BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Pool Medic, Inc.

Phone: (727) 869-7946Fax: (727) 868-3738View Additional Phone Numbers8506 State Road 52, HudsonFL 34667-6735

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Pool Medic, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pool Medic, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pool Medic, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Unlicensed electrical person sent to repair motor & electrical whip. Company has pool license not electrical license

Sent unlicensed person to repair motor and replace electrical whip. Person removed motor and huge sparks went flying. Person claimed he did not know what happened, he said the power was off. He followed me to the breaker box, and I had to point out which breaker was off, he thought it was another breaker. He took the pump with him, to see if someone can repair it at the shop, this was Fri evening. I called company on Monday 22, and requested a licensed electrical person come to reinstall the pump, and change the electrical whip. I was told to go **** myself. Then he said the company has a license, and I told him, then I will have to call the city, he responded by telling me that I could call the city the state and god for all he cares, and a few more **** this and **** that things then hung up on me. I called Pasco county, they do have a pool license, but that does not allow them to do electrical work. You must have an electrical license to do electrical work. They now have my pump and refuse to send a qualified person out. They told me I could pay the service fee and come get the pump between all the foul language, but this is fraud. First of all they were paid 3 or 4 weeks ago by my son, which I reimbursed and it was, my understanding that they were coming back out under the warranty. Secondly, I do not believe you have a right to charge service fees for things you are not legally allowed to do. I own the property, but I did not call them, my son who lives at the property did. This company came out 3 or 4 weeks before when the pool pump was not working, they fixed it and the next week the pool was not working again. My son lost the number and when I saw the pool green, he said he was going to call them back out. Since the pump only worked for a short time, and my son said the work was under warranty, I let him take care of it. Since I was not pleased that the pump worked for just a week. I thought it best to see what was being done, so I went to the house on the on Fri. I had no idea that they did not hold proper licensing to do the work, when I saw the sparks flying and the white truck with nothing on it, I was very uneasy as to if this person had proper licensing. I would never hire or request the service of anyone who is not licensed to do electrical work.

Desired Settlement
Either send a licensed electrical person out for the same price, or return the pump. I already got ripped off for 150.00 3 or 4 weeks ago by these people. I am not paying another service fee to these people to get the pump back, so I can hire qualified persons to do the work.

Business' Initial Response
To whom it may concern;

This letter is in response to a complaint filed by **** ***************. Pool Medic returned her motor free of charge Wednesday, July 24. Her son signed the work order as a receipt. We did not charge for the service call. Pool Medic is a licensed contractor and works within the boundaries of the license. Pool Medic has never done previous work at this home or for the homeowner or her son who rents the house. The homeowner and her son cannot provide dates, receipts, or even phone numbers for work they claimed to have had done previously.

Upon initial inspection of the pool pump we found the electrical wires connecting the timer to the motor had a coat hanger taped to it, being used as the internal ground. During the removal of the motor we also discovered the neutral wire had power running through it which caused sparks. At that point our service technician told Ms. ******* we could not and would not hook up the motor without the electrical being fixed. Mrs. *************** later called and said it was our fault from our previous work, but could not provide dates or receipts of previous work, and again we have no records of ever being at that house.

We feel that Mrs. *************** and her son must have had work done by someone else. Before hearing from the homeowner again, Pool Medic had returned the pump motor, had her son sign a receipt for it and we recommended that they find another service company to do her work.


05/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Pool Medic Employee was rude, condescending and refused to address my issues.
At approximately 12:00pm on April 9th 2013, I called Pool Medic to inform them I needed a serial number to the liner they installed because it is tear in the liner and Pacific Pools requires this information in order to honor the warranty. *****, immediately said she doesn't think she can help me because they do not have the records anymore. I asked her is there anyway they could get any information that I could use to prove it is a Pacific Pool liner and she replied just because you want something doesn't make it so. She also said you need information from me and I won't help you if you get an attitude with me. When I said I can't believe you work in customer service and asked to speak to the owner, She replied they won't talk to you. When I asked her why not she replied because they won't speak to you because I will tell them you are bellegerent. I asked, I am bellegerent because I am asking questions? Then she said went on and on about how I interrupted her and she won't put up with customers talking to her with an attitude. I said, "yes maam and asked can she stop fussing at me and try to help" and she said sure tootsie roll and hung up on me. I called back and spoke to ***. She took 15 mins yelling at me and explaining what she could not do and he helped me in about 5 minutes by looking in my file. I requested he send the information via email and Informed him I still wanted to speak to ****** the owner because it was ridiculous how rude she was.

Desired Settlement
I spent over 20,000 dollars on a pool and just because the company does not sell the liners anymore should not excuse them helping past customers. I only seek the purchase information they have on file for me and an apology from Gail. I have called Pool Medic on several occasions through out the last 7 years and never was I treated this way.

Business' Initial Response
In response to the complaint, a formal personal apology from the employee to the customer has been mailed to the customer. The employee's behavior has been noted and addressed.
The sum of the information on file, requested by the customer, has been provided to the customer. These actions have been taken with the intention of satisfying the customer and improving future customer service.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/04/2001Business started: 03/23/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: March 1992, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edwin Kahn (President)Mr. Mike Giber (Manager)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Repair Companies, Swimming Pool Equipment Supplies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pool Medic, Inc.

8506 State Road 52

Hudson, FL 34667-6735

To | From


1 Locations

  • 8506 State Road 52 

    Hudson, FL 34667-6735Fax: (727) 868-3738

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pool Medic, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 868-0765

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.