BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/30/2015

Harrimans, Inc.

Phone: (941) 488-4453Fax: (941) 488-6614View Additional Phone Numbers140 James St, VeniceFL 34285-5527View Additional Web AddressesFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers solar/photovoltaic power, solar water heaters, solar pool heaters, and is a state certified solar energy, swimming pool, and electrical contractor.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/30/2015

BBB has determined that Harrimans, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Harrimans, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Harrimans, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
12/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Harrimans have not serviced, repaired, replaced, or refunded,a solar panel they sold me. defective product.They will not service what they sell.

Company sold me a defective product, will not service or repair same.Problem started 6/14/13.Purchase dated 4/18/12.Invoice #XX-XXXXX, receipt# ***** Sales rep. ******* ***.Pay Amt.$5690.00, Payed by check in full.4/18/12. Product is a Hot water solar panel. Have called numerous times, to no avail. Only excuses, no follow-up calls at all.They want me to just forget about it ,and go away!

Desired Settlement
All I want is what I paid for, a functional Solar panel that works!Repair, replace or refund.

Final Consumer Response
Another company contacted me, to do repairs. (Not Harrimans)

03/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Solar Panels installed in 2012 continue to have leaks. Warranty not transferrable as we are 2nd owners, but continued issues after paid repair work.
My wife and I purchased a home in Parrish, FL in August, 2013. The home was built in 2010 and had a new pool with Harriman solar system installed in 2012. A few months after being in the house (November 2013), our pool service company (Pinch-a-Penny)pointed out a significant leak coming from the solar panels. In contacting Harriman's, we were informed by *** that while the product offered a 10 year warranty, the warranty was not valid as we are the 2nd owners. We agreed to pay the $130.00 service call to have the system repaired. Less than a week after we believed the system was repaired, our pool service company pointed out the leak was still present and even worse than prior repair. Harriman at this point agreed to swap out the panel. Fast forward a few weeks later, and there is yet another significant leak coming from the solar panel. We have been informed it will be at least another $130.00 for a service call.

Desired Settlement
I believe Harriman should stand behind the products they install and the work that they perform. If a product has a 10 year warranty, I would understand not covering something for a 2nd owner that was several years old, but we are talking a product less than 18 months at first contact. I also believe at the very least, they should stand behind the repair/service work they perform.

Business Response
***** , we have talked to Mr. ******** and put him in touch with the factory to see if he can receive any warranty relief from the factory for any future issues with the existing system that was at his house when he purchased it from the previous owners. He was informed on12-2-13 that he had NO warranty available to him as he is a second owner. He elected to have us come to the house and a service call charge of $122.50 +parts was generated to repair his existing system. We repaired one riser tube in one panel on 12-6-13. H e was invoiced and billed $142.54.
On 12-9-13 the home owner called sating the system was still leaking and needed repaired. I elected to send the technician with a new panel and if it was yet another leak in the same panel, I wanted it replaced and we would eat it. This is exactly what the tech. found and he replaced the panel at NO-CHARGE either for the panel or the service call fee. He paid the original ticket from 12-2-13 on 12-30-13.
On 1-7-14 the home owner called again and said that the system was leaking again and was again told it would be an additional $122.50 for us to return to repair the system , he elected for us to come out and effect repairs fully knowing he would have to pay for service . Then as your own documents state he sent a complaint letter dated the same day 1-7-14 of his call to you and to us requesting service for a fee indicating we have not stood behind our installation and service. This is outrageous .! we have not even been able to get to his house again. He has NO WARANTY. He has known this and even tells you this in his complaint. What's next "DEAR BBB WE HAVE NO MONEY BUT WE WERE TURNED AWAY FROM THE WENDY'S WITHOUT FOOD" WE BELIVE THEY SHOULD GIVE IT TO US . The way we see it you would Write it up and run with it. We have asked Mr. ******** of a retraction and his response on my computer is that he will do so. So where is it! This is why we think you need investigated. Maybe even took to court. Were out over $750.00 trying to please someone that is obviously not willing to step up for what he bought . A USED HOUSE. I HAVE INCLUDED YOUR CASE REPORTS ,and it shows the potential of being as misleading as the owners report as dates seem to be altered in your system HMMM. Quite interesting. Fix it .

******* ** ***
*** ***** **
Venice Fl XXXXX
XXX XXX-XXXX
X XXX XXX-XXXX
www.solarbyharrimans.com
www.swimwarm.com


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was never put in touch with the factory as stated above, just informed that they were copied on an extremely unprofessional email I received from ******* ** ***.
I believe I made it clear in my complaint that while I am disappointed the panel warranty didn't transfer, I understood this. My severe disappointment comes from repair work not being stood behind. Should I expect to place a service call every month from here on forward costing me $122.50+ parts!? The 3rd issue with our panel in just over a month and being informed of a second service call charge is when I filed the complaint and I stand behind it...
I am completely bewildered by *******'s Wendy's comparison, but this and his accusations about dates being altered and people needing to be investigated/taken to court speak to the lack of professionalism exuded by ******** Solar. I received and have similar communication in my inbox from *******.
As far as retracting my complaint, it was something I considered and informed ******* I would do, but ONLY after receiving a phone call from Mr. ********. I did not receive any further response until this.
I still have all email correspondence in my inbox if it is of any use.

*** ********

12/27/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wrong information on tax credit,system is to small to generate the amount electricty they told us we could expect and did not honor 100% mony back sat
Sales Rep ************** asked ave. mo FPL bill. We told him $150. He said this would require a5K system and marked this down on paper. He said the cost would be $30,000and marked this down. He then put $9,000 under the $30,000and next to the $9,000 he marked Feds (for tax credit)under the $9,000 he put down $10,000 This would be the amount of the check from FPL. Leaving me a balance of $11,000. He then divided the $150. a month savings into the $11,000 and put down 6 yr for break even point. I later learned that the $10,000 comes off the $30,000 first as the tax credit is on the cost which adds another $3000 to the cost. The system was put into service on June 21, 2012 and it was soon obvious the system was omly going to produce about 1/2 of what we expected. My phone calls were met with a runaround so on Aug 16,2012 I sent a certified letter to ****** ****** Asking for my money.More runaround.

Desired Settlement
They can take the system down and refund all the money or leave the system in place and give ma check for $8,000.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

The customer was unhappy with the solar modules that we were going to use, he selected a different brand that he approved. He contacted us by email after the installation about his dissatisfaction with the performance of the solar system. We responded to him and requested the manufacturer do a system check on the solar inverters performance. Everything was up to manufacture specifications. In addition, we did several system spot checks at his home, one of which we found that the circuit breaker from the solar modules had been turned off for approximately 1-2 weeks. We turned it back on and have continued to request and monitor this system. He apparently was still dissatisfied with this and we received a letter from his attorney asking for a full refund. We went back to him asking specifically what was wrong and what he wanted us to do but he didn't respond. We are still willing to work out a solution with him.

Consumer's Final Response
I would like to first address the response from ******'s. #1, Prior to signing the contract I made it clear that I would not accept panels made in China. They advised that this was not a problem and we would get panels made in the USA. After the misinformation we received from ******'s about the tax credit I no longer had complete trust in them. When the panels showed up I checked them and advised ******'s that this was not to our agreement. Within a short period of time the panels were replaced with ones that were made in the USA. # 2 The turning off & on of the system was requited by FPL and we will send a copy of the email from FPL dated June 4, 2012 where it states that we would be getting a bidirectional meter within 30 business days and not to run the system until the new meter was set. On June 13, 2012 the new meter was put in place and I turned the system on. This is a matter of record. ******'s had no way of knowing when the new meter would be installed within the 30 day time fram, in fact you will see from copies of their emails that they were not aware the system had been turned off until August. See the email from Robert Manna to me dated Aug. 19, 2012 and his email of Aug. 23, and my response on Aug. 24, and his email of Aug 25, where he states that the system had no bearing on record of power production. ******'s makes an issue of this in his response to the BBB. I alsonote there was no mention of the bad imformation on the tax credit or ******'s 100% money back satisfaction guarantee.
Cpoies of all emails will be sent to ATTN: *************-Case X XXXXXXXX

05/20/2013Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/04/1993Business started: 06/07/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax
101 S Washington Blvd
Sarasota, FL34236-6940
(941) 861-8300
http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com

Sarasota County Contractor's License

Sarasota, FL34231
(941) 378-6126

Charlotte County Contractors License

Port Charlotte, FL33952
(941) 743-1201

BBB records show a license number of CVC056634 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CPC056933 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of EC0001841 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 2301110007697 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CVC056634 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CPC056933 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of EC0001841 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CVC056634 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CPC056933 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CEC0001841 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1973, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas R. Harriman (President)Customer Contact: Mrs. Barb Kosinski (Administrative Assistant)Mr. David R. Harriman (Vice President)
Business Category

Solar Energy System Designers, Solar Energy Equipment Supplies, Solar Energy Equipment Repair Companies, Solar Energy Equipment Companies, Green Building Products, Generators - Electric, Swimming Pool Equipment Supplies, Heat Pumps Suppliers, Electricians

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Harrimans, Inc.

140 James St

Venice, FL 34285-5527

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 140 James St 

    Venice, FL 34285-5527(866) 777-9276
    (941) 488-4453
    (941) 488-6412
    (941) 412-3693
    (941) 412-3724

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Harrimans, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 777-9276
  • (941) 488-6412
  • (941) 412-3693
  • (941) 412-3724
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Solar Energy System Designers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.