BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/02/2005

Hurricane Safe Shutters, Inc.

Phone: (239) 275-8844Fax: (239) 226-4111

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
07/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: ******'s presentation and sales pitch was great BUT late delivery and inaccurate. Slow to resolve issues.
Ordered 3 clamshell awnings. 2 different men measured. Shutters arrived and 2 did not fit. Our neighbors were waiting to handle the project and final pymt. Prior to their departure the end of May. I spoke with one of the office staff to let them know the time frame and was told "they could not be rushed and every spring it's the same" a large number of orders and folks going back north. Hurricane Shutters did not call my second neighbor to take on the order and just showed up. No one to check working order of shutters or give final pymt.

Initial Business Response
Regretfully, a mistake was made in the measurements of one opening. The process to remake the clam-shell shutter is rather timely. Unfortunately, there is no way to rush the process. We sincerely apologize to our customer and have reached out to her in a private forum with an offer of resolution. We have always, and will continue to, strive to provide the best possible service to our customers.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes, they personally called. The owner wanted to argue that the shutters WERE delivered on time and even though I was told that everything was made 'in house' they must outsource part of the manufacturing. He further stated than one or more office staff were fired for being rude to me. He stated one awning was mismeasured when it was two! He offered (a $300 value) to extend the service warranty from 5-10 yearsI may have moved or be dead by then! Finally, Hurricane Safe Shutters sent a man who knew nothing about this situation, had no paperwork, and was notified 15 mins. PRIOR TO THE SCHEDULED APPT. to finalize this service issue and collect the check written 2 months prior. Very frustrating and disappointing.They are paid in full.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: We were told that the permit & pictures would be at our house on Monday May 19th & we've been calling since then with promises of getting them to us.
As stated, We still have no pictures for the permit to be completed & called the office & they said we were scheduled for June 19th to be inspected. Well that didn't happen & we had to hang the curtains up as we still have no pictures that were to be with the permit & they never scheduled with the city of Cape Coral. Now I'm still waiting for it to be scheduled to pass permitting. No customer service & they laughed at us on the phone when we tried to be nice to get this resolved. Now we are very upset with no end in site. Our hands are tied as we paid in full in good faith. Never again. We just want the shades to be inspected & get on with our lives.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Owner
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *********@gmail.com
We are very sorry that there was many miscommunications in the office....we are trying to make sure this does not happen again. I know its difficult to feel like you not being listened too from a business. It can be very frustrating. We will do everything in our power to get this resolved as quickly s possible to the customers satisfaction. I personally called the customer myself to apologize but I think thats too late. i am working with my office to get this taken care of 100 percent. Again sorry for the communication failure. Regards. ****** ******. Owner

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/23/2011Problems with Product / Service
07/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Hurricane Safe Shutters will not align roll down shutters

Told me inspection was scheduled for 06/11, but failed to schedule with city of Cape Coral
I had rolldown and accordion hurricane shutters installed at my residence 4/23/13.

On 4/29 I contacted HSS that the rolldown shutters needed aligned and that my neighbor was scheduled to have his installed the next week, so maybe they could save a trip. The following week, *****, the installer said that they didn't have time that day, but that they would get to them.

I waited several weeks with no response and called back to schedule the alignment and city inspection. ******* told me *****'s wife was ill and they would call back to schedule the alignment, but that they would go ahead and schedule the inspection for 6/11.

I took that day off work but an inspector never came to the house. The following day I stopped at city hall to check on the inspection and I was told that HSS had not scheduled the inspection.

I called back ******* @ HSS on 6/12 to advise them that they failed to scheduled the inspection and nobody had ever called to schedule the alignment either. I asked that ****** (owner/salesman) contact me.

Today is 6/19 and to date, I have not received a call from ****** or a call to schedule my roll down alignment.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********************************
On 6/22/13, prior to our knowledge of the complaint, our lead installer made the necessary adjustments to the ******'s shutters so that they were aligned properly. As was explained to Mr. ******, it is not our policy to schedule a final inspection until all work has been completed and the shutters meet in appearance as well as function our quality standards. When Mr. ****** was contacted following these adjustments he stated that he would schedule the final inspection with the governing municipality himself, which as of this writing has not been done. We are very apologetic for the misunderstanding and would like to continue serving Mr. ******'s needs.

Consumer's Final Response
HSS did finally come to adjust the shutters after 2 months although they claimed filing the complaint had nothing to do with it. When I talked to******** at the office about the inspection, she said that she forgot to call the city for it and I would have to take another day off from work for the inspection. She also said that they would not reimburse me for my wasted day off. I wanted to speak to the owner ****** as their yellow page ad states "Deal directly with ****** the owner". She said that he's out of the country for 9 months and can't be reached. I remain very dissatisfied with them.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.