BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Superior Used Auto Parts

Phone: (866) 924-1707

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

68 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues9
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service51
Total Closed Complaints68

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of complaints alleging that engines ordered by customers were different than received. Customers allege that they ordered low mileage engines, however when the engines are received they have over 100,000 miles on them. Complaints also allege that parts ordered were damaged or defective and not operating. On August 12, 2013, BBB sent a request to the business to address this pattern.

On January 29, 2014 the Business responded:

As a company we are always looking for ways to improve our business and strive for excellence. We definitely understand there will be complaints and to this day we have tried our best to solve each one and have in many cases been able to resolve the complaint. If we take a look back to our complaints a lot of them have been incorrect parts received by the customer. When we send out parts we are going with what the customer requested on our website. We of course verify it with them, but there has been situations when customers gave us the wrong information and they are not willing to own up to their mistakes since it's a mistake that's going to cost them. Because of this we now verify it three times and send them an email to verify it's the correct part. We also receive complaints about receiving parts that are damaged or defective which can also be common in our field. We sell used transmissions and engines and a lot of these vehicles are 10 years or older. Our parts are tested and come from running vehicles but unfortunately it won't always go as planned. As part of our warranty, if we send out a defective part we will replace it at our cost as long as the correct requirements are provided. We believe that if our customers take the time to read our warranty and the credit card authorization form they sign, they will not only understand our policy better but be aware of it. We stand strongly behind our policy, as any company would, and we cannot bend it for our customers or no order would be maintained.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (68)BBB Closure Definitions
01/09/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered motor for 2006 Cadillac on 11/14/2014 for $1817.93. Never received motor or refund.
Ordered motor on 11/14/2014 and money was withdraw from my bank on same day. Was told motor was being pulled that day and shipped. called severa times regarding motor and was old motor was shipped. Called 12/1/2014 and was told the motor had a crack in the block and they were shipping another motor from GA. I told them that I didn't want the motor mut wanted my money back. I was told the money would be back in my account on 12/3/2014, it was not and I called on 12/4/2014 and was told that they had sent another motor then was told that the motor was not sent but that ****** would personally bring the motor to the dealer on 12/5/2014. I told them I didn't want the motor but that I wanted a refund and was told they could not authorize that.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back $1817.93 plus the money that I lost for taking off of work to drive down there to get my money. $252.00

Business Response
customer was refunded on December 8, 2014

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


11/10/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company lies give you the run around about parts that's been shipped but has not . They also want to charge money for restocking parts
I ordered a motor from the sales rep ***** on October 16 2014 it is October 28 2014 and I have no tracking number . The motor cost 1250.00 paid in full on the 16th I requested a refund because they couldn't get a tracking number now they tell me the motor has been shipped to Tallahassee which is probably another lie and all I get is nobody knows where or when I will receive it now every time I talk to someone they have an attitude hangs up the phone an I still don't have a delivery date

Desired Settlement
I need a refund so I can get other professional services or the motor I ordered without restocking fees because they can't ship products in a timely manner

Business Response
Mr. ****** order an engine on 10-16-2014.We want to explain that on the authorization form that the customer signed and agreed with our terms clearly explain that we have 7 to 15 business day to ship the engine to the customer. Customer order engine on 10-16-2014 the engine is out for delivery 10/30/2014. Which is the 10th day clearly with in our 15 days period. We also gave the tracking number to the customer on October 24, 2014.

10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The parts and pricing for your 2006, Ford, Freestyle is listed below.

Transmission
FWD CVT transmission
27k
part received appeared to have high miles
Superior Used Auto Parts:
I am writing to again bring to your attention a serious ongoing issue I had in your establishment. On August 22, 2014 I ordered a transmission (2006 Ford Freestyle FWD CVT) as advertised:

Reference # XXXXXXX

We do currently have the parts(s) you requested.

The parts and pricing for your 2006, Ford, Freestyle is listed below.

Part: Transmission
Description: FWD CVT transmission
Mileage: 27k
Quoted Price: $2,250.00
Total Quote: $2,250.00
Tax: $0.00
Total w/ Tax: $2,250.00

The warranty on this transmission was stated as 6 months.

"Our warranty policy may be viewed at: http:*************************************

We test our used parts so you can be confident they will work. Shipping cost and a standard 180 day warranty is included in the total price."

I made several attempts beginning 8/22 to receive tracking information for my purchase. I made no fewer than 14 calls to Superior Used Auto Parts since placing the order. I received the shipment tracking information nearly two weeks after my purchase. Once I was able to track the shipment I phoned the shipping company, ESTES to inquire about the delivery. I was told that the shipper, Superior Used Auto Parts had not paid for the shipment therefore they could not release the transmission for delivery to ******************************************

The transmission was delivered late day, Thursday September 4.

Yesterday ********************** phoned me to let me know that there was metal in the pan of the transmission that was received from Superior Used Auto Parts and that the seals and O-rings were not intact. They also stated that the transmission was in worse condition than the one pulled out of my car. I find is hard to believe that the transmission received from Superior Used Auto Parts had the low 27,000 miles as advertised.

This morning during a call with *************** I asked for the VIN number of the car the transmission came from so I can verify the 27,000 miles. She stated that the car has been destroyed and she could not access the information. I find it hard to believe that the VIN was not recorded at the yard the transmission came from.

I am also concerned with the lack of understanding I received from************ and your customer service department who claim to be ill equipped to help me.

At this time I would like to return the transmission for a full refund.****** has told me there would be a 20% restocking fee which should be waived as the item received was not as advertised and seems to have high mileage.

I hope to hear back from you about this incident. I can be reached by phone at (XXX) XXX-XXXX me or by email at *********************
Sincerely,

********************
*******************

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund of $2,250.00

Business Response
Ms. ******** O'******** purchased a used transmission for her 2006 ford Freestyle on 08/22/2014. Her Transmission was delivered on 09/04/2014 which comes to shows it was delivered with-in our time period as stated in our credit card authorization form. When we sell our parts we do give out an estimated time of when it should arrive but it cannot be guaranteed. We work in a salvage yard and there are different things that can happen to delay the delivery date, which is why we state in our policy to allow us 7-15 business days for delivery of part. The following day after delivery Ms. *********** contacted us to advise us that the transmission had pieces of metal in the oil pan and some parts were not intact. In order for us to start a warranty claim to be able to exchange the transmission, we need proof of the damage or in this case, pictures of the metal. Once the pictures were received they were reviewed by our mechanics and manager and we still have to pictures to prove no metal is in it. We also received a couple more pictures of the transmission which only showed a normal used transmission. When we advised Ms. *********** that we were not going to start a claim on this because nothing was wrong with it, she started to get upset. She started calling us non-stop and emailing *****, ***** and ****** constantly. She asked for the Vin number but once we gut a car out we no longer keep records of it and could not provide it at that point. We spoke to Ms. O'******** and told her we do not guarantee the looks of our parts. They are used parts and will normally show signs of wear and tear but regardless of that fact, our parts are guaranteed to work. If the Transmission would have been installed she would know that as well. At this point since she hasn't provided any paperwork for a faulty transmission we can't honor her request. If she wants to return it she can still do so, but a 20% restocking fee and both shipping costs will be deducted from her refund.

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
purchased engine the engine ran for twenty minutes then blew up and could not be repair all my work was done by a certified mechanic
purchased an engine for $1100 and waited ten days for the engine put the engine in and it did start and ran for about twenty minutes then blew up. i talk to ********** and explained the situation he said he had another engine for me but i need to have ***** do warranty paperwork and ***** was out for the day. I waited a day and called back ***** and she said "give me and hour and i will cakk you back" i waited four hours and called her back then phoned her each hour for the balance of the day. the following morning i phoned and ***** answered the phone and said give me thirty minutes to complete the warranty paperwork after another two hours i phoned back and ***** informed me the because i had a certified mechanic remove the head that i had voided the warranty and they would do nothing

Desired Settlement
i originally just wanted another engine i understand sometimes there is no way of knowing about these things now i have been forced to get the car out of my mechanics garage and really dont know were the car will end up because i now have no car i would like the $1100 back so i can find something to dri ve

Business Response
Mr. **** bought a used engine for his 2002 ford focus from us on 05-14-2014. The engine was received and installed and did run with no problems. About a week or two later ******, our manager, received a call from Mr. **** telling us a valve gauge ran into the pistons and broke 2 of them. We were a little puzzled because we have a video of this engine running fine before it left with no problems. As a company we listen carefully to what our customers say and both the manager and the customer service rep heard him say his mechanic had opened up the engine. To Mr. **** that might not be a bad thing but to us it's a little more serious than that. Once an engine is opened we can no longer know what was done to it. Parts can be swapped out and we would have no way to prove it. We require our customers to sign our credit card authorization form before we send out their parts and by signing it they are agreeing to our terms and conditions and on our policy it clearly states that en engine cannot be opened up or warranty will be voided. We take care of our customers as much as we can but we cannot be ignorant to our policy. At this point we cannot offer Mr. **** another engine because he voided his warranty.
*

04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was told that I would receive a 2003 Sequoia Engine and Tranny out of the same vehicle. Was sent a 2001 Eng and 2003 Tranny with over 168K.
Beware of this seller..!!

On March 13, I spoke with *************** and specifically asked for a lower mileage engine and transmission. I, also, asked for the engine / transmission to be taken from the SAME vehicle.

****** assured me it would be. He PROMISED it would be.

On March 18, 2014, I requested a picture of the Sequoia that the engine and transmission were coming out of. He sent a picture of a GREEN Sequoia.

They would NOT provide the VIN, however. Additionally, they requested a picture of the VIN on my Sequoia.

I was quoted a price of $1850.00 for the following:

We do currently have the parts(s) you requested.

The parts and pricing for your 2003, Toyota, Sequoia is listed below.

Part: Engine, Transmission, ECM, Starter, Alternator, A/C Compressor
Description:
Mileage: 51K
Quoted Price: $1,850.00
Total Quote: $1,850.00
Tax: $0.00
Total w/ Tax: $1,850.00

My credit card was charged the above amount.

The parts were shipped out on 3/20/2014 and arrived on 3/24/2014.

When we unpacked the boxed crate, their were different tags on the engine and transmission.

The tags show the VIN, year, make and model.

For Engine 2001 Sequoia VIN ending in XXXXXX.
For Transmission 2003 Sequoia VIN ending XXXXXX.

Upon using the VIN checker on the internet, I discovered it had over 168K miles.

I immediately emailed ****** asked for an explanation. He was gave no reply.

I made MULTIPLE calls which generated no further info. I was then forwarded to****** in shipping who said he had shipped the wrong parts.

When I spoke with ****** on 4/3/2014, he said he would send me the correct VIN... he did not.

On 4/4/2014, I spoke with ******, the manager, who said, "put it in, you are giving me a headache" and then before hanging up on me said, "quit complaining, install engine and transmission, and quick ******' complaining."

I later talked with *****, in shipping to have it sent back. After calculations, she said it would total $1,001 for me to return it (restocking, shipping, etc.)

STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.

Desired Settlement
I WANT A FULL REFUND OF $1850.00 BECAUSE I WAS TOLD THAT THE ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION WERE 2003 AT 51K MILEAGE.

I WAS SHIPPED A 2001 ENGINE AND 2003 TRANSMISSION WITH

Business Response
Mr. ******** ****** purchased a used Transmission and Engine for his 2003 Toyota Sequoia on 03/18/2014. What we sent Mr. ****** was exactly that. We are a salvage yard and we constantly run into problems once parts are removed or tested. At that point we will use other parts we have that are constantly coming into our yard. We understand why Mr. ****** is upset but we have spoken to him and all he seemed to do was twist our words. We first looked into the problem when he called in and advised us the engine and transmission had arrived with tags showing it had over 168k. We spoke to ***** who's in charge of the yard and he even took the time to come upstairs and speak to Mr. ****** to explain he did indeed place the wrong tags on the Parts he received. At no point did ***** say we shipped him the wrong parts, we have 3 people who were standing next to ***** listening to what was being said. Mr. ****** was not happy and said we were lying to him. At no point did we ignore Mr. ******, on the contrary we were trying to work with him and help him. When he spoke to our manager, ******, he was making it very clear that he was upset. He was shouting on the phone and was giving our manager no chance to respond. It wasn't until he used foul language that our manager answered back in a rude way and told him we sent him the correct parts to install them and if there are any problems with the parts or they don't work we would stand behind our policy and replace them. We've been in business for years and to this day we cannot guarantee parts by how they look. We guarantee our parts and will replace them in the event of malfunction. Any company that sells used engines and transmissions will charge a restocking fee for refusal of a part. On our credit card authorization form, which is signed by the customer it states on there we do not guarantee the miles or look of an engine and if it is returned because of this a restocking fee will apply as well as the shipping fees. At this point we can return Mr. ****** his money back with the exception of a 20% restocking fee of and the shipping cost.

Page 1 of 7
11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Superior Used Auto Parts represented they were selling a 2006 engine with 27k miles, but actually shipped a 2004 engine with 94k miles.
The salesman, ***** ****** represented that they had a 2006 Saab 9-5 in their lot with an engine with 27k miles. They said they had bought in a Progressive Insurance auction, but it was driven into their lot. We agreed they would take the engine out of the donor car and ship it to my repair shop, in *************** for a total of $1,399.

They delayed and were not responsive to inquiries about the status. I finally got tracking info for the shipment, and was able to back track it to its point of origin. I found that a Saab engine from a 2004 vehicle with 94k miles had been shipped from a salvage yard in Wisconsin. I also found out that Superior Used Auto Parts had purchased the engine the day before from the Wisconsin yard(to fill my order) for $700.

These guys told so many lies I can't count them. They are nothing but trouble.

I think they are just a boiler operation. If you plug their address into google arial, you will see there isn't a salvage yard at their address.

Desired Settlement
These guys need to have their Florida salvage dealer license (if they actually have one) revoked.

Business Response
Mr. ****** ****** Purchased a used engine from us on 10/06/2017. We definitely understand why he is upset and the confusion in this purchase. Our sales representative did have the wrong information on where this engine was at. We at Superior Used Auto Parts sometimes work with different yards depending on the part we need. Originally we did have this engine here and the information was given to the customer based on that part. Our manager caught the fact that this motor was in a different yard we work with. After verifying that the engine was tested and in good working conditions we sent it out to our customer. Mr. ****** took it upon himself to become a private investigator. He kept calling us for tracking information and then continued to look further to see if we were trying to steal his money. On different occasions we spoke to him to assure him it was on the way and he should be receiving it soon. He changed his mind and told us he no longer wanted the engine and wanted to cancel his order. Mr. ****** signed and dated our credit card authorization form agreeing to our terms and conditions. On that form it states we have 7-15 business days to deliver his part to him. It also states we do not guarantee the mileage seeing as we are all salvage yards and we cannot guarantee the work done to it. We guarantee the head and block and we guarantee he will receive a good working engine. We are sorry he feels like we were trying to screw him over but we weren't, we sent him out a good part and he denied the part with-out even looking at it.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Facts don't lie. This was a classic bait and switch.

See the attached e-mail from Superior. It says the donor car had 27k miles and was driven into their yard. ***** ***** told me it was a 2006 car.

See the attached Carfax that shows the engine they shipped was from a 2004 car with 81,272 miles when last checked. The salvage guy who actually shipped the engine from Wisconsin said it had 94,000 miles.

Obviously, the value of a used engine is affected by its age and mileage.

Superior Used Parts simply substituted an inferior engine for the one they sold. They figured no one would notice.

These guys also told lie upon lie in the whole process.

In my opinion, they are totally dishonest, and should be avoided at all costs.

06/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a low mileage motor. I have been shipped the wrong engine twice. Superior refuses to respond any communications.
On July 17th, 2012 I purchased the following items for a total of $2,000 as they are written on the order form and agreed upon by Superior. The parts are being used in a custom kit car project which was discussed multiple times at the point of sale. An extended 6 month warranty was applied to the order since the nature of the project would not allow me to install the parts until months after the order.

Order #841961
Sales Rep: ****** *******
2006 Pontiac 3800 L32 SC (27K miles)
5-speed 98 Camaro manual transmission (71K miles)
94-95 Chevy S10 bell housing
3800 L32 starter

I specifically asked for the VIN number from the donor vehicle to be included on the receipt because this information is required to register a custom car in Virginia. If the engine serial number does not match the last eight digits on the VIN provided on the receipt, Virginia DMV will not allow me to register the vehicle and may consider the motor a stolen engine.

My payment was immediate but my purchase was not shipped for weeks. I called daily to get an update and I was told every time that it was being shipped out that day. Finally shipment arrived August 24th (38 days after purchase). The pallet contained transmission with different VIN on the tag, no bell housing, no starter, and the wrong brand motor. I contacted Superior and (after weeks) they picked up the wrong engine and sent me a new one. I received the engine and other parts on 9/11/2012 (56 days after purchase). The order appeared correct at this point. As planned, I continued to work on my project car and get it ready to install the motor. Early March 2013 I start cleaning, testing, prepping the engine for installation. I discover the following;

-The cylinder heads are full of standing water that is damaging to rocker arms, spring, and other components
-Removed the oil pan where I found many cups of water sitting on top of brown extremely sludgy oil
-The air intake has grime caked so badly that it resembles a motor with 150K miles, not 27K miles
-The spark plugs were removed and found to be in the condition of a motor with well over 100K miles on it. One spark plug shows burning on one side, another is physically broken, and all electrodes are severely worn and need to be replaced. In no scenario can spark plugs with 27,000 miles be as worn as these. The plugs resemble a motor with well over 150K miles.

There is no question that the motor is far beyond 27K miles that was promised and documented on the order. I have read the Superior disclaimer and understand that the mileage is not exact and cannot be guaranteed, but a claim that this motor is under 100K miles is a stretch and charging extra for a low mileage 27K miles is unreasonable at best and possibly fraud.

Not only is the motor in poor condition but the VIN number on my receipt in invalid and does not match the serial number on the motor. Again, I cannot register the car without proof that the engine was acquired legally. The VIN does not even have the correct number of characters.

Finally, as I have been inspecting the engine I have come to find out that this is not a 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix 3800 L32 series III motor as is on my receipt and as I ordered. The motor I received is an L67 series II motor which was discontinued in 2003. The series III L32 motor that I was supposed to get has, among many updates, an improved cylinder design and supercharger that produces 20 more horsepower than the L67 motor. The bottom line is that I still have not received the motor that I paid for. I paid a premium for a low mileage L32 Series III 3800 from a 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix with 27K miles on it and I received a worn out high mileage motor from the wrong vehicle. Additionally, the serial number does not match the receipt so I couldn't even register the car if I tried. The engine is not what I ordered, it's worn out, and I cannot register the car with a motor that has a receipt with an invalid VIN #.

Desired Settlement
Complaint Summary
1) 1st shipment included wrong engine and did not include all the items I purchased
2) 2nd shipment included wrong engine again
3) Superior will not return calls, email, or voice mail
4) Purchased motor with 27K miles, was sent very high mileage motor
5) Engine had standing water in the heads and in the oil pan, oil is brown and sludgy (a sign of contamination and abuse), valve stems completely rusted, spark plugs burned broken and worn out, compression on all but 1 cylinders is low
6) VIN on receipt is invalid and does not match engine serial number
7) Engine is wrong type and does not include proper documentation (valid VIN) to allow me to register my car
I have tried every method possible with undeserved patience to resolve this situation without involving other parties. They ignore my calls, will not return voice mail, and will not return email. I have even considered spending hundreds of dollars to rebuild the engine but since it is the wrong motor and I cannot prove to the DMV that it was acquired legally, there is no possible way I can use the engine that they sent me. There are two elements that complicate the matter.

1) I discussed with ****** that this motor was going in a project car and I would not be able to install the motor until months after I received it since I had to build other components of the car first. Superior agreed to a 6 month warranty due to this special circumstance. Much of my warranty has been eaten up by Superior sending me the wrong engine twice and not returning any of my calls. To be clear, I received my 2nd incorrect delivery on 9/11/2012 and I have been trying to contact them since 3/11/2013 to get the issue resolved (exactly 6 months). This should NOT be considered a warranty matter, however, since the order is still incomplete.
2) The second complicating matter is that I am required to provide the Virginia DMV with the VIN number of the vehicle that the engine came from. The last 8 digits on the VIN on my receipt must match the serial number on my engine. The DMV makes sure the serial number on the engine matches the VIN on my receipt. They then run the VIN to verify that the motor is not stolen. I discussed this with Superior and the VIN they provided me with does not match the serial number on the engine and the VIN is an invalid number.

I am willing to accept two possible scenarios for resolutions;
Option 1) Superior shall refund $2,000 and I will return all items that I purchased from them. This does not factor in the months that they have set my project behind schedule nor does it include hours of lost labor for cleaning and testing the engine.
Option 2) Superior shall replace the high mileage wrong model engine that they sent me with a low mileage correct model engine and a receipt with a valid and clean VIN number. Additionally, Superior must provide me with a CARFAX report that proves the motors legitimacy due to the expense that I've already acquired from running the invalid and inaccurate VIN numbers they have provided me with.

Let it be known that if neither of these terms are met through my escalation with the Better Business Bureau, I will further escalate to the district attorney. Superior is refusing to fulfill an order that I spent $2,000 for. Additionally, they are refusing to provide me with proof that the motor I was sent was acquired legally. I hope that I am not forced to escalate further however if they choose not to properly handle this situation there is no question that I will contact the authorities with my evidence that suggests that Superior has a pattern of fraudulent activity and will not reconcile with their customers.

Business' Initial Response
We here at Superior Used Auto Parts put are customers in first place but like every job we have a policy that we have to obey. When the customer called us in March 2013 telling us what happen we ask him why he waited so long, he knew he had a 90 days warranty for the part because he was very aware of our policy. In our policy it states that the customer has 90 days warranty to cover defective parts. We are way over our 90 days period actually 215 days. If he knew about the 90 days warranty why would he wait until March 2013 to start installing the part?

We wish we can help him out but we have to follow our guideline in our policy. I'm sending our general policy where it states our warranty policy and also l am sending a document where the customer signed knowing our term and condition on the warranty and a receipt that the customer received stating he had a 90 days warranty.

If any further questions please give us a call at ************.

Best Regards,
**********
Superior Used Auto Parts

Consumer's Final Response
Dear Ms. ****,

I will assume you are fully informed of the details in this case. If so, you are also aware that the receipt you provided to BBB was not the receipt provided to us. Prior to any commitment to purchase, we took exception to your 90-day warranty. We explained to Mr.******** (the salesman) that this is a build-from-scratch car and it would take at least 6 months to reach the point of engine installation. Mr.******** extended the warranty period (in writing) to 6 months and we will provide a copy of the order and receipt to BBB.

Furthermore, you should be aware that Superior delivered a Chrysler engine the first time and the incorrect Pontiac engine the second time. You should be aware that the second engine wasn't delivered until September, which was 2 months after the order and 6 months prior to our official complaint to Superior.

Most of all as a person in the retail business, you would realize that our complaint is not one of "warranty" per se, but one of an invalid sale. Superior charged a price for an item and delivered a different item. The item delivered was
1. Not the engine specified on the order and receipt
2. Not a low mileage engine as specified on the order and receipt
3. Did not match the VIN shown on the receipt.

The car (with that engine) cannot be registered in the state of Virginia (because of the invalid VIN) and does not fit into the car for which we bought it. In essence, this engine has zero value to us.

As a customer, I could assume this is a gross mistake by Superior, in which case I would expect Superior to humbly apologize and correct the mistake; or this is a shrewd business model in which Superior deliberately "sells" a low mileage engine for a premium price and delivers a worn out substitute that is "close enough" hoping that most customers won't notice or won't do anything about it. If the latter, I would expect Superior to cover-up the plan with lies and look for every trick to keep the money. This model would fit the legal definition of fraud.

I want to believe Superior simply made a series of mistakes, but unfortunately, all indications point the other way. If necessary, we will present all of our evidence to legal authorities and request a formal investigation.

Regards,


*********
*******@baesystems.com
Office: ************
Mobile: ************
Fax: ************

10/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Engine shipped was blown. Second engine was wrong part. Promised refund never received at my Bank.
Ordered a 4.5 ****** engine with NO EGR on July 27, 2014. Amount of $1100.00 was taken from my account on July 28th. Engine was received August 11th and installed on the 15th at a ********* ***** Engine had a bad knocking at start up. I contacted the company from the garage and was told to email a video of the engine in the truck to prove the engine was defective. The following day ***** ********* from customer service acknowledged that the video had been received and that the engine was defective. I was told another engine would be shipped the following day and that they did NOT WANT the defective part returned. Received a second engine 14 days later. The second engine came with EGR valve and could not be used in my truck because it was not equipped for EGR. I contacted the company and was told a replacement would be shipped the following day. I called every day and was told it had been shipped. After a week I was told it had NOT been shipped because they had to receive the second engine back and that it had to be verified as the part they had sent. Starting about August 15th ***** agreed to a refund minus a 20% restocking fee. I said that that was not acceptable because of the time the transaction had taken and the obvious fact that the engine could not be checked prior to installation with out voiding the warrenty. I also requested a refund of the $650.00 charged by the mechanic for the engine to be installed. Ms. ********* declined the charge but did agree to refund the amount of $1100.00. I have called every single day multiple times each day since the agreement was made for the refund. I have spoken to *****, *****, ******, and *****. ****** and ***** introduced themselves as the "Manager". All of the people I have spoken with insisted that the refund had been processed and had in fact been done. I have not received a single penny to this date. ***** offered to send me a "Company Check" but I declined because I didn't believe I would ever receive it or it would not be honored. The company employees seem to be very well versed in delaying tactics but it has become very hard for me to trust what they say. I have asked for a bank voucher showing the return to be faxed to my bank as proof of the refund. ***** said he would personally do this but it also has never been received by my bank.

Desired Settlement
I would like the $1100.00 originally paid and $650.00 that I have paid to date for the mechanics charge. I am not asking for any damages though I have suffered them as a result of not having a vehicle for over 2 months. I am on a fixed income of $1400.00 per month (SSDI) and the money I am out is about 10% of my income yearly

Business Response
To whom it may concern:
We at superior used auto parts apologized to the customer for sending a engine that started to knock, as we all know this is a used engine that anything can happen to engine that is 11 years old we immediately send him another engine with a egr does engine are interchangeable where it can be used, However the customer didn't want to use it.

Customer wanted us to pick the engine up and we agreed, We send a Bill of lading to his mechanic and setup a freight company to pick the engine up. What the customer FAIL to state is the reason why it took long to give him is refund was because his mechanic shipped our engine to incorrect place that we had NO affiliation with. The engine was sent some where in Wisconsin. Customer didn't care and just wanted his money back we explained to him that we cannot give his refund back until 1st we know that's our engine 2nd we receive the engine. We even made it easier for him and told his mechanic to send the engine to a yard in OHIO where they will hold it for us so he wouldn't spend money sending to FL. When it got to the OHIO yard they did confirm it was our engine.

On October 1, 2014 his refund was done.

Any questions please feel free to call XXX-XXX-XXXX x ***

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did receive the refund of $1100.00 I paid for the engine. I did not receive the $650.00 charged by the mechanic to install the first engine. My mechanic was not able to check the engine prior to installation because doing so would have voided the stated warrenty. The engine was installed and started and at that time it was discovered to be blown. I was told that all engines were checked prior to being shipped. This was simply not true in this case. The second engine shipped can be interchanged but doing so will result in a CONSTANT error code and loss of about 15% of power. This is not acceptable! I feel the company should pay the shop bill because they should have checked the engine prior to shipping it. Though they sound nice and polite the response, the reality is that this company is extremely difficult to work with and NEVER respond to phone messages. Failure to check parts prior to shipment places the company in a very actionable position but, I would much rather settle this at this level. I can see by looking at the other oomplaints that my situation IS NOT unique or unusual when dealing with Superior Used Auto Parts and I wish I had read them before dealing with them. I believe the company owes me the money spent ($650.00) because installing it was THE ONLY way to check the part without voiding the warrenty as stated by the company!!!!

Final Business Response
Customer signed our authorization form where it clearly state that we do not cover any labor cost, we state that on our authorization form because we do not know who install the engine we don't know what they did to the engine before or after installing, we are out of state. Customer was aware that he order an USED engine that is 11 years old that anything can happen to it while traveling to his location. Engine was tested before it got pulled out. Customer also has a copy of the authorization form that he signed and he can also look at our warranty policy where it also state we do not cover labor charges.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I agree that the warrenty does state that labor is not covered, it also states that opening the engine for checking status voids the warrenty. This makes it impossible to check the part prior to installation. I used a CERTIFIED mechanic and shop and can prove it. The claim that the reason not to cover labor because of not knowing who is the installer is not valid and this whole deal is a cute way to not be liable for much of anything. This not the first engine I have purchased online and out of state! This is the first time I have run into such poor business practice by anyone ever. I believe this company owes the labor from both a moral and ethical point of view. I expect they will not pay me and I suspect that the company will be reorganized and opened under a different name shortly. This is THE WORSE company I have ever dealt with. The only thing keeping this from being interstate fraud is the fact that it is goods and services instead of a straight money or securities exchange. You folks know what is right thing to do but you fail to do it. Shame on you all. This engine was not tested by any competent mechanic or the problem would have been immeidiatly apparent. The only person who should be concerned with the mechanic is me the customer and it is your mechanic I am worried about. Read some of these complaints. You guys do this same thing over and over and use the same excuses over and over. I will not ever do business with you or recommend you to anyone. You owe this money period!

07/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised one price then changed price multiple times (all higher than quoted price). When confronted as to why was hung up on and verbally accosted.
I received a quote for a transmission for my vehicle in an email for $799+tax. When I called to purchase this the sales lady ***** ******* inormed me the price would be $1399 instead. She did verify that they did have the transmission I needed that all the information was correct for my order she also asured me that they had the transmission I wanted was in stock at her location and could send it out as long as I wanted it for the $1399. Then I informed her of my email price quote for $799. She checked my price quote and informed me they wouldnt sell it to me for the quoted price of $799 because they "would lose money on the deal". I asked why she sent me a $799. quote if the price was almost double she refused to give me an answer and refused to let me talk to her boss. She did offer to let me have it for $1250 instead though. She also hung up on me when I was persistant about speaking to her manager.

Since ****** was so unhelpful and rude I decided to bypass the whole human aspect of their business and just use the "Buy it Now" option on the email that was sent to me from their company. After 2 days I received a phone call from ****** who left a message which I returned. ****** informed me he was the manager and that he did NOT have the transmission I requested in his store but another one and offered it to me for $1150. When asked why he would not honor the price quote of $799 he told me that he was the manager and could set any price he wanted. He informed me that the information I provided was not the correct information for the Transmission and that Tracey had made a mistake because I had not provided the correct information. This is totally false since I spent 10 minutes on the phone with ****** verifying that all the information was correct that the transmission was in their possession and I was all set to purchase the transmission until she tried to almost DOUBLE the price of it on me. ****** became biligerant tward me when I questioned him as to why they would not honor a quote provided by their sales rep. He yelled "**** you" into the phone multiple times also called me many names including calling me a lazy fat *** and a piece of **** among MANY others. Then he just like ****** hung up on me.

I immediately called him back and told him to refund my money had a few choice things to say in retaliation to his verbal accosting of my person and hung up on him.

I would be appauled if my business was ran this way by people who not only tried to lure buyers in with false price quotes but also had such poor customer service ability that they verbally accosted paying customers and hung up on them. Make no mistake they had already taken the money from my account I was a paying customer they just didnt want my business because they "would lose money on the deal".

When you quote a price it should be honored. Plain and simple unless their was a misunderstanding during the communication process in requesting goods of services which in this case there was NONE. ****** knew exactly what I wanted because I provided her with the same information during the first phone call as I did to the site they pulled my request off of.

Desired Settlement
I want nothing from these people as I do not trust them to do as they should. I want others to be aware of their business practices and the way they treat customers.

Business Response
We received a lead for Mr. ********* who was looking for a transmission for his 2004 Mitsubishi lancer. When we receive Leads we have a group of people who will call the customer or e-mail them and let them know if we have it in our yard or not. At times, customers do not always provide us with the correct information so we will send a generic quote unless we have a chance to call and verify the information. On Mr. ********** lead the only thing he provided us was that he needed a transmission and it was 4 cylinders. There are 6 different types of transmissions made for this particular year. These six transmissions all range price anywhere from $500-$1899, it all depends on the type of transmission needed. Mr. ********* contacted ***** and told her he was interested. ***** is new to our company and did not explain herself correctly, sure well take blame for that. But Since Mr. ********* took it so personally that we had misquoted him we tried to help him out. ***** explained to our manager what the situation was and we kept lowering the price for him to try to make him happy, but he was not having it. Obviously as a business we have to make a profit which is what ***** tried to explain. We have to pay the mechanics to take out the transmission and ship it to the customer as well. Even after we tried to work with Mr. ********* and explained we could not sell the transmission to him he went on line and bought it. At that point our manager called him and offered him and even lower price for the inconvenience but Mr. ********* would not let go of the fact that we misquoted him. Besides the fact that he didn't give us all the information to quote him correctly we are also humans here at superior used auto parts and we do make mistakes. He kept pushing our manager and accusing us of being frauds. He kept calling us and leaving messages and it got to the point that our manager had enough. ***** quoted him and once he called back with the correct information we were able to correct ourselves. We gave him no problems returning him his money and we are sure he can't find a transmission for his car for the price he needs which is why get got upset with us when we couldn't honor it. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Mr. ********* but we did try to work with him before he went ballistic on poor *****.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The correct information was provided to this company along with all the other companies that contacted me with quotes for the transmission in question.

***** was provided the information and assured me your company had the transmission in their possession. Then she attempted to more than double the price of the transmission. When I asked why and gave her my quote that SHE had sent she told me it wasn't valid and she had no idea how I had even gotten that quote. I at that point asked 4 times to speak to the manager. To which ***** refused my request the first three times then hung up on me the 4th.

I in turn did purchase the transmission through the "buy it now" feature the company provided in the email they solicited.

3 days after I purchased the transmission through the email the manager called and left me a message on my phone. I returned the message the following day. To my amazement he refused to honor the price HIS COMPANY solicited. He attempted to bargain with me and lowered the price by approximately $200 total. I informed him that was not sufficient as his company already offered a price which I had already accepted and paid. He then proceeded to get angry with me and tell me I was not getting the transmission for the quoted price. These are very bad business practices (which is my whole complaint) to rope someone in and then attempt to weasel more money from them. This is dishonest and underhanded. The type of deception one would expect a con artist.

The manager conducted himself very unprofessionally to the point of calling me names and telling me to "go **** myself" over the phone. He was nasty and vile. This also was all within the FIRST conversation I had with him. I at no point "kept calling and leaving messages". I have phone records with time stamps and minutes logged on each phone call to prove my side of this story. I called and spoke to ***** on one occasion where she refused to allow me to speak to a manager and hung up on me. I then returned the managers phone call who called 3 days AFTER I paid for the transmission. During that one conversation he repeatedly called me names and cursed at me. Immediately after he hung up on me on that first phone call I did call back two times(which my phone records can prove) and spoke for less than 2 minutes on each call to the manager.

Again this company tries to rope people in with lowball offers then refuses to honor their quoted prices. When someone is smart enough to circumvent their web of deceit and use the "buy it now" option they furnish this company still refuses to honor the prices they offer.

I again want nothing from this company. I have already repaired my vehicle. I paid far less than what they wanted to purchase the transmission. I just want others to be aware of the underhanded business practices of this company.

07/17/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
failure to respond to my phone calls and my messages left on their phones. Denying the fact that the engine ordered was cancelled.
i had ordered engine on May 30 for the amount of $3799 with this company. i specifically told the salesperson ***** that he should provide me the VIN number of the engine and couple of photos before shipping to my shop. He failed to do that as well returning my phone call. couple of days later his secretary ***** calls me and informs me that there is crack in the intake manifold and that the engine has been shipped. i told her to cancel the order and also told ***** to cancel the order. He put on on hold to check and never gave me an answer. Because of this behavior of these two employees, i suspected there was something wrong; i then left message on their phone that if they didn't return my phone call by the end of the day i am cancelling the order. i did not here from either of them next day. then after few days on 6/17/2014 i received the engine from them which was shocking to me; i immediately called why they delivered the engine even after i told them to cancel the order they denied everything

Desired Settlement
i should expect full refund on my credit card. this company is taking advantage of people that are doing business out of state.

Business Response
We really don't know what Mr. ****** is complaining about.. We answer every call he ever made, I even called him and he wouldn't answer his calls, please ask him to check his answer machine. Customer was upset because he had no proof of the cancellation he never cancel. Why would we sent out an engine if he cancel with us, does he know that freight is not free. Gas is not free we pay for every freight.

The funny part is that we settled this 06/19/2014 we send a freight company on 6/18/2014 to pick up the engine from the customer shop and the freight company wasn't able to pick the engine up, we had to send another freight company. Mr.****** called me the next day 6/19/2014 and asked us to help him with the price and he will keep the engine. On 6/20/2014 we settled on a price and he kept the engine.

This is a perfect sample of a customer complaining for no reason this was settled.

If any questions please call XXX-XXX-********

Thanks
***** *

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
the fact of the matter is i did left a message to ***** and his secretary after i learned that there was a slight damage to the engine they were going to ship or shiped and that's when i told them over the phone not to send me the engine and cancell the order. And when i did receive the engine it was not the one they had told me initially. It had more than 100,000 miles on it and the one ***** was going to send me was less than 40,000 miles on it because his secretary sent me an email with the odometer reading. And i also made sure by calling lexus dealer with the VIN number and cross checked the mileage and that was correct . However that engine was not shipped. so all this time i was loosing time and money and that's when i called my customer that i won't anymore since his car is taking space in my shop and i am loosing production and called ***** and accepted that engine . so in the end i would still not do business with them next time due to dishonesty with me. And after going over their reviews i would definetely not recommend them to anybody.

Final Business Response
We understand why Mr. ***** ****** got upset in the beginning but we feel like he is being unfair. When we came across the problem with the engine we were going to send him we called him and asked him if it would be a problem and he did get upset but he did not mention he wanted to cancel the order. He spoke to *****, his sales representative, who advised Mr. ****** that we had a different engine and again he was upset but he did not mention he wanted to cancel his order. Once the engine was received he called and started complaining but after speaking to him several times we came to an agreement. We explained to him that we can only go with the odometer reading and he agreed with us and said as a mechanic he understood things like that could happen. He said he would take the engine if we gave him a refund of $150.00 and we agreed. The engine has been installed and to our knowledge there is nothing wrong with it. We feel we helped Mr. ****** as much as we could and the things he keeps complaining about are irrelevant because he himself told us he couldn't find this engine anywhere else...so why is he complaining about wanting to cancel the order?

07/07/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered a motor from superior used auto parts in *****************. They can't give me a tracking number, or any info and haven't received my engine.
I am writing a complaint on Superior Used Auto Parts in ******************. I recently just ordered a 2006 scion TC engine for a total of 1949.99 on May 22, 2014 from ******. ****** told me that the engine would be shipped via UPS and would arrive at the freight by Friday May 30, 2014, which product never arrived. I called ****** back on Friday May 30, 2014 to see where my engine was , and she forwarded me to the shipping department and I then spoke to *****. ***** kept giving my the run around and her answer to all of my questions were "i don't know." ***** then told me that my engine was being shipped through a third party freight company called****** and that they shipped it from their "sister yard". I asked ***** where that yard was located and her answer was I don't know, let me find out. Once she found out she told me it was in ********. So I took matters into my own hands and contacted the store in ********. There sales person told me they are not connected on any kind of way with the store in********** Florida. So I called ***** back and asked for the tracking number. She said she can not give that to me because she does not know what it is. So once
again I took matters into my own hands and called **** freight lines myself and they told me there is no truck coming from *********, Florida and there is no such thing as a company not knowing a tracking number. So I started getting sceptical and called ****** back asking her what's going on. She then said *****, in the shipping department was at lunch and would give me a call back when she gets back at 2:15. 3:00 comes and no call back. So I called the store myself and no one is answering and they are forwarding my calls to voicemail.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund for the amount of 1,949.99.

Business Response
To whom it may concern:*
we have spoken to the customer and gave him the tracking number. He was very aware that he was going to receive the engine on 6/4/2014. I gave the customer the tracking number on Monday.*

On the authorization form the customer signed it clearly states that we have 7 to 15 business day to deliver the part. If he checks the tracking number I gave him he would know that the engine is sitting at the terminal waiting for the customer to pick it up.

If any question please call at *****************

Best Regards,*
*****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes after 2 weeks of going back and forth finally received a tracking number. Received it on June 4th went to the terminal and it was the whole wrong engine. It was an Audi v6 engine and my car is a 4 cylinder scion tc. So I shipped it back to superior auto parts. Still waiting to receive my updated tracking number for my actual engine. It's now a week later and still no tracking number, and they aren't answering the phone.

Final Business Response
According to the freight company they been trying to called the customer since 6/11/2014 however the customer answer machine is full and is not taking any new messages. they are trying to set up an appointment with the customer to delivery the engine to his resident. I called the customer and told him to call the fright company I provided him with the number and the tracking information.

If any question please call *****************

Best Regards
***** *

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Y'all keep saying it's at the freight and we are not answering! Yes we are answering we went to the freight picked up the motor already and we were told our engine will have 41,000 miles on it but should have known that coming from y'all that was not true. So I call superior because we were not able to locate the vin number to check mileage. **** said that she does not know she would have to get back to me. So I took matters upon myself and called the place they got the motor from ****'s pull a part and the guy told me the vin number Sure enough the engine we received had 112,315 miles on it. I called superior used auto parts yesterday asking them what the issue was and why I was lied to and she said she would have to call me back because she needs to pull up my file. Once again I NEVER received a call back.

05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband order a transimission from this company and had to spend $800 dollars to find out that they sold him a bad transmission.
He purchased a tranismisson for a 2002 dodge ram in the amount of $1000 dollars. The website states that there is a year warrenty on their products so he trust that he was making the right decision due to our restrict on funds. He had to pay the mechanic $800 to place the transmission into the car to find out that tthe sold him a bad transmission to the point that he is not able to drive the truck. Due to the fact he is serving his last five years in the reserves after serving 15 years in the Army he has to drive 45 min to drill every month including work during the week long distance. When he took the truck to the transmission shop they informed him that basically to fix the transimission we would have to pay 2000 dollars. We call Superior Auto Parts and they informed us that the transmission only has a 90 day warrenty, and that they only way the could help is for us to pay another $800 to get the bad transmission removed and we would have to wait for them to send another transmission. I asked if we get our refund and just send the tranmission back, they informed me that no I would have to give them a second chance and warrenty only cover the part not part and labor, for their tranismisson we would be paying in total from this whole process $1600 for their mistake of sending us a bad transmission, no vehicle to drive until we can come up with the money for the input of the second transmission, and trust their word that this transmission they send will work.

Desired Settlement
For them to pay labor fees of $800 beccause it's very disappointing that a company will incovience someone and the money that is invested to just put the tansmission in we could have used to rebuild the orignal tranismission. $1000 for the part $800 to input a broken transimssion that could have possible caused damage to his engine, and another $800 to put in the second transmission with the hopes of this transmission being a functioning transmission. To rebuild a transmission its $2800 we've spent that on this already for bad business with Superior Auto Parts.

Business Response
Mr. ******** purchased a used transmission for his 2002 Dodge Ram 1500 on 02/20/2014. We understand why they would be upset upon receiving a bad transmission from us. As a company we try hard to be able to work with our customers but in this case it's hard for us to be able to satisfy them. In our Credit card authorization form and in our warranty policy it clearly states we cannot cover labor. As a salvage yard we can't guarantee the work being done by their mechanic, we don't know what kind of mechanic he is or what type of work is being done to our parts. We have checked with other companies like ourselves and we cannot find one that will cover labor costs. When we ship our parts out we do test them but seeing as this transmission came from a running vehicle no further testing needed to be done to it. When we were contacted by Mr. ******** he advised us it wasn't shifting into 2nd or 3rd gear and we also spoke to ***** who said it could not be fixed. At that point per our warranty we will send our customer another one and make sure it is tested before going out to avoid having any more problems. Mr. ******** advised us he wanted his money back which is fine but in that case our credit card authorization form, which is signed by the customer and our warranty policy state we will charge a 20% restocking fee and the shipping cost. We are not trying to inconvenience them at all and we understand they have their own personal problems but we have a policy to oblige by and if we break the rules for one customer we would have to for the next. As far as our warranty period goes, we aren't sure where he saw that at. Our company offers a standard 90-day warranty for cars that are 10 years or older. At this point Mr. ******** still has the Transmission and we are waiting for his call back to advise us when we can pick it up. Once we receive it we can send him out another one if that's what he would like OR If he would like his money back we will have to charge a 20% restocking fee and both the shipping charges. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason that he has not ask them to pick it because of his financial issue we do not have the funds at this time to get it taken out which is the most disturbing part because of the fact that it was not a working transimission my husband is searching for loans just to get the transmission taken out and because he only has 90 days its even more crucial he finds the money as soon as possible becuase of their negelect to send a working transmission. With him dealing with medical diagnose of PTSD from numerous deployment, trying to find employment, and provide for a family with three kids its very disturbing. If this is what a company calls customer service I will beg to differ. Just to remove the transmission will be $800 and to put another transmission back in $800 that is a total of $1600 for a them not doing the proper test to make sure it works.*

Page 1 of 6
01/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
It took over a month after placing my order to receive an engine. The engine that was sent is incorrect and I can't get anyone to resolve the issue.
I ordered an engine for a 02 Ford Taurus on 11/05/14 through the company's website. I received the following receipt.

Superior Used Auto Parts - Ref #: XXXXXXX

Receipt

Customer Name:
***** *****

Ship To:
*** N. **** W.
***** UT XXXXX


Part(s) Order: Engine / Motor (Complete)
Part Description: (3.0L), VIN S (8th digit, DOHC, Duratec)
Vehicle: 02 - Ford Taurus SEL
Total Cost with Shipping: $629.00
Cost of Shipping included in total cost: $150.00

Includes 90-day warranty (see details on our website www.superioruap.com)

THANK YOU FOR YOUR BUSINESS!

On 11/10/14 I received an email with a blank credit card authorization form. I completed the form and sent it back on 11/11/14 and again on 11/13/14 after not receiving any confirmation. The payment was processed to my card on 11/17/14. The credit authorization form states that the part will be shipped within 15 business days of the authorization form being submitted. After making many phone calls to ****** ******* to find out where my order was, the part was finally shipped on 12/15/14, 20 business days after the payment was processed.

I went to the terminal to pick up the engine on 12/19/14, only to find out it was the incorrect engine. I talked with ****** and her manager at 12:10 p.m. on 12/19/14 to inform them of the issue. Both informed me that they would look into it and call me back within an hour. I did not receive any phone calls, so I called back at 2:23 pm and was informed that both of them were out of the office.

It has been 1.5 months since I placed my order and am no closer to having my correct order. The people I have talked to have not kept their promises to solve this issue. I have been patient with Superior, but I cannot wait any longer for them to deliver as each day is costing me money.

Desired Settlement
Superior Used Auto Parts has failed to deliver according to their agreement. I am owed a full refund of $629 immediately.

01/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After cancelling order was told refund takes 2 days from when cancellation is issued. Have not received refund.
The first week of December my husband placed an order for a motor for a 2005 Ford Five Hundred. Our credit card was used to pay for it and a pending transaction was placed on our account for 6 days. On the 5th of December we spoke to Shane who informed us that the motor was on sight and would shop Monday or Tuesday the next week and he would send us tracking information. When tracking was not sent we called on the 10th and was told it would be shipping g that day and they would send us the shipping. On Friday the 12th we had yet to receive shupping information. I called Shane in the morning and was informed that the order shipped the day before and if I called back in 30 minutes he would provide me the tracking information. I called back and went into voicemail. My husband then called back and asked for tracking information they told him they would call him back in 30 minutes. I called back and was placed on holed by ***** for 15 minutes. At which time they called my husband and informed him that the motor had not shipped. He requested that the order be cancelled. After 15 minutes on hold I hung up and called back and ***** told me we had gotten disconnected. I explained that I had been on hold for 15 mjnutes and hung up and called right back. She told me she was transferring me to *****. I was then disconnected. I called again and was quickly told to call a different number. When I called I got ****** who took my order # and placed me on hold. He came back on and I tried to explain I wanted to cancel our order and he put me on hold again. This happened twice. After being on hold for 18 minutes I hung up and called back. I was put on hold immediately. After 10 minutes on hold agai . I hung up and called back. I was put on hold again. Each time by ******. ****** came on the phone and told me he would cancel and re fund my order as I tried to inquire on a timtime frame for the refund he hung up on me. I called back and pressed 4 for accounting and got ******, who put me on hold again. When he came back on I asked him how long it would take for the refudelay and he responded 2 days from when he cancels the order. On 12/18 the refund hado yet to be received. I called at 7:30 am and pressed for accounting andepartment got the voice mail of *****. I left a message requsting a call back regarding g my refund. At 10am I had not received a call back. I called again and pressed 4 and ****** answered. I was out on hold again. He came back on after 5 mintestinal and informed me that the person who does refunds comes in on Wednesdays only and she didnot come in yesterday. He stated he could contact her to see if she can make the transactionecessary from her lication. I requested that he call me back after he talks to her. He informed me he would be emailing her and not calling her. I the. Explained that he told me my refund would be 2 days from when he cancelled the order. And Wednesday is more thabout 2 days and I wanted a resolution today as next Wednesday is a hold it and so is the Wednesday after that. He then gave me a story about the women who does the refunds having a terminal husband. I inquu red about anyone else being able to do the refund. I was told only the owners mother does the refunds. He told me I could dispute the crefit card charge with the bano and I would have my money the same day. He accused me of being heartless. I informed him I would be reporting his company.

Desired Settlement
Refund in full of $799 as the compaby held my funds beyond the date promised for return and would have generated interest for the company.

06/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told this is a remanufactured motor and that it would be no issues with the motor. Motor arrived and was rusty.
Motor was shipped out and arrived and the outside of teh motor was compltely rusted over and in poor shape. I contacted them and they said that teh inside of the motor was what mattered. They are right but how can i believe teh inside of the motor if teh outside of the motor is rusty and does not appear to be clean. There was a bolt in the center of teh block on top that was twisted off and broke that is left inside the motor. I contacted tehm and was told taht we could just clean it up our self and should be okay. I asked them about exchanging teh motor due to two differnt machenics recommended not using this motor and was informed taht they did not have another one and that if i wanted to send teh motor back then taht would cost me 1600.00$ for shipping an drestocking fees. Ehn the motor cost new 2500.00$. I think is redicoulus and poor customer service. I was also told by the owner that your truck is not a show truck so it should not matter if it is rusty or not. I am currently having the motor took apart and checked out and cleaned up another expense on my end to try and get a vechile up and running. I have pictures to prove this.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded some kind of credit to help cover the expense of extra labor that is being on my end to salvage this deal.

04/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a used engine Sept 5
Was told engine would be tested prior to shipping.
Could not have been.
Required an additional $ 900 to make it run
Purchased a used engine on Sept. 5. The mileage and condition was completely represented. Was told the engine would be run and completely checked prior to shipping. Could not have been as
1. Timing chain inoperable
2. Water pump inoperable
3. Oil dip stick tube broken broken pieces in oil pan.
4. Wires for electrical connection all dried out, cracked, and cut.
5. Air injection pump inoperable.
When I called the person I needed to speak to would not return repeated phone calls. When we finally spoke and was not getting anywhere I threatened to stop payment on the charge he said "this call is over." and hung up. The charge did go through as we could not get all the required info to the bank In time.

Desired Settlement
Since the condition and age of the engine was misrepresented and since it was not and could not have been completely checked and run as stated upon purchase, and since they refused to uphold the warranty, that a complete refund is not unreasonable.
A refund of half the purchase price of $1675 would be an acceptable alternative even though the addlitional cost of repairs and cost was almost $900.00

09/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to receive correct part ordered and after receiving the correct part, it was defective and not the quality promised and paid for.
On 6-3-2013, I called Superior Auto Parts to purchase an engine for my Suzuki XL7 vehicle. Verified the engine size with my mechanic and called back to order the 13K engine for $2199. When engine was delivered, it was the wrong size. Superior came and picked up the engine and ordered the correct one for $200 more. When that engine came, my nechanic called and asked me how many miles was supposed to be on this engine. I told him 18K. He was shocked, because the engine was very dirty. I called the company to complain and ask about the mileage. The sales person told me to tell the mechanic to install and if there was any problem, give them a call. He called me back again asking, why this engine had already had the original spark plugs changed out if there were only 18K on it. I called the company again and told them what the mechanic had asked. They confirmed that it had 18K. My mechanic continued the installation and during final testing, found a bad CAM. He called me again and I called and told Superior. The manager wanted to know what the CAM was doing. I told him that I didn't understand the mechanic of an engine, but I would give him my mechanic's phone number and he could call him. The manager told me "I don't call mechanics". So, I called my mechanic and gave him Superior's number. He called and explained the situation to the manager. He got the feeling that Superior thought we were both lying. Manager told mechanic that he was going to have someone come out and verify the reported problems. Never heard from him after that. During all this time, I had been calling, leaving messages and emails. I notified the sales and customer service dept of the issue by email and messages per warranty. No correspondance returned. The last message I left, was to inform Superior that I was turning it over to my lawyer. My lawyer told me to go ahead and file this complaint. I did receive a call after that. The managers assistant called and I called her back (different #) or I would not have answered. She thought he was going to try to solve the issue by repairing the engine that had been installed. My mechanic agrees with me that this engine could have alot of miles on it (definitely more than 18K) and I should not accept it.

Desired Settlement
I desire to have a full refund and have my mechanic reimbursed for any work already performed. I don't want to purchase another item from this company.

Business Response
Ms. ***** bought a used engine on June 04 2013. It has been a year and we have no way else to try to help her. As a company we know we did make some errors but we still did not turn her down. The first motor we sent her was the wrong size. We took responsibility for that and picked it up at our expense and sent her another motor at our expense. When the second motor was received and installed the mechanic noticed it had some problems. Because engines can sometimes be fixed we asked if this was an option but from that point on Ms. ***** was not very eager to work with us after failed attempts to reach her to fix the situation, we received a call from her lawyer insisting we send her a new motor. Without finding out what was wrong with the engine and if it could indeed be fixed we decided not to fight it and sent her a 3rd engine. We told her she could keep engine #2 and she could scrap it and recover some money of it. The third engine was received and installed and works fine. Ms. ***** then went ahead and filed a lawsuit against our company for labor cost. The case was dismissed because she signed our credit card authorization form agreeing to our terms and conditions which state we do not cover any labor cost. Again we understand we make mistakes but we will try to work with our customers to the best of our ability. With Ms. *****, a sale that was made over a year ago, we have done as much as we can. She has a good working engine installed in her car and we do not see why we should provide her with anything else.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, I did not file the lawsuit after the third engine was installed. I filed it after the second engine was delivered, installed and determined to be bad. The address on the website for SUAP was incorrect,causing the summons to be undeliverable. I tried another address that the company gave me and it was also an incorrect address. After finding the correct address on my own, I filed an alias and the summons was finally delivered. Also, I did not get in contact with them because the lawyer,at that time, advised me not to talk to them. This company, in my opinion is taking advantage of customers. The lawsuit has been dropped, only because they filed a countersuit on me and even if the judgment was in my favor, I would have had to have the judgment tranferred to Florida. Also, the owner has been arrested for drug trafficking and will more than likely be convicted and his assets frozen, if they haven't already been. I still think the company should have reimbursed me for one removal and one installation, since they authorized me to go ahead and install the second engine (that was bad) after calling them about two concerns from the mechanic. One issue was the appearance of the engine, the second was that the spark plugs had been replaced on an engine proclaimed to have 19K miles. When I told them about this, they said to continue installation. After installation, codes and data showed evidence of a bad cam. At that point, I really didn't want the engine.


Business Response
Unfortunately at this point we cannot grant Ms. ***** her request. We have already lost too much money on this particular deal and the only reason we dropped the counter suit was because we agreed she would drop everything and just let it go. We have already provided Ms. *****, her lawyer and the judge enough paperwork to prove we are not responsible for her labor fees. We also had to pay for our lawyer and trip to Tennessee which she did not have to be responsible for. Now, to address her other concerns, WE provided her with our address to send the law suit paperwork. WE DO NOT TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OUR CUSTOMERS. We sell over 300 engines and transmissions a month of course we will have some unhappy customers but we are always willing to help as long as it's with in our policy guidelines. As far as our Co-owner, our Company, Superior Used Auto Parts, has nothing to do with his personal life. Our company had nothing to do with it and for Ms. ***** to continue looking into the history of our employees it's beginning to feel like harassment. She has looked all of our employee records, and for what? We aren't perfect we have all made mistakes, that has nothing to do with our business. We always provide excellent customer service and provide our customers with good working parts. There will be times when we have defective parts and we will replace them but there's only so much we can do as a company. We are now asking Ms. ***** to please leave us alone. We do not want to continue going back and forth and again, according to our lawyer the deal was, she would let this go and stop harassing us.


Consumer Response
Court date was June 03, 2014 in Fayetteville, Tn.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.