BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/15/2012

Pinch A Penny

(727) 866-04644102 34th St S, Saint PetersburgFL 33711-4367Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pool supplies, weekly service, and equipment installation and repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/15/2012

BBB has determined that Pinch A Penny meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pinch A Penny's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pinch A Penny

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
At the beginning of April I was told that company would no longer be providing basic pool chemical services.
I have been receiving the basic pool chemical service for approximately a year and at the beginning of April, I was contacted by Pinch a Penny and was told that the company was no longer going to be providing the basic pool chemical service. After I was told this, I went into the business a few days later and was told the same thing by one of the clerks, ******** ****** On 4/29/14, I went to the business to make a purchase and discovered new flyers that advertised the different pool services. Included on the advertising flyers was the basic pool chemical service that I was receiving when I was told that the service was no longer being provided. The service was the same, HOWEVER, the price of the service had been increased from $49.00 per month to $59.00 per month. Seeing this after being told that the service was no longer being provided did not seat well with me and as a result, I am contacting the BBB for consideration in this matter. I was current in my payments for the service and would have continued under the agreement that I had until I was lead to believe that the service would no longer be provide. When I discovered the new advertising flyer while in the store on 4/29/14, I brought it to the attention of ******** ***** and his response was that the store was going to be terminating the service. Needless to say, I was not convinced and felt deceived about the service that I was receiving its termination.

Desired Settlement
To continue with the basic chemical pool service that I was receiving at the SAME RATE until the service is OFFICIALLY no longer provided as stated to me by the employees of the business.

Business Response
We are very sorry to hear of our customer's perception of this situation which happened last month. As a small business, we periodically review our business practices and sometimes have to make decisions about the scope of our services based on the workload and employee resources that we have at the time.

It appears that the situation was not adequately explained to the customer and we wish he would have contacted us directly. We are flattered that the customer still desires our services (we are "The Perfect People for the Perfect Pool") and we will contact the customer and offer him the opportunity to resume service as he has requested. The reason for the termination of the service was never about price; we have many longstanding customers and do not raise their prices on the rare occasion that we are forced to raise our prices due to increased costs. We pride ourselves on outstanding customer service and apologize if there was a misunderstanding regarding this matter. We will convey our apologies to the customer directly as well.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/03/1991Business started: 01/01/1974Business started locally: 09/27/2010New Owner Date: 03/10/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Business Tax Receipt/St Petersburg
PO Box 2842
Saint Petersburg, FL33731-2842
(727) 893-7241
http://www.stpete.org/billing/business tax division

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

BBB records show a license number of CPC1458223 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 14-00044425 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/St Petersburg. Their web address is http://www.stpete.org/billing/business tax division.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of I-CPC1458223 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Darlene H. Ladous (Manager)Mr. Jerome G. Ladous (Manager)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Equipment Supplies, Swimming Pool Cleaning Companies, Swimming Pool Repair Companies

Alternate Business Names
LPFP Enterprises, LLC
Industry Tips
In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pinch A Penny

4102 34th St S

Saint Petersburg, FL 33711-4367

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4102 34th St S 

    Saint Petersburg, FL 33711-4367

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pinch A Penny is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Equipment Supplies

In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.