BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/28/2008

King Sod

Phone: (239) 995-3286Fax: (239) 997-2102977 Pondella Rd, N Fort MyersFL 33903-3532

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/28/2008

BBB has determined that King Sod meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised King Sod's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on King Sod

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
03/09/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
King sod advertises that their prices include tax. When I paid for the sod after it was loaded they charged tax because I used a credit card.
King sod is miss leading its customers by saying their prices include tax but when you pay with a credit card they charge you tax. No where in their advertising do they say they charge more for credit card purchases. Even in the establishment thy have no documents or placards indicating using credit cards will increase the cost. Their advertising online and inside the business both say that tax is included but when you pay they charge you tax. This is unethical and as I see a bit fradulent.

Desired Settlement
I want them to pay me for the taxes they charged. $4.80

Business Response
King Sod only advertises prices by the piece for Bahia Sod and Floratam Sod. All other sods are special order and by the piece-if available @ market price. We have signs that advertises $2.00 a piece for zoysia sod. Customer was charged a credit card fee because of his method of payment. This fee was listed as sales tax in error. Sales tax is never charged to the customer because King Sod pays sales tax on sod at the wholesale price when it buys from its vendor. King Sod will pay Mr ***** his credit card fee via check of $4.80 back to him once we receive a forwarding address

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thanks for understanding Charging me sales tax twice is a problem. I think you also have to post that you do a service charge for credit card use, that is a fair business practice. Thanks for being honorable.

******* ***** **** ******** ******* Ln. N. Ft Myers XXXXX

Final Business Response
I replied to this case last year- (12/05/15) . Enclosed is my response from last year. I totally forgot about a $4.80 refund, but again , I do not have a forwarding address. Ken

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
fresh sod stacked on top of
5 layers of black dead sod...he wouldn't give up
5 layers of sod to make a customer happy...
Paid $175. Very unfair.
I was going to purchase a different sod..
Special order, shelf life was one day...
Someone there said flortam had a week,
I was better off with that....
I picked up just before they close ...
The next day you could see the darker layers at the bottom
I removed the upper layers, laid, watered
And stopped removing at the black 5 layers,
You could see it was new laid on top of days old sod .
5 layers would of made a customer happy,
He chose to be rude and unfair...he's not a good business man.....5 layers of $$ he took from me.

Desired Settlement
Replace the 5 layers of sod...
And I will drop the matter and do business with
Another company next time.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Ken L.-Owner/Pres
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@gmail.com
Customer bought sod on 07/29/15. Customer called King Sod to complain about sod on 08/04/15. Sod has a shelf life during this time of year 2 days. Sod needs to be installed within 2 days of purchase. Customer waited six days to notify King Sod about his sod purchase. Becouse of this, King Sod will not warrenty his sod. If the customer returned his sod the" day of" or even the "day after", King Sod would have replaced the questionable sod -no problem! King Sod sells a lot of sod without any issues, but if a customer buys a pallet of sod and finds the count being short or product damaged then we replace or make up the difference within 48 hrs. of purchase. This is the customers responsibility to report a problem with a purchase in a timely fashion. This is why we have very little complaints, if any with our company. King Sod are dealers with sod .We do not grow or own the sod fields which allows us to buy from only the best sod fields in Florida. We take pride with our product and our sod venders. This is how King Sod has managed to stay in business for over 30 years .

Consumer Response

09/24/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Delivery was 3 hours late. paid 200.00 to deliver driver dropped pallets so they broke can not return paid deposit Called owner didn't care was rude
I ordered sod on Aug 6th to be delivered on Aug 9th. Was told it was the best he had seen. It was delivered 3 hours later then we were told. We had a Co putting it in and the delay caused us to pay 700.00 more. The driver did not want to unload it and when he did he dropped the pallets so they broke. We can not return to get our deposit back. We called *** to tell him and he was rude and yelling on the phone. I hope he does not treat everyone this way. I would never recommend this Co.

Desired Settlement
Partial refund as due to late delivery our cost was double to have it put in. The quality of the sod was terrible in small pieces. *************************** Also the pallets can not be returned as they are damaged due to the driver dropping them. Half of our 738.00 paid should be refunded.

Business Response
1) Customer, ********** came to office on 08/06/13 to purchase Bahia sod for a delivery to; ****** ***********************. Customer inspected sod and made the purchase. Delivery was scheduled by customer for 08/09/13.

Note: King Sod delivery policy with regards to times of delivery, There is no specific time ever quoted to customer. King Sod only guarantees the delivery day. King Sod cannot ever quote delivery times during the day due to - #1 traffic, #2 Mother Nature, #3 sod shipments from sod farm to King Sod, etc.

2) Company that charges $700.00 for a 3 hour delay to their customer should have a complaint filed against them. Any reputable landscaper knows working in Florida during the summer (rainy season); you are going to have delays with working outside.

3) Sod was delivered and placed in empty lot on southside of the property.
Customer wanted sod placed behind pool but due to the severe slope, King Sod driver placed sod as close to work area as possible. Customer accepted sod and had one pallet installed before my driver's job was done.

August 13, 2013 customer attempts to have a charge back on her credit card. Enclosed is the 4 page response.

Pictures of the sod installed by customer are on file. Pictures of the entire property are on file as well. Anyone looking at the pictures will notice that the new sod in backyard (King Sod, sod) looks better than the rest of the existing son on property.

Pictures of 'stacked' empty pallets are on file. Customer has never attempted to return pallets for deposits.

Note: all pictures were taken August XX XXXX.
Conclusion:
Customer is trying to get goods for free or at a reduced rate.
Customer is only clue pallet deposits once empty pallets have been returned. Based on the complaint; do not expect pallets to be brought back due to embarrassment of the customer. Remember, pictures of the empty pallets are on file.

******************
Owner/President: King Sod

P.S. Please see faxed documents: 3 additional pages-6 pages total

1) BBB complaint-3 pages
2) Discover chargeback response- 3 pages


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
He says I inspected Sod When That is a lie. @nd He told me to call first thing in am for Del time. I did that and at first was told before noon Then 12-1 It was 3 hours after that. When I was in his office to purchase Sod he said Pallets must be all intact that someone else tried to return broken pallets and he refused to refund deposit. His Driver DROPPED the pallets so hard they split and broke. The only 1 pallet still intact was removed by Landscape Design the Co putting Sod in. It was delivered so late they had to come back on Sat to do the work. King Sod does not treat customers well and should be reported so everyone can see. I would never recommend this Co to anyone....

08/28/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sod was delivered & placed in driveway which was ruined by forklift used that leaked oil & destroyed pavers. Refused to take calls or responsibility
On July 11, 2013 I went to king sod in North Fort Myers Florida. I ordered a pallet of sod to be delivered to my home the next day. I was asked where I wanted the sod placed. I stated the driveway. The sod was delivered on Friday, July 12. I noticed after delivery when i returned home that the driveway was covered in oil stains. My husband went to King sod the next day, Saturday, July 13, to return the wooden pallet and complain about the oil stains. He was told by the gentleman working too bad you should've known if you were having sod delivered that forklifts leak. My husband stated how would we know that. We should have been told and would have not had it put on our driveway. He asked to speak to a manager. He was told leave his number which he did. He received no call. Called Monday and left another message. Called again Tuesday owner answered and was rude. He couldn't talk and would call back. My husband called again Thursday and left another message. He called again Friday and spoke to the owner again regarding the problem. The owner said too bad sue me. I have a sign hanging that states I bear no responsibility for damage done by the forklift. Owner was rude and awful customer service. If we had been told the forklift leaked and would ruin our paver driveway we would have chosen a different delivery spot.

Desired Settlement
We would like king sod to clean the oil stains from the driveway or reimburse us for the cost.

Business' Initial Response
I have received the complaint and was surprised by customer's complaint and statement.

I received a call from Mr. ********* this past Saturday (07/20) with regards to care of his sod and if l new of a way to remove oil stain from brick payers. I gave him some solutions and referred him to the local home improvement stores. I asked him what happened and he stated that someone left oil stains on his driveway. Customer was polite and thanked me for my help.

Statement Of Facts:

1) 07/11/13- Mrs. ********* come to King Sod office to pay for and arrange delivery for pallet of sod. Customer specifies to place sod on driveway.

2) 07/12/13- Delivery of sod has been performed.

3) 07/13/13 Mr. ********* brings back empty pallet to King Sod office and makes another purchase of sod to finish his job. Note: Customer never says anything with regards to King Sod leaving oil on his driveway

4) 07/20/13- Mr. ********* calls King Sod office inquiring about sod care and oil stain removing ideas.

This complaint is the first l am hearing about oil stains caused by King Sod.

Thank You

*** **********, owner
King Sod
P.S. Copies of sales tickets have been enclosed.
Mrs. G. ticket #XXXXX,
Mr. G. ticket #XXXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When my husband returned the sod pallet on Saturday X-XX-XX he told the gentlemen in the office he had a complaint. He was told to call on Monday as the owner was not in. The man at the counter did not offer to help or take a message. My husband called on Monday and left a message. He did not receive a call back. He called back on Tuesday and spoke with the owner who told him he was busy and would call him back. He did not receive a return call. He called again on Thursday and spoke again with the owner. The owner did offer suggestions, but he also stated he was not responsibile for the damage as he had a sign hanging in the office stating so. Yes, my husband was courteous because that is how he treats people. We received poor customer service and were treated rudely by the owner and his staff. Mr. ********** is not being truthful in his response in regards to how he and his staff treated my husband, or in regards to when we notified King Sod of the issue.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/16/2005Business started: 02/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Business Tax Receipt/Lee County
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL 33901-3054
(239) 533-6000
http://www.leetc.com

Cape Coral Construction License
1015 Cultural Park Blvd
Cape Coral, FL 33990-1216
(239) 574-0430
http://www.capecoral.net/

Charlotte County Contractors License

Port Charlotte, FL 33952
(941) 743-1201

Lee County Contractors License
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL 33901-3054
(239) 533-8895

BBB records show a license number of 9701342 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Lee County. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 8489 for this company, issued by Cape Coral Construction License. Their web address is http://www.capecoral.net/.

Type: City Construction License

BBB records show a license number of AAA0011000 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of LS02-01140 for this company, issued by Lee County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 2341 for this company, issued by Cape Coral Construction License. Their web address is http://www.capecoral.net/.

Type: City Construction License

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1999, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Livingston (President)Mrs. Ilonka Livingston (Secretary/Treasurer) Camey Patton (S.W.F.L Webmaster)
Business Category

Sodding Companies, Irrigation System Equipment Suppliers

Alternate Business Names
Ken Livingston Landscaping Services, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for King Sod

977 Pondella Rd

N Fort Myers, FL 33903-3532

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 977 Pondella Rd 

    N Fort Myers, FL 33903-3532(239) 995-3286

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*King Sod is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Sodding Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.