BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Superior Used Auto Parts

Phone: (866) 924-1707

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

62 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 25 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service47
Total Closed Complaints62

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of complaints alleging that engines ordered by customers were different than received. Customers allege that they ordered low mileage engines, however when the engines are received they have over 100,000 miles on them. Complaints also allege that parts ordered were damaged or defective and not operating. On August 12, 2013, BBB sent a request to the business to address this pattern.

On January 29, 2014 the Business responded:

As a company we are always looking for ways to improve our business and strive for excellence. We definitely understand there will be complaints and to this day we have tried our best to solve each one and have in many cases been able to resolve the complaint. If we take a look back to our complaints a lot of them have been incorrect parts received by the customer. When we send out parts we are going with what the customer requested on our website. We of course verify it with them, but there has been situations when customers gave us the wrong information and they are not willing to own up to their mistakes since it's a mistake that's going to cost them. Because of this we now verify it three times and send them an email to verify it's the correct part. We also receive complaints about receiving parts that are damaged or defective which can also be common in our field. We sell used transmissions and engines and a lot of these vehicles are 10 years or older. Our parts are tested and come from running vehicles but unfortunately it won't always go as planned. As part of our warranty, if we send out a defective part we will replace it at our cost as long as the correct requirements are provided. We believe that if our customers take the time to read our warranty and the credit card authorization form they sign, they will not only understand our policy better but be aware of it. We stand strongly behind our policy, as any company would, and we cannot bend it for our customers or no order would be maintained.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (62)BBB Closure Definitions
10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: The parts and pricing for your 2006, Ford, Freestyle is listed below.

Transmission
FWD CVT transmission
27k
part received appeared to have high miles
Superior Used Auto Parts:
I am writing to again bring to your attention a serious ongoing issue I had in your establishment. On August 22, 2014 I ordered a transmission (2006 Ford Freestyle FWD CVT) as advertised:

Reference # XXXXXXX

We do currently have the parts(s) you requested.

The parts and pricing for your 2006, Ford, Freestyle is listed below.

Part: Transmission
Description: FWD CVT transmission
Mileage: 27k
Quoted Price: $2,250.00
Total Quote: $2,250.00
Tax: $0.00
Total w/ Tax: $2,250.00

The warranty on this transmission was stated as 6 months.

"Our warranty policy may be viewed at: http:*************************************

We test our used parts so you can be confident they will work. Shipping cost and a standard 180 day warranty is included in the total price."

I made several attempts beginning 8/22 to receive tracking information for my purchase. I made no fewer than 14 calls to Superior Used Auto Parts since placing the order. I received the shipment tracking information nearly two weeks after my purchase. Once I was able to track the shipment I phoned the shipping company, ESTES to inquire about the delivery. I was told that the shipper, Superior Used Auto Parts had not paid for the shipment therefore they could not release the transmission for delivery to ******************************************

The transmission was delivered late day, Thursday September 4.

Yesterday ********************** phoned me to let me know that there was metal in the pan of the transmission that was received from Superior Used Auto Parts and that the seals and O-rings were not intact. They also stated that the transmission was in worse condition than the one pulled out of my car. I find is hard to believe that the transmission received from Superior Used Auto Parts had the low 27,000 miles as advertised.

This morning during a call with *************** I asked for the VIN number of the car the transmission came from so I can verify the 27,000 miles. She stated that the car has been destroyed and she could not access the information. I find it hard to believe that the VIN was not recorded at the yard the transmission came from.

I am also concerned with the lack of understanding I received from************ and your customer service department who claim to be ill equipped to help me.

At this time I would like to return the transmission for a full refund.****** has told me there would be a 20% restocking fee which should be waived as the item received was not as advertised and seems to have high mileage.

I hope to hear back from you about this incident. I can be reached by phone at (XXX) XXX-XXXX me or by email at *********************
Sincerely,

********************
*******************

Initial Business Response
Ms. ******** O'******** purchased a used transmission for her 2006 ford Freestyle on 08/22/2014. Her Transmission was delivered on 09/04/2014 which comes to shows it was delivered with-in our time period as stated in our credit card authorization form. When we sell our parts we do give out an estimated time of when it should arrive but it cannot be guaranteed. We work in a salvage yard and there are different things that can happen to delay the delivery date, which is why we state in our policy to allow us 7-15 business days for delivery of part. The following day after delivery Ms. *********** contacted us to advise us that the transmission had pieces of metal in the oil pan and some parts were not intact. In order for us to start a warranty claim to be able to exchange the transmission, we need proof of the damage or in this case, pictures of the metal. Once the pictures were received they were reviewed by our mechanics and manager and we still have to pictures to prove no metal is in it. We also received a couple more pictures of the transmission which only showed a normal used transmission. When we advised Ms. *********** that we were not going to start a claim on this because nothing was wrong with it, she started to get upset. She started calling us non-stop and emailing *****, ***** and ****** constantly. She asked for the Vin number but once we gut a car out we no longer keep records of it and could not provide it at that point. We spoke to Ms. O'******** and told her we do not guarantee the looks of our parts. They are used parts and will normally show signs of wear and tear but regardless of that fact, our parts are guaranteed to work. If the Transmission would have been installed she would know that as well. At this point since she hasn't provided any paperwork for a faulty transmission we can't honor her request. If she wants to return it she can still do so, but a 20% restocking fee and both shipping costs will be deducted from her refund.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: purchased engine the engine ran for twenty minutes then blew up and could not be repair all my work was done by a certified mechanic
purchased an engine for $1100 and waited ten days for the engine put the engine in and it did start and ran for about twenty minutes then blew up. i talk to ********** and explained the situation he said he had another engine for me but i need to have ***** do warranty paperwork and ***** was out for the day. I waited a day and called back ***** and she said "give me and hour and i will cakk you back" i waited four hours and called her back then phoned her each hour for the balance of the day. the following morning i phoned and ***** answered the phone and said give me thirty minutes to complete the warranty paperwork after another two hours i phoned back and ***** informed me the because i had a certified mechanic remove the head that i had voided the warranty and they would do nothing

Initial Business Response
Mr. **** bought a used engine for his 2002 ford focus from us on 05-14-2014. The engine was received and installed and did run with no problems. About a week or two later ******, our manager, received a call from Mr. **** telling us a valve gauge ran into the pistons and broke 2 of them. We were a little puzzled because we have a video of this engine running fine before it left with no problems. As a company we listen carefully to what our customers say and both the manager and the customer service rep heard him say his mechanic had opened up the engine. To Mr. **** that might not be a bad thing but to us it's a little more serious than that. Once an engine is opened we can no longer know what was done to it. Parts can be swapped out and we would have no way to prove it. We require our customers to sign our credit card authorization form before we send out their parts and by signing it they are agreeing to our terms and conditions and on our policy it clearly states that en engine cannot be opened up or warranty will be voided. We take care of our customers as much as we can but we cannot be ignorant to our policy. At this point we cannot offer Mr. **** another engine because he voided his warranty.
*

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Was told that I would receive a 2003 Sequoia Engine and Tranny out of the same vehicle. Was sent a 2001 Eng and 2003 Tranny with over 168K.
Beware of this seller..!!

On March 13, I spoke with *************** and specifically asked for a lower mileage engine and transmission. I, also, asked for the engine / transmission to be taken from the SAME vehicle.

****** assured me it would be. He PROMISED it would be.

On March 18, 2014, I requested a picture of the Sequoia that the engine and transmission were coming out of. He sent a picture of a GREEN Sequoia.

They would NOT provide the VIN, however. Additionally, they requested a picture of the VIN on my Sequoia.

I was quoted a price of $1850.00 for the following:

We do currently have the parts(s) you requested.

The parts and pricing for your 2003, Toyota, Sequoia is listed below.

Part: Engine, Transmission, ECM, Starter, Alternator, A/C Compressor
Description:
Mileage: 51K
Quoted Price: $1,850.00
Total Quote: $1,850.00
Tax: $0.00
Total w/ Tax: $1,850.00

My credit card was charged the above amount.

The parts were shipped out on 3/20/2014 and arrived on 3/24/2014.

When we unpacked the boxed crate, their were different tags on the engine and transmission.

The tags show the VIN, year, make and model.

For Engine 2001 Sequoia VIN ending in XXXXXX.
For Transmission 2003 Sequoia VIN ending XXXXXX.

Upon using the VIN checker on the internet, I discovered it had over 168K miles.

I immediately emailed ****** asked for an explanation. He was gave no reply.

I made MULTIPLE calls which generated no further info. I was then forwarded to****** in shipping who said he had shipped the wrong parts.

When I spoke with ****** on 4/3/2014, he said he would send me the correct VIN... he did not.

On 4/4/2014, I spoke with ******, the manager, who said, "put it in, you are giving me a headache" and then before hanging up on me said, "quit complaining, install engine and transmission, and quick ******' complaining."

I later talked with *****, in shipping to have it sent back. After calculations, she said it would total $1,001 for me to return it (restocking, shipping, etc.)

STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.

Initial Business Response
Mr. ******** ****** purchased a used Transmission and Engine for his 2003 Toyota Sequoia on 03/18/2014. What we sent Mr. ****** was exactly that. We are a salvage yard and we constantly run into problems once parts are removed or tested. At that point we will use other parts we have that are constantly coming into our yard. We understand why Mr. ****** is upset but we have spoken to him and all he seemed to do was twist our words. We first looked into the problem when he called in and advised us the engine and transmission had arrived with tags showing it had over 168k. We spoke to ***** who's in charge of the yard and he even took the time to come upstairs and speak to Mr. ****** to explain he did indeed place the wrong tags on the Parts he received. At no point did ***** say we shipped him the wrong parts, we have 3 people who were standing next to ***** listening to what was being said. Mr. ****** was not happy and said we were lying to him. At no point did we ignore Mr. ******, on the contrary we were trying to work with him and help him. When he spoke to our manager, ******, he was making it very clear that he was upset. He was shouting on the phone and was giving our manager no chance to respond. It wasn't until he used foul language that our manager answered back in a rude way and told him we sent him the correct parts to install them and if there are any problems with the parts or they don't work we would stand behind our policy and replace them. We've been in business for years and to this day we cannot guarantee parts by how they look. We guarantee our parts and will replace them in the event of malfunction. Any company that sells used engines and transmissions will charge a restocking fee for refusal of a part. On our credit card authorization form, which is signed by the customer it states on there we do not guarantee the miles or look of an engine and if it is returned because of this a restocking fee will apply as well as the shipping fees. At this point we can return Mr. ****** his money back with the exception of a 20% restocking fee of and the shipping cost.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: One part ordered and paid for $1,850.00 by CC. Expected shipping on Thursday 08/01/13. Superior has stopped responding. Bad signs.
Ref. Order # XXXXXXX. I ordered and paid by Credit card - ending 9704 a total of $1,850.00 for the following used auto part including shipping to Kansas on 7/29/13
1. 6.8L V-10 engine for a 1999 Ford F-250SD

Since concluding this transaction over a week ago, Superior Used Auto parts has been unable to revert to me promptly with shipping information and tracking number after ****** ******** promised that items will ship on or before Thursday August 1st. . That did not happen. I spoke to ****** on Friday (8/2/13) who said the item was shipping that day Fri (8/2/13) - a familiar story line.

I spoke with ***** **** in the shipping department on Friday August 2, and Monday August 5, who told me that "the engine had been shipped and cannot give me a tracking number because she is waiting for her system to upload..." Now today August 6th, 2013 I got in touch with Unishippers who ***** told me picked the engine up on Friday. When I spoke to ***** at UniShippers, she told me she had no information regarding a shipment from Superior Used Auto Parts to my zip code. ***** at UniShippers told me to ask ***** for a Bill of Waiting number. When I called back to Superior Used Auto Parts I spoke with ***** who gave me a bill of waiting number of XXXXXXXXL. When I called back to Unishippers to give them this bill of waiting number to check on my order, ***** had told me that this is not a bill of waiting number.



Now no one is taking my calls nor responding to my emails to confirm shipping information and provide tracking number. It is more curious that Superior's responsiveness before and during the transaction have dwindled to a total after-sale incommunicado.

This behavior was so troubling to me that I googled Superior Used Auto (I regret not doing this prior to this transaction) and behold, I was shocked at the similarity of complaints to their stories before they turned off on me. Especially, ****** who said that the parts they were selling me were from "57k mileage truck bought at auction.


I'm reaching out to you for help because all day today Tuesday 08/06/13 no one from Superior returned my calls. I have no confidence they can deliver on this sale including the possibility of sending defective parts - common on their customers' complaints pages with similar story lines.

Business Response
We would like to apologize to Mr. ****** for the delay in our response to his complaint. We understand he was mad and after doing research on our company he might have been scared to do business with us. First well address the delivery concern. Mr. ****** ordered and paid for his part on 07/29/2013. He was expecting us to deliver this the next day...We are in Florida, He is in Kansas, shipping alone can take 3-4 business days. We also have other customers who have ordered before and once an order is placed we have to take the part out and test it as well for accuracy. Mr. ****** also said he spoke to ***** who told him we did not have the tracking number. In many situations we are not provided with the tracking number until later on, that has nothing to do with us, that's the shipping company. Mr. ****** received his engine and it's not only working fine but we never heard from him again. We know our shipping can sometimes be complicated but we do still deliver what we promise and stand behind our policy.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Superior Used Auto Parts charged my card for a vehicle part that was never shipped to me. After two business weeks money were never refunded.
Superior Used Auto Parts send me an online quote via email for the Toyota part (ABS Unit), which was selling for $799.99. I decided to purchase part and give out my debit card on the visa secured website. In my own experience card, should had not been charged until I get the shipping confirmation number. I have noticed that Superior Used Auto Parts charged my card immediately. After two days I start wondering about my purchase. ******** and ***** were very nice on the phone, but still could not understand why their manager didn't want to release the part. On the next day ******** left me a voice message asking to pay an additional $550 dollars for the part that was already purchased. They are telling me that it was the mistake on their part and the part was not priced right. ***** promised me refund within 48 hours, after a week later I have not seen money on my account. I`m submitting transaction dispute with my bank on the 12th day from the day of the payment that was made.

Initial Business Response
To whom it concern:

I want to start this letter by stating that this customer is leaving parts of what happen, Customer order the ABS unit however he never stated that he needed the pumps too which is a separate part. When we got his order we called him and left him messages because we need to know if he only need the ABS unit or the pump, for some sort of reason he kept calling his sales person but not the part department. Well to make this story short we found out he needed both we told the customer it will cost more to sent out the pump too, he didn't want to pay the remaining balance so we refunded his money back the same day. We told customer his refund will be transfer back into his bank acct I explained to the customer it usually takes 24 to 48 hrs but our bank tell us that it can take up to 3 weeks. Next thing you know he threated us with BBB and the bank and said all sort of things. customer got his full refund on the 20th of December about 4 days after we refunded his money.* Patience is not the ability to wait but the ability to keep a good attitude while waiting.* *

Best Regards,*
***** ****
Superior used auto parts
************

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
Sometime people just complain to complain.*

Customer got his full refund 7 business day after his money was captured. After we do the refund we have no control when the bank will credit the customer acct.

Customer is fully aware that he did received his money back within 7 business day. Customer also knows that it can take 24 to 48hrs up to 3 weeks for a bank to credit his acct.*

Thank you,*
***** *

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 7
06/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Purchased a low mileage motor. I have been shipped the wrong engine twice. Superior refuses to respond any communications.
On July 17th, 2012 I purchased the following items for a total of $2,000 as they are written on the order form and agreed upon by Superior. The parts are being used in a custom kit car project which was discussed multiple times at the point of sale. An extended 6 month warranty was applied to the order since the nature of the project would not allow me to install the parts until months after the order.

Order #841961
Sales Rep: ****** *******
2006 Pontiac 3800 L32 SC (27K miles)
5-speed 98 Camaro manual transmission (71K miles)
94-95 Chevy S10 bell housing
3800 L32 starter

I specifically asked for the VIN number from the donor vehicle to be included on the receipt because this information is required to register a custom car in Virginia. If the engine serial number does not match the last eight digits on the VIN provided on the receipt, Virginia DMV will not allow me to register the vehicle and may consider the motor a stolen engine.

My payment was immediate but my purchase was not shipped for weeks. I called daily to get an update and I was told every time that it was being shipped out that day. Finally shipment arrived August 24th (38 days after purchase). The pallet contained transmission with different VIN on the tag, no bell housing, no starter, and the wrong brand motor. I contacted Superior and (after weeks) they picked up the wrong engine and sent me a new one. I received the engine and other parts on 9/11/2012 (56 days after purchase). The order appeared correct at this point. As planned, I continued to work on my project car and get it ready to install the motor. Early March 2013 I start cleaning, testing, prepping the engine for installation. I discover the following;

-The cylinder heads are full of standing water that is damaging to rocker arms, spring, and other components
-Removed the oil pan where I found many cups of water sitting on top of brown extremely sludgy oil
-The air intake has grime caked so badly that it resembles a motor with 150K miles, not 27K miles
-The spark plugs were removed and found to be in the condition of a motor with well over 100K miles on it. One spark plug shows burning on one side, another is physically broken, and all electrodes are severely worn and need to be replaced. In no scenario can spark plugs with 27,000 miles be as worn as these. The plugs resemble a motor with well over 150K miles.

There is no question that the motor is far beyond 27K miles that was promised and documented on the order. I have read the Superior disclaimer and understand that the mileage is not exact and cannot be guaranteed, but a claim that this motor is under 100K miles is a stretch and charging extra for a low mileage 27K miles is unreasonable at best and possibly fraud.

Not only is the motor in poor condition but the VIN number on my receipt in invalid and does not match the serial number on the motor. Again, I cannot register the car without proof that the engine was acquired legally. The VIN does not even have the correct number of characters.

Finally, as I have been inspecting the engine I have come to find out that this is not a 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix 3800 L32 series III motor as is on my receipt and as I ordered. The motor I received is an L67 series II motor which was discontinued in 2003. The series III L32 motor that I was supposed to get has, among many updates, an improved cylinder design and supercharger that produces 20 more horsepower than the L67 motor. The bottom line is that I still have not received the motor that I paid for. I paid a premium for a low mileage L32 Series III 3800 from a 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix with 27K miles on it and I received a worn out high mileage motor from the wrong vehicle. Additionally, the serial number does not match the receipt so I couldn't even register the car if I tried. The engine is not what I ordered, it's worn out, and I cannot register the car with a motor that has a receipt with an invalid VIN #.

Business' Initial Response
We here at Superior Used Auto Parts put are customers in first place but like every job we have a policy that we have to obey. When the customer called us in March 2013 telling us what happen we ask him why he waited so long, he knew he had a 90 days warranty for the part because he was very aware of our policy. In our policy it states that the customer has 90 days warranty to cover defective parts. We are way over our 90 days period actually 215 days. If he knew about the 90 days warranty why would he wait until March 2013 to start installing the part?

We wish we can help him out but we have to follow our guideline in our policy. I'm sending our general policy where it states our warranty policy and also l am sending a document where the customer signed knowing our term and condition on the warranty and a receipt that the customer received stating he had a 90 days warranty.

If any further questions please give us a call at ************.

Best Regards,
**********
Superior Used Auto Parts

Consumer's Final Response
Dear Ms. ****,

I will assume you are fully informed of the details in this case. If so, you are also aware that the receipt you provided to BBB was not the receipt provided to us. Prior to any commitment to purchase, we took exception to your 90-day warranty. We explained to Mr.******** (the salesman) that this is a build-from-scratch car and it would take at least 6 months to reach the point of engine installation. Mr.******** extended the warranty period (in writing) to 6 months and we will provide a copy of the order and receipt to BBB.

Furthermore, you should be aware that Superior delivered a Chrysler engine the first time and the incorrect Pontiac engine the second time. You should be aware that the second engine wasn't delivered until September, which was 2 months after the order and 6 months prior to our official complaint to Superior.

Most of all as a person in the retail business, you would realize that our complaint is not one of "warranty" per se, but one of an invalid sale. Superior charged a price for an item and delivered a different item. The item delivered was
1. Not the engine specified on the order and receipt
2. Not a low mileage engine as specified on the order and receipt
3. Did not match the VIN shown on the receipt.

The car (with that engine) cannot be registered in the state of Virginia (because of the invalid VIN) and does not fit into the car for which we bought it. In essence, this engine has zero value to us.

As a customer, I could assume this is a gross mistake by Superior, in which case I would expect Superior to humbly apologize and correct the mistake; or this is a shrewd business model in which Superior deliberately "sells" a low mileage engine for a premium price and delivers a worn out substitute that is "close enough" hoping that most customers won't notice or won't do anything about it. If the latter, I would expect Superior to cover-up the plan with lies and look for every trick to keep the money. This model would fit the legal definition of fraud.

I want to believe Superior simply made a series of mistakes, but unfortunately, all indications point the other way. If necessary, we will present all of our evidence to legal authorities and request a formal investigation.

Regards,


*********
*******@baesystems.com
Office: ************
Mobile: ************
Fax: ************

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

07/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Promised one price then changed price multiple times (all higher than quoted price). When confronted as to why was hung up on and verbally accosted.
I received a quote for a transmission for my vehicle in an email for $799+tax. When I called to purchase this the sales lady ***** ******* inormed me the price would be $1399 instead. She did verify that they did have the transmission I needed that all the information was correct for my order she also asured me that they had the transmission I wanted was in stock at her location and could send it out as long as I wanted it for the $1399. Then I informed her of my email price quote for $799. She checked my price quote and informed me they wouldnt sell it to me for the quoted price of $799 because they "would lose money on the deal". I asked why she sent me a $799. quote if the price was almost double she refused to give me an answer and refused to let me talk to her boss. She did offer to let me have it for $1250 instead though. She also hung up on me when I was persistant about speaking to her manager.

Since ****** was so unhelpful and rude I decided to bypass the whole human aspect of their business and just use the "Buy it Now" option on the email that was sent to me from their company. After 2 days I received a phone call from ****** who left a message which I returned. ****** informed me he was the manager and that he did NOT have the transmission I requested in his store but another one and offered it to me for $1150. When asked why he would not honor the price quote of $799 he told me that he was the manager and could set any price he wanted. He informed me that the information I provided was not the correct information for the Transmission and that Tracey had made a mistake because I had not provided the correct information. This is totally false since I spent 10 minutes on the phone with ****** verifying that all the information was correct that the transmission was in their possession and I was all set to purchase the transmission until she tried to almost DOUBLE the price of it on me. ****** became biligerant tward me when I questioned him as to why they would not honor a quote provided by their sales rep. He yelled "**** you" into the phone multiple times also called me many names including calling me a lazy fat *** and a piece of **** among MANY others. Then he just like ****** hung up on me.

I immediately called him back and told him to refund my money had a few choice things to say in retaliation to his verbal accosting of my person and hung up on him.

I would be appauled if my business was ran this way by people who not only tried to lure buyers in with false price quotes but also had such poor customer service ability that they verbally accosted paying customers and hung up on them. Make no mistake they had already taken the money from my account I was a paying customer they just didnt want my business because they "would lose money on the deal".

When you quote a price it should be honored. Plain and simple unless their was a misunderstanding during the communication process in requesting goods of services which in this case there was NONE. ****** knew exactly what I wanted because I provided her with the same information during the first phone call as I did to the site they pulled my request off of.

Initial Business Response
We received a lead for Mr. ********* who was looking for a transmission for his 2004 Mitsubishi lancer. When we receive Leads we have a group of people who will call the customer or e-mail them and let them know if we have it in our yard or not. At times, customers do not always provide us with the correct information so we will send a generic quote unless we have a chance to call and verify the information. On Mr. ********** lead the only thing he provided us was that he needed a transmission and it was 4 cylinders. There are 6 different types of transmissions made for this particular year. These six transmissions all range price anywhere from $500-$1899, it all depends on the type of transmission needed. Mr. ********* contacted ***** and told her he was interested. ***** is new to our company and did not explain herself correctly, sure well take blame for that. But Since Mr. ********* took it so personally that we had misquoted him we tried to help him out. ***** explained to our manager what the situation was and we kept lowering the price for him to try to make him happy, but he was not having it. Obviously as a business we have to make a profit which is what ***** tried to explain. We have to pay the mechanics to take out the transmission and ship it to the customer as well. Even after we tried to work with Mr. ********* and explained we could not sell the transmission to him he went on line and bought it. At that point our manager called him and offered him and even lower price for the inconvenience but Mr. ********* would not let go of the fact that we misquoted him. Besides the fact that he didn't give us all the information to quote him correctly we are also humans here at superior used auto parts and we do make mistakes. He kept pushing our manager and accusing us of being frauds. He kept calling us and leaving messages and it got to the point that our manager had enough. ***** quoted him and once he called back with the correct information we were able to correct ourselves. We gave him no problems returning him his money and we are sure he can't find a transmission for his car for the price he needs which is why get got upset with us when we couldn't honor it. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Mr. ********* but we did try to work with him before he went ballistic on poor *****.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The correct information was provided to this company along with all the other companies that contacted me with quotes for the transmission in question.

***** was provided the information and assured me your company had the transmission in their possession. Then she attempted to more than double the price of the transmission. When I asked why and gave her my quote that SHE had sent she told me it wasn't valid and she had no idea how I had even gotten that quote. I at that point asked 4 times to speak to the manager. To which ***** refused my request the first three times then hung up on me the 4th.

I in turn did purchase the transmission through the "buy it now" feature the company provided in the email they solicited.

3 days after I purchased the transmission through the email the manager called and left me a message on my phone. I returned the message the following day. To my amazement he refused to honor the price HIS COMPANY solicited. He attempted to bargain with me and lowered the price by approximately $200 total. I informed him that was not sufficient as his company already offered a price which I had already accepted and paid. He then proceeded to get angry with me and tell me I was not getting the transmission for the quoted price. These are very bad business practices (which is my whole complaint) to rope someone in and then attempt to weasel more money from them. This is dishonest and underhanded. The type of deception one would expect a con artist.

The manager conducted himself very unprofessionally to the point of calling me names and telling me to "go **** myself" over the phone. He was nasty and vile. This also was all within the FIRST conversation I had with him. I at no point "kept calling and leaving messages". I have phone records with time stamps and minutes logged on each phone call to prove my side of this story. I called and spoke to ***** on one occasion where she refused to allow me to speak to a manager and hung up on me. I then returned the managers phone call who called 3 days AFTER I paid for the transmission. During that one conversation he repeatedly called me names and cursed at me. Immediately after he hung up on me on that first phone call I did call back two times(which my phone records can prove) and spoke for less than 2 minutes on each call to the manager.

Again this company tries to rope people in with lowball offers then refuses to honor their quoted prices. When someone is smart enough to circumvent their web of deceit and use the "buy it now" option they furnish this company still refuses to honor the prices they offer.

I again want nothing from this company. I have already repaired my vehicle. I paid far less than what they wanted to purchase the transmission. I just want others to be aware of the underhanded business practices of this company.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

07/17/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Delivery Complaint Issue

Complaint: failure to respond to my phone calls and my messages left on their phones. Denying the fact that the engine ordered was cancelled.
i had ordered engine on May 30 for the amount of $3799 with this company. i specifically told the salesperson ***** that he should provide me the VIN number of the engine and couple of photos before shipping to my shop. He failed to do that as well returning my phone call. couple of days later his secretary ***** calls me and informs me that there is crack in the intake manifold and that the engine has been shipped. i told her to cancel the order and also told ***** to cancel the order. He put on on hold to check and never gave me an answer. Because of this behavior of these two employees, i suspected there was something wrong; i then left message on their phone that if they didn't return my phone call by the end of the day i am cancelling the order. i did not here from either of them next day. then after few days on 6/17/2014 i received the engine from them which was shocking to me; i immediately called why they delivered the engine even after i told them to cancel the order they denied everything

Initial Business Response
We really don't know what Mr. ****** is complaining about.. We answer every call he ever made, I even called him and he wouldn't answer his calls, please ask him to check his answer machine. Customer was upset because he had no proof of the cancellation he never cancel. Why would we sent out an engine if he cancel with us, does he know that freight is not free. Gas is not free we pay for every freight.

The funny part is that we settled this 06/19/2014 we send a freight company on 6/18/2014 to pick up the engine from the customer shop and the freight company wasn't able to pick the engine up, we had to send another freight company. Mr.****** called me the next day 6/19/2014 and asked us to help him with the price and he will keep the engine. On 6/20/2014 we settled on a price and he kept the engine.

This is a perfect sample of a customer complaining for no reason this was settled.

If any questions please call XXX-XXX-********

Thanks
***** *

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
the fact of the matter is i did left a message to ***** and his secretary after i learned that there was a slight damage to the engine they were going to ship or shiped and that's when i told them over the phone not to send me the engine and cancell the order. And when i did receive the engine it was not the one they had told me initially. It had more than 100,000 miles on it and the one ***** was going to send me was less than 40,000 miles on it because his secretary sent me an email with the odometer reading. And i also made sure by calling lexus dealer with the VIN number and cross checked the mileage and that was correct . However that engine was not shipped. so all this time i was loosing time and money and that's when i called my customer that i won't anymore since his car is taking space in my shop and i am loosing production and called ***** and accepted that engine . so in the end i would still not do business with them next time due to dishonesty with me. And after going over their reviews i would definetely not recommend them to anybody.

Final Business Response
We understand why Mr. ***** ****** got upset in the beginning but we feel like he is being unfair. When we came across the problem with the engine we were going to send him we called him and asked him if it would be a problem and he did get upset but he did not mention he wanted to cancel the order. He spoke to *****, his sales representative, who advised Mr. ****** that we had a different engine and again he was upset but he did not mention he wanted to cancel his order. Once the engine was received he called and started complaining but after speaking to him several times we came to an agreement. We explained to him that we can only go with the odometer reading and he agreed with us and said as a mechanic he understood things like that could happen. He said he would take the engine if we gave him a refund of $150.00 and we agreed. The engine has been installed and to our knowledge there is nothing wrong with it. We feel we helped Mr. ****** as much as we could and the things he keeps complaining about are irrelevant because he himself told us he couldn't find this engine anywhere else...so why is he complaining about wanting to cancel the order?

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

07/07/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: Ordered a motor from superior used auto parts in *****************. They can't give me a tracking number, or any info and haven't received my engine.
I am writing a complaint on Superior Used Auto Parts in ******************. I recently just ordered a 2006 scion TC engine for a total of 1949.99 on May 22, 2014 from ******. ****** told me that the engine would be shipped via UPS and would arrive at the freight by Friday May 30, 2014, which product never arrived. I called ****** back on Friday May 30, 2014 to see where my engine was , and she forwarded me to the shipping department and I then spoke to *****. ***** kept giving my the run around and her answer to all of my questions were "i don't know." ***** then told me that my engine was being shipped through a third party freight company called****** and that they shipped it from their "sister yard". I asked ***** where that yard was located and her answer was I don't know, let me find out. Once she found out she told me it was in ********. So I took matters into my own hands and contacted the store in ********. There sales person told me they are not connected on any kind of way with the store in********** Florida. So I called ***** back and asked for the tracking number. She said she can not give that to me because she does not know what it is. So once
again I took matters into my own hands and called **** freight lines myself and they told me there is no truck coming from *********, Florida and there is no such thing as a company not knowing a tracking number. So I started getting sceptical and called ****** back asking her what's going on. She then said *****, in the shipping department was at lunch and would give me a call back when she gets back at 2:15. 3:00 comes and no call back. So I called the store myself and no one is answering and they are forwarding my calls to voicemail.

Initial Business Response
To whom it may concern:*
we have spoken to the customer and gave him the tracking number. He was very aware that he was going to receive the engine on 6/4/2014. I gave the customer the tracking number on Monday.*

On the authorization form the customer signed it clearly states that we have 7 to 15 business day to deliver the part. If he checks the tracking number I gave him he would know that the engine is sitting at the terminal waiting for the customer to pick it up.

If any question please call at *****************

Best Regards,*
*****

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes after 2 weeks of going back and forth finally received a tracking number. Received it on June 4th went to the terminal and it was the whole wrong engine. It was an Audi v6 engine and my car is a 4 cylinder scion tc. So I shipped it back to superior auto parts. Still waiting to receive my updated tracking number for my actual engine. It's now a week later and still no tracking number, and they aren't answering the phone.

Final Business Response
According to the freight company they been trying to called the customer since 6/11/2014 however the customer answer machine is full and is not taking any new messages. they are trying to set up an appointment with the customer to delivery the engine to his resident. I called the customer and told him to call the fright company I provided him with the number and the tracking information.

If any question please call *****************

Best Regards
***** *

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Y'all keep saying it's at the freight and we are not answering! Yes we are answering we went to the freight picked up the motor already and we were told our engine will have 41,000 miles on it but should have known that coming from y'all that was not true. So I call superior because we were not able to locate the vin number to check mileage. **** said that she does not know she would have to get back to me. So I took matters upon myself and called the place they got the motor from ****'s pull a part and the guy told me the vin number Sure enough the engine we received had 112,315 miles on it. I called superior used auto parts yesterday asking them what the issue was and why I was lied to and she said she would have to call me back because she needs to pull up my file. Once again I NEVER received a call back.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: My husband order a transimission from this company and had to spend $800 dollars to find out that they sold him a bad transmission.
He purchased a tranismisson for a 2002 dodge ram in the amount of $1000 dollars. The website states that there is a year warrenty on their products so he trust that he was making the right decision due to our restrict on funds. He had to pay the mechanic $800 to place the transmission into the car to find out that tthe sold him a bad transmission to the point that he is not able to drive the truck. Due to the fact he is serving his last five years in the reserves after serving 15 years in the Army he has to drive 45 min to drill every month including work during the week long distance. When he took the truck to the transmission shop they informed him that basically to fix the transimission we would have to pay 2000 dollars. We call Superior Auto Parts and they informed us that the transmission only has a 90 day warrenty, and that they only way the could help is for us to pay another $800 to get the bad transmission removed and we would have to wait for them to send another transmission. I asked if we get our refund and just send the tranmission back, they informed me that no I would have to give them a second chance and warrenty only cover the part not part and labor, for their tranismisson we would be paying in total from this whole process $1600 for their mistake of sending us a bad transmission, no vehicle to drive until we can come up with the money for the input of the second transmission, and trust their word that this transmission they send will work.

Initial Business Response
Mr. ******** purchased a used transmission for his 2002 Dodge Ram 1500 on 02/20/2014. We understand why they would be upset upon receiving a bad transmission from us. As a company we try hard to be able to work with our customers but in this case it's hard for us to be able to satisfy them. In our Credit card authorization form and in our warranty policy it clearly states we cannot cover labor. As a salvage yard we can't guarantee the work being done by their mechanic, we don't know what kind of mechanic he is or what type of work is being done to our parts. We have checked with other companies like ourselves and we cannot find one that will cover labor costs. When we ship our parts out we do test them but seeing as this transmission came from a running vehicle no further testing needed to be done to it. When we were contacted by Mr. ******** he advised us it wasn't shifting into 2nd or 3rd gear and we also spoke to ***** who said it could not be fixed. At that point per our warranty we will send our customer another one and make sure it is tested before going out to avoid having any more problems. Mr. ******** advised us he wanted his money back which is fine but in that case our credit card authorization form, which is signed by the customer and our warranty policy state we will charge a 20% restocking fee and the shipping cost. We are not trying to inconvenience them at all and we understand they have their own personal problems but we have a policy to oblige by and if we break the rules for one customer we would have to for the next. As far as our warranty period goes, we aren't sure where he saw that at. Our company offers a standard 90-day warranty for cars that are 10 years or older. At this point Mr. ******** still has the Transmission and we are waiting for his call back to advise us when we can pick it up. Once we receive it we can send him out another one if that's what he would like OR If he would like his money back we will have to charge a 20% restocking fee and both the shipping charges. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason that he has not ask them to pick it because of his financial issue we do not have the funds at this time to get it taken out which is the most disturbing part because of the fact that it was not a working transimission my husband is searching for loans just to get the transmission taken out and because he only has 90 days its even more crucial he finds the money as soon as possible becuase of their negelect to send a working transmission. With him dealing with medical diagnose of PTSD from numerous deployment, trying to find employment, and provide for a family with three kids its very disturbing. If this is what a company calls customer service I will beg to differ. Just to remove the transmission will be $800 and to put another transmission back in $800 that is a total of $1600 for a them not doing the proper test to make sure it works.*

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I bought an engine with the understanding it had only 42,000 miles. The engine that I received was defective.
I purchased a engine from Superior Used Auto Parts on August 6th,2013. I was told it had 42,000 miles and would be shipped to *********************************, XXXXX for total price of 750.00. I had to call several times to find out the status of shipment that was changed to ************ ************************************* XXXXX. When I called **** at XXX-XXX-XXXX about pick up I was told it was in **************************** and it would be an extra 75.00 in shipping for them to ship it to the address that was stated in our conversation and receipt. Since they would not ship it to correct address I spent 80.00 in gas driving from *****************XXXXX to ******** ***XXXXX. Upon receiving engine with stock number **XXXXX with Vin number:***************** it had many flaws such as oil leaking out of the intake, oil leaks all around the engine, the valves were covered in oil carbon and dirt, spark plugs were covered in oil, PCV valve was also covered in oil, carbon and dirt. the fuel rail was rusted over. It was missing exhaust manifolds which were stated by **** that come equipped with the engine. When I called about these concerns on August 30th,2013 I was told by **** that the engine ran and he would have to talk to his manger because I did not put it in my truck to see if it ran. However because of the beginning concerns and my truck being my only vehicle I was not going to put a bad engine in my truck and be out more time and money. I went back and forth with **** for a few days and was told I could return the motor for two shipping fees and a restocking fee totaling 500.00. I told **** that I had done nothing wrong and that I should not have to pay any fees on a defective motor and that I wanted a total refund. When I was contacted by the ****s manager he told me that he was not scared of the BBB and that I was not going to receive a refund without paying all the fees, and that when he gets the motor back he was just going to restock it and resale it. When I asked about the test that were originally ran on the motor no one could give me and answer and I was blown off. I also asked if the mechanics were ASE certified I was not answered and again was told they would call me back. Finally, I sent pictures through email to **** of the damaged motor and again was never contacted. I have copy of all documents and photos of the defective motor, and would like a total refund and compensation for gas and for the month of my time of going back and forth when I could have already purchased a different motor altogether.

Business Response
First we would like to apologize to Mr. ***** for the time it took to respond, it is definitely unacceptable and will be avoided in the future. As a company we understand why Mr. ***** is upset with his situation. This problem goes back to August when he first purchased the motor. When he received it he called and complained about the way it looked and stated he was sure it wasn't going to work. We advised Mr. ***** and would also like to remind him that this is a 10 year old Engine it's bound to have some wear and tear. We have a policy that we have to honor and we advised Mr. ***** that once the engine is installed and it is indeed defective, we would gladly take it back and replace it. It has now been 5 months and he has not called back since he installed it. We are sure it was a good working engine it just didn't look like a brand new engine because again it was 10 years old. We were never provided with any proof to show the engine was in fact defective. Because he does still have the working engine and it is now installed we cannot refund him any of his money. We apologize for any inconvenience.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is a false response, I was never advised that the engine was ten years old other wise I would not have bought it, further more I could not or would not drop this motor in my only means of transportation knowing it will not be a good motor. I have an associate degree in auto technology and currently work for a dealership. I was told hope ever that they would refund $200 of a $800 disaster. I was also advised the motor had 42,000 which was a bold face lie. Upon Receiving the motor it had many leaks the knock sensors were bad the fuel rails rusted extra. Which I still have picture's of. This company straight out told me if I sent it back they would gladly restock the motor and sell it to another customer!


Consumer Response
I would like to add I have the documentation stating that the motor had 42,000 miles on it and voice mails from **** the rep, telling me about the motor. This company needs to be shut down for taking advantage of people telling them one thing and delivering another not caring who they hurt as long as they make a dollar. The last time I was in contact with this company they told me they would not refund me my full purchase price even thought I called them the day I picked it up. they told me they would restock the motor and sell it to another consumer even though I told them of the many problems with this motor and they would only refund $200 of my money even though I was out $800 for the engine and $150 for gas and not including the time I missed at work because they changed the pick up spot even though we agreed on a place close to where I live and then changed it to some where, no where close to me and charged me for it. which I have documentation of all of this! also the last time I told the manager of my intention to call the BBB the manger must have ben familiar with this process already because he said go ahead their not going to do anything any way! im offering you the best deal now again with the $200. again I have pictures and documentation of everything that I am saying. They told me to drop this motor in my truck then they would refund my money, but Im not willing to take the time myself or pay someone hundreds of dollars to do this job when I know ill have to take it right back out, or start having to make some major repairs, then investing several more hundreds of dollars in this project. I asked if these people mechanics where ASE certified but I did not get a response to that question either, it concerns me the type of people that are running this business.


Business Response
Mr. ****** ***** purchased a used engine for a 2000 GMC Sierra 1500 on 08/06/2013. We as a company understand his complaint but I don't believe he is seeing it from our point of view. This engine he purchased is now 14 years old. A lot of his complaints were on how the motor looks and how it was a defective motor but not once has he shown any proof that it is in fact a defective motor. This engine is supposed to have normal wear and tear, we even state it in our credit card authorization form. When he called us we were more than happy to help him, we advised him we do not guarantee the looks of a motor and if he could provide any proof that it is defective we would be more than happy to continue with the warranty but he insisted that it would be defective. Any mechanic would tell you, you can't base the conditions of a motor by just looks. We told him if he installed it and there was something wrong with it we would stand behind our word. We also cannot guarantee the mileage on motor. We buy them from an auction and cannot tell the work that has been done to it we can only go by the odometer. At this point Mr. ***** is out of warranty therefore we cannot assist him further.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First I am a mechanic, and I am an educated man. Yes I am out of warranty because this company did not even try calling or following up with me about my complaints I told them of my intentions to contact the BBB and again they laughed and said go ahead. My complaint is that on the paper and as the sales associate **** told me this motor has 42,000 miles, upon receiving the motor their was oil leaking out of the intake which I have photo documentation of. secondly the fuel rail was rusted to the point that I was very worried about putting pressure on because I don't know how deep the rust goes, and as any mechanic knows rust is a cancer for a car! I did send photos of all of the damage to the motor and would be happy to send them to the BBB as well I could have look but im almost positive I have the email where I sent them to the company as well, but just like before nothing was done they again told me they would refund $200 or $250 if I was lucky, because of restock fees shipment fees etc..
at first I read the return policy and it states
that if their is any damage done to the motor they would not take it back so I did not try to
tear it down to find out what was wrong with it.
As I very quickly realized this company had no intentions of following up with me or making this giant mistake good, I decided to break into it to find out what I was facing. here is the conclusion to what I found the spark plugs where corroded with wet oil and carbon covered, the piston heads are wet with oil and carbon covered, the egr tube was clogged up to the point of, I don't know how it would even work, as well as the same with the pcv. the knock sensors below the intake plenum where so corroded the bottom was rusted out of one of them but I had to vacume out the **** to even get to them. I again have plenty of pictures of every thing I am saying. It does not take a mechanic to find out very quickly this is not a motor with 42000 thousand miles or if it was at some point the company dropped the ball on inspecting what they buy and sell to consumers. The way that it was played out to me upon talking to this company in the beginning, was that this motor was very well taken care of and that it was very well inspected, and that if I had an issue that the warranty would cover it, but its a true good to be true situation. The day that I picked this motor up I called them and wanted to turn it back in they kept insisting that I put it, into my truck to see if it ran first. As a certified mechanic and a 2 year collage educated man their is no way on earth I would ever take my only means of transportation, my only mean to get back and forth to work to feed my family and drop in a motor that is so shady and sketchy. If this company is so sure of their product they can drop this motor in for me and if all is well then Ill refund their money, but that's not going to happen because not only would they have to pay for the motor that is currently running in it now to be pulled out but when their motor is a complete disaster then they would have to pay for it to be pulled again only to have to put back in my original motor. If that does not sound fair then how about I put the motor in and they pay for the repairs that are going to be need for the motor after I drop it in as they so insist. again they would not dare do that either. I have tried repeatedly to contact this company about their warranty and they would not honor it simply because I am not willing to put my family out of all that money and my only means of transportation out of all that time! I would gladly send the pictures to the BBB or the company AGAIN so they can see the damage, also what a stupid comment about you cant base the condition of a motor by how it looks, could they honestly say that if a motor has an oil leak from the valve cover or from the cylinder heads that would be a good motor of course not! but to the lack of their knowledge a leak can tell a lot about the motor such as if the cylinder head is leaking their could be a possible leak inside the cylinder such as oil or even coolant, and if coolant makes it past the piston rings then it will eat up the bearings on the bottom end of the motor very quickly. also if oil is leaking into the cylinder it could affect o2 censors as well as catalytic converters. This company can say what ever they wish but I have all the documentation to back up everything I am saying, as well as photo documentation. I enclose with this, I would gladly show anyone this motor and present them with the same question I faced, If you only have one means of transportation would you feel safe to drop this motor into your car and hope for the best! If this companies tactic is to keep replying so they don't have to face their justice then that would not surprise me, but they have no ground to stand on so for them to just keep lying and dragging this out its probably just what they are used to!

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Page 1 of 6
06/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I was told this is a remanufactured motor and that it would be no issues with the motor. Motor arrived and was rusty.
Motor was shipped out and arrived and the outside of teh motor was compltely rusted over and in poor shape. I contacted them and they said that teh inside of the motor was what mattered. They are right but how can i believe teh inside of the motor if teh outside of the motor is rusty and does not appear to be clean. There was a bolt in the center of teh block on top that was twisted off and broke that is left inside the motor. I contacted tehm and was told taht we could just clean it up our self and should be okay. I asked them about exchanging teh motor due to two differnt machenics recommended not using this motor and was informed taht they did not have another one and that if i wanted to send teh motor back then taht would cost me 1600.00$ for shipping an drestocking fees. Ehn the motor cost new 2500.00$. I think is redicoulus and poor customer service. I was also told by the owner that your truck is not a show truck so it should not matter if it is rusty or not. I am currently having the motor took apart and checked out and cleaned up another expense on my end to try and get a vechile up and running. I have pictures to prove this.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

04/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Purchased a used engine Sept 5
Was told engine would be tested prior to shipping.
Could not have been.
Required an additional $ 900 to make it run
Purchased a used engine on Sept. 5. The mileage and condition was completely represented. Was told the engine would be run and completely checked prior to shipping. Could not have been as
1. Timing chain inoperable
2. Water pump inoperable
3. Oil dip stick tube broken broken pieces in oil pan.
4. Wires for electrical connection all dried out, cracked, and cut.
5. Air injection pump inoperable.
When I called the person I needed to speak to would not return repeated phone calls. When we finally spoke and was not getting anywhere I threatened to stop payment on the charge he said "this call is over." and hung up. The charge did go through as we could not get all the required info to the bank In time.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

09/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Failure to receive correct part ordered and after receiving the correct part, it was defective and not the quality promised and paid for.
On 6-3-2013, I called Superior Auto Parts to purchase an engine for my Suzuki XL7 vehicle. Verified the engine size with my mechanic and called back to order the 13K engine for $2199. When engine was delivered, it was the wrong size. Superior came and picked up the engine and ordered the correct one for $200 more. When that engine came, my nechanic called and asked me how many miles was supposed to be on this engine. I told him 18K. He was shocked, because the engine was very dirty. I called the company to complain and ask about the mileage. The sales person told me to tell the mechanic to install and if there was any problem, give them a call. He called me back again asking, why this engine had already had the original spark plugs changed out if there were only 18K on it. I called the company again and told them what the mechanic had asked. They confirmed that it had 18K. My mechanic continued the installation and during final testing, found a bad CAM. He called me again and I called and told Superior. The manager wanted to know what the CAM was doing. I told him that I didn't understand the mechanic of an engine, but I would give him my mechanic's phone number and he could call him. The manager told me "I don't call mechanics". So, I called my mechanic and gave him Superior's number. He called and explained the situation to the manager. He got the feeling that Superior thought we were both lying. Manager told mechanic that he was going to have someone come out and verify the reported problems. Never heard from him after that. During all this time, I had been calling, leaving messages and emails. I notified the sales and customer service dept of the issue by email and messages per warranty. No correspondance returned. The last message I left, was to inform Superior that I was turning it over to my lawyer. My lawyer told me to go ahead and file this complaint. I did receive a call after that. The managers assistant called and I called her back (different #) or I would not have answered. She thought he was going to try to solve the issue by repairing the engine that had been installed. My mechanic agrees with me that this engine could have alot of miles on it (definitely more than 18K) and I should not accept it.

Business Response
Ms. ***** bought a used engine on June 04 2013. It has been a year and we have no way else to try to help her. As a company we know we did make some errors but we still did not turn her down. The first motor we sent her was the wrong size. We took responsibility for that and picked it up at our expense and sent her another motor at our expense. When the second motor was received and installed the mechanic noticed it had some problems. Because engines can sometimes be fixed we asked if this was an option but from that point on Ms. ***** was not very eager to work with us after failed attempts to reach her to fix the situation, we received a call from her lawyer insisting we send her a new motor. Without finding out what was wrong with the engine and if it could indeed be fixed we decided not to fight it and sent her a 3rd engine. We told her she could keep engine #2 and she could scrap it and recover some money of it. The third engine was received and installed and works fine. Ms. ***** then went ahead and filed a lawsuit against our company for labor cost. The case was dismissed because she signed our credit card authorization form agreeing to our terms and conditions which state we do not cover any labor cost. Again we understand we make mistakes but we will try to work with our customers to the best of our ability. With Ms. *****, a sale that was made over a year ago, we have done as much as we can. She has a good working engine installed in her car and we do not see why we should provide her with anything else.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, I did not file the lawsuit after the third engine was installed. I filed it after the second engine was delivered, installed and determined to be bad. The address on the website for SUAP was incorrect,causing the summons to be undeliverable. I tried another address that the company gave me and it was also an incorrect address. After finding the correct address on my own, I filed an alias and the summons was finally delivered. Also, I did not get in contact with them because the lawyer,at that time, advised me not to talk to them. This company, in my opinion is taking advantage of customers. The lawsuit has been dropped, only because they filed a countersuit on me and even if the judgment was in my favor, I would have had to have the judgment tranferred to Florida. Also, the owner has been arrested for drug trafficking and will more than likely be convicted and his assets frozen, if they haven't already been. I still think the company should have reimbursed me for one removal and one installation, since they authorized me to go ahead and install the second engine (that was bad) after calling them about two concerns from the mechanic. One issue was the appearance of the engine, the second was that the spark plugs had been replaced on an engine proclaimed to have 19K miles. When I told them about this, they said to continue installation. After installation, codes and data showed evidence of a bad cam. At that point, I really didn't want the engine.


Business Response
Unfortunately at this point we cannot grant Ms. ***** her request. We have already lost too much money on this particular deal and the only reason we dropped the counter suit was because we agreed she would drop everything and just let it go. We have already provided Ms. *****, her lawyer and the judge enough paperwork to prove we are not responsible for her labor fees. We also had to pay for our lawyer and trip to Tennessee which she did not have to be responsible for. Now, to address her other concerns, WE provided her with our address to send the law suit paperwork. WE DO NOT TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OUR CUSTOMERS. We sell over 300 engines and transmissions a month of course we will have some unhappy customers but we are always willing to help as long as it's with in our policy guidelines. As far as our Co-owner, our Company, Superior Used Auto Parts, has nothing to do with his personal life. Our company had nothing to do with it and for Ms. ***** to continue looking into the history of our employees it's beginning to feel like harassment. She has looked all of our employee records, and for what? We aren't perfect we have all made mistakes, that has nothing to do with our business. We always provide excellent customer service and provide our customers with good working parts. There will be times when we have defective parts and we will replace them but there's only so much we can do as a company. We are now asking Ms. ***** to please leave us alone. We do not want to continue going back and forth and again, according to our lawyer the deal was, she would let this go and stop harassing us.


Consumer Response
Court date was June 03, 2014 in Fayetteville, Tn.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.