BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/12/2013

Tampa Truck Store, Inc.

(813) 438-85071212 W Dr. Martin Luther King Blvd, SeffnerFL 33584-4544

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells used trucks, SUV's and automobiles and offers tires and wheels, and accessories with installation and general performance repair services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/12/2013

BBB has determined that Tampa Truck Store, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tampa Truck Store, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tampa Truck Store, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
09/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The truck had serious repairs needed within 2 days after purchase, part of the repairs they took care of, large part of which they refused to pay for!
I purchased a 2006 f250 from them several weeks ago, I was told the truck was looked over by twisted metal and came back in good shape. I asked for proof of this inspection and they said they have non to show me. I trusted them by there word. I purchased the truck with a non working A/C which they did honor in fixing. It took me a week to personally get it into the shop for that specific repair. After owing the truck for 2 days I noticed it would not hold coolant and was more then a gallon low. The repair guys looked at the leak for me while fixing the A/C and confirmed it was coming from the water pump. (these are there repairmen *congers shop*) For the next week while trying to communicate with Tampa truck store staff about the issue the truck would use roughly a gallon a day in coolant to keep on top of it while I needed to use it on the road for work. They would give me the run around about communicating with the higher ups in the company to do something about the issue. I never did hear back after multiple calls I made and them telling me they would call me back. In the mean time the issue got worse and I finally had to take it upon my self to get the problem resolved through Gator ford. Roughly $1,250 later and 3 days out of work the truck was repaired with receipts to prove the issues it had and the cost involved all of which are in my hands. I presented this to them today and they didn't even look at my receipts. I was told by the owner it is a NO to helping me with these repairs within minutes of talking to him. He said with the A/C repair they have done enough. I explained to him the cost was overwhelming to me financially and the time I was out of work do to this was also hurtful to me and my family. He was non sympathetic nor helpful in anyway, he only repeated it was a NO to helping me with these repairs. I also brought to there attention the additional issues with the vehicle I noticed within the time I've owned it (Almost a month) the additional issues include a boost tube coupling that was leaking on the turbo, A leaking and cracked front windshield, a leaking "De-gas" bottle. Additional repairs needed not mentioned to the owner because of a very short conversation the owner was willing to have with me today in person include, missing back latch for rear window, missing peg for tail gate latch, CD player not working properly, brakes squeaking within first day of driving, leaking oil from front main seal and fuel filter not being changed which needed to be long before put it was put on the lot as they were very gunked up and could have caused further issues at anytime. I also needed to do an oil change on day one of driving the vehicle home as the oil was black as night and the filter showed it hadn't been changed in some time. I have invested a lot of money I should not have needed to invest in order to make this a safe and reliable truck to use for work each day. Which is what I was told I was purchasing from them. They have refused all responsibility of these repairs to my vehicle and refuse to cover any of these cost. I am out cost of repairs that include to date - leaking water pump, leaking front crank seal, leaking de-gas bottle, coolant, boost tube coupling, early oil change and replacement of fuel filters. All other repairs will come at a later date when we can make a settlement on them or I can save the money to take care of them if need be. VERY VERY unhappy with customer service and truck purchased.

Desired Settlement
Looking for owner to take care of the cost of repairs and materials to this 2006 f250 that should have been taken care of before I purchased it from there lot. Also looking for compensation for the time out of work I took to take care of these repairs to the truck. This truck is my livelihood, I use it everyday to work and could not work without it.

Business Response
We at Tampa Truck Store look at opportunities not complaints. Mr. ****** purchased his vehicle with no warranties. All future sales will be sold with a limited warranty. Tampa Truck Store would like to offer the new limited warrenty to Mr. ******. Mr. ****** can either supply Tampa Truck Store with a fax number or personally stop in to sign the new limited warranty. After Mr. ****** signs the new limited warranty, Tampa Truck Store with cut him a check for the balance of the $500.00 Limited Warrranty minus approximately $150.00 already spent on a previous repair.

02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a truck with many many undisclosed issues
PURCHASED A TRUCK FROM TAMPA TRUCKS AND WAS TOLD REPEATEDLY THE TRUCK HAD NO ISSUES.WHEN I GOT THE TRUCK HOME FOND THE TRUCK HAD TWO WARNING LIGHTS THAT WERE ON THE MESSAGE CENTER, HAD NO SPARE TIRE, NO JACK THE MOTOR FOR THE BACK GLASS WAS BROKE HAD NO SPARE KEY HAD TO BUY A KEY AND HAVE IT PROGRAMMED .CONTACTED TAMPA TRUCKS AND WAS TOLD THEY WOULD REFUND $700 TO HELP WITH THE COST HAVE CALLED EVERY DAY FOR A MONTH AND TO DATE HAVE ONLY RECIVED $500 DON'T LIKE BEING LIED TO............

Desired Settlement
WANT THE $200 THAT I WAS PROMISED A MONTH AGO................HAVE THE TEXT TO SHOW WERE IT WAS PROMISED

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We drove the truck to the customer, he checked over everything and test drove it. He agreed to purchase the vehicle and signed the as-is paperwork back in September 2013. We did give him $500 back which is more than we are required to do for this type of situation.

Final Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

Before the purchased I communicated with the business asking if there was anything I needed to know about the truck. He said everything was in good condition. He met me in Savana, GA and I checked the truck over. When I was driving home two lights came on in the dash. One was for tire pressure and the other was a back up sensor. I found out later that both the sensors were bad. After I got home I did a little more investigating and found no spare tire, no jack, the motor in the sliding glass window was broken, there was no spare key which was needed in order to change the settings. I sent everything to the company and the person I was dealing with said he would pay $500 and half of the sliding glass window repair which came to $200. I accepted that back in November and still haven't received the $200. I have sent so many messages and have received every excuse you can imagine. I will send the emails to BBB to show the company made a promise they have not kept. I have probably sent him 30 text messages and get all kinds of responses from "the check is in the mail", "we lost out accountant", "my wife will mail it tomorrow", etc. I am at a dead end and this has been going on since November.

Final Business Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

After reviewing the documents submitted by Mr.****** we have verified where one of our employees informed him we would provide the $200 and we are therefore going to honor that statement. We will be cutting a check and mailing out this Friday to Mr. ******.

04/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased vehicle 2/6/13. As of 3/7/13 I have no tag, no title and temp tag is expired.
Paid cash for the truck amd they have not registered the vehicle or processed title. Temp tag is expired. Called 3/5/13 to have new temp tag issued and they "forgot". Will not deliver the temp tag and blamed me foe insisting I have a temp tag to operate the vehicle. Their staff is rude and not customer friendly.

Desired Settlement
Florida tag and title for vehicle. Apology and acceptance of responsibility letter for their failure to issue the new temp tag as I requested with plenty of time to spare. Apology for their wasting my time.

Business' Initial Response
We are waiting on the finance company to send us the title. Upon receiving the title, we can give the customer his tag, title, and registration.
I personally was not ''in'' the dealership while the phone conversations occurred. Our team explained it was a honest mistake, we ''forgot''.
We appreciate all our customers and would be happy to write a letter to our customer explaining just that.

Consumer's Final Response
Business has completed the tag, title, and registration. Please close complaint.

Business' Final Response
Tag & title over nighted to customer on Friday 4/19/2013 for delivery today. 4/22/2013.

12/04/2012Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/2012Business started: 08/19/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee
2900 Apalachee Pkwy # B441
Tallahassee, FL32399-6552
(850) 617-2000

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of VI-1036517-1 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of 257106 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Buescher (President)Ms. Regina Buescher (Vice President)
Business Category

Truck Dealers, Auto Repair Services, Used Car Dealerships, Four Wheel Drive Vehicles - Repair & Service, Wheel Suppliers, Tire Dealers, Truck Repair Shops, Truck Accessories, Truck Equipment Suppliers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tampa Truck Store, Inc.

1212 W Dr. Martin Luther King Blvd

Seffner, FL 33584-4544

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1212 W Dr. Martin Luther King Blvd 

    Seffner, FL 33584-4544

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tampa Truck Store, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Truck Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.