BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/28/2011

Tena Automotive, LLC

Phone: (813) 872-1595Fax: (813) 872-15962316 W Hillsborough Ave, TampaFL 33603-1053FacebookGoogle+

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company buys, sells, and finances pre-owned vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/28/2011

BBB has determined that Tena Automotive, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Tena Automotive, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Tena Automotive, LLC's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
10/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: I Spoke With Tena Automotives owner **** gave him a deposit promised to give my money back if anything i came to retrieve the vehicle and it was sold.
On July 7th 2013 I Contacted Tena Automotives Owner **** letting him know that i was interested in finding a car from his lot because i had a previous credit of $200.00 from a previous vehicle i ended up not gettin from his older lot on N. Florida Ave so he told me that he will keep the money as a credit onto a newer vehicle that i get from his lot on********************** **** "Tena Automotive" Owner Came to pick me up to take me to his lot to see the newer selection of cars. When i got there he showed me a 2005 Chrysler Crossfire Limited and i agreed that, that's the vehicle i agreed to place a deposit of $500.00 plus the $200 dollar Credit i had which was the sum of 700.00 on pay the rest at an later date subject to approval from a bank . I later on july 11th contacted **** again via text asking him was i approved he let me know that nothing was final yet and that to contact his office with questions about the vehicle so i contacted ********* which is his financial manager at the ************** location he told me that there was nothing official but he was working on finding me a bank. on july 19 i contacted **** again letting him know that i was still interested and that i was workin trying to save money and he instructed me that it was okay the car will be there when i had the rest and that i could start driving with 600.00 more dollars which will total to 1300 instead of 2500 he asked for before. on july 21st i came to tena automotives to look at the vehicle and saw that the vehicle was still out on the showroom floor i asked ********* why was the vehicle still in the same place i seen it was it still; for sale he told me that no the vehicle was on hold and that it wasn't available for anyone else to purchase and that it'll be there when i had the rest of the money. So i contacted **** asking him did the approval go through and could i get a copy of the document stating that i was approved he said that there was no document its verbal only so i said okay ill just check back in when i get all of the money. so on september 11th i texted **** tena automotives owner lettin him know i was coming to get the vehicle and that i had the 600 and i will be speaking to ********* on whats my next step he said sure and to call him whenever i was ready so i came to tena automotives on september 12th 2013 to retrieve the vehicle and was rudely told by the sales person **** that the vehicle was sold so **** the owner rushes out and i started lookin for the vehicle because i thought he was playing but **** the owner said to me that i was suppose to pick up the car along time ago and that he never spoke to me . and i asked for my money back and he arrogantly told me no that he's not giving me my money back and that he didn't care who i called he wont give it back.

Initial Business Response
THE CUSTOMER LEFT A DEPOSIT. THE DEPOSIT FORM ATTACHED SHOWS A DUE DATE OF 7/17/2013. DUE TO HER LIMITED CREDIT TENA AUTO SPENT MANY HOURS GETTING HER APPROVED WITH A GOOD INTEREST RATE. SHE WAS APPROVED WITHIN A FEW DAYS OF LEAVING HER DEPOSIT. THE CUSTOMER TOLD US SHE HAD XXXX-XXXX DOLLARS TO PUT DOWN WHICH WAS NECESSARY TO ENSURE THE BANK WOULD FINANCE HER. WHEN WE OFFERED THE LOAN SHE CLAIMED TO NO LONGER HAVE THE NECESSARY MONEY. THE CUSTOMER WAS GIVEN EXCELLENT SERVICE, AN EXCELLENT APPROVAL AND A ADDITIONAL FULL MONTH OF HOLDING THE VEHICLE BEYOND THE DEPOSIT FORM. THE BILL OF SALE FOR THE VEHICLE WAS 8/30/2013 OVER 6 WEEKS AFTER THE DUE DATE FOR THE DEPOSIT

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: representatives three times told me they would be able to get the payment options and down payment i needed. upon arrival reversed the offer
my girlfriend called and spoke with **** about a 2000 bmw 323i on sale for 4995. she asked him about working with us for 500-700 down and payments of about 200 per month. he asked if we could get the down payment higher and she declined. he said they would be willing to work with us on the numbers because the car had some cosmetic issues. two days later i called **** back and we spoke about the same numbers referenced in my girlfriends conversation. he said he would get my information to the finance guy ********* and he would call me. ********* called me and asked if i could get the down payment to 900. I declined and counter offered with 700 down. he said come in and drive it and if you like the car we can work something out. that same day we came in and spoke with **** about the car. we referenced approximately three times in the hour we were there before we test drove the car about the $500 down payment and about $200-$225 car note per month. he didnt bring up any issues, once we test drove the vehicle there was something mechanically wrong and we took it right back to the shop to see what needed to be done. while waiting for the shop to look at it the owner of the dealership came out and asked some questions about what we were wanting to do with the car. when we told him he said "there is no way we can work something out" "the numbers they told you were totally wrong" after talking to him about it for another 30 minutes we could not come to an agreement. he then proceeded to try and sell me a car that was three times the amount as the car i was looking for. i declined and attempted to circle back to the car i came to look at. there still could be nothing done and we left. i felt like i was intentionally lied to in order to get me to look at other things

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** FINANCE MANAGER
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
DEPENDING ON THE CAR, THE CUSTOMERS CREDIT AND THE AGE/MILEAGE OF A VEHICLE, THESE FACTORS COMBINED WILL DETERMINE THE LOAN STRUCTURE. WHEN A CUSTOMER SAYS THEY ARE TRULY INTERESTED IN A CAR AND READY TO SIT DOWN AND DO NUMBERS WE INVITE THEM BECAUSE WE KNOW WE WILL FIGHT VERY HARD TO GET THEM EVERYTHING THEY ASK FOR. IN THIS PARTICULAR CASE. THE CUSTOMER REQUESTED CREDIT FROM TENA AUTOMOTIVE. THE LOAN OFFICER OR "BUYER" FOR OUR IN HOUSE FINANCING IS THE CEO, ***** **********. THE CUSTOMER HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO SPEAK DIRECTLY WITH THE OWNER AND BASED ON THAT INTERVIEW TENA AUTOMOTIVE WAS UNABLE TO OFFER HIM IN HOUSE FINANCING. WE HAVE MANY CUSTOMERS WHO PUT 0 DOWN AND DRIVE VERY NICE CARS FOR SMALL MONTHLY PAYMENTS. WE WORKED VERY HARD FOR THIS CUSTOMER AND UNFORTUNATELY CANNOT EXTEND OUR OWN FINANCING TO THEM AT THIS TIME.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: Printed ad said "Keyless Entry". I was promised a key. It's been a month now and no key.
I purchased the car Mitshbishi Endeavor December 23, 2012. It was advertised with "keyless entry". They told me they did not have the key, but would obtain one for me as part of the sale. I have called repeatedly and am told each time they don't know how long it will take - they had to order it from Japan. I called my local Mitsubishi dealer and am told that the key is not on back order. They can order it and have it in two days and it will take about an hour to key it to my vehicle. The cost of the key is $125.35 and it costs $65.00 to have it keyed to my vehicle. I want the keyless entry to my vehicle as was advertised and as was promised to me by the finance manager, ******, and the owner, whose name I am told is ******. I expect Tena Automotive to do as they promised. They are lying to me and giving me the run around about the key.

Business' Initial Response
Our ad was correct. The vehicle has keyless entry. When we purchased the car at auction the set of keys we were given did not have a remote. After our customer completed her paperwork and was waiting to take delivery of her car, she asked about the key. We said as a courtesy we would get her a keyless remote if she made the rest of her downpayment on time. The customer could not afford to make the required downpayment from the bank who approved her but we allowed her to take delivery of the vehicle. We said it shouldnt cost more than $25 or so at a car accessory store we do business with. We began shopping for the key and realized that this car has a special alarm system that required a more expensive remote. The best quote we could find was for $75. We tried to offer this option to our customer but she refused and said she only wants a dealer remote. The cost of a dealer remote is 225, not the price she said and our remote will open the doors exactly the same as the one for $75. We do not even need to provide to her a remote, but we are trying to be courteous. Again the ad says the vehicle has keyless entry, not it has a keyless remote. All of our ads are genereated by NADA list of standard features. And since she was confused by the ad which I understand we would still like to offer her the $75 remote.

Consumer's Final Response
The ad says that the vehicle has kayless entry. If there was no remote to operate the keyless entry they should have removed it from the ad. Perhaps they were confused. I was promised the remote to operate the keyless entry when I picked up my vehicle. I made two additional downpayments as was the agreement. At the last payment they were supposed to give me the key. They did not have it. I was told they would order it. Every week I would call and they would say it was ordered and they did not know why it was taking so long. They wee lying about it for over a month. First they offered $50 off the last payment and told me to take care of it myself. I said no. It was part of the sales agreement. As far as the price of a dealer remote, I called the Mitsubishi dealer in Brandon, FL and he told me $125 for the key and $60 to match it to my vehicle. He told me that he could have the key in two days. In order to finalie this situation I would settle for them to purchase the key from Mitsubishi - go through the Brandon dealer -and then I will pay to have it keyed to my vehicle. This was not the agreement and I am disappointed that they went back on their word after I kept mine. Very disappointed. And, they are also holding a check that they were to return to me at the time I made the final payment. I will fax the sales ad under separate cover. If you are advertising something it should work.

Business' Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

The advertised features are from auto trader. The vehicle does have the keyless entry feature, it just did not have the remote. We offered to buy the remote at an aftermarket retail shop for $75. For some reason the customer wants the remote from the Mitsubishi dealership. Both remotes do the same thing, they unlock the doors. In order to satisfy the customer we will agree to pay the $125 to the dealership. The customer can have the dealership call when she goes for service and we will pay over the phone.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/09/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: TENA automotive sold me a car with no back brakes leaks and electrical problems.
I purchased a 2008 Acura RL when I took it to an Acura dealership for inspection they found leaks, engine tops missing, no back brakes, bad tires, electrical flashing off and on. The automatic unlock for the drivers door is not working. The lock needs to be replaced. I purchased this vehicle on Sept. 13, 2013. I returned the vehicle on Sept. 19, 2013 and tried to stop payment but was unable to stop the bank from paying for the vehicle. The vehicle is at the TENA Automotive at this time. Contract ****

Initial Business Response
****** ******** purchased our 2008 Acura RL with financing and warranty from ***************** The warranty from *** does not cover any repairs until 30 days after purchase. This vehicle passed * post sale inspection from ******* as well as ******* inspection. He test drove the vehicle on the highway and illegally took the vehicle to 100 mph while endangering our salesman. The invoice from acura does not mention anything electrical. The invoice recommends 2 brake pads, air filter, 2 tires and a door lock actuator. When we sold the vehicle to ****** it was sold as / is. While that may put the burden on the customer we always go out of our way to help our customers if something was overlooked on their behalf. In this instance however ****** came in and demanded to return the car after driving the vehicle 7 days (and we got a glimpse of how he drives his vehicles) so we advised him we could significantly reduce his expense to fix whichever items he chose to fix but he refused. Acura wanted to charge him $90 for a $6 air filter, $600 for 2 tires and even worse for brakes and door lock. I will ask the CEO if he will do these repairs for a small cost which we will do as a FAVOR not becuase we are required to.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
He has lied about the car he stated that the car was in good shape and did inspections on the car which u can see that he didn't do due to the door not working and did a great job on me not getting into the car until they had already opened the door the driver's side axle is leaking the power steering pump is leaking and when it rains water comes inside the car due to a seal somewhere on the passenger's side door windshield or sunroof along with no rear brakes with bad rotors and bad tires. When I took back the car he stated "that's your car now that it was my problem" If an inspection was done properly you would know it had not rear brakes the door lock doesn't work, power steering pump leaks and driver side axle is leaking and while on their lot when it rains u had to know due to the smell it makes. I didn't drive the car on the highway and didn't take the car over 55mph if he's stating that I did I want a sign document stating so I can get him for another lie his word means nothing due to I took his word that the car was good which it isn't so what I would like to come from all this is to have inspectors go inspect all his cars due to him saying and not doing inspections on his vehicles so no one else has to go thru what I'm having to go thru and for him to pay ACURA to fix the driver's side door, power steering pump, driver side axle and the passenger **** door leak. The electrical panel with the time and function screen flickers in and out Acura didn't notice it due to it comes and goes might be a loose wire hopefully it not due to rain water coming in and the reason I don't want him to fix it cause his word is nothing and will most likely do more damage to the car when it is in his hands. I will put new brakes, rotors, air filters along with myself already taken it down to Acura to get the wheel locks off due to them not having the wheel locks. And I took back the car in 6 Days which I have proof of the amount of days is not 7 which is another lie that this dealership is caught up in. These are my request thanks' for your concern BBB ****** ********

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/13/2011Business started: 03/18/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles-Tampa
5701 E Hillsborough Ave
Tampa, FL33610-5423
(813) 635-5200

Department of Financial Services
200 E Gaines St
Tallahassee, FL32399
(877) 693-5236
http://www.myfloridacfo.com

BBB records show a license number of VI-1026855-1 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tampa.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of W003407 for this company, issued by Department of Financial Services. Their web address is http://www.myfloridacfo.com.

Type: Dept of Financial Services

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ahmet C. Yesilbogaz (Managing Member)Mr. Jonathan Plasky (Manager)
Business Category

Used Car Dealerships

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Purchasing a Car Online
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tena Automotive, LLC

2316 W Hillsborough Ave

Tampa, FL 33603-1053

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2316 W Hillsborough Ave 

    Tampa, FL 33603-1053(813) 872-1595

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tena Automotive, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.