BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/03/2009

Sunsation Pools & Spas, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (727) 510-7070Fax: (727) 559-7183View Additional Phone Numbers9203 130th Ave N, LargoFL 33773-1304View Additional Web AddressesFacebookTwitterLinkedIn

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides full commercial and residential pool and spa construction services including new construction, remodeling, service, repairs, heating and cooling, deck reconstruction, enclosures, brick pavers driveways.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/03/2009

BBB has determined that Sunsation Pools & Spas, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sunsation Pools & Spas, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sunsation Pools & Spas, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lead in pool ever since they did the job. Fiber glass is now coming off the wall.
They removed a Vinyl liner and placed Concrete and fiberglass. The work was completed in Nov/2011. The pool has leaked since then. I have found two areas in my equipment that leaked and had them fixed but the pool keeps leaking. They said that they did a leak test and did a fix but we never saw anyone and no equipment as fixed. They also said that they sent a bill to us which we never saw. The bill was first told to us in May/2014. They were told about the fiberglass bulge and refuse to fix it as our warranty has expired. They are not picked up the garbage after repeated calls. The have been called many times and so far nothing.

Desired Settlement
1. Fix the fiberglass
2. Pickup garbage
3. Remove bill

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

Our company resurfaced this customer's pool approximately 3 years ago. The customer called a few months after the job was finished complaining of a leak. We hired a leak detection company who found a problem in an underground pipe near the pool equipment area. We repaired the leak even though it had nothing to do with the work we did. The customer was billed for the leak detection and the repair since it was not related to the original contract; we sent bills and the customer never paid so we sent the account to collections.

The customer called 3 years later regarding an issue with his finish. The secretary told him he did not pay his bill and therefore he has no warranty. The customer was upset and said he would be filing a complaint. The owner tried to call him 3 times to discuss and he wouldn't answer the phone calls. We have proof that the leak was not our problem and wasn't covered under warranty and the he never paid the bill. The leak detection and repair was $450.

In addition, the warranty on the pool surface was 1 year labor and material. We would generally take care of any issue but in this situation the customer owes us money for the leak repair. He filed a complaint before he ever even tried to talk to the owner.

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We never saw any leak detection company and they never repaired anything. We never received any bill for this so called repair. We did have to hire another company to come and repair the issue and it was underground near the pool equipment and then another problem near the pool heater. There are still problems in the pool and now the fiberglass is coming away from the pool near the steps. The water is just below where the fiberglass is bulging out and I think that is where the leak is. I thought there was a 5 year warranty on the work they did, the paperwork says nothing about any warranty. When I called Sunsation Pools for assistance they said I owed a bill from 2011 which I knew nothing about. They also never picked up the garbage from the original construction, things like concrete and plastic bags piled up by the air conditioner. I want them to fix the issue with the pool and get rid of this bill we knew nothing about.


Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I have the actual leak detection report with his name on it as well as the leak repair invoice showing the problem was not something related to our work. We called him over and over again for months trying to collect payment but he never responded so the account was sent to collections. The customer never called our company about any issue with the surface and now he just goes straight to BBB to file a complaint. Additionally, the original work that was done had a 1 year warranty (see back of contract) and this has long since expired. We will not do anything for this customer.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/26/2009Business started: 03/31/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

Pasco County Contractor's License
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL34654-5598
(727) 847-8009

BBB records show a license number of CPC1456710 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of C-10108 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of I-CPC1456710 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 018947 for this company, issued by Pasco County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2006, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve J. Buscema (President)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Pool Deck Resurfacing, Swimming Pool Repair Companies, Swimming Pool Enclosure Providers, Patio Deck Builders, Masons

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 04:30 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 04:30 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 04:30 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 04:30 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 04:30 PM

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sunsation Pools & Spas, Inc.

9203 130th Ave N

Largo, FL 33773-1304

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 9203 130th Ave N 

    Largo, FL 33773-1304

  • PO Box 5163 

    Largo, FL 33779-5163(727) 475-1957
    (727) 510-7070
    (727) 559-7180

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sunsation Pools & Spas, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (813) 231-6508
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.