BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1995

Morgan Exteriors, Inc.

Phone: (813) 931-4663Fax: (813) 949-0822View Additional Phone Numbers16011 N Nebraska Ave Ste 107, LutzFL 33549-6158

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1995

BBB has determined that Morgan Exteriors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Morgan Exteriors, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
05/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Many complaints about this company. I will itemize below.#1. Salesman this was a one day SALE. Must give deposit today to lock in this price. LIAR! More they can charge the more commission they make.#2. When I said I want to get a couple of estimates,before I give a deposit. Salesman (**** Plastic) said "Dont worry we have a price match GUARANTEE if you find the same warranty in another window we will beat that price". LIAR! I got an estimate for the same windows for $2000 cheaper with the same EXACT WARANTEE! When I called **** to say I need a price match we found a cheaper price he did NOT even call me back? I again called & he said he would get back with me, but again never called back?#3. When I called again this time to the office number. Asking why NO one has called me back? They said the sales manager would call me back. LIARS!NO CALL back again? I called to ask to speak to manager again, to get price match. He said that is NOT the same window & argued with me without hearing which window I was talking about? I found out they have a special name for their window printed on it, even though same manufacturer?#4. I called back asked to speak to the owner. He was more rude then other guys? He informed me at that point that I had signed a contract that in the fine micro print it said. You have 3 days to ask for money back, or you lose all your deposit. You are too late!LIARS!I was never told about a 3 days to cancel I would have never given them any deposit. Also that is why the salesman never called me back until after 3 days had gone by!#5. When I called salesman **** back to let him know he lied to me. I was told by him quote " Hey you are a grown man & you should have read the contract before you signed it. Also if I see you again I'm gonna PUNCH you in your nose" LIARS! I told his boss Mr. ****** & he said "OHH WELL"#6. When I went down to their office & called the Police to report them. They had a tresspass ******* issued on me. Like this happens all the time. THEY ARE CROOKS!
Product_Or_Service: 4 windows
Order_Number: none
Account_Number: none

Initial Business Response
The consumer has received his full down payment refund, although per his contract, he was well past his rescission period. Knowing he was getting his full refund, Mr. advised us he would not proceed with his plans to picket, bring television reporters, and try to destroy us in the press.

As to what transpired between Mr. and the sales rep, we have no way of knowing. That sales rep is no longer in our employ because of personal family issues, however, if Mr.'s behavior with him was the same as it was when he came to our office, we doubt Mr.'s recounting is honest and true.

In our 20 years in business, we have never had to call the police to our office because of a disruption caused by a customer. Mr. was belligerent, offensive, and out of control. In current times, when seemingly normal people end up committing horrific acts, we felt is was not only necessary to call the police, but to issue a trespass order against Mr., to protect the safety of my employees.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Invalid or false contract

Complaint: We signed a contract for a new roof for our home with Morgan Ext. then found they are not licensed. We want out of the contract w/o paying 50% of pric
Oct 3,2013 we signed contract with **** **** of Morgan Exteriors,Inc for new roof and gutters for our home. Work to be delayed until December 2013.Total price $29,975 deposit $2,975. Balance to be paid in Dec. Oct.14 called Morgan, talked to **** ***** were told that if we did not go forward with contract we would have to pay 50% of the contract price and forfeit deposit. We found that Morgan Ext. does not have a roofing license, salesman **** **** assured us the company was fully licensed. We do not want this company to put a roof on our home. We want the contract cancelled and our deposit returned with no further money owed.

Initial Business Response
As we explained to Mr. ******** in the correspondence sent to him yesterday along with a refund check for his deposit, we have a partner that does our roofing and he has all the credentials and licenses required to install roofs.

Final Consumer Response

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Failure to respond and resolve issue with exposed rails on sliding glass door. Stated multiple times they would get back with us, but have not.
Purchased 12 Windows and 2 sliding glass doors. Installation was complete on 4/5/2013 and payment made that date as per contract. The promised post installation walk through with a company representative (not the installer) still has never occurred. We have contacted telephonically and via email on multiple occasions because one of the sliding glass door is not as described. It has a lip with sticks up above the existing floor and the rails are fully exposed over the entire length of the door. Requested that something be done to mitigate the lip of the door so that it isn't a trip hazard and cover as much of the rails as possible so that it isn't a dirt trap.

We initially contacted them on 4/29 and were promised a follow up. We have contacted them multiple times since and other than getting ***** ****** on the phone once, we have heard back from them. One the one phone call he didn't do anything, but promised to follow up with us. When talking to their receptionist we hear: "Oh, didn't they get back with you", "They should have gotten back with you by now", "He said he was going to talk to you". We have not been provided any plan to resolve or offered any alternatives. By their own estimations were weren't a small job over 18 thousand, and we had even initially talked about follow on work and yet absolutely no customer service follow up.

Initial Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We had to find a special order part to accommodate the customer's complaint. She was not satisfied with the way the door track felt on her feet. This is not a contract issue but we were able to find a part from the manufacture to resolve her concern. We left a message for her last week to advise the part is being special made for her door and we will call her when it arrives to schedule the service. It could take 2-3 weeks for the part to be made.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As stated in the original description of the complaint we sent numerous emails with photos and left phone messages with their receptionist. During this entire process we had only one "direct contact" with a company representative, other than a receptionist, prior to the complaint. That person repeatedly failed to follow-up even after receiving numerous emails and phone messages. Since the complaint the only direct contact was to schedule the installation which still hasn't taken place. At the moment ****** plans on installing a strip next Friday which we haven't seen to know if it resolves the issue with the rails. I stress rails, because two rails need to be covered. ******'s characterization of stating that they have maintained contact and have tried to resolve this incident without the intervention of the BBB is without merit when weighted against the facts. We have email, and phone records to support our case. The installation was completed on 4/5/2013, we tried for over 3 months to resolve the issue(s) before we contacted the BBB. Our first contact (phone message) offering to provide any resolution was a week after the complaint was filed.

The only resolution they offer is to cover the rails, which their sales person stated would be covered during the sales presentation. The trip hazard will continue to exist after they "make their repairs". Even after their repairs the door will still rise nearly 3/4 of an inch above the surface of the floor on the inside, creating a trip hazard. The trip hazard does not exist on the other sliding glass door, why does it exist on this one (and the other door has covered rails)? This was a custom build door for the opening, at least that is how it was described by their sales person. The door cost us somewhere between XXXX - XXXX dollars. Today's doors have high sill risers to reduce the potential for flooding and driven rain. No where in any of today's standards does it state that the sill must extend 3/4 of an inch above the inside floor. If it did then the other door is not in compliance, because it is flush mounted to the height of the inside floor. Removing a little bit of concrete below the door during the installation could have significantly mitigated the trip hazard and created the custom fit/designed door we expected. We understand now why when completing the job that door was the very last thing that was done.

They still haven't installed/repaired anything, so the issue is not resolved.

Final Business Response
This customer has been contacted (prior to receiving this complaint) and is scheduled for the installation of the custom made apparatus.This part was made to appease the customer because she said her grandchildren's feet hurt when walking on the door track. We had this part made custom at NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE. We are unsure of the reason for the complaint since we have been in touch with them through out and called them as soon as we received the part. With regards to the "trip hazard" ALL sliding glass doors MUST meet the new building codes which includes high design pressures. To meet the new building codes ALL sliding glass doors MUST have a high sill riser to keep wind driven rain out of the structure. This is the "Trip hazard" the customer is speaking of. We hope that this part will make the customer happy.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of repair

Complaint: Company damaged my property while attempting to perform work - promise to make things whole again left unfulfilled since May 2012.
We have been attempting to get this resolved by ****** Exteriors for several months with no resolution in sight.

We received a quote and signed off on work on March 5, 2012 to modify an existing window into a door, and to move the window to a new location. This meant that we'd basically be cutting into our block/concrete home to fit and place a door, removing the window, and cutting a new hole for the window to be fitted into. We agreed this would be a 6+ week lead time before the work was done. Work was started in May 2012.

There was some initial confusion about the work, as the sub-contractor / employee sent by ****** Exteriors was not aware he'd have to cut into block/concrete, and seemed to be confused or unsure of the work to perform. Upon our quote, we were promised by ****** Exteriors that protective covering would be used to prevent any dust from the concrete from entering our pool area - right next to the work being done, as well as protection from the elements. Again, the sub-contractor / employee sent by ****** Exteriors was unsure of this.

Two days later, the sub-contractor / employee comes back to start the job, this includes putting up some plastic sheeting to prevent dust from entering the pool area. While attempting to put this protection in place, he placed a hole in our roof, smashed the existing stucco/concrete/block in the area, and chipped paint. This was not told to us until we called ****** Exteriors and we informed ****** Exteriors that we had video surveillance around the house, at which time they admitted fault, promising to do "whatever it took to make it right."

We informed ****** Exteriors that even after this, we'd like the work done, but by someone who was more capable. I was told that the owner would call back. Before I even spoke to ****** Exteriors, the City of Temple Terrace Code Compliance came by to inform me that ****** Exteriors requested that the permits be cancelled for this job, as they were no longer going to do this job; this prompted me to call ****** Exteriors again to ask what was happening. ****** Exteriors (****** ******) informed us that they were too busy, and if the person that previously caused damage was not allowed to continue their work, then they were going to simply cancel the contract.

To this date, we have made multiple calls and sent multiple letters to ****** ****** / ****** Exteriors to resolve the issue. On their end, it consisted of having 2 people look at the damage, not to be heard of again until we make another call or send another letter. Perhaps they're too busy - their excuse for cancelling our contract -
but they have yet to fix the damage they caused.

I am still waiting for ****** Exteriors to "make it right". Videos of the actions performed by ****** Exteriors as well as video and pictures of the aftermath is available.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We agree there was an issue on this job. We dropped the ball but we will make it right. The owner spoke with the customer this morning and offered to reimburse for the damage. The customer is getting estimate and we will review it and hopefully resolve it this week.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business and wishes to inform the business of this)
Awaiting follow-up visit with ****** Exteriors to complete final stucco/structure work and paint. ****** did visit the week of March 6th, and awaiting date of next visit to complete work to satisfaction.

Business' Final Response
Our office spoke with the customer to let them know that our crew will be there later this week when they finish the job they are on. Wednesday or Thursday (02/27/13 or 02/28/13). We look forward to satisfying this customer.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: A contract not in force that they would not cancel. harassment my by attorneys threatening to sue.
Around april 12th 2013 Morgan exteriors offered a contract for windows. we put down a deposit. The next day they said they had to add wind shutters at an additional cost of around 1800 dollars. We immediately canceled the now void contract and asked for a refund. About 7 weeks later they said your windows are in we are going to instal them. my wife and I explained to them the contract was invalid, cancelled and otherwise null and void. Days later lawyers started calling us and threatening us with lawsuits. Big names like *** ****** himself called from a huge law firm. I have never had business with such a corrupt business. Morgan Exteriors went so far as to put a lien on our home for 11,070 on July 1st 2013 with the cler of the circuit court of Hillsborough county. I'm asking that BBB helps solve this us solve this issue. We have sought legal advise but don't believe it should come to that.

Initial Business Response
The contract was signed by both Mr. and Mrs. ******* on 4/10/13. Directly below their signature, is a sentence advising them of the required procedures for the cancellation of the contract, which can be found on the back of the contract. The paragraph reads:

BUYERS RIGHT TO CANCEL: This is a home solicitation sale, and if you do not want the
goods or services, you may cancel this agreement by providing written notice to the
Seller in person, by telegram, or mail. This notice must indicate that you do not want
the goods or services, and must be delivered or postmarked before midnight of the
third business day after you sign this agreement. If you cancel this agreement, the
Seller may keep all or part of any cash down payment, not to exceed the lesser of
10 percent of the cash, or $250.00.

Additionally, line 5 on the front of the contract which both Mr. and Mrs. ******* signed reads:

Customer agrees that if Morgan Exteriors, Inc., meets all terms of sales contract
and customer cancels sales contract post 3 day recission period, customer will pay
50% of contract price as damages. This applies to all sales, both cash and/or financed.

As previously stated, the contract was signed on 4/10/13. On 4/11/13 the down payment was charged to the credit card number given to us by **** ** *******. On 4/12/13, our installer went to the ******* residence, per previous arrangements he made with them, and completed the final measures for the windows Mr. and Mrs. ******* had purchased. At no time did we receive a written notice of cancellation from Mr. and Mrs. *******.

We left several messages for the Zernicks. We wanted to explain to them that the shutters were included in their contract price, but the ******** would not return our calls. The windows Mr. and Mrs. ******* had purchased came in, and we wanted to schedule the installation. The Zernicks told us they had cancelled their contract. We tried to explain procedures to them, but they simply didn't want to hear it. We are a business and in order to protect ourselves, we asked our attorney to contact them. It is unfortunate that they felt threatened, but we did try to resolve the issue without getting our attorney involved. When the ********* continued to deny they had a contract, and refused our efforts to resolve this issue, we took the only legal avenue left to us, and that was to lien the ******* property.

We are hopeful this matter can be resolved without Morgan Exteriors, Inc. having to take any further legal action.

Thank you.
**** ** ******
President



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We had an agreement on 4/10/13, we signed a contract and put a deposit down. We called Hillsborough County Building Code Department to make sure we didn't have to pull a permit. They said that's the contractors responsibility, but make sure that hurricane shutters or hurricane windows were in the contract. We didnt want hurricane shutters and couldnt afford hurricane proof windows. We immediately contacted Morgan Exteriors and arranged a meeting at our home on 4/12/13 to tell them what happened. They explained to us that they overlooked the fact that the wind zone expanded miles further from the coast on to our property. This just happend in the last year. At that time we mutually agreed to cancel the contract and create a valid one with the corrected adjusted hurricane code. Therefore, the agreement we had was null and void, and cancelled within less than 3 days. They agreed to refund our deposit. They gave numerous prices over the phone but would not put it on a new contract. We never received our deposit, so we called. Finally, we received a call from the owner **** ******. He said your windows are in and we are going to install them. At this point we felt extremly threatened. We talked to a Hillsborough County Sheriff officer, and he said if they show up on your property, ask them to leave, if they don't call 911. Then the ****** law firm started calling us trying to intimidate us saying they are going to sue us. That firm is one of the biggest Law firms in Tampa ,*** ****** himself called. Then just when we thought we had the worse contractor experience of a lifetime,and we would never see our deposit back, Morgan Exteriors and their law firm attached a Lien on our home for $11,070. The legal advise we received was to inform BBB of our experience, then a formal complaint with D.B.P.R., contact the State Attorneys Office, write your Congressman, or just hire an attorney and seek damages. All that we wanted were 10 windows! We are just a married couple with a 9 year child, and now we have a contractor trying to take ownership of our home. We ask for help but not just for ourselves, but, the unknown others that can be victamized by Morgan Exteriors.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/11/1995Business started: 02/11/1995
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

Sarasota County Contractor's License

Sarasota, FL34231
(941) 378-6126

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of CRC057210 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CRC057210 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 228188 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of I-CRC057210 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CRC057210 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of TC4488 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Telemarketing License

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1995, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kirk Morgan (Treasurer)Ms Cheryl Morgan (Secretary)
Business Category

Siding Contractors, Window Companies, Door Installers, Window Installation Companies, Painters

Products & Services

This company offers exterior home improvements. They sell and install energy efficient windows and siding and hurricane windows.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Morgan Exteriors, Inc.

16011 N Nebraska Ave Ste 107

Lutz, FL 33549-6158

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 16011 N Nebraska Ave Ste 107 

    Lutz, FL 33549-6158(813) 931-4663

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Morgan Exteriors, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 502-5300
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Siding Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.