BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2013

Davie Tree Service

(239) 693-50422520 Weber Blvd, Fort MyersFL 33905-2202Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2013

BBB has determined that Davie Tree Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Davie Tree Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: DAVIE TREE Didn't complete the job as supposed to. HE WAS SUPPOSED TO POISON THE PEPPER TREES, AND I MADE SURE TO MENTION IT TO HIM.TO WICH HE AGREED.
FOLLOWING 2 DAYS OF THE JOB HAD TO CALL HIM TWICE; HE DIDNT SEEM TOO HAPPY; HE REPLIED HE'LL SWING BY, AND TWO DAYS LATER STILL DIDNT HEAR FEROM HIM ; CALLED HIM AGAIN , AND FOR MY SURPRISE, HE SOUNDED LIKE THE DEVIL ON THE PHONE, VERY RUDE, AND LOUD; NOT LETTING ME TALK, AND EVEN TOLD ME THAT WHAT MAKES ME THINK HE HAD TO DROP EVERYTHING HES DOING AND RUN OVERTHERE;SO I TRIED TO QUICKY SAY, EXCUSE ME , BUT YOU TOLD ME YOU WOULD SWING BY , AND WE HAVENT HEARD FROM YOU; HE WAS VERY HARSH, SO I HUNG UP IN DISBELIEVE, AND THEN I SAID TO MYSELF :NO, NO,..THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE, SO I CALLED HIM BACK,NOT DISRESPECTING HIM IN ANY WAY, AND EVEN WORSE DISRESPSCTED ME TELLING ME THAT NOW I BECAME A PAIN; I COULDNT BELIEVE WHAT I HEARD, AND TOLD HIM: WHAT DID YOU JUST SAY, THAT YOUR CUSTOMER IS A PAIN..??? TO WHICH HE REPLIED : YES YOU ARE ;I HUNG UP, AND HE CALLED BACK, AND WHEN I ANSEWRED HE SAID: YEAH, I AM CALLING YOU BACK SO YOU COULD YELL AT ME AND ARGUE; WHEN I ATEMPTED TO RESPOND HE WONT LET ME TALK; AT THAT POINT I HAD TO TELL HIM THAT HE WAS VERY DISRESPECTFUL, AND RUDE, AND THAT IF HE IS THE BEST ON TOWN, HOW DOES HE DARE TO TREAT THE CUSTOMERS THIS WAY,THAT I WASNT ANY LOW LIFE FOR HIM TO TALK TO ME LIKE THAT; TO WHICH HE SEEMS TO BE VERY CARELESS, AND DIDNT SHOW IN ANY WAY TO BE FITTED TO DEAL WITH PUBLIC. I AM IN SHOCK WITH HIS LACK OF SKILL, AND LACK OF RESPECT WITH THE CUSTOMER; HONESTLY DONT KNOW HOW HE GETS AWAY TREATING PEOPLE_CUSTOMERS LIKE THIS.HE TALKED AT ME VERY ANGRY, WHICH I TRIED TO POINT IT OUT, AND HE KEPT ON TALKING ME,AS IF HE DID A FREE JOB; WHICH HONESTLY, I BELEIVE IT WAS OVER PRICED. REALLY HOPE YOU CAN HELP. THANKS

Initial Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We were hired to cut the pepper trees which we did do. The customer's husband said that he was going to be poisoning the stumps to get rid of them so I offered to put X's on the stumps to help him out. It was not part of the job. Well, we did not have a chance to do it before the job was done but I did tell the customer we would come back to do it within the week. The customer called me Tuesday, Wednesday and then Thursday morning asking when we were coming back. I went out first thing Friday morning to take care of it so everything should be resolved by now.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

They did come out 2 days after they said the job was done to actually finish the job. The guy at the business got really crazy with my over the phone. I went to look at what they did on Friday and it is a really crappy job. They left a bunch of debris. The company was not professional about how he handled me as a customer. I don't know what else the business wants to do to make this right but I am left with a bad feeling about this experience.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/12/2000Business started: 02/23/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Lee County Business Tax Receipt

Fort Myers, FL33901
http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria

BBB records show a license number of 1301575 for this company, issued by Lee County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shawn M. Sullivan (Owner)
Business Category

Tree Service, Tree Pruning Companies, Tree and Stump Removal

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Davie Tree Service

2520 Weber Blvd

Fort Myers, FL 33905-2202

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2520 Weber Blvd 

    Fort Myers, FL 33905-2202

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Davie Tree Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Tree Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00-5.99
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.