BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/18/2008

Cigars Direct, Inc.

(888) 762-8786View Additional Phone Numbers11041 Countryway Blvd., TampaFL 33626

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/18/2008

BBB has determined that Cigars Direct, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cigars Direct, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
05/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Never received merchandise, doesn't respond to emails and doesn't return telephone calls.
I ordered cigars from this merchant. My credit card records indicate I was charged in full on May 5. Since they claim Priority Mail delivery, I attempted to contact them after a few days by email. No response. I sent them another email. No response. I attempted to contact by telephone, and left them a telephone message. No response.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We refunded this order 5/21, it will take a couple business days to show up in his account.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/27/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Internet security issues after taking credit card info online.
After acdepting my credit card info online for an order I was sent an email with a text file attached that they want me to fill out with my credit card info. This is not a secured process. They say they cannot complete my order without this info. They should not be accepting credit card info online if they are unable to process it securely.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - Gen Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@cigarsdirect.com
Mr. ****** placed an order with our website and this was his first time purchasing with us. We have checks and balances in place to protect ourselves and our customers for whom the credit card belongs. What sparked a red flag was that he used his billing address but wanted the product shipped to another location. Whenever we have a first time customer shipping to another location other than the billing address we require further identification. We asked him to fill out a credit card authorization form and he refused with the above complaint. He doesn't feel he should have to do anything further because the website accepted his order but unfortunately we ****** not ship out our product until we get further cooperation. I am not sure how this merits a complaint??? We are protecting ourselves and him from possible fraud and we stand behind our checks and balances. This has nothing to do with internet security. Our Website is 100% secure but unfortunately credit card fraud still exists and if we can catch it before shipping out our product then we have done our job properly.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/31/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: I placed an online order on 7/713 with my VISA. Weeks later, I have not received the product. I requested a refund & the company is unresponsive.
On 7/713 @ 1232am, I ordered the following:
QTY 1
SKU SP-2012DAS
PRODUCT 2012 Destino al Siglo Macassar Ebony
PRICE $149.95
Subtotal: $149.95 Shipping Charges: $9.95
Total: $159.90
Your order number is: XXXXX
ORDER CODE: TSYXXXXXXXXXX

On 7/12/13 @ 909pm, I sent an email following-up to my conversation on 7/12/13 at 351pm with one of a representatives & voicemail message on 7/12/13 at 536pm at the ***# advising I'm not giving a different credit card. Since they're unable to accept VISA payments for cigars order placed from VA, please cancel my order and credit my VISA the full amount of $159.90. On 7/13/13, I called the 813# & left a message with an *************** to cancel my order & credit my VISA. As of 7/17/13, the company had not responded to my emails or voicemail.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@****************
This order was refunded on July 19th:

Order Information **********
Order History Amount State Date
Authorization 159.90 USD Jul 06 2013 09:32:38 PM
Capture 159.90 USD TRANSMITTED Jul 06 2013 09:32:38 PM
Credit 159.90 USD TRANSMITTED Jul 19 2013 09:17:33 AM

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I want it to be on record that a credit was not made by Cigarsdirect.com. I received a credit back to my account by filing an complaint through my bank for products not received. This issue is closed & **** never order from CIGARSDIRECT.com again.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/20/2008Business started: 08/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of 211999 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2005, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Ferriolo (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Juan Panesso (Customer Service Manager)
Business Category

Smoke Shops

Products & Services

This company is an online retail store selling hard to find premium cigars.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cigars Direct, Inc.

11041 Countryway Blvd.

Tampa, FL 33626

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 11041 Countryway Blvd. 

    Tampa, FL 33626

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cigars Direct, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (813) 386-3245
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Smoke Shops

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.