consumer Response

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/14/2000Business started: 12/18/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pasco County Business Tax Receipt
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL 34654-5598
(727) 847-8165
http://www.pascotaxes.com

Florida Dept of Highway Safety/Motor Veh
2814 E Hillsborough Ave
Tampa, FL 33610-4411
(813) 740-4288

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

Department of Financial Services
200 E Gaines St
Tallahassee, FL 32399
(877) 693-5236
http://www.myfloridacfo.com

Florida Office of Financial Regulation
101 E Gaines St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6562
(850) 487-9687
http://www.flofr.com

Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee
2900 Apalachee Pkwy # B441
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6552
(850) 617-2000

BBB records show a license number of 030019 for this company, issued by Pasco County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.pascotaxes.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of VI-1005608-5 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Highway Safety/Motor Veh.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of 012537 for this company, issued by Pasco County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.pascotaxes.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of MV4874 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of A263393 for this company, issued by Department of Financial Services. Their web address is http://www.myfloridacfo.com.

Type: Dept of Financial Services

BBB records show a license number of MV9907092 for this company, issued by Florida Office of Financial Regulation. Their web address is http://www.flofr.com.

Type: Motor Vehicle Retail Installment Seller

BBB records show a license number of RS0902521 for this company, issued by Florida Office of Financial Regulation. Their web address is http://www.flofr.com.

Type: Motor Vehicle Retail Installment Seller

BBB records show a license number of VI-1005608-4 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1989, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wade E. Thomas (President)Ms. Karen Morley (Office Manager)Mr. Claude E. Thomas (Vice President)Ms. Laurie Kaye Thomas (Secretary)
Business Category

Used Car Dealerships

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Thomas and Son, Inc.

4542 Gall Blvd

Zephyrhills, FL 33542-6261

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4444 S Gall Blvd 

    Zephyrhills, FL 33542-6206(813) 779-9166

  • 4542 Gall Blvd 

    Zephyrhills, FL 33542-6261

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Thomas and Son, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Used Car Dealerships

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.