BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/12/2010

MR. Marcite, Inc.

Phone: (941) 488-0667Fax: (941) 483-3395View Additional Phone Numbers120 A Rich St, VeniceFL 34292-3107

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/12/2010

BBB has determined that MR. Marcite, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised MR. Marcite, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on MR. Marcite, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/05/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mr. Marcite re-marcited the entire pool and replaced the pool light with a defective light that wouldn't work properly. it failed. Refused to replace
I signed a written contract with Mr. Marcite for thenrefurbishment of my swimming pool, including new marcite and a pool light replacement in June, 2014. The pool light never functioned correctly and failed completely a few months after installation. I have tried on numerous occasions to seek replacement. Rather than comply, the personnel I spoke with were rude and hung up..

I refused to sign their binding arbitration clause. One owner of Mr. Marcite,"*****" agreed to be bound without that clause..
The original contract was signed on 6/6/14. A total of $7200 was paid for the work.
Suit will be filed one week from today if they fail to satisfy the work demanded. They have been notified for over w months, promised to replace the light, but never did.

Desired Settlement
Light replacement ASAP.. This company has dodged my attempts to get the work done. They are rude. Two different people have hung up on me. I would never use this company again, nor recommend them to anybody. I will bring formal suit in one week if they do not replace the light properly.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The customer contacted us regarding an led light that was under warranty, we sent the information to the warranty company because we don't hold the warranty. They dropped the ball but when he called us about it we contacted them and they were supposed to go out there Monday or Tuesday to replace the light. We apologized to the customer and so did the manufacture who was responsible for honoring the warranty.

11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracted with Mr. Marcite to repair pool surface. Without our permission the company replaced our working pool light with one that doesn't work.
Contracted with Mr. Marcite to renovate our marcite pool surface. Without our agreement, the company replaced our working pool light with a defective light. This was not contracted for. The new light does not adequately illuminate the pool.

Prior to making the final payment I attempted to discuss this issue with Mr. ******. He was very uncooperative and said he didn't want to discuss this matter, "Just pay the ****."

After a second conversation in which Mr. ****** threatened to turn me over to collections, I mailed a detailed letter of complaint, with pictures, outlining the issues. No response has been received to this date.

On October 3, 2014 I received a notice of lein filed by Mr. Marcite on our home. This in spite of the letter of complaint dealing with the light in question. Also, the contract that I signed with Mr. Marcite calls for binding arbitration through the Florida Swimming Pool Association. Filing a lein without even responding to my letter of complaint is not very professional or conducive to good customer relations.

Desired Settlement
I want the light to be replaced with a working light that provides satisfactory illumination. Once this is done, I will pay the balance due and expect the lien to be waived at that time.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We contacted the customer and made an adjustment to his light. He said that he was happy and would be sending us a check.

03/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracted with Mr Marcite to resurface my swimming pool. Workmanship was defective. Subsequent repairs protracted and didn't resolve the problem.
I entered into a contract with Mr Marcite to resurface my pool on Oct 10 for $2850.00

On Oct XX XXXX Mr Marcite began resurfacing my pool.
Nov 1st resurfacing finished and pool refilled. Pitting immediately evident to naked eye in a section of the pool. The surface in this area was irregular with many undulations. It looked horrible and not like the rest of the pool surface. There were also some rust like stains in other areas of the pool.

Immediate phone call to Mr Marcite company on Nov 1 detailing my concerns. I was told a pool technician would be coming to treat the water (normal procedure after all resurfacings) and the pitting would be evaluated at a later date. Water was treated on Nov 2 & 3. Pitting still very evident and e mail with photographs detailing our complaint was sent to Mr Marcite on Nov 6th.

We heard nothing so on Nov 7 we called Mr Marcite and they confirmed e mail was received and somebody would follow up. On Nov 9 pool tech arrived he
Oct XX XXXX Mr Marcite began resurfacing my pool.
Nov 1st resurfacing finished and pool refilled. Pitting immediately evident to naked eye in a section of the pool. The surface in this area was irregular with many undulations. It looked horrible and not like the rest of the pool surface. There were also some rust like stains in other areas of the pool.

Immediate phone call to Mr Marcite company on Nov 1 detailing my concerns. I was told a pool technician would be coming to treat the water (normal procedure after all resurfacings) and the pitting would be evaluated at a later date. Water was treated on Nov 2 & 3. Pitting still very evident and e mail with photographs detailing our complaint was sent to Mr Marcite on Nov 6th.

We heard nothing so on Nov 7 we called Mr Marcite and they confirmed e mail was received and somebody would follow up. On Nov 9 pool tech arrived but he only addressed the rust stains. No further communication was received from Mr Marcite. On Nov 12 a small crew showed up completely unnanounced drained the pool and sanded the areas in question. After crew finished a representative from Mr Marcite "*****" arrived and reviewed the area. He came back the next day (Nov 13) and agreed the pitting was still evident and was most likely caused by the improper wash down process on the initial resurfacing. He offered to refill the pool or drill holes and try to make patch repairs.

I informed ***** the proper course of action was to have my pool resurfaced again - correctly this time - as I shouldn't have to suffer repairs due to Mr Marcite's defective workmanship. ***** informed me it was possible but only the company owner could authorise resurfacing the pool. He told me the owner would be contacting me.

Six days later on Nov 19th the company owner Mr ****** ****** arrived unnanounced and told me the pitting was acceptable. His only offer was to drill holes and patch again. He became very abrupt and further said if I didn't allow him to try a second repair he would still send me a bill and see me in arbitration.

Seeking to ameliorate the situation I agreed to identify the defective areas and on Nov 20 & 21 he attempted repairs and refilled the pool. Unfortunately the second repair failed and the pitting is still visually evident.

In summary this pool resurfacing began on Oct 30th and to this date Nov 23rd still incomplete. This is some 24 days. I entered into an agreement with Mr Marcite to perform a professional resurfacing of my pool. The resurfacing suffered pitting due to faulty workmanship which was clearly acknowledged by a company representative and the two failed repair attempts. I am left with a sub standard pool finish and a lot of excuses.

I have many photographs of the areas before and after the entire process.





Desired Settlement
I am seeking Mr Marcite to resurface my pool again correctly and this time with no surface pitting. I am also seeking reimbursement for having to refill my pool and any subsequent refills required by the resurfacing.

Business' Initial Response
Mrs ****** claims her pool is unacceptable. To address her issues, we pulled her pool down. There were some small imperfections that we sanded and one area did need to be drilled and plugged. The drill and plug is a common procedure. She refused to allow us to do the drill and plug and refused to allow us to fill the pool back up. She wanted me to look at the pool while it was empty and she was aware I would not be able to look at the pool for next two weeks since I was out of town. There were employees who were able to do the repair but instead the pool set dry for two weeks curing which makes any repair to be done more difficult for bonding. Then upon arriving to advise her of the same thing that the supervisor had already stated that needed to be done, she could not find any spots. Mrs. ****** advised me that I would have to return at night when the imperfections would be highlighted by shadowing. Every pool has undulations which are accentuated by shadowing. I did see one spot, brought it to her attention and agreed to repair that one spot. When I arrived the next day to repair that one spot which was approximately the diameter of a pencil, she had marked numerous areas in the pool she wanted repaired. The pool surface is a hand troweled finish which does have imperfections. I drilled out and plugged between 8 to 10 spots and then started the pool refilling. We did not finish the final sanding of the plugs since Mrs. ****** contacted the BBB.

Consumer's Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

After BBB contacted the company, they came back out and completely redid the job. I am fully satisfied and the pool looks like what we expected to be done the first time. We paid the company in full and consider the situation resolved.

Business' Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

I was not willing to go back out and finish the repairs because the customer told me to go ahead and start doing the repairs and then she filed BBB complaint. I went out with her to look at her complaint and saw one very small spot. The customer said I would have to look at night to see the imperfection. I came back the next day and she had 50 spots marked with tape. I started drilling and repairing. I was supposed to come back the next day to finish sanding and that is when she filed BBB complaint. I was upset but I am not going to leave it like this because of that. I am willing to go back and finish the repair now but if she is not satisfied after this attempt there is nothing more I can do. The pictures she sent are magnified and do not show the actual surface.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/08/1991Business started: 01/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax
101 S Washington Blvd
Sarasota, FL34236-6940
(941) 861-8300
http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com

Sarasota County Contractor's License

Sarasota, FL34231
(941) 378-6126

Charlotte County Contractors License

Port Charlotte, FL33952
(941) 743-1201

BBB records show a license number of CPC049411 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 2300910016774 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CPC049411 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CPC049411 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 1687 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1988, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick T. Mahoney (President)Mrs. Kathleen R. Hendrickson (Vice President)Mr. Brent Huber (Treasurer)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Repair Companies

Products & Services

This company provides complete swimming pool, spa, and deck renovations and resurfacing.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for MR. Marcite, Inc.

120 A Rich St

Venice, FL 34292-3107

To | From

LocationsX

0 Locations

    Industry Comparison ChartX

    The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

    *MR. Marcite, Inc. is in this range.

    X

    Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

    BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

    • Advertising or Sales
    • Billing or Collection
    • Problems with Products or Services
    • Delivery
    • Guarantee or Warranty

    We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

    X

    Additional Phone Numbers

    • (941) 952-0365
    • (941) 766-7377
    • (800) 627-2483
    X

    BBB Complaint Process

    Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

    X

    BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

    X

    Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Repair Companies

    X

    What is BBB Advertising Review?

    BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

    X

    What government actions does BBB report on?

    BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

    X

    About BBB Business Review Content and Services

    Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

    X

    Thank you for your feedback.

    Help us improve by taking our survey.

    X

    BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


    BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

    Customer Review Experience Value
    Positive Review 5 points per review
    Neutral Review 3 points per review
    Negative Review 1 point per review

    BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
    Details

    BBB Letter Grade Scale

    BBB Rating Value
    A+ 5
    A 4.66
    A- 4.33
    B+ 4
    B 3.66
    B- 3.33
    C+ 3
    C 2.66
    C- 2.33
    D+ 2
    D 1.66
    D- 1.33
    F 1
    NR -----
    Star Rating scale

      Average Score
    5 stars 5.00
    4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
    4 stars 4.00-4.49
    3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
    3 stars 3.00-3.49
    2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
    2 stars 2.00-2.49
    1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
    1 star 0-1.49

    BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

    As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

    BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

    BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

    X

    What is a BBB Business Review?

    We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

    X

    BBB Reporting Policy

    As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

    BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

    BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.