BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/19/2011

Creative Coatings

Phone: (239) 481-5112Fax: (239) 481-8305View Additional Phone Numbers2149 Andrea Ln STE 3, Fort MyersFL 33912-0226Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/19/2011

BBB has determined that Creative Coatings meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Creative Coatings' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Creative Coatings

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
02/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
the principal was contacted in october and a visit by their employee determined they errored after 2 more calls no repairs have been done no return ca
read above

Desired Settlement
replace and repair all defective coatings and they must match what they installed the first time

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We scheduled a repair and went out to the property. We were not able to complete the repair due to weather. We rescheduled the repair for next Tuesday, January 13.

12/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
my flooring system has been installed twice. Both installations has been defective in multiple ways.
during the initial installation the floor was not processed properly the first time so there were stained marks, holes, bubbles, dirt, part of a room not completed,and a potential expired sealer used. With an untimely response the owner did respond realize that the floor was completely damaged had to remove the entire flooring system and reapply. this created a homeless situation as to where we needed to go into a Hotel room put all of our belongings into storage and extreme additional expenses have been incurred. The second floor did not have as many large bumps however there are puddles of dry epoxy, holes in my floor bubbles and almost every square inch potential dirt on the bathroom floor and the edges are not professionally finished and the entryway coloring was not properly installed. The living room if the bubbles were not present would be nice and smooth however in many other areas you can feel the texturing as the coating surface is not covering it. This is not even close to a professional installation or professionally operated company. The owner is extremely delayed in his response to the damage His company caused my floor, has yelled and screamed at myself and/or my general contractor on two separate occasions. Continues to be very delayed in his responses will not be forthcoming about the products being used And will not properly discuss adequate solutions. to all the problems.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the professional installation that he is contracted for. A consistent coloring a consistent coAting the edges being properly completed no bubbles or hole. I'm expecting a finished product as advertised on his website and Facebook page. I am seeking reimbursement for the expenses incurred based on his faulty installations. The owner requested out of the contract which I agreed in the event he would refund all the $500 of my deposit. I thought that was more than fair as it will cover the cost of the product in my home not knowing if the product can even stay in the home or if it needs to be removed again as with the Second installation. anything short of his advertised final products is not acceptable. my product is not even Close even after the second installation. I am also seeking his insurance company become involved and the adjuster come out to the home with the owner to figure out solutions.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We resolved this directly with the customer.

Consumer Response


11/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damaged wooden driveway separation with pressure washer. Refused to fix/repair.
This company has said there is not anything they can do to fix this damage. My request was for them to fill the HUGE space with concrete so I will not get weeds growing. They said that I could do that myself. I am 85 years old and my husband is 75!! They caused the damage, they need to fix it. I already conceded with their 1st error of using the wrong color combo, and accepted that, but come one..... I need to accept this? Please help!!

Desired Settlement
For them to repair this space by filling in the area.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The driveway had an crooked expansion joint with old decaying wood in it. When we pressured washed the driveway the dirt came out of the joint. We performed the contract and put the decorative coating over the driveway but we never fill the expansion joints. This is not part of our contract. The driveway looks beautiful and we cannot put concrete or wood in the joint because it will make the expansion joint more noticeable.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This person representing the company said he had 30 experience We would assume that they should have noticed and said something about the expansion Joint being crooked and that it may have looked better with a different pattern. Even after their man laid the tape down they knew the joint would be an eyesore and might have given us the option to continue but nothing was said and they continued do the paint.


Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

This is her opinion, we have the pictures of the job and we believe the job looks great.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/12/1999Business started: 01/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Lee County Business Tax Receipt

Fort Myers, FL 33901
http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria

Lee County Contractors License
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL 33901-3054
(239) 533-8895

Contractor Licensing-Collier
(239) 252-2431

BBB records show a license number of 8902336 for this company, issued by Lee County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of PT 000182 for this company, issued by Lee County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of C12128 for this company, issued by Contractor Licensing-Collier.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1988, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Benforado (Vice President)Mr. Brad Benforado (Vice President)Ms. Kathy M. Benforado (President)
Business Category

Specialty Concrete Companies, Pavers, Decorative Concrete Suppliers, Protective Coating Suppliers, Paving Contractors, Industrial Flooring Companies, Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning, Concrete Companies

Products & Services

This company provides texturing, spray decking, acid staining, color coating, epoxy coating, quartz flooring, and seal coating services.

Alternate Business Names
Forty Six Enterprises, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Creative Coatings has received 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Creative Coatings

2149 Andrea Ln STE 3

Fort Myers, FL 33912-0226

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2149 Andrea Ln STE 3 

    Fort Myers, FL 33912-0226(239) 482-1800
    Fax: (239) 481-8305

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Creative Coatings is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (239) 482-1800
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Specialty Concrete Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.