BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Paradise Fiberglass Pools, Inc.

Phone: (727) 862-9273Fax: (727) 862-4816

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid for installation of new Fiberglass pool and equipment. Received a Spa Heater that does not work. No working Spa heater, also cracked grout.
Signed contract 8/12/12. Total cost $30,000.00 for installation of fiberglass pool and spillover spa. Equipment included Pump, Inline salt system and 11 Kw electric spa heater. Also included tile, candilever coping,concrete decking /acrylic finish, pool class (didnt receive), solar blanket (didnt receive). Paid 10% on contract followed by 60% when pool delivered on SeptemberXX XXXX. Balance paid in full on 11/5/12 (prior to equipment delivery). Recd Spa Heater in March 2013, was suppose to heat spa to XXX-XXX within 3-5 hrs. Never heated above 99. Sent email on 4/7/13. Called on 4/8/13. Shore commercial came out mid April due to call from pool co to check heater and said could not find a problem and told us it was not under warranty and sent us a bill in error. 2nd repairman from **************** came out on 4/18 saying the elements were corroded due to too much chlorine, and we had never put any chlorine or any salt in the pool. Paradise pools put the salt in the pool upon installation of salt system. Numerous calls and emails later, we are told they are still "waiting on parts which were on backorder. Now into July, 7/11/13-rec'd call that spa parts are in. 7/13/13-Employee with paradise pools came out and installed spa heater parts without testing and left. Suggested we wait couple of hours to turn on Heater. Few hrs later, spa heater would not run at all after he installed parts and has not worked since then. Also informed Paradise pools on 7/7/13 by email that grout above tile is cracked all around top of pool. When employee from Paradise pools came out to replace spa heater parts he also looked which are common and expected due to different materials in the grout and coping. So that is also up to us to repair? Now end of August - 1 year after contract still do not have a working spa heater-now being told they are waiting to see if ******* will honor a warranty, and IF warranty is honored, they will replace it. This is unacceptable! If the equipment is not under warranty as we were told in April, then Paradise Pools should be responsible for supplying us with a new functioning SPA heater that we paid for.

Desired Settlement
Would like a a new Spa Heater that works and is under warranty and would like the cracks in grout repaired.

Business Response
At Paradise Fiberglass Pools we pride ourselves on our work and craftsmanship. Having a Better Business Bureau rating of an A shows that we take pride in what we do. The expansion and contraction rate of fiberglass and concrete are different. Cracking around the line is not uncommon, and is repaired under warranty if and when the customer notifies us. Two to Three months after the pool finale, the homeowner contacted us in regards to the heater not working properly. The repair company assessed the problem with the heater. They stated the problem was do to chemical burn and voided the warranty. Even though the problem was out of our hands, we ordered replacement parts and installed them at no charge to the customer. Two to three days after installation the homeowner contacted us and stated the heater was not working again. Our technician and office assistant told the customer that we would have to get a hold of the manufacturer to take further actions to resolve this problem. And in doing so we receive a letter from the BBB.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We were informed by the first tech that came out that our unit was not ynder warranty and at that time said he found nothing wrong with it. We were informed by the 2nd tech from **************** that the heater elements were ruined due to too much salt/chlorine. Paradise pool employee put the salt in and we had never added any salt or chlorine. Bottom line is the heater was defective from the time they installed it. Used it a couple of times and it never heated over 99. We paid for a spa heater and still havent been able to use the spa. If the warranty was voided the company should provide us with a heater because we paid for this equipment.
As far as the A rating with BBB, that is questionable as they had an F rating when I signed the contract. I found that out the day after I signed contract and owner explained that the complaints were due to the customers neglect and error snd also because he had not paid the BBB. I believe they changed their name up a bit to remove the F rating as the complaints that use to show up for this company are somehow no longer visible. This is not a big sum of money but matter of principal. Their Customer Service is worse than any company I have ever hired. I plan to write the licensing board next.
,

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.