BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/23/1989

Florida Auto Exchange Company, Inc.

Phone: (727) 734-8077Fax: (727) 796-1834

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
02/05/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
got sold a salvaged car.this car almost caused an accident in the highway.they traded me that for another car that stranded me in Tampa Fl.
In 2011 I purchased a vehicle from Florida Auto Exchange, I was down on my luck and the sales rep came and picked me up to take to their lot. After finishing the paperwork they told me I qualified for a 2002 Ford Focus. I took the vehicle thinking it was a good deal, the dealership did state that it needed to return to have an EGR valve replaced. The purchase took place on Memorial Day weekend. So I returned on that Tuesday to have the vehicle serviced, and later that day was able to pick the car up. While waiting for my car, the sales rep came to me with a paper. He stated that the day that I purchased the car they did not officially have the title and said that the vehicle was a salvaged vehicle. I had two options, option one was to sign a waiver stating that I was ok with it being salvaged, option 2 was to walk home. At that time I lived in St. Petersburg and that walk would have taken 3-4 hours. I had no knowledge what this meant until later speaking with my fiance at that time, and he explained to me that I should never signed the document what the meaning of the salvaged title meant. I felt that I was pushed into this situation without any option. Approximately 2 months later the glass to the sunroof flew out of the car whiling traveling on the highway almost causing an accident. I began to fear the vehicle. I called Florida Auto exchange and explained what had happened and they told me they would see what they could do. 3 weeks later no response my fiance was using the car and driver mirror fell off come to find out it was gorilla glued on. My fiance fixed it temporarily, and 2 days later my boss borrowed my car to do a bank deposit because was in the shop. While traveling on a busy street " 4th street st. petersburg FL", the inside visor to the sunroof flew out almost causing a second accident. My fiance had already made a complaint to the BBB on my behalf prior to the third incident with the car. The evening that my boss had borrowed the car, we took back to Florida Auto Exchange and expressed our concerns with the car, requesting them to put me in a another vehicle. I was scared to drive this car anywhere.
While sitting at the dealership, they said they would not do anything until we retract our BBB Complaint. So we were forced into a corner again. We did as they wished and they placed me into a 2005 Cavalier. 1 month into this vehicle I was taking a training course in Tampa FL, one week before our wedding I was left stranded by this vehicle as well while on my lunch break from training. I called the dealership and told them what had happened and they told me tear the center consel apart and look at the shifter. I had to call me fiance again, he left work and rushed over to help me, was unable repair on the spot. At this point I was furious. I called the dealership and told them where the vehicle was, they came with a tow truck and towed it to their location. Approxiametly 1 week later called me and said the car is ready but would cost $500 for the tow and the repair. I had told them to relieve of my contract due to recieving 2 vehicles back to back in very poor condition. I was yesterday attempting to purchase a new vehicle and it came to my attention that Flordia Auto Exchange had filed this vehicle as repo as of 01/2016. This is 4.5 years after the vehicle was surrender to them due to faulty equipment. Due to all of the stress and problems with these vehicles I almost did not receive my certifications for housing which is a big deal in my line of work.Due to them understand my situation and the stress I was going through I had technically failed by five points, but they still passed me.

Desired Settlement
The resolution that we seek is full refund of all money we paid to them, as well as removing the repo from my credit report. I feel that them putting this on my credit repo so late is not accurate.

Business Response
***Document Attached***
Ms. ****** purchased a 2002 Ford Focus on 09/04/2010. The vehicle had a salvage title. Ms. ****** signed off on her buyer's order that she understood that this car has a salvage title due to theft. The vehicle was not brought into our service department to have repairs made that are mentioned in the complainant. On 03/03/2011 Ms. ****** purchased a 2005 Cavalier. This vehicle had no salvage title. We traded her 2002 Focus, that vehicle was paid off and she was given a trade allowance on the Focus equal to her payoff on the Focus. On or about 07/07/2011 Ms. ****** contacted her sales person and requested that we pick up the vehicle that she was returning it as a voluntary repossession. She had left the vehicle a few days earlier in a parking lot in Tampa. She stated that the vehicle broke down and that she no longer wanted the vehicle. We then went, picked up the vehicle, processed it as a voluntary repossession and once Ms. ****** did not redeem her vehicle it was reported to the credit bureau as a voluntary repo. We have not record of Ms. ******'s complaint that the vehicle almost caused an accident. Attached are the buyer's orders for both of Ms. ******'s vehicles. All personal information and information unrelated to this complaint has been redacted.

11/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I need that Florida Auto Exchange Correct 2 accounts on my Credit Bureau.
Has been an year and a half that I have been trying to get 2 accounts reported as paid /closed from Florida Auto Exchange off my credit . First I spoke with a lady at the financial office with a name Joy, and for the last, I spoke with the General Manager with the name Dick. Both did acknowledge that it had not been reported as paid and that she would take care of this matter. At this time, I spoke with the GM (Dick), explained the situation and he acknowledged that it has not been reported and that he would take care of the matter and send me a Letter stating that this two accounts are Paid in Full and that the Balance is $0. About 3 weeks ago I did apply for a mortgage and I had the same 2 accounts showing up as open and nothing being reported to those account. Those 2 accounts was paid in full at the end of January to beginning of February in 2014. The first account is showing a original balance of $12,003 with a remain balance of $3,953 and last reported on 8/2013. The second account is showing a original balance of $9,322 with a remain balance of $9,022 and last reported on 8/2013. These 2 accounts are preventing me to get approved for my mortgage, and so far nothing has been done.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive the letter proofing that my both accounts are paid in full and that they report it to the credit bureau as a Paid /Closed with a balance of $0.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Jenay ****** Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@gmail.com
In order for us to correct the accounts with Experian Mr. ******************* will need to file a complaint directly with Experian. Once they process the complaint they will forward the information to us and we will be able to correct the credit file via the e-oscar system. We no longer report to Experian and are unable to update those accounts. We have contacted Experian regarding this situation and this is the manner that we are able to update the account.

Our records indicate the the accounts in question have been reported to Equifax as paid with a zero balance. We will be sending letters stating the accounts have been paid in full.

If Mr. ******************* needs this information faxed or sent anywhere else we are more than happy to do so, with his permission.

We understand that credit standings are important to our clients and will take any steps that are available to us to correct any errors. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. If there is anything else that Mr. ******************* needs from us, please contact me directly and I will be able to assist him.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Florida Auto Exchange did provide the Letter stating that the accounts were paid in full and that I did fulfill my obligation with my contract. Also, I did open a dispute with in the credit bureau for those accounts and Florida Auto Exchange is finalizing the dispute stating that both accounts was paid in full. At this moment I accept the closure of this case.

04/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been trying to pay a car off for 2 months and have the dealer to get rid of accessive fees charged and be done with the company
firstly I purchased the car and the company failed to give me any paper work the sales person that sold me the car was not employed by the company a week later and no one was interested in assisting me afterward. The billing cycle was completely goofy. I attempted to pay the car off and ****** in the payment department was never a help but more the problem. When asked to speak to a supervisor she would not adjust and fuldill the request she would simply ignore the issue. I have been attempting for 2 months to pay this car off and all that was done was the company accessing more fees and snowballing into over one thousand dollars in more fees! I willing to pay the car off with out fees assesed or seek legal council.

Desired Settlement
I want to pay the car off with no fees assessed to the total and a rating on my credit that it was paid in full!

Business Response
Our business was not previously notified of any paperwork issues brought by our customer except with filing of this complaint.

Our billing cycle is 2x monthly on fixed dates every month to avoid confusion to our customers. The cycle is clearly explained by our closing personnel to all of our customers on their contract.

The customer requested numerous payoff balances on his contract at various times during the life of the note. Quotes were given on each occasion as requested.

We do not show $1,000 in fees as referenced by the customer anywhere on our billing system. The customer accrued a much lesser balance in legitimate late charges throughout the life of the note, of which just less than half were paid. At submission of his complaint, there were modest residual late fees as well as an asset recovery fee, a fraction of the fees referenced in the complaint.

As General Manager, I became involved with the customer around the same time as submission of his complaint. The customer was turned over to me due to his use of profanity and abusive language toward our staff. I had three conversations with the customer during that period of time, and in fairness to our customer all remained professional and conversational in tone.

We had offered twice to reduce the remaining fees for him and allow him to recover the vehicle. Both were prior to our notification of his complaint being filed. He paid off the balance less the forgiven fees on March 26th.

Florida Auto Exchange has met the customers desired resolution of paying off the contract less all residual fees. The contract is considered paid in full.

Response submitted by **********, General Manager, Florida Auto Exchange, Inc.

02/03/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lied about reporting to credit bureaus to
Improve my credit, also sold
Me a dangerous vehicle
I purchased a 2000 mustang gt from fl auto exchange, I was told that it was owned by an older woman and never got much use. I was told by sales rep Tommy that they Are called Dr Credit because they report to credit bureaus to help consumers build credit. I have always been on time for 2.5 years now, Nd not on e has my account been reported to transunion or Equifax! I was sold a vehicle at an illegal interest rate of 25% and it accelerates by itself when the Ac is on.!I have called numerous times and get the run around. I cannot even let my fiancée drive the cAr in fear the dangerous vhdcile I was duped into buying will cause her to get in an accident!!! The interior of the vehicle was Painted to mask the damages on the inside; and after further review this vehicle was in a no fault accident that was not told to me as required by law. No one will help me. I am not disgruntled I always pay on time I just want to make my story known and I don't want to be ripped off any longer! This is dangerous! No one even care!! The sales rep tommy was fired 3 days after the sale to me! Since them no one will call me back or help me. Every time I notify this place they say the shop is too backed up and they can't help me!! I will continue to share my problems and I will be writing a letter to the senator if I keep getting ignored!!
Please help!!! I am a good paying person!!! I would like compensated for the dangerous conditions, false advertising, and additional fee I paid for "dr credit" program which had t said ONE WORd to the credit bureau!!!

Desired Settlement
Update my credit report, compensate my account for the lies, falsification, false advertising, and the danger I've had to face from a car that DRIVES ITSELF! I have never been late, I e been patient, I am a good customer and Christian man! Do what's fair, please!

Business Response
When the client purchased he also purchased a limited powertrain warranty for 3 months/3000 miles. Mr. ****** has not been into our service department since he purchased the vehicle over two years ago. After speaking to our sales manager he has made an appointment for 01/16/16 with our service department. It was brought to our attention that he had not brought the vehicle in prior to now due to his work schedule. Our service department is open Monday to Friday 7:30am to 5:30pm and Saturday 8:00am to 5:00pm. We also offer before and after hours vehicle drop off hours.

We currently report to Equifax. According to our records his payments have been reported to this agency. If he is not seeing this as reported, if he will please contact the finance manager so we can investigate further. Unfortunately, without his expressed permission we are unable to run his credit bureau to ensure that it has been reported. We report on a monthly basis for all of our customers according to our agreement with Equifax. We cannot, nor due we make any expressed or implied guarantees that financing a vehicle through us will improve or build an individual's credit. However, paying for a financed vehicle MAY help improve an individual's credit rating when combined with their overall credit history.

Per Florida Statutes 520.08(d) the interest rate charged to Mr. ****** is within legal limits. Mr. ****** did not pay any additional fee for any sort of program because we do not currently and have not previously had any such "Dr. Credit" program. If the client would like were are more than happy to go through his financing agreement with him and answer any questions or concerns that he may have. Due to privacy laws and regulations we are not able to discuss in any detail the terms of Mr. ******'s financing agreement with us.

We have only recently become aware of the this clients issues and willing to work with him to resolve these matters in a timely fashion. The client originally made us aware of his issues late last week. We are currently working with the client to resolve his issues.

Consumer Response
I did not respond because I am seeking legal representation on this matter. this case is NOT resolved

Final Business Response
The client claims he is seeking legal representation. At this point it appears that his position is clear and we will respond to his attorney.

05/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This Auto Exchange Co. lied to me as to where the car was from, would not give me title, or tax voucher so I could register the car.

I traded my 02 Hyd. Sonata that was a Fl. car clean and in perfect wk. order and 02 Buick the dealer said was a Fl. car with low mileage. I did not want a big Buick especially for the $$5,171.57 price & trade I got $1,000 for mine (about $1,500 less then blue book. I only bought it because Fl. car, and low mileage. I signed my title and gave them cash, but got no title or tax voucher so I could register the car in Mich. were I reside. Dealer told me there were no titles any more it was all electronic and it would come to me along with tax voucher in 2 to 3 days. I bought it 4/21/14. No title and tax voc. did not come by 4/30 I called Gen. Mgr. **** no call back. Called **** again 5/1 & **** said no answer but would get on it with someone - no call back. Called again 5/2 & **** said I don't have answer for you? Called DMW, Fl. tax office , & chamber of Commerce all very helpful and said they would get it for me. Called **** back 5/3 & told him what I was going to do. He called me back (1st time) and said the title was coming over night. I got title which was from the prior owner from OHIO not Florida?? This was the worst experience I have had at any dealer in my life of 66 yrs. Add to the fact they told me the car had all been inspected 100 pts. only to find out the air filter had to be the orig. and extremely hard to change. The oil was half way used, and it had less then a qtr of gas in it. I left them with a full tank. I want $1,000 dollars back for all that is listed above and most important the nothing price I got for my Hyn. Sonata. I was offered $2,500, at two different dealers and anyone can look up the price of my car on blue book, and black book to see I got cheated and lied to.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking $1,000 dollars for the reasons stated above.

Business Response
Customer purchased vehicle on 4/21. Paid with check, not cash or certified funds, and therefore policy requires 10 business days to assure clearance of funds. This is standard procedure. Title was sent within 10 days along with tax voucher.

Internal investigation indicates that customer was told at least twice that title would be mailed. Confusion over answers on titling resulted from office manager not being aware that it was an out of state transaction when answering inquiries. Further, there was some confusion about whether the customer was still local or not.


Internal investigation indicates there was no customer preference on a 'Florida Car', and no title history was requested by customer at point of sale. The vehicle was acquired in private transaction in Florida from an Ohio resident trading the vehicle here.

Customer trade was not in perfect working order. ABS light and Check Engine lights were on at trade. Silicon around all door handles, antenna needed removal. The customer was offered a fair trade value for the vehicle, and was free to take more from other dealers by choice.

Company does not have a '100 pt inspection process'. As such, none of the sales staff use this terminology. We do have a rigorous safety inspection process. We stand by it in this case.

The company operated within all established policies and procedures on this transaction. We apologize for the minor miscommunications regarding titling, however customer received his title and voucher within a commercially reasonable time table. We feel that no financial compensation is warranted in this case.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1st they verified funds with Bank Manager and dealer said you will have title in two to 3 days. Check cleared in 3 days. It is less then truthful (to be kind) that they didn't know out of state transaction. They had my driver lic. & they listed Mich. for my address???? and I told them -Less then truthful. Next and the biggest issue is they told me it was a Florida Car (which means no salt like in Mi. and we all know its a huge advantage, & I never would have paid that much for a Ohio car - lie, and we had a major ordeal over not giving me a title on the spot as I insisted. I have bought several cars in Fl. while visiting there and every dealer has given me a Title in my name. They told me impossible because titles were all electronic now and they had no title. - Lie. No question they were trying to secure new title so it would not show it was an Ohio Car. My car was in perfect working order and I gave them all maintenance work and repairs records. Yes eng. light was on for years and dealer told me it was vapor leak (gas cap) Auto Exch. said fine. Anyone can go on Blue or Black book and see my car was worth $2500.00 on trade and I had offers from dealer for more (can provide proof). Less the truthful. NO ABS light was ever on, seat belt because no one sitting in passenger seat which is all proper - lie. Dealer told me all inspected and all needed maintenance was completed-lie. This is one shady Dealer that should be looked into, and I am going to take this case as far as I can for the lies and damage they did to me.

Final Business Response
The company stands by original response.

05/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have had two check vanish and i send them out a week ahead. i sent my new payment on the 3rd and i should have been their the 15th its now the 17th
i had a issue with their company cause the employees are really ruse after you start paying for a car they have made me void to of my checks cause they just go missing i sent them in the mail a week ahead. i sent my new payment on the 3rd of March. Its not the 17th and they said they dont have it and now they are making me pay a late fee again. i do not want to be involved with rude people who can not even organize somebody elses money.

Desired Settlement
i wish either they take the late fees off or i want my wifes name and mine off the car and i will give it back No Bad credit shall go against me or my wife. also would like my deposit back

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We have notes in our file for this customer that he has called in a couple of times saying that he mailed a check for payment but we did not receive the mail. If the customer is having problems with that payment method he can use an alternative method such as making a payment to us directly online or calling the payment in. He can also bring a payment directly to our location. Hopefully this resolves the issue.


Final Consumer Response


Consumer Response
i have complained on this issue before to the BBB. i sent a check to them last month and they said they never got it.
this company has been nothing but trouble, i have reported them to you for a issue of saying they never received my check. i sent to them last month. and when me and my wife check the bank today April,16,2014 they cashed it.after making me pay a late fee on the last month i paid.they said they did not have it before. so i have to pay a late fee. i would like the late fee charge money back. also they money from the check they have over drafted my account so now i have to the pay the amount over drafted and a 25 dollar overdraft charge as well. if they do not want to give me my money back i want all money i have put into the vehicle and i will give it back with no credit report will be filed on me or my wife.

i would like my money back and the late fee given back as well or the will give me back all money i have paid toward the 2004 PT cruise and my down payment also no negative credit report will be placed against me or my wife. car will be turned in if second option is chosen


Business Response
The company reiterates that we have alternative payment methods, such as calling in credit card payments over the phone or making payments online. Many customers come in and make their payments in person. We encourage this customer to take advantage of these payment methods. We are communicative with our customers, and clearly state in this rebuttal that we cannot control the timing, flow or content of incoming mail to our location.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.