BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/04/2016

Seed World USA

Phone: (813) 540-7777Fax: (813) 443-8268View Additional Phone Numbers6881 Lutz Lake Fern Rd, OdessaFL 33556-4103View Additional Web AddressesFacebookTwitterGoogle+Pinterest

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company wholesales, retail and etail, lawn and garden products including seed, bulbs, fertilizers, nutrients and more.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/04/2016

BBB has determined that Seed World USA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Seed World USA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • 6 complaints filed against business

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Seed World USA

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
11/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
using SUSPEND-SC was of no value. This product does not take care of outside perimeter, nor does it take care of inside of home.
we had been using Viper for years, never had a problem inside out out, but this product actually brought them in out home.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $43.78 which is what I wasted on this product to take care of roaches which is a definite problem in Arizona.

Business Response
Hello ******* ******,

We are sorry to hear that the Bayer Suspend SC you used did not work for you, as a jester of good faith we are offering an exchange for the Viper which you have suggested worked for you in the past...
Hopefully you find this an amiable solution...

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance..

Kindest regards,

***** *****
Seed World USA
**** **** ***
Tampa, FL XXXXX

10/05/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed an order on June 20, 2015 - have not gotten it or a response from multiple emails to the company. Also called many times but nobody answers.
Placed order number **** on June 20, 2015 for Frontline type product for my dogs. The order indicated it would be a 7 day ground shipment. I took into consideration it may take a few days for the order to process before shipping so after about 2 weeks, I emailed them. No response. I followed up with multiple other emails - again, no response. I also tried calling many times but there was never an answer to either number listed on their site. I paid through PayPal and also logged a complaint through them because I am not out of the money they charged me and without the product I ordered. They also claim on their site they are accredited through the BBB, but on the BBB site, it says they are not. This company has turned out to be a very shady and unethical organization that needs to be investigated and corrected.

Desired Settlement
I expect an immediate refund and explanation of why I did not get my order. I also expect to get an explanation of the absolutely poor customer service of no response to email and not answering their phone.

Business Response
Hello,

Tracking is showing as lost package, we are open to a full refund or a replacement...

Kindest Regards,
Shane

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am fine with a refund but I still want to know why it took so long to respond. Why do they not answer the phone or emails from customers?

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Not satisfied with their response. Did not address my concerns or complaint.

09/14/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
$110 order placed 10 days ago. Fedex shipping label created by Seed World, but items never shipped, according to Fedex tracking.
After 10 days, nothing has been shipped through Fedex. There is a tracking number, but Fedex says the package was never dropped off for delivery. I have tried to call Seed World regarding the issue, but there is no answer, and the messages are full. I have tried to contact them twice via email in the last week, with no replies. This is horrible customer service, and as a business owner myself, I can't imagine making a customer wait more than an hour for a reply, let alone a week.

Desired Settlement
Maybe a discount on this order, but I'd really just like to see the company act like a real business.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** GM
Contact Phone:*************
Contact Email: ******************
Good Day,

Our first package got damaged during transit by the carrier,a replacement was sent and also a full refund was granted...

Apologies to the customer for the inconvenience...

Kindest Regards,
*****

09/14/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was never sent the 25lb bag of chufa seed I paid for. Seed eorld sent me an email with a USPS tracking code and the false message it had been sent.
I bought the product using a credit card on seed world's secure website on 1/1/2015. On 1/2/2015 i received an email from seed world that my order had shipped with a tracking number and 1/15/2015 expected date of delivery. When it had not arrived i called contact number that transfered me to a different number. I also emailed seedworld and never got reply. I called USPS who explained the tracking number was generated automatically upon creation of the shipping label however no pickup/delivery was ever ordered. I have begun a fraud dispute through my credit card company

Desired Settlement
Return of my money and a fee and Penalties levied on them for fraudulent business practices and theft

Business Response
Hello,

Original package was damaged during transit, a replacement was sent and received...

Best Regards,
Shane

Final Consumer Response
My credit card company stopped payment and two weeks later I received the item shipped two day rush from Seed World. They never did answer my emails or return my phone calls to explain what happened.

08/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sent the wrong type of grass seed from what was ordered. The grass seed is also dried out and not fresh.
Order date: 6/20/15
Order received: 6/24/15
Problem date: 6/25/15
Contact company:6/25/15
Product ordered: Rebels tall fescue grass seed
Order #: ****
Payment amount: $53.78 VISA / DEBIT CARD

Desired Settlement
I was send the wrong grass seed from what I ordered. This is my second order so I needed to match the seed from my first order.
The seed received on this order is dried out and does not meet the "fresh seed guarantee" listed on the companys website. I called the company and spoke to a man that said he would handle the following day and issue an RMA to return and exchange the seed. I never received the RMA and the company has not responded to several emails and phone messages left by me for them.

Business Response
Will send the correct seed or give him a full refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I tried many times via unanswered phone calls and emails to resolve this issue with the vendor. All I wanted was to get the correct product that I ordered.
I had to resort to filing a complaint with the BBB to get a reply from Seedworld USA which took almost a month. I no longer wish to do business with this company and request a full refund of $53.78.

Final Consumer Response
I just received an email that my claim with PayPal was decided in my favor against Seedworld USA and PayPal recovered my full purchase amount. I had not heard from Seedworld since my purchase regarding this incorrect order. I believe the only reason he responded was due to my claim though you, the BBB. I am still unsatisfied with Seedworlds business practices but satisfied after filing claims that I got my money back.
How can I express my satisfaction with my reovered funds but my dissatisfaction with Seedworlds business practices to warn future customers. Close it with "no", not satisfied and include similar comments above?
Thank you for you assistance in the matter, **** ******

12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On August 31, 2012,I purchased 25 lb bag of of your Compadre Zoysia grass seed. As a chemist at MIT, the soil was correct. As of 10/2013, no grass
The company is SeedWorld. I purchased 25 lbs of Compadre Zoysia Grass Seed at $700.00 on 8/31/12 and to date no grass(10/02/13).
The response I got from them is
"Hello,
These seed are tested by and certified before sale do yo have the label so i can send it to the manufacturer for more info...
hope this helps,Best ************* ***** Seed World USA, **** **** *** Tampa, FL XXXXX. XXX-XXX-XXXX"

There product was a bad lot and it is an embarrassment in my neighborhood. I have repeatedly contacted them to no avail.

I am a chemist (MS degree) at MIT in MA and I do know how to test soil, etc. The product was a bad lot and I have pictures. I sent to them during the spring (2103) and still no response or refund.

I had spoke with another person:
***** ******
Customer Service Specialist
Office # ************* ******
American Landscape LLC and she told me that it should have spouted in September 2012.

To date, seedworld has made no attempt to refund me.

Desired Settlement
The full amount of the purchase price

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The seed was purchased Aug 2012. Everything was tested and the customer must not have followed the procedure to have the seed established. The manufacture tested the lot and they are certified by the State. Not only that but this is the top selling seed and there have been no other issues with it. Plus the customer is contacting us far outside of any reasonable time frame to complain. We give our customers up to 45 days to complain about an issue. There are many different factors that could have caused the seed not to grow such as irrigation or failure to germicide.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The seed was put down in September 2012 and no grass was noted in the yard in October and early November.
As a chemist at MIT, I do know about soil testing, preparing it for seed, and following directions, etc. In April and May 2013 no seedlings were seen and I showed them pictures of the grass seed. The soil was irrigated and I have receipts for doing so.
I spoke with several sellers of this product and they said it is a disgrace that the Company is doing this.
It was a bad seed lot, and I was told that they would investigate this. I never heard back until I called them and finally talked with a ***** ***** and here is his response:
Dear ********
Hello,

These seed are tested by and certified before sale do yo have the label so i can send it to the manufacturer for more info...

hope this helps,
Best regards,
***** *****
Seed World USA
**** **** ***
Tampa, FL XXXXX

I spoke with another grass seed specialist that sells this product and she said the grass should have sprouted in early October 2012. Even she said it was a bad lot. Here is her contact:

***** ******
Customer Service Specialist
Office # ************* ******
Cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX
***********@cuttingedgegrass.com
************************
*********** *** *********** ****** ***
3 **** **** ***
Palm Coast, FL XXXXX

So it is a disgrace and an insult that Seed World is questioning a chemist.

I will attach the photos I have


Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/2010Business started: 01/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL 33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of 246866 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2009, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shane D. Dibbs (President)
Business Category

Seeds Bulbs Retailers, Online Shopping Sites, Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Fertilizer Suppliers, Wholesale Seeds Bulbs Companies, Nurseries - Plants, Trees

Alternate Business Names
Dibbs Farms, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Seed World USA

6881 Lutz Lake Fern Rd

Odessa, FL 33556-4103

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6881 Lutz Lake Fern Rd 

    Odessa, FL 33556-4103(813) 283-0267
    (813) 540-7777

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Seed World USA is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (813) 283-0267
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Seeds Bulbs Retailers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.