BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2010

Gladiator Sod

Find a Location

Phone: (727) 845-6246Fax: (727) 848-16025311 State Road 54, New Port RicheyFL 34652-6014Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2010

BBB has determined that Gladiator Sod meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gladiator Sod's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Gladiator Sod

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaints with this company is I have been over-charged by being billed for more pproduct than I received.
My wife and I contracted to have sod purchased and installed in my yard at $1.00 per sq. ft. The owner of Gladiator Sod measured the area to be sodded at 700 sq. ft. and with the additional purchase of a small palm tree we agreed to $750 installed.

I remeasured the area myself and found it to be closer to 600 sq.ft. I contacted Gladiator Sod to see if we could jointly determine where the discrepancy was. All I got were reasons why I was wrong and a statement of their integrity (for the second time). I was told I would be charged for what was put down so there was no need to remeasure.

Subsequently my yard was stripped of the existing vegetation. When the sod arrived it was of lesser quality than I had seen at their establishment. When the installation was completed I was told it would be $800 because they had to put more down than was measured...750 sq.ft.; even though some of the area was eliminated due to a previously unknown layer of pavers and about 10 sq.ft around the planted tree.

I remeasured again after the job was done. My measurement even included the area around the palm tree. I got 670 sq.ft. I believe I have been overcharged.

Additionally, my dealings with the owner have been less than pleasant. Felt as though we have been treated as though we were more of a problem than a valued customer because our business is so small compared to their corporate customers and developers. I was more or less told that. We also live in a trailer park. Maybe we don't count. As an example, none of the three gentlemen who delivered and installed our sod could effectively communicate in English. When I asked "How much" one of the men wrote the number in the dust on the hood of my car. Seriously. No instructions on the care and feeding. Nothing.

I love to write positive comments about a product or service received; and often do. So it pains me to have to make this request for BBB involvement. It's been a long time since I feel I have been treated so badly.

Desired Settlement
I paid $800 for a product and service that should have cost, according to my careful measurements, $720. I would like to receive a refund for $80, based on the owners statement to me that I would pay for what was installed. However, since I signed for $750 I demand $50 minimum. Anytime Gladiator Sod would like to come and measure their work with a tape measure, not their wheel, please be my guest.

Business Response
This response was taken verbally by the BBB: We apologize for any misunderstandings or inconvenience. Are policy is that you only pay for the amount of sod that is used. In this case there was excess waste that was unaccounted for. We are mailing out a check in the amount of $50 as goodwill. Please allow 5-7 business days to receive.

Consumer Response
This response was taken verbally by the BBB: I will accept and you may close this case. Thank you

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/28/2010Business started: 01/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pasco County Business Tax Receipt
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL34654-5598
(727) 847-8165
http://www.pascotaxes.com

BBB records show a license number of 066864 for this company, issued by Pasco County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.pascotaxes.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2004, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Annette Silva (President)Ms. Katy Lucenti (Secretary)
Business Category

Sodding Companies, Property Maintenance, Lawn Installers, Landscape Maintenance Companies, Landscapers

Products & Services

This company provides sod and sodding services to residential and commercial clients.

Alternate Business Names
Gladiator Grounds Maintenance, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gladiator Sod has received 4.40 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gladiator Sod

5311 State Road 54

New Port Richey, FL 34652-6014

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 5311 State Road 54 

    New Port Richey, FL 34652-6014(727) 845-6246
    Fax: (727) 848-1602

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    111 Spring Time St 

    Spring Hill, FL 34608-7069

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gladiator Sod is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Sodding Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.