BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2011

American Senior Services, Inc.

Phone: (888) 245-9001Fax: (727) 443-29395051 66th St N, Saint PetersburgFL 33709-3119View Additional Web AddressesFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides senior services including arranging for homemakers, companions, concierge, transportation, shopping, mobility, housekeeping, cleaning, bathing, and other non-medical needs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2011

BBB has determined that American Senior Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Senior Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Senior Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
11/01/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Taking advantage of the elderly. Company has withdrawn two withdrawls from a joint checking account for a total of $4,250.50 over a two year span.
Not sure of original date. My grandmother, ******** ****** was somehow talked into enrolling and submitting a routing number linked to myself and her checking account. NO services have been provided. I am not even sure what this company offers for services? We live in ****** **** Nevada 3,000 miles away from Florida. I contacted the company on Thursday 12-12-13 at approximately 8am eastern time. I spoke with someone named ***** ******* She said that her computer was giving her problems and promised me that someone would call me back that day. I explained the problem to her and she would not even discuss with me anything about the company or the withdrawls from the account even though I am on the checking account. Absolutely no services have been provided for my grandmother what so ever!!! I have power of attorney for my grandmother and they wanted me to provide them. I explained to her that I am on the account so her company is taking money form me, and that gives me the right to inquire about the withdrawls from my account. Then she told me about her computer problems and assured me that they would be contacting me that day. No call has come and now this is where I am at. I am not giving out power of attorney information to a company that wont even tell me what there company is about. My grandmother suffers from damentia and must have been talked into something on the phone. I have bank records of the two withdrawls from our account from the bank. The money was taken out 0n April 30, 2012 and again on April 30, 2013. I did not realize this was going on because up until this year, my grandmother has lived by herself. Now I have power of attorney and noticed the mess she is in. My grandmother is 84 and was 83 at time of the first withdrawl. Her hearing is very poor and like I said she has damentia. This company somehow convinced her to sign up for something she or I have no knowledge to. My name is ****** ****** and my grandmother now lives with me and I care take for her as I am on FMLA to help her. I want to turn this matter over to you because I am sure that this is classic taking advantage of the elderly!!!!

Desired Settlement
I want the monies replaced back into our bank account and this company served notice that they cannot take advantage of the elderly and get away with it. If I did not get power of attorney this practice would go on for even more years undetected because my grandmothers faculties are not sharp enough for her even to notice. This is a travesty that companies can call and take advantage of the elderly. They are targeted by there ages and chosen like prey!!!

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We have asked the grandson to please supply information to show he has power of attorney for his grandmother. Once received we will happy to discuss the issue in his dispute in detail.

Final Consumer Response
I did not respond to Mr. ****** because I did not wan't to get into a heated exchange. I instead contacted the BBB to assist myself and my Grandmother. I would like the agent in Nevada who obtained my Grandmothers signature to please contact me if possible. The questions that I have to be considered by said company are as follows. 1. Has my Grandmother taken advantage of the services that the company provides? If so, who came out to help her and when? 2. Upon asking my Grandmother of her knowledge of the company, she denies all knowledge of the company and services that they provide. True, someone obtained her signature but she obviously does not understand what she signed. She lived alone at time of signing and was 82 years of age when signing. My Grandmother has damentia and most of the time doesn't even know what day it is unless I tell her what day it is. In other words, anyone could get her to sign anything. 3. I am joint owner of said account that monies were withdrawn from. Why wasn't my
signature required to collect money from our account? The account is not ******** ****** "or" ****** ******* It is ******** ****** ****** ******* I was not privy to the bank statement being sent to my Grandmothers address because I did not reside with her. It was not until I was granted power of attorney that the statements arrived at my address. Obviously I would have protested years ago to charges to our account. 4. A contract has 2 parts. The client agrees to pay for provided services. The company then provides those services. NOTHING was provided or utilized by ******** ******. If my Grandmother understood what the company provided, don't you think that she would have taken advantage of those services if she is paying $2,150.00 annually? Do you think she would just give the company the money with nothing in return? Obviously not. 5. If I would not have noticed the charges on the account, this would have gone on for years. That is not a company trying to provide care for my Grandmother, in my eyes, that is a company taking advantage of my Grandmother. Slander are false statements and or accusations. Stating the fact that no services were used by my Grandmother during the duration of this contract are fact. No one in there right state of mind would "give " a company thousands of dollars a year for services not rendered. ******** not utilizing the services proves that she did and to this day does not understand what she signed for. I will seek out an advocate for the elderly attorney ***** ***** here in ****** **** to further look into this matter if the monies are not reimbursed to the account. Getting a signature on a contract from an 82 year old person with onset stages of damentia is the equivalent of entering a contract with a juvenile. They just do not understand what they are doing or to what extent they are signing.


Final Business Response
We have submitted our response with documentation for this case already. We stand fast on the decision of not refunding because we have not violated our contractual responsibilities. Mr. ********* signature was not required at the time of sale because his name was not on the ********'s checking account. He was not made her Power of Attorney until 2 years after the contract was signed. ********'s contract was signed on 5/11/2011 as noted previously. However, the Power of Attorney was not signed until July 11th 2013 with a request to have the effective date begin June 12th 2013.

Mr. ****** stated that no services were provided, which is correct. ******** never requested services. If she had, we would have fulfilled her request and provided the services. Should Mr. ****** choose to obtain ***** ******* services, please have her contact our office and we will forward her contact information to our legal team.


Finally, Mr. ****** has reached out to Mr. ****** several times unsuccessfully.


Respectfully,

**** ***

12/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They 'sold' this service contract to a 90 1/2 year old. They made it sound like this could help her stay in her home and not be a burden on family. But she had a mini stroke and moved into Assisted living, using her Long Term Insurance.The policy MUST be used within a year or you lose those benefits, the benefits do not accumulate. She does not need these benefits in her assisted living community.They are praying on the elderly!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product_Or_Service: home care companionship

Desired Settlement
She paid 125.00 per month for 19 months. This is a ripoff company for a person of that age.

Business Response
After reading the complaint ***** ***** submitted and researching our member's application contract; we find that *****'s claims are without merit. I do not know how ***** came to misunderstand member's benefit process and procedure. Our business is with senior citizens like ****** ********** Our member base is 80 and 90 year olds. ***** is making false accusations and is trying to obtain a refund she is not legally or contractually entitled to. I have attached our member's documents for you to review. You will see for yourself that *****'s complaint is not justified.

Please visit our website www.truefreedomhomecare.com and click on the testimonial link and read how many happy senior customers we have across the country. Our attorney is currently working with ****** ********* and her family to resolve this matter. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.


Sincerely,

****


Final Consumer Response
No I am NOT SATISIFIED with the company's response


The contract is a 1 page front and back document that does not state exactly what and what is not covered. It just says The services provided are of a non-medical nature. Where are the specific's for the client to understand what is or is not covered. I feel that this company does not represent to the client the pro's and con's of this service. As long as things are verbal who knows what is said. They target 80-90 year olds and I don't believe that is right. It says on the contract that it is a service contract not insurance, but who in their right mind would sign up for something that they may or may not need within a year's time frame. If they don't use it they lose it.
According to their comments they were contacting ******'s family Our attorney is currently working with ****** ********* and her family to resolve this matter. But ** had no information other than the cancellation letter that she received this week. We would prefer however that you contact ***** ***** or ****** ********* per ******'s letter which is attached.

I can send the rest of the pages of the POA if necessary. Please let me know.


Final Business Response
Our member had completed and signed our Customer Survey Report, in her own handwriting, stating that everything was explained to her in full and she understood the benefits and terms & conditions. I have attached another copy for your review.

On 10/14/2013 ***** called and spoke with our benefits coordinator who explained what the benefits we provide. On 10/29/2013 ***** requested that we send a copy of ******'s contract. We sent a copy of the contract along with a complete brochure which clearly lists the benefits on page 3.

On 11/11/2013 we requested a copy of the Power of Attorney after we received a cancellation letter dated 11/5/2013 signed by Loreen Quilligan. The letter states she is the Power of Attorney. We never received a copy of the POA. The only copy we have is the one you submitted which is incomplete as it does not have any signatures, dates and a notary seal.

******'s family has made the same false allegations to other agencies who did not find them creditable.

As you can see we have done our very best in explaining our benefits to ****** and her family. We feel ***** is using the BBB to try to obtain a refund that our member is not legally or contractually entitled to.

Sincerely,

****

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/29/2009Business started: 02/13/2008
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2008, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert N. "Bob" Doolan (Director/Owner)Mr. Robert D. Gross (Director)
Business Category

Senior Service Specialists, Concierges, Senior Care Information and Resources, Senior Housing/Living, Senior Home Care, Senior Service Organizations, Concierge Service, Senior Companion Service (Custodial Care)

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Senior Services, Inc.

5051 66th St N

Saint Petersburg, FL 33709-3119

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5051 66th St N 

    Saint Petersburg, FL 33709-3119

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Senior Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Senior Service Specialists

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.