BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/30/2013

Florida Pool Professionals, Inc.

Phone: (239) 498-5500Fax: (239) 594-2250

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
03/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contractor not finishing work in a timely manor, nor is he responding to my inquiries.
Signed contract in October 2013 to build a pool. I was told at that time "permitting will take a few days then your pool should be done in six weeks". After six weeks there was only a hole in my back yard, still no pool and no answers. After many attempts they finally told me second week of January 2015. Well second week of January came and left, but, still no pool. I have tried many times to figure out when is going to be done, but I get the same story every time about how they will call me with a schedule but I never hear from them. One or two guy show up one or two days at best, per week and only work a couple of hours then disappear. All I want is a finished pool.

Desired Settlement
I would like my pool finished in a timely manor. They do great work when they show up, but getting them there is a battle.

Business Response
Our first responsibility to our clients is to do good quality work. There is a shortage of craftsman to do the work and we will not put under-qualified workers on the job in order to speed up the process. Mr. ******* job is not excessively slow, but perhaps could go quicker. However we cannot move faster than the availability of materials, and in this case we are waiting for pavers (paver manufacturers are backed up due the the sudden increase in demand) and cannot move any faster. We placed the order as soon as it was selected. The first part of the job moved along very quickly. We are not in control of all the factors in a bustling economy such as this one. When the economy went down, many workers evacuated to other parts of the country. Overall this is not a legitimate cause to file a complaint. Under the circumstances no other pool company could have done better and most would not have done as well. But I do understand his frustration. Getting us there is not a battle as we are doing as well as possible. In the years to come when our pool stands up to the test of time, then the time it took to build it will be the least of their concerns. It took him longer to contract this pool as it was several months in the process. We waited for a long time for him to get financed and he got a fantastic price as well. He should be ex-tactic overall. case# XXXXXXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First off I signed the contracted on 10/22/14 and selected my pavers the following Monday 10/27/14 and now it February 5, 2015 and still no pavers, sounds like someone forgot to order them. According to the ******* County Records they didn't even apply for a permit until 11/24/14 that's a month just to apply for a permit sounds weird to wait a whole month just to apply for a permit. And to top it off now they are saying 2 more weeks just to get my pavers in, so I placed my order on 10/27/14(have email to confirm to this) and now they won't be here until 2/19/15 wow that's a long time. Again they do good work just taking their sweet time to complete the job.

04/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pool is till leaking after several requests to fix leak in new pool.
Florida Pool Professionals completely remodeled my pool and deck. When the pool was reported to be complete, there was a very bad leak of about 6 inches of water per day. They attempted to fix the leak, but I am still loosing over 2 inches of water per week. No one is paying me for the water to keep refilling the pool, so the costs to refill are really starting to add up. This has been going on for almost two months and the leak has not been fully identified and repaired.

Desired Settlement
I would like the pool leak fixed immediately and if not fixed I would like a refund. Again no one has offered to pay for the water used to refill the pool and this is really dragging on.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************
Firstly, we only resurfaced the pool. unsually this does not create a leak. Sometimes a leak exists prior to our renovations and we are not told. We did go out to the home at least 3 times to find the leak. Mr. ****** and his neighbor led us to believe, through their vigilance in keeping an eye on the pool, that there was no longer a leak. Your complaint notice comes as a surprise to us since Mr. ****** has not called as of late. However we will perform another leak detection and if the leak is a pre-existing leak, we will bill the homeowner.

Consumer's Final Response
Just wanted to give you an update. The second leak detective service that came buy did not bring their helium detection system (reported to have been broken at the time) and could not find the final leak, as they also where using the listening equipment. They will be coming back this Friday with the equipment that utilizes helium.

In the mean time I had another service stop by as they only charge you if they find a leak and he wanted to take a quick look. He was only there for about an hour at the end of the day and could not identify the final location, but he made the same comment as the others. He stated that it was obvious the area where the tiles meet the skimmer was not done properly. This being the root cause of why there was a leak in this area. This area is not leaking now, as the first service used compound where these leaks are, but it really should be fixed properly, or it will leak again eventually once the sun and time break down the compound they use to patch it. He also noted that where the return lines meet the pool wall, that a professional pool company would have used hydrolic cement to seal the area where the wall meets the returns and this should have been done before FPP resurfaced the pool. As with the tile leaks, the first service used compound where the surface was leaking in the area where it meets one of the returns. This makes for two areas where preparation was not done properly by FPP that resulted in leaks.

Hopefully the location of the third leak can be found Friday. As mentioned on the phone trying to find the leak with the extra layer of sand and pavers is making this very challenging. All three leak detection services I spoke with stated that a professional pool renovation company would have assured this was done prior to work being done.

I'll be sure to update you after the leak detection service comes by Friday.

Thanks again for all your help on this and have a good week,
******

08/10/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.