BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2010

National Pools of Pasco, Inc.

Phone: (727) 868-5504Fax: (727) 863-4119

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/16/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Representative "Moe" has promised to visit and service my pool only to forget, not call, nor show up. This has happened time after time after time.
My pool finished (Nov 2013) has 2 tiled inlays in the shallow end. A "grey fog" started to appear around them (1 year later). After an initial visit in July 2015 by Rep "Moe" the solution suggested was to use pool acid to correct the problem. He wanted to add 10 gallons to my 13,000 gallon pool. My other option was to drain the pool and refill at my expense. I cannot do this I am on a well. I agreed to the acid treatment and scheduled it for october 2015. Since that time i have read and conversed with pool owners and online forums about the issue. I learned that this treatment is not 100% and may not last. I was now skeptical. I contacted Moe and he informed me of 2 other customers that had similar problems. I questioned the results of the treatment. He told me the pool draining method did not work for a customer and the acid treatment for the same client only removed 90% of the "stain". I asked to just be compensated. He said he would get back to me after he spoke to his partner but did not. In January 2016 I contacted him personally and asked if he and his partner had agreed to compensate me. He said he would rather fix it. From my stand point (and what i have learned) i do not like the idea of adding that much acid to my pool. That could cause more problems with equipment. And draining the pool may not even work and It would be at my expense to refill it. After a few more "text messages" with sporadic replies, I visited the storefront again. My confidence in Moe is shaken by now because he lacks the ability to communicate with me reliably. After our meeting he says that he will send a tech out next week. One week later no tech, no call. Again I contact Moe. "Next Wednesday, I'll call you in the morning" he says. Again no show. I now ask to speak with his partner. Moe acknowledges my request but I do not get a return call.

Moe has promised over and over to solve this problem but he not yet come out here to do so. I would like Moe to keep his promise and come out with qualified help and correct this problem. I have been a good customer, I have recommended others to National Pool. Now please stop j**king me around and get this problem solved.

Desired Settlement
Remove the "anomaly" around the inlays at the bottom of the pool.

Business Response
BBB received this response verbally.

We met with Mr. ******* yesterday. We are addressing the problem and will hopefully have it fixed by this week.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Corkey. (Owner) came to my home and within 3 days the treatment was added to the pool. I did mention in my initial request that a QUALIFIED person apply and monitor the treatment but who showed up was far from that. I asked the rep (BARRY) questions about the products that were being added to the pool and he did not seem to know a whole lot about them. While he was pouring something in the pool a asked what it was. All he said was "blue stuff" I clarified my question and all he knew was it's name "blue stuff"

There was another chemical in a powder form that was being applied directly to one of the Tiled Inlays. When he proceeded to the 2nd Tiled Inlay the fella with him said the pouch was empty and needed to be refilled. He replied its OK and instead of refilling the pouch he tossed some of the powder from the bucket into the water and pushed it over the inlay. He did not spend nearly as much time on the second Inlay It is now 4 days later and as the 1st inlay is clearing up the second inlay has not. A second treatment over the 2nd inlay is probably necessary.

Before BARRY left he gave no instruction other that running the pump for 48 hours. I asked if i should brush the pool he replied "You can if you want" While he was adding the product to the pool he said very little other than humming to himself. He did say "We will see what happens" in a tone that sounded more like "don't get your hopes up"

Because of Corkey I knew that my issue with my pool would be taken care of but its employees like BARRY that will most likely prevent me from recommending National Pools in the future because these are the folks that actually do the work.

Needless to say I contacted the manufacture of the chemicals and they told me all I needed to know such as pump running, scrubbing, duration of time for chemical to work and what should be bypassed during the treatment. They also told me how it would effect my pools existing chemical balance.

I also want to mention that even though MOE (Partner) was slow in moving on this which led to this BBB complaint he did take responsibility from the first visit that this is an issue that Nation Pools will correct.

image of second inlay attached. looking forward to a follow up visit.

Final Consumer Response

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No customer service. Tripled price after estimate and product was already put in. I had to order my own parts.
I put in a floor system on my new construction pool. After I gave them a copy of my pool plans I was told it would be $1,200 for the whole system. I took many trips to their office because they never got my orders right. Every time I went to pick something up that we were suppose to get in the first place they charged us more. I waited months for parts that they said they ordered, come to find out when I called the distribution center myself they never ordered it. So I had it sent to National Pools. Then when I went to pick it up they charged me again for it. My floor system that I was quoted $1,200 for and it ended up costing me $3,200. Not to mention the fact that I had to do the ordering and calling around because they have no sense of customer service. When I got the other part it came with a $400 piece of equipment that I don't even need. National Pools owner ***** ****** told me that I would have to send it back myself and try to get a refund even though it was their goof up! Then to top it off the address and company he told us to send it to wasn't even the company he got it from.
I also ordered fountains to put in the pool and I never received them. The job was held up for weeks then finally we just went on and didn't put them in.

Desired Settlement
I want to only be charged for the amount that I was quoted ($1,200). National pools took advantage of the fact that I paid them upfront for everything then when I was missing half the pieces they profited off the fact that they didn't provide me with the entire system I was told I was getting.

Business Response
Contact Email: *************@nationalpools.net
To Whom it may concern,
I first want to say that I am not the owner of National Pools of Pasco Inc. Second, I want to say that in 2012, Mr. ***** came in and said he was building his own pool and would we order the items he wanted from ********* Pool and Spa Company, who is our supplier for in- floor cleaning systems. As a favor to Mr. *****, we agreed to do so since his Grandfather was the original owner of National Pools of Pasco. Until recently, I had no idea that he didn't have all the items he needed to finish his pool, He came in the office and stated that he needed more parts to complete the pool. He also stated that one item wasn't what he needed, and that he would like to exchange it for the right one. *Unbeknownst to us, he had changed the # of cleaning heads, making the original valve the incorrect one.* It is not our practice to do an exchange with ********* if we are not building the pool, and because it was not our fault he changed the # of heads. Mr. ***** was never quoted a price of $1,200 for the entire system, as our cost was over $3,300. We only charged him 10% markup as a favor to him. This system retails for over $8,000 installed, so I would estimate the labor to be about $ 3,000, which means I could have sold the products for over $ 5,000. I spent a lot of my own time trying to do him a favor, all at the cost to National Pools of Pasco.
Sincerely,
***** ******
National Pools of Pasco, Inc

PLEASE NOTE: National Pools of Pasco had nothing to do with the construction or any outcome of the pool mentioned above. The customer recently ordered from ********* Pool & Spa directly on our Business Account, which he was not authorized by the owner to do. Lastly, we merely acted as a go-between contact and a shipping destination between ********* and Mr. *****.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes I know you're not an owner you do sales and obviously know nothing about floor systems. When you first gave us a quote as per my pool plans which never changed you quoted us $1,200 and we agreed to do it at that price. Then after I got a drawing from paramount I told you that the heads were not put on the sunshelf. I told you from the beginning I wanted the entire pool done except the spa. So ********* revised the plans which changed the whole system after YOU ordered the parts. Now I am stuck with parts for a system that doesn't work on my pool and you won't take them back.
I didn't ask you to do me any favors I came to you because you are a paramount supplier and I needed a price.
********* told me if National Pools sent back the parts that they told me to order in the first place we would be refunded, but you won't do that. I should also get the 10% back you charged me to order the parts I didn't even need.
I have had to make MULTIPLE trips to your office over an hour away because you don't know how to order this product. You even told me that you never handle this and am not familiar with ordering the parts. Maybe in the future you should let someone who knows what they are doing make the orders instead of frustrating the customers with your inexperience.

Business Response
The salesman that handled the issue has discussed with our ********* supplier, and they are willing to take the unused items back and issue refund. He wanted me to type in his response, and also upload ********* statements / check stubs actually showing what we were billed for and paid out for Mr ***** for his project.

I have attached the two statements from 2012 from ********* supplier, and the check stubs paid out for each statement. The following is correspondence text from the sales dept on the return issue:


To Whom It May Concern,

The following is in response to latest response from ***** via BBB. ********* (DBA ********* ******* *********** Inc),
has agreed to refund all monies for all unused parts to the ***** Family. If they make available to National Pools of Pasco,
we will see that they will be sent back to ********* at the expense of *********. Now, again I will state our position on
the transactions that took place in 2012. Never once was a price of $ 1,200 given to the ***** Family, as we have no record
of that quote on file. I have cancelled checks totaling over $3,500 for product ordered for the ***** Family. After 42 years
building pools and using ********* systems for over 20 years, no one in this company would ever give a number lower
than what it would cost for us to purchase. Again, if Mr. ***** wants to bring the unused product to National Pools of
Pasco, then after proper inspection of part to ensure that it is unused, ********* will refund him the money. Each returned
product must be unused or no credit will be given.

I also want to say that this inquiry is based solely on the word of one person. Previously, I responded with truthful
answers, but for some reason the ***** Family is still pursuing the BBB claim. National Pools of Pasco wished to clear
any claim against us.

***** ******
Sales Department
National Pools of Pasco, Inc.
**** *** ****
Port Richey, FL XXXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

07/24/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracted February of 2013, permit received 2/25/2013.
7/9/2013 pool still not complete. Pool is paid in full.
Contracted and permit rec'd 2/25/2013 to build our pool but as of 7/9/2013 pool is incomplete. However 3 other pools in same complex have been completed but contracted after our pool. We are now faced with weather detaining the completion and have been told when a window of opportunity opens our pool will be completed. Frustration with responses from management and proceeding with other projects such as sealing pavers being held up due to delinquent pads/pavers at cage door entrances. Correct jets for the spa ordered two weeks ago instead of last Feb.
The pool is 100% paid and we feel we have to continue to request scheduling to complete this job which should have been done prior to June 1, 2013 as promised.

Desired Settlement
We only want our pool completed but we want to report our dissatisfaction with National Pools time to complete a job and management response. Promises such as time line, made by the sales agent, should be requested in writing to ensure ALL operations are smooth and efficient.
How long does it take to build a pool in Florida? This pool Should have been completed long before rainy season.

Business' Initial Response
This letter is in response to a BBB case opened 7/11/13. On July 9th, the customer was notified that our crew will be onsite Monday 7/15/13 to address the screen door pads, install the spa jets, and take care of any warranty issues. Unfortunately, the rainy season commenced toward the end of this project, and has directly impacted several other projects as well. There was a time period where the paver order/delivery was delayed, but the deck has since been successfully completed. We understand that the customer has concerns, and they will be addressed in a timely manner. The pool has been 99% completed and we expect to be 100% finished on 7/15/13.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
National did not respond to the real issue - how long does it take to build a pool. Contracted in Feb 2013 to be completed by June 1, 2013.
Rainy season not in effect and paver delivery problems is not an acceptable excuse when details could have been resolved via phone to both customer and vendor.
At this time, after much frustration, the pool is complete. As first time pool owners we now know what questions to ask and receive in writing prior to contracting and will utilize with all future business transactions. Please let other potential customers know to do the same.
Thank You

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.