BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/29/2007

Plaza Electronics Repair Service, Inc.

Phone: (727) 531-5484Fax: (727) 530-18212280 34th Way Ste 1, LargoFL 33771-3950Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/29/2007

BBB has determined that Plaza Electronics Repair Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Plaza Electronics Repair Service, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
05/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: I had my marantz sr7500 repaired twice at this business and the second repair resulted in it still not working and it being ruined at this point.
I purchased my amp in june of 2007 from an ebay company that was an authorized marantz dealer and before october it failed andwas under warranty. So I contacted the company and being in florida they sent me to plaza electronics to get it serviced. So i mailed it to them and they fixed it and sent it back and it never worked right so I contacted them and sent it back and they worked on it again and this time changed some parts and sent it back and with in 60 days it was failing again same issue. I was going through some family problems and didnt have time to fight them on it so packed it away as I got divorced and was to move into a place that I couldnt really use it so in 2009 once in a better place I contacted them and told them it had never been right since the repair and tried to get them to fix it and they said no it was my fault it was like this as the repair made was correct on it and not there fault it was not working and I must have it hooked up wrong even though I was having the exact same problem so I just gave up with dealing with these people on it and just put it back up until here lately when now remarried and wanting to set up my surround sound in my new house. I took it to a local company here in jax beach a-home electronics to get it fixed as they told me they were very familiar with this issue and could do the repair ni problem. So I take it and drop it off and pay the 40 bucks up front to get it checked and they call me a day later telling me that it had been repaired by someone else and the work was terrible and that one of the center boards was installed wrong with out all the screws installed right and not in its channel so the board was warped and when it was turned on it got hot and cracked and made a bunch other problems other than the normal fix for the code it had. So the warrany repair they did to it back in 2007 caused my reciever to now not be able to be repaired. I know this is a long time but my life was on hold and it was in storage during this time and I knew it was in need of repair and had I been able to get it fixed I was going to let the fact they couldnt get it right go but now I find out my 1000 dollar reciever is no good now and is in need of a bunch of hard to find expensive parts to make it right again. this is all due to them not doing this job correctly and I want them to either take it and do what ever it takes to make it right or replace it with an amp of equal value of what I paid for it new. I have the invoice with my claim number on it for the work they did on it. they can try to say someone else may have worked on it but if that was the case then I would be going after them to repair it and not plaza. They touched it last prior to this last company opening it up just to show me it cannot be fixed the right way with out replacing the parts they have destroyed with doing bad work on my machine. I just want it fixed or replaced by them at this point and really dont trust a repair but guess I dont have much choice on it so will be happy to get anything actually done on it now as they have already told me it was my fault and now wont even return emails to me so think ignoring me it will just go away.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

The unit the customer is complaining about is something that came to us in September 2007. So for 5 1/2 years we haven't heard any issues from him. The record being so far back we do not have a copy of his order in our computer system. He is saying he sent it in and it didn't work so he put it in a closet for 5 1/2 years and now someone else is working on it and they are unable to repair it. There would be no warranty from us 5 1/2 years later, if the manufacture offered an extended warranty he would have to contact them. Our repairs carry a 45 day warranty, if the customer had an issue he would have to ship it back to us to be repaired and then we would pay to ship it to him. He said it worked for over a month after the second repair and then it stopped working and he stored it away until now. We have no way to know how or where it was stored, if it were stored somewhere that could cause warping or cracking. Us not screwing in one screw would not cause what he is saying happened. It is hard for us to say we will cover it after this amount of time. The customer did not give us even one day to find the paperwork to see what we did on the last repair. There is nothing else we can do for him at this point.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Item was not repaired, unit exhibits same problem as before the repair service.
I shipped my ************** receiver to Plaza Electronics for repair on 03/07/13. The unit was returned to me on 03/27/13 and I had a professional installer come to my home to install the unit. The unit is still exhibiting the same problem that it had before, (a detailed description of the issue was sent to the company) the HDMI port is not working. I called the company today 3/29/13 and spoke with ****** ****** and she told me to send the unit back so they could again repair it. I paid to ship the unit to them for repair and I am now being asked to ship it again when they didn't repair it correctly the first time.

Business' Initial Response
Ms. ******** has requested the return label be emailed to her. It has now been sent to her.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did speak with ****** @ Plaza Electronics and she claimed that the unit was repaired the first time but they noticed the second time that the HDMI ports were set up differently (this was the same set up as when they initially received it as it had to be switched as a work around due to one port not working). They did send me a label to send the unit to them the 2nd time (I received the label after submitting the BBB claim). I would like to note that when my installer came to install the unit on 04/06/2013, he noted the same issue with the HDMI ports, another installer/tech looked at it and he confirmed the issue. After connecting to 3 different HD TV's in my home the unit is still exhibiting the same problem, although now we noticed it is intermittent.

The manufacturer has shipped me a box and label to ship the unit to their corporate office in New York for repair or replacement if it can't be repaired. While I wouldn't say that I'm satisfied with the level of service that had been provided by Plaza Electronics. I do feel that in light of the fact that the manufacturer has stepped in to resolve this issue that I will not need further assistance from Plaza Electronics.

Thank you,


****** ******

Business' Final Response
Customers unit was received yesterday and tested. The HDMI 3 and HDMI 4 ports were turned off through the customer menu and customer's complaint is that the HDMI 3 port labeled cable/satellite does not work. Spoke with customer regarding her setup and obtained permission to change settings. Restored unit to factory default (all HDMI ports on and set to labels on unit) and all ports pass a 1080p signal. No defect was found with the unit and customer did not incur any charges to send the unit to us or to get it returned.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/24/1989Business started: 06/01/1996New Owner Date: 06/01/1996
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Heliker (President)Customer Contact: Mrs. Ange Heliker (Vice President)
Business Category

Television Radio Repair Stores, Electronics Service & Repair, Major Appliances Service & Repair

Products & Services

This company offers in-home and carry-in repairs of consumer electronics including LCD, plasma, and projection TV's, camcorders, audio products, microwaves, and more.

Industry Tips
Getting Your TV/VCR Repaired

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Plaza Electronics Repair Service, Inc.

2280 34th Way Ste 1

Largo, FL 33771-3950

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2280 34th Way Ste 1 

    Largo, FL 33771-3950

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Plaza Electronics Repair Service, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Television Radio Repair Stores

Getting Your TV/VCR Repaired
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.