BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/18/2013

PJ'S Auto World, Inc.

Phone: (727) 443-3069Fax: (727) 445-9000

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My car dealer was ****. He said that I could not test drive the car because it had a flat tire. There was no machanic on duty to fix the tire, so they drove it on the ramp in their parking lot. They finally shipped the car down to me, almost 3 weeks later - after many delays and excuses all the while supposedly 'making sure everything works'. I had the care for less than two weeks and drove it a total of 3 times - all less than 2 miles each trip. The car started overheating on the 2nd trip. Then the power steering belt went out on my third drive - this time I didn't even make it to the end of our street. Then they're telling me that i drove the car with them which was a LIE. I had my friend with me who can confirm the events that transpired.They kept telling me the car ran great when they had it. Of course! As soon as I got the car, it was lie after lie. They told me to send the car up & they will fix. I paid to have it sent up on 9/23. I will not accept it if they try to sent it back & have notified the bank of the same.
Product_Or_Service: 1969 Chevy Nova
Account_Number: Car was delivered 9/

Desired Settlement
I do not wont the car back. I want my $4000 deposit back and the contract nulled. This has been a nightmare.

Business Response
This response was taken verbally by the BBB:

At this time we have come to an agreement to consignment of the vehicle and refund the consumer once sold. At this time we are waiting to received the signed agreement back to start the process.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold me a car that was not safe to drive on the road. An accident could've hurt me or others. I was assured this was a reliable car which had been well maintained by two previous owners. I could count on it to drive to Daytona Beach. Lots of lies. ************** totally misrepresented this car as reliable when it is truly ready for the junk yard because the repairs needed exceed its value.
Product_Or_Service: 8/30/13

Desired Settlement
**** ********* was not honest with me. He totally misrepresented this car. Ideally, I would like to have my down payment & sales tax back & the loan wiped out. I've been making payments as agreed and doing routine maintenance. It needs to be known that this used car dealer is not to be trusted & gives others a bad name. I have a large network of friends & acquaintances and I will make sure they are all aware of my experience at P.J.'s and the name of the salesman who lied to me. **** & *****

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@verizon.net
We responded directly to the customer when she contacted us. Both pages of her original email are attached as is the email conversation follow up.
The PT Cruiser was sold "As-Is with No Warranty" in August 2013. We received her email January 31, 2014.

We offered to perform repairs on the PT Cruiser at our cost to save the customer as much as possible. She seemed to appreciate our effort ("Thank you. Yes, I would. And I want to know why the engine light remains on as it did when I drove it off your lot.
I appreciate your helpfulness.").

On Saturday (February 1), I received a telephone call from someone who identified himself as our customer's son. Her loan has GAP insurance and he was asking how to cancel the insurance because he was helping her buy another car and trading the PT Cruiser in.

Our response remains the same as it was in our email. We will help by performing repairs at our cost if she has not already traded the car.

Final Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I traded the car in for new one last Saturday. I believe I am owed $500 down payment back. When I drove the car off the lot when I purchased it, the car had same issues then that it has now.

Final Business Response
The car was purchased in August 2013. The customer first notified us of a problem on January 31, 2014. The customer's letter to us stated "The car needs front wheel bearings & seals, alignment, cooling system service, tires and has a cracked radiator. The cost of these repairs are too high for me to consider."
We offered to do the repairs at a considerable discount from retail rates, specifically we offered to do the repairs that we are capable of doing in our shop at our cost. Apparently she did not want the repairs performed.
The customer has stated that the problems are the same as when she purchased it. We have not been able to verify this since the first we heard of these problems is 5 months after purchase.
We offered a fair deal...to make repairs at our cost. She traded the car. We consider this issue closed.

08/12/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hiding problem with a car with small problem. Takes the car away while finishing up paper work. Delivers it with broken parts/leaking parts.
I bought a 2008 ML. When I arrived at the place. I started the car but the radio wasnt working. After **** a "nice" salesman assurance that the car is clean with one owner and probably the battery change has something to do with radio, he ssured me about the car and politely ask me to proceed with paperwork. After an hour of their own people trying to resolve the issue they took the car to the dealer. After 5 hours and my paperwork with bank was finalized, car was still not ready. They had it delivered to me 2 days from now. When i received the car, abs lights were on, power steering rack was leaking fluids, and so was turbo inlet pipe and oil cooler. Title arrived 2 weeks after. i noticed it went through different dealers within a month. Scammers, Buyers beware. !!!

Desired Settlement
Either take the car back or fix the broken parts. I didnt even drive this car 1 foot therefore i couldnt spot the problem. i wouldnt buy this car in the first place if it had these issues.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ******* purchased a 2008 Mercedes from our dealership on July 1, 2013. The vehicle was advertised on E-Bay for $25,900, and Mr. ******* negotiated the price to ********

The vehicle was sold in "AS-IS" condition. A copy of the Federal Buyer's Guide is available upon request. We repaired the radio for Mr. ******* before the vehicle was shipped to him. The reason the vehicle was delivered two days later was because the funds had not arrived from Mr. *******'s bank. Furthermore, we even paid for one half of the delivery cost, because Mr. ******* did not want to drive back to pick up the vehicle.

Mr. ******* called us when he received the vehicle and said the ABS light had come on. We told him we would repair it, but since he was too far away, he had his own mechanic inspect the vehicle. He informed us of the parts that he needed to repair the ABS light, and we mailed them to him as a goodwill gesture.

Our company has been in business since 1979, and we try to please all of our customers. Mr. ******* did purchase a used vehicle, and we feel we have gone above and beyond our obligations.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

******* ***********
Treasurer

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Real reason why the vehicle was shipped 2 days after i purchased is not about the funds. Funds where there following day. It was about hiding problems that the car has. Why wasnt i able to drive even 10 feet? Because the radio wasnt working and they took away the car to "fix" it and while doing so, i was pushed into completing the paperwork so that they could make a sale.

Their reply is a truth, but making a sale shouldnt be that way. If i wouldve took a test drive and ABS light would come on ( along with radio not working), i most likely would not have made this purchase. Red flags all over this car. But because I didnt take it for a drive and I was pushed into signing the paperwork I am ****** off. Upon closer inspection by MB dealer, more problems were discovered. These 2 red flags wouldve gave me enough reasons to bail out of this transaction.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.