BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/21/2000

Aqua Doc Pool Clinic

Phone: (941) 497-3333Fax: (941) 412-0743448 E Venice Ave, VeniceFL 34285-4631Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/21/2000

BBB has determined that Aqua Doc Pool Clinic meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Aqua Doc Pool Clinic's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Aqua Doc Pool Clinic

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Aqua Doc refused to correct problem unless I pre-pay them monies not due them until job completion. Threatened to put lien on house and sue me.

I signed a contract with Aqua Doc for a total of $11,800 to resurface my pool and put pavers on the pool deck.

Payments in the contract were:

$2,360 due on signing - It was PAID on signing - 2/18/13
$4,720 due on start - It was PAID on start - 4/21/13
$4,720 due on completion of job - Waiting job completion - ???

There have been a number of problems with workmanship, miscommunication and mismanagement during the project. All were eventually remedied by Aqua Doc. Additional details and pictures on these issues can be provided if needed.

On 4/23/13 I was asked by Aqua Doc for the final payment. I pointed out that a part of the pool deck was not finished and that the final payment was not due until the job was finished and all the pavers were in and had been sealed. I was then told it would be finished by the end of day.

I informed them that when it was finished I would pay them, but as I was familiar with small business cash flows I would, as a sign of good faith give them $1,000 of the $4,720 final payment, which I did, with the rest to be paid on completion of the job.

Later in the day I saw that the workers were leaving and that they had not finished laying all of the pavers, as I was told they would be when asked for the final payment. I asked one of the workers why they didn't finish laying the pavers and was told that they couldn't finish because there were no pavers to finish the deck with.

It was then I realized that Aqua Doc, being on the job site at the time, knew that there were no more pavers and that the job could not be finished that day, when they asked me for the final payment.

I did not ask for my $1,000 dollars back, which I should have, I just told Aqua Doc that there was no more trust left in our relationship and that there would be no more pre-payments until the job was totally finished.

On 4/3/13 Aqua Doc asked if I was satisfied with the job and I said yes. However over the weekend of 4/4/13 it was pointed out to me that the deco drain connections were worse than I had believed and were actually dangerous because of their sharp edges and that I could be liable for any injuries.

On 4/6/13 I called Aqua Doc and requested that the deco drain connections be fixed.. I was told they would get back to me when someone was available.

On 4/7/13 Aqua Doc called me and said that they thought ''I enjoyed coming up with problems''. And because of that, they felt I should show some good faith and make another partial payment, 50% of the remaining $3,720 of the final payment, of monies not due them until completion of the job.

I reminded them of asking for the final payment of $4,720 on 4/23/13, when they knew that the job was not done, and would not be done on that day. I again stated that my payment of $1,000, at that time would be the last act of good faith from me. Aqua Doc responded by saying they would put a lien on my house and take me to court. For what I don't know, as I stand ready to make the final payment in full on the successful completion of the project, as per the contract.

On 5/8/13 called Aqua Doc and informed them of a complaint with the Better Business Bureau because of their refusal to fix my deco drain problems, unless I pre-paid money that wasn't due to them until job completion. Because of this complaint filing, and the fact that Aqua Doc has threatened to put a lien on my house and take me to court, I did not want any Aqua Doc employees or sub-contractors on my property without my permission until all of these issues were resolved.

My pool deck is not finished and I cannot use the pool because the pavers have not been sealed and the deco drain issue not resolved.. I have a contract with a company, to install a pool cage that will be delayed until this issue is resolved.

If this issue is not resolved in the near future I will have to get another company to fix the drain and seal the pavers so the project can move forward.

Desired Settlement
I want the job completed:

1. Fix the problems with the deco drain.
2. Seal the pavers.
3. Provide me with the Warranty documents for the pool and pool deck.
4. Provide me with the water company document to allow me to get credit for the water used to refill my pool.
5. Do a proper cleanup of the excess sand used by Aqua Doc in this project.

On completion of the above I will, as I have in the past, make an on time payment. This time for project completion, as per the contract.

Your assistance in resolving this issue would be greatly appreciated.

The behavior of Aqua Doc in asking for money that they is not contractually due them is something that I don't know how to address.

Business' Initial Response
In response to Mr. *******'s complaint letter, there are some incorrect statements that Aqua Doc would like to clarify. The first being the terms of the signed contract (attached). An initial deposit of 20% was due upon signing, the second deposit of 40% was due upon start-up of work, and the balance was due in full upon pool start-up.

Mr. ******* states that on April 23, 2013, we were unable to complete the paver job since we were short of material. The reason we had run out of pavers was that at Mr. *******'s request, we had to remove and relay a large portion of pavers, many of which could not be reused. We did ask him at that time for final payment since it was per the terms of the agreement. Mr. ******* paid a partial of $1,000. which we accepted.

On Friday, May 3, 2013 (not 4/3/13 per his letter), Aqua Doc spent four hours making minor adjustments during the final walk through with Mr. *******, at which time he said he was satisfied but still refused to pay the balance.

On Monday, May 6, 2013, Mr. ******* called Aqua Doc stating that the pavers needed to be sealed and that the deco-drain (PVC gutters that are used with pavers) that had been installed approximately two weeks prior, had rough edges that he felt were dangerous. After discussing the deco drain issue with the job supervisor, we called Mr. ******* the following day, May 7"'', and pointed out that sealing the pavers was not on the signed contract but that we would do so at no charge. However, in regards to the deco drain, we wanted a show of good-faith by paying 50% of his balance of $3,720. We had felt that this was fair since he had originally stated his satisfaction but had refused to pay his balance. Mr. ******* said that was not acceptable and that he was going to contact the Better Business Bureau. On May 8th, Mr. ******* called Aqua Doc and said that we were no longer allowed on his property.

Aqua Doc would be willing to return to the property, clean up any excess sand, seal the pavers (at no charge) and address the deco drain issue with Mr. *******. We ask that 50% of the balance paid up front and the remaining 50% when the issues have been resolved.

With regards,
**** *******
Aqua Doc Pool & Deck Renovations

Consumer's Final Response
No word from Aqua Doc on sealing the deck.

My money has been tied up for a long time with little return.

Business' Final Response
This is to confirm the message I left regarding our phone conversation today, Friday 8/30/13. ***** ******* agrees to reduce the final amount owed by $800. The bill was $3,720 - $800 = $2,920. Please advise when we can expect payment. Once release I will mail the water letter and warranty paperwork.

09/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Aqua Doc ignores my calls/letters for follow-up care on my pool's resurface job. Grout continually falls off, and they failed to add D.E. powder.
Failing to add D.E. powder to the skimmer caused the cartridge to tear, flooding the pool with said powder. It took days to clear the pool and solar panels. Their agents were rude and dismissive. I wrote to the president in March and it took him one month to respond to my serious allegations. I finally had to terminate their service for fear that additional damage would occur. I asked for a fair adjustment on my final bill, and again they ignored my request. Surely a better resolution is in due after the thousands of dollars I paid for the initial job.

Desired Settlement
In addition to having Aqua Doc repair the grout that continually sheds from the water-line tile, I am asking for an adjustment to the final bill. It is my claim that because of their failure to add D.E. powder to the skimmer, thus causing the cartridge to tear, that they must own up to their proportionate monetary responsibility.

Business Response
The first part of Ms. ****** complaint has to do with the renovation of her swimming pool. That was completed by Aqua Doc Pool and Deck Renovation, a separate company. We ask that the complaint be revised to deal only with issues pertaining to Aqua Doc Pool Clinic

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Aqua Doc claims that the filter cartridge was at its life's end. They have no grounds for such a statement - only an "estimated" life span of five years. The fact is that there was nothing wrong with my pool's filter! Aqua Doc also falsely claims that the motor would function even more efficiently without D.E. powder, which is in direct opposition to the manufacturer's guidelines that the motor NEVER run without first adding D.E. powder to the skimmer (I have the Owner's Manual as proof.) Aqua Doc refuses to accept responsibility for their negligence. There is a direct relationship with failing to add D.E. powder to the skimmer and the cartridge filter tearing, which is also clearly warned against by the manufacturer's guidelines. As a result, the pool water and solar panels were flooded with said D.E. powder. It took days to clear the pool and solar panels of all the loose powder, which Aqua Doc did not help to correct.
Another incident occurred when an Aqua Doc pool tech came to service my pool, which included cleaning the filter and replacing the D.E. powder on that day. That particular representative cleaned the powder out of the filter and onto my sidewalk instead of into the grass, and the entire sidewalk from the pool motor past the garbage fence was pure white for a week. (I have photos to verify the mess.) This very sloppy and unexpected work was completely unprofessional, so I called the office to let them know. It was one more incident in a long line of the careless attitude toward my property that made me feel like an unappreciated customer.
I called numerous times trying to reach the owner, without success. I also went to their office to voice my concerns, but not even a personal appearance resulted in communication with the owner.
The reason I initially agreed to pay for a new filter was based on my anxiety to replace the damaged filter, to get D.E. powder added to the filter cartridge, and to avoid further damage to the pool motor - actions that any responsible and reasonable pool owner would take. I finally had to terminate Aqua Doc's pool service for fear that additional damage to my pool would occur.
Regarding my final bill, I believe that Aqua Doc should be much more reasonable in their adjustment to at least admit their responsibility in repeatedly failing to follow the manufacturer's guidelines for D.E. filter care and maintenance, which would have avoided this entire incident.
Finally, it is obvious to me that Aqua Doc has very little regard for me as a former customer, as they couldn't even spell my last name correctly in their response.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/27/2000Business started: 01/01/1998New Owner Date: 01/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax
101 S Washington Blvd
Sarasota, FL 34236-6940
(941) 861-8300

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395

Sarasota County Contractor's License

Sarasota, FL 34231
(941) 861-3285

Charlotte County Business Tax Receipt
18500 Murdock Cir
Port Charlotte, FL 33948-1068
(941) 743-1300

BBB records show a license number of 2300870023288 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax. Their web address is

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CPC1456793 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CPC1456793 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 24921 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1999, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Meacock (President)Ms. Lisa Meacock (Vice President)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Repair Companies, Swimming Pool Equipment Supplies

Products & Services

This company offers pool maintenance, equipment repair, pool resurfacing, heat pumps, tile work and renovations.

Alternate Business Names
Cestrian, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Aqua Doc Pool Clinic

448 E Venice Ave

Venice, FL 34285-4631

To | From


1 Locations

  • 448 E Venice Ave 

    Venice, FL 34285-4631

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Aqua Doc Pool Clinic is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.