BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/12/2013

J. Linn Motors

Phone: (727) 581-7717Fax: (727) 588-92691611 Clearwater Largo Rd, ClearwaterFL 33756-1159

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/12/2013

BBB has determined that J. Linn Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised J. Linn Motors' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on J. Linn Motors

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
06/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a vehicle from them in January that was paid in full and on 12 of May they reposed the vehicle stating it was a 600.00 balance left
I bought a chevy impala vin ***************** on the 29 of January 2014 On may 12, 2014 a repo guy came and took the car. I called the dealership and the lady stated that it was a 600.00 deposit on the account. I tried to explain to her that I paid ****** 2800 on the 29 of January and 242.00 on the 31st of January which would have been paid in full. She stated that she sent notices to the house that was never received she stated that they were all returned. I told her that couldn't have been true because I received a title from them and that's it nothing else.They wouldn't have had to send out any notices because the car was paid in full. I am thinking with the redo of the paperwork somehow things got a lil messed up but that's not on me. I paid cash for the car and I should have the car. Where these 600.00 dollars come from I don't know.
I didn't have the car a good two weeks and the motor gaskets went out I called the dealership because I had just paid 3000 and some change for the car and now its not running. She told me that she couldn't do anything because the car was sold and bought as is but she could give me the number to the mechanic that the use but the labor and parts was on me. I paid 700.00 to get that fixed and now all of a sudden here is a balance of 600.00 from out of nowhere.

Desired Settlement
they can give me my car back or I would like the refund of what I paid and what it cost to get the car fixed and any damages that occurred during this process. Where are the getting 600.00 from if the car was baid in full.

Business Response
As you can see in the attached paperwork her original complaint is false. She bought the car on January 29th, 2014 with $2450 down and owed $579.53 with documentary stamps of $2.10 added and a finance charge of$ .34 added for a total of $581.97 which was to be paid as the motor vehicle installment sales contract has listed. She made one payment of $20 on January 31st, 2014 and did not pay the remaining balance of $331.97 as promised. We sent her late notice after late notice to her address, which were returned in the mail and we tried to call her, which her phone was out of service, not working or we had an incorrect number. We repossessed her vehicle after it was clear that she was not going to pay the balance. We do not like repossessing people's vehicles and only do this after our efforts to get them to pay have been exhausted. We almost always grant extensions to people when they communicate with us and let us know what is going on with their payment. She did not bother to call us or communicate in anyway. I am sorry but facts are facts and she did not pay her balance so she was repossessed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because this is not accurate I have never got a letter from them at all and I paid cash I have bank statements that can show the amount and everything. They say I paid 20.00 on the 31st which is clearly untrue. I paid 240.00. Do u think I will drive to next town or city to pay 20.00 I have bank statements showing time and the amount so i dnt know what they got going on but hey are mistaken. She had to redo paperwork and I am thinking this is how the problem occurred but I am willing to pursue in court because this is not correct and right. Since this whole ordeal I have received one certified letter from them on the 14th of may 2014 which I was out of town when it arrived due to a death in the family but other than that there has been no other correspondence. Now they saying its a balance of 331.97 when they originally said the balance was 600.00 now if I only paid 20.00 that from 600.00 is 580.00 not 331.00. It is no balance on the car.

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold a lemon used vehicle. Drove it off the lot and it broke down. Business would not assist in repairing it to a working status or exchange it.
Purchased 2003 jeep liberty on Saturday 3/22/14. Test drove it and it seemed good. Drove it off the lot and 10min down the road it broke down. Engine light and oil lights flashing. Called dealer immediately and they said no one could look at it and if I had a mechanic who could look at it and call them back on Monday since they closed on Sundays. I called back Monday and salesman said he would see if one of their mechanics would look at it and call me right back. I waited hours and no reply, so I called and left message with secretary. I was assured that salesman would call me back.. Again waited hours. I finally went there and was told they would not exchange it or pay for repair to get it running. I was told that because it was used it wasn't backed by the company and I was just out of luck. The salesman told me that that's the risk of buying a used vehicle. I told him I had just driven off the lot and called them immediately. I told him that I bought the vehicle running how come they couldn't at least pay for the repair or at least help with it since I had the vehicle for less than 10 min? They refused. I'm so frustrated that they wouldn't even warranty the vehicle for 10min. How could they sell me a $6000 vehicle and not back it for 500 feet off the lot?? Salesman **** was friendly when I was buying the vehicle, but was rude and never returned my calls. The secretary would not give me the owners name or even local mechanics shops that they use so I could show them an estimate from one of their preferred repair shops. I asked for the salesmanship business cell number so I could try to call him again and she just have me the business number. When I went in on Monday I spoke with the other salesman and he refused to help. I asked to see their business license and he kept blowing me off and said what business license..what do you mean? I told him the business license that should be in full public view. He kept avoiding my question. Finally he asked the girl at the counter if she knew anything about a business license. She located it and I asked to see it up close. I took a pic so I could try to look up business info to aid in resolution of this lemon vehicle. I have contacted News Channel 8 to see if they could help investigate this business's bad business practices. All I wanted was to get my 16 year old daughter a reliable car to drive to her first job since I'm a single mom going to school and working. I'm out the money for the vehicle and don't have the money for repairs. This business was rude, unhelpful and displayed extremely poor business practices. They didn't show the value of standing behind their product for even 10 min. They didn't show integrity in wanting or even trying to help make things right.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement for parts and repairs.

Business Response
Ms. ****** **** traded a 2011 Toyota Corolla for 2 cars:

2009 VW Jetta
2003 Jeep Liberty

These cars had been checked out and maintained on our car lot until she took delivery. They both ran good. We filled up both of her cars with gas which was $100.00 extra. We also paid for half of the new tag on the Jeep and for the title & registration transfer on the VW. Enclosed are copies of the papers that she signed sold as is and nothing promised, nothing owed. We stand by these cars as running good when she took delivery.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I can't believe the response from JLinn Motors. Yes, they did fill the tanks with gas and pay for half of the jeep license. What they omitted saying was that my trade in vehicle was worth more than both of the vehicles I bought. Since they would not pay cash for the difference, they suggested paying for the license/tag fee for the vw and half of the jeeps. In the negotiation process they also agreed to fill the tanks because 1) jeep was on "E", 2) vw had 1/16 tank, 3) my vehicle trade in had a full tank plus 4 new tires just purchased 2mo earlier. I feel that they again are trying to pull the wool over the publics eyes regarding their unethical business practices. The jeep had a blown head with sludge engorging every crevice of the engine head. I just took the vw in for oil change and have it checked out. It had 2 tires running on cords! This could have been very dangerous for me driving if both tires blew out. How can they say their mechanic checks the cars out before they're put on the lot for sale? I remain outraged with their business practices and hope no one has to go through what I have with dealing with such a lemon-selling conniving car dealer like JLinn Motors.

08/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was lied to and not given carfax. I even told him I was handicapped.
I went to see a Bronco at JLinn motors as I was walking around **** came over and asked what I was looking for. I explained to him that I was just looking and that had to sell my car first. I told him that I had a car I had to sell first. I specifically told him I do not want a car that needs repairs or anything to that nature, I know most cars at these places will need something or another but no major repairs. Told him I had a double lung transplant and was on SSI, I told him just started a part time job so I was looking for bigger vehicle. I told him my car had no leaks of any kind or any other problems other than dent in rear drivers side door. He said we could use as trade and no money would need to be exchanged in the deal. I of course liked to hear that, so I asked about the Bronco he tells me that I don't want that because it needs to much work. I thought ok this guy is somewhat honest. We looked at few other cars and only one I saw was this Mazda Tribute. We looked at that everything looked good and worked, I took for a test drive and I loved it. I went back and said let's work a deal. I was dumb enough not to ask price of it until was writing up papers. I think he jacked up the price now that I have got to know him. Oh I did ask if any oil or water leaks and if ever been wrecked. He guaranteed me that there were no leaks or ever been wrecked. We did look at motor and was clean and quiet. I purchased the truck on 5/22/13. It is a 2003 Mazda Tribute. The salesman/owner name was **** do not know last name. He Charged $6,201.00 minus my trade in for $1,500 total is 4,701.50 which is way to much considering the condition. He was going to charge me 28% interest which he never mentioned either. He than got me set up with a finance comp. for 18%, The next day I found oil on driveway and called him right away and he had me take to his mechanic and they said it was oil pan gasket. well I disagreed cuz I looked to and lots of oil under there. I took to another mechanic and that is when I found out the truck had been wrecked and the oil was from possibly timing chain cover and valve cover and also maybe the oil pan gasket. They want to clean it off and keep it to run it it and see exactly where coming from. Also noticed the muffler is hanging on by thread. The rear hatch only opens when wants to which is a pain cuz you put groceries back there cuz it's working than get home and doesn't work so have to get from back seat! So not only do I have to leave at mechanics for couple days to find leaks than have to leave for at least a week to get fixed and that's if can save money to fix. I'm already putting a quart and a half in it a week. Than have to leave a day at muffler shop. Plus the hatch. I will have the inconvenience of being without a car during that time. Have to find rides to dr and hospital visits and work and include my daily activities. This is whole thing I didn't want and exactly what I got!! This is all based on if can come up with the money. I also recently changed oil now it has a valve tapping or a rod knocking I don't know. So motor could be ready to go as far as I know. Almost forgot I also found out that when wrecked the air bag never got reset and that light on dash was on I just didn't know what that is, so he really sold me an unsafe car as well. He had his mechanic look at it and said is fixed but how do I know he didn't just disconnect the light. So I'm at 50/50 chance that if in accident it will deploy. I got a second chance at life with my transplant and I hate driving wondering if my life is in danger. Thank you for reading and hope we can work something out!

****

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the repairs done and paid for by him, or replace with a better vehicle, truck or preferably another SUV such as Chevy Blazer or Ford Bronco or similar. I would consider taking $2,000 off the price if I have to have repairs done myself. I believe that is very fair considering my honesty to him and explaining my health and financial situation to him. He did his sales pitch was very good and conned me, I will admit that and give him credit for good salesman. I do understand that going to these buy here pay here lots are a gamble and you pay more than what the vehicle is worth. And that they lie but to take advantage of a handicap person that can not afford repairs and specified that to him and with no conscience on him he sells anyway and unsafe at time of purchase is completely wrong. I would even take my old car back and do not want anything bad on my credit. At least my old car didn't have problems like this one. I will just go elsewhere to buy and be more careful!

Business' Initial Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The customer purchased this vehicle May 22, 2013. Before he purchased the vehicle he had it checked out by his mechanic. A price was negotiated and the as-is forms were signed. The customer came back a few weeks later with problems. I sent the vehicle to an outside shop and paid for a couple repairs to try and help him out. There is nothing else we can do to satisfy this customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First off, the only thing in his response that is true is that I did buy the car on that date! The rest of it is all 100% straight up a lie! Now you can see what kind of guy I'm dealing with. I absolutely did not take the vehicle to a mechanic before purchasing this vehicle. I drove it up to Morton Plant Hospital and back, which may have been 2 mile ride and took ten minutes! We never negotiated a price because he never told me the price until I was signing papers, when I heard the price I about fainted cuz of the highway robbery. I am not arguing the price obviously because I bought it. I'm just pointing out more lies! I also did not come back a few weeks later with problems, I called him very next day about the oil leaks and that my windshield wiper fluid container had hole in it. He said bring it in and we will fix it. Well did not fix the fluid container he just had it removed now I can not clean my windows while driving I have the inconvenience of having to pull into a gas station and wash windows! The oil leak he found out was going to cost a bundle his whole attitude changed and decide didn't want to help any more. I did go back a few weeks later to get my registration and that is when I took it to a mechanic and that's when I found out that the car had been wrecked, which he said it had not been, and confirmed the oil leaks, another thing that he swore it had no leaks, also found the muffler barely hanging on and most importantly that the air bags were not working. So when I went in for my registration he said you look familiar I said yes you sold me that piece of junk out there. While I was telling him how unhappy I was and what I found out he just walked away and went in back leaving me there with the secretary, he just let me drive off his lot again knowing the air bag wasn't working and my life was in danger, again proving his bad character concern for the life of others especially for the handicapped such as my self! I went home and waited to see if would call and you guessed it, no call. I called next day he said to take to his mechanic and will fix the air bag. Took 30 minutes to fix. no charge. As far as I know he could've just disconnected the light. He could be on JLinn's side and is a liar, cheat, crook and fraud as well as **** at Jlinn's. I have no idea if it's fixed or not and can't afford to take anywhere to see. So I am still driving scared that if in accident my second chance at life could be over because of Jlinn Motors. I can't afford all the repairs it needs and he knew that from the get go, before I ever took for test drive! If he has any kind of conscience he could help me out he could drop 2,000 dollars from price of car and I'll some how some way get fixed. The hydraulic lifters one of them are bad and did not know this till I changed the oil because whatever substance he put in to hide the ticking drained out. Since he added that stuff proves he knew there was a problem with motor. I would also like to add some false advertising on his website. When you go there he has a slide show of some brand new cars on a slide show. Which he does not have any where on his lot. I'm not looking for any miracles I am just looking to get kind of vehicle I was promised and the Mazda is not it!!! If you need proof from a true mechanic I will be glad to take it to one!

Business' Final Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The customer did come in to pick up his registration and complained about the air bag light and oil leak. We did send it over to the technician we use and he fixed the air bag light. If the customer wants to come in and see a copy of the invoice we are happy to show it to him. As far as the oil leak, I asked him which one he wanted me to fix and he said the air bag and he would fix the oil leak at a later date. If the customer wants to contact me about the oil leak I am happy to help him with a mechanic at a discounted cost.

09/03/2012Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/27/1995Business started: 02/06/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee
2900 Apalachee Pkwy # B441
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6552
(850) 617-2000

BBB records show a license number of VI-1007775-1 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1985, FL

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Maggie Mills (Office Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Leila Mills (President)
Business Category

Used Car Dealerships

Alternate Business Names
J-LINN Enterprises, Inc. of Pinellas County

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for J. Linn Motors

1611 Clearwater Largo Rd

Clearwater, FL 33756-1159

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1611 Clearwater Largo Rd 

    Clearwater, FL 33756-1159Fax: (727) 588-9269

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*J. Linn Motors is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Used Car Dealerships

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.