BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/02/2008

JT'S Custom Pools, Inc.

Phone: (941) 423-9696Fax: (941) 423-5400View Additional Phone Numbers1075 Innovation Ave Unit 111, North PortFL 34289-9346

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/02/2008

BBB has determined that JT'S Custom Pools, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised JT'S Custom Pools, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on JT'S Custom Pools, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pool remodel completed Nov 2014. Met with owner in Dec. 2014. Came to agreement on issues needing to be fixed and still waiting on fixes!
Pool remodel began October 2014 and completed November 2014. Met with owner of JT's Custom Pools on December 17, 2014 and came to agreement on issues needing to be fixed to customer satisfaction. These issues were discoloration in my Tahoe Blue PebbleTec pool finish (a white mark on the western wall near the deep end and numerous light and grey areas what looks like shadowing). One pool cage door is too high and critters crawl under it while the other pool cage door scrapes the new pavered deck that was put down. A screen in my pool cage door was ripped, but I did not bring this up to Jason as a ripped pool screen paled in comparison to a pool finish that turned out miserably! Jason said he would get the discoloration in the pool fixed even if it meant draining the pool to let the pool surface aeriate. Jason he would need to wait for a few days of consecutive good weather to allow the pool surface to "air out" after draining the water out of the pool. The pool cage door heights have not been fixed either. The owner agreed to fix these problems and 4+ months later I'm still waiting.

Desired Settlement
I would like the items agreed on during our December 17th meeting to be fixed as promised to customer satisfaction.

Business Response
The original complaint filed is of the opinion of the homeowner however all the facts of the discrepancy are not mentioned in the complaint.

The events that caused the issues to be remedied that the homeowner listed was the homeowner nonperformance of the contract for payment specified. JT's Custom Pool advised the homeowner when the Decking payment was missed that in order to complete the work that full payment would have to be received. Homeowner advised JT's that payment was being generated so homeowner was taken at her word and work continued.

The pool interior finish was installed on a Saturday in October. the following Monday when JT's went to prepare the pool for washing, filling and balancing the homeowner stopped work as she did not like her selection of spot tile that was incorporated into the pool shell finish.

At this point, $5000.00 was now due. Once again, no payment was received and now 2 payments were past due. JT's owner met with homeowner the following day and out of concern for the newly installed pool finish needing to be cleaned, filled and balanced to prevent issues JT agreed to change out the spot tile. This was done by Wednesday of the same week and the pool was cleaned, filled and balanced.

Homeowner was instructed to keep her pool maintained and that completion of the contracted work had been achieved. This was the end of October.

No communication was received from homeowner after numerous attempts to be paid for the work as per the contract. As a result, JT's put homeowner in collections in December2014.

In January 2015 JT's was contacted by homeowner to have a meeting about the balance due. JT's owner met with the homeowner at her home and an inspection was made of the pool. The routine necessary pool maintenance had not happened and the pool water not up to the proper standards. At that time homeowner informed JT's that a spot had developed at bottom of pool. JT's advised that was a direct result of homeowners' non-maintenance. No other deficiencies were brought up or addressed as now is listed in the complaint.

Homeowner requested for JT's to return and bring the pool back to usable condition and see if the spot could be removed. At that point JT's advised that no work could occur until at least $4000.00 of the $5000.00 of the outstanding, past due and in collections amount is paid. The homeowner paid JT's the $4000.00. Home owner was advised that the current weather prevented this from taking place immediately. That constant warmer weather was necessary and that the spot may not come out, but JT's would drain the pool and acid wash the pool interior and fill and balance pool. Once the work was completed homeowner said the remaining balance would be paid. Both parties agreed. The home owner agreed to contact JT's Custom Pools once the weather warmed up.

JT's was made aware of the situation only when this complaint was filed. This complaint has no merit as all warranties were voided by the lack of maintenance required by homeowner on the pool finish and that homeowner failed to contact
JT's as agreed as well there is still an outstanding balance for work already performed.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To begin, I received only two invoices during the course of remodel of my pool. The first invoice was emailed to me prior to the start of the pool remodel and paid in full by me. The second and only other invoice received by me was emailed to me mid-November 2014. I received no other communications whether by phone call, emails, texts whatsoever concerning payments needing to be made or due. I did not pay the November invoice immediately upon receipt due to the issues I wanted resolved. Jason, owner of JT'S Custom Pools, came to my house on December 17 and met with me. We went over the issues I wanted resolution with relative to my pool. I had a representative with me. Both of us took notes relative to this meeting and can produce our notes as to the contents covered. Jason said he would correct the issues. He said he needed a few consecutive days of good weather (i.e., no rain not warmer weather) in order to drain the pool and allow the new surface to aeriate. He mentioned to me he would keep an eye on the weather. I asked that he call me to advise when he would be out to do this so I would be aware. He indicated he would. I will add that I agreed during our December 17 meeting to pay all funds due JT'S but $1,000 which he and I agreed I'd hold back until resolution of the remaining pool issues. I never heard from him. In fact not a word other than in January when I stopped in to pick up a copy of my file. On that day, he mentioned he was still waiting for consecutive days of good weather to come to my house to drain the pool to allow it to aeriate and then a light acid wash and refill. It wasn't until the day I filed my complaint with the *** and his time frame to respond started running that I received a response from Jason. His facts are grossly misstated. I am still seeking resolve. Please excuse any typos. Response sent from Android device.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response. I have carefully read the June 2nd response provided by JT's Custom Pools. His response sets out certain conditions to possibly remedy the issues for which I remain unsatisfied with my pool remodel. First and foremost and to set the record perfectly straight, I was not ever in a position that I could not pay my bill. I was never made aware I was behind in payment(s). I received only two invoices from JT's Custom Pools - at the start of the job and at the end of job. Nowhere in between did I receive any additional invoices for payment or notices that I was in arrears by any means whatsoever by JT's Custom Pools. To say the condition of my pool as it was left in at completion of the remodel is due to my non-payment and my neglect to maintain the pool is completely false

Jason indicated that JT's Custom Pools would, at the conclusion of the remodel, maintain my pool for the first month. I do not have any evidence that this was done. I was never left a note indicating anyone had been out to service my pool subsequent to completion of the remodel. For JT's Custom Pools to continually state the pool is not being maintained is inaccurate. He not once tested the chemicals in my pool water during my presence, so how would he know the pool was not being maintained properly. If in fact the pool water had been tested, why would JT's Custom Pools not notify me of the imbalance in the pool instead of let it continue? Why? The fact is I have been and continue to maintain my pool. I have taken samples of my pool water to be tested. I also hired a pool company and to date, this pool company continues to service and maintain my pool. I can with certainty and without a doubt state that my pool is in no worse condition than the condition it was in at the conclusion of the remodel by JT's Custom Pools. I would like to point out that at the conclusion of the remodel and upon inspection, I found my pool pressure above normal and water leaking out the top of the filter housing. What I discovered was the pool filter was totally clogged with sand, pebbles and other small debris. This was neglect on the part of JT's Custom Pools. I cleaned the filter myself and have photos and kept the actual debris that will document and evidence the condition of the pool filter.

I am unwilling to accept "a one time offer and whatever the outcome is of the pool finish is final due to the continued neglect of required maintenance of the pool." I interpret this to mean that if JT's Custom Pools returns to the "customers' house and drain the pool, let it dry out and acid wash the shell finish, fill the pool with customers' own water, stabilize the water and deliver the pool back to the customer" and the pool finish is in worse shape that it was before this process took place, I have no recourse. For JT's Custom Pools to state the "warranties were voided by the lack of maintenance required by homeowner on the pool finish and that homeowner failed to contact JT's as agreed as well there is still an outstanding balance for work already performed" is again false. The grey shadowing areas I speak of in the pool finish were in the pool finish the day the remodel was completed. These areas did not appear after completion of the job and what JT's Custom Pools claims was neglect on my part. Again, I have been and continue to maintain my pool. Does it make sense that I would spend nearly $11,000 to remodel my pool and then not take care of it? What I would like is a satisfactory result. As a consumer paying for a service, I do not find this an unreasonable request. Instead, JT's Custom Pools makes a one time offer to attempt a fix of the pool surface and "whatever the outcome is of the pool finish is final." Why would I accept this offer knowing the surface of my pool could end up in worse shape than it was in at completion of the job. This sounds like a best case scenario in favor of JT's Custom Pools.

It was my experience during the entire remodel process that the owner of JT's Custom Pools, Jason, was extremely condescending, rude and unprofessional. I felt the owner created a hostile environment that I found to be rather intimidating and thus any thoughts, questions or concerns during the remodel process were unwelcome and who was I to question his know-how. I have voicemail messages, text messages and emails that will support this and which I can produce if needed. In light of this entire process and the result to date, I am left with little faith and trust that JT's Custom Pools will service me with best intentions.


Final Business Response
Jt's Custom Pools would like find a final resolve to this issue, however we feel the following:
1. We believe we proposed in good faith a resolve that would appease Ms. ******** and close out this file. This was rejected by consumer.
2. We are still owed a balance and had to put this consumer in collections to get paid some of the money that was always in arrears and promised to us if we continued to the next phase.
3. We still offered to come in and do work that was created as a result of not being allowed to complete our work within the timeline and from the consumer not adhering to the prescribed required maintenance needed to prevent the issues that are being contested even with this causing her warranty to be voided.
4. Consumer has not accepted any responsibility in this situation. She has consistently deflected to JT's as the sole source of fault and has not offered any reasonable solution to remedy this issue.
5.Based on the consumers' last entry it appears that she is wanting an open ended timeline to contest any workmanship that we would do for the sole purpose of not paying the money she owes of finding another issue to complain about. We truly feel that as much as we want to remedy and close this complaint it is not possible, however we will try to accommodate and satisfy the consumer provided that a payment of $500 is paid when the pool is drained and the balance when the work is completed and satisfactory to consumer provided that consumer does impede or refuse JT's entry during the course of the work at all.

We appreciate the *** stepping in to possibly assist in a resolve to this file.

08/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In March of this year the work began; PebbleTech installed the surface but the return outlet opening does not allow room to install eyeballs
JT's owner has said they would correct problem but no work has been done; three month + is much too long for completion. Get the problem corrected as promised.

Desired Settlement
Complet the work.

Consumer's Final Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

After filing this complaint the company had the pebble tech representative come out and they made the situation right.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/19/2008Business started: 10/31/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax
101 S Washington Blvd
Sarasota, FL 34236-6940
(941) 861-8300
http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com

Sarasota County Contractor's License

Sarasota, FL 34231
(941) 861-3285

Charlotte County Contractors License

Port Charlotte, FL 33952
(941) 743-1201

Lee County Contractors License
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL 33901-3054
(239) 533-8895

BBB records show a license number of CPC1457348 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 990010086193 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CTBLDB-CPC1457348 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CPC1457348 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CPC1457348 for this company, issued by Lee County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2006, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Tari (President)Customer Contact: Mrs. Julie Tari (Office Manager)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Repair Companies

Products & Services

This company offers new swimming pool and spa construction, renovations, and repairs as well as pool decks, custom waterfall construction, and renovations.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

JT'S Custom Pools, Inc. has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for JT'S Custom Pools, Inc.

1075 Innovation Ave Unit 111

North Port, FL 34289-9346

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1075 Innovation Ave Unit 111 

    North Port, FL 34289-9346(941) 423-9696

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*JT'S Custom Pools, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (941) 234-7072
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.