BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/08/2009

Hancock Seed Company

Phone: (352) 567-6971Fax: (352) 567-0801View Additional Phone Numbers18724 Hancock Farm Rd, Dade CityFL 33523-0677Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/08/2009

BBB has determined that Hancock Seed Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hancock Seed Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Hancock Seed Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
08/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The augentina Bahia seed is sterile and won't tried two different Times and followed directions. Emailed companyn dealt with Jamie R. to no avail.
Seed is no good email from Miss R. states that this seed is very difficult to grow, but they don't disclose that on thier website. Bought this seed from the company prior to this order and didn't have difficulty growing it.

Desired Settlement
Refund of $190.00 or exchange

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Jamie ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@hancockseed.com
Although not extremely common, at times we do see customers struggling with establishing Bahia grass. This variety is not as easy to start from seed as many others. Bahia takes TLC, especially during the first 30 day germination stage. Hancock Seed Company offers a planting guide to our customers and we are very happy to assist our customers and try to decipher what there problems might be by coming up with a solution that is acceptable for all. I did communicate this with Mr.****** and tried to help with questions and suggestions. We were communicating via email.

Hancock Seed company has FRESH harvested Argentine Bahia that we would like to offer to Mr. ****** as a replacement, free of charge.

Mr. ****** is a returning and valued customer and we would like to do what is tight to make him happy.


Consumer Response

01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased zenith zoysia seed in April 2014. Planted in may 2014. Seed has never germinated after constant hot summertime watering. Seeking refund.$
The seed in question is zenith zoysia seed. I purchased in April 2014 and planted in May 2014.. Prior to spot planting, I cultivated, limed and fertilized soil to proper ph level. Following seed spot planting, I lightly covered with top soil. I supplemented my zenith seeding with an additional seed in order to cover lawn more thoroughly. Once seed was in place. I kept soil moist constantly throughout the hot summer months. A common factor with zoysia grass is that it Browns during the late fall and all winter months. It is now late November and I have no browning of my lawn. This means I have no zoysia growth and that the seed never germinated. Only the supplemental seed germinated and grew. I have kept in touch with ***** at Hancock seed. I paid $150.00 for the seed with my Amex card

Desired Settlement
I am seeking either a full refund of $150.00 or zoysia plugs equaling the value of my refund. That seems more than fair. I'm not very confident with the zenith zoysia though.

Business Response
My name is ***** and I am on the sales staff at ******* Seed Co. I am the employee that has recently had the verbal interactions with Mr. *******. When Mr. ******* first called he indicated that his Zenith Zoysia did not germinate, and he knew that it did not germinate as it did not turn brown yet in MO. However, upon further conversation, Mr. ******* also indicated that he later (after planting the Zoysia) when to ****** or ********** and purchased additional seed, and was not certain on the variety. Having said all that, it is very difficult for ******* Seed Co to analyze the situation as Mr. ******* indicated that there was growth of some kind of the zenith, then he seeded with additional seeds (unknown variety), and the fact his lawn is not brown is indicative that the Zenith did not germinate, according to Mr. *******.

Mr. ******* appears to have also treated his soil with lime and fertilizer. However, I am not certain if a soil test was performed prior to seeding as Zoysia is sensitive to pH. So it is important to know what level your pH is prior to putting lime down. Also, I am not certain what kind of fertilizer Mr. ******* used, however, some fertilizers can be very harmful and can potentially kill grass seed. Therefore, this information is important as well.

I recommended that Mr. ******* contact ****** Seed Company, who is the harvester of Zenith Zoysia. During our last conversation, Mr. ******* indicated that he would do that, but was not confident what they would be able to do for him. I also requested a Lot# on the seed that was sold to Mr. ******* in effort to obtain a seed test. However, the packaging had already been discarded.

I am hopeful that there is a resolution to this issue. I spent a lot of time on the phone with Mr. ******* in effort to assist him. The seed that was sold to him was good seed, and there has been no other complaints on this variety. We simply cannot control the environment which the seed is placed in, how it is maintained, and the overall soil conditions.

Please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX or *****@hancockseed.com with any further questions.

Thank you *****,

*****

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I stand by my original complaint and I believe the company is passing the blame by saying I need to call the supplier to get a seed test. I bought the seed from them and it did not grow. I would be willing to accept $150 worth of Zoysia plugs next season to make up for the grass seed that didn't grow.

Final Business Response
Hancock Seed Co. has selected to offer a full refund to Mr. ******. The transaction ID for the refund is MCXXXXXXXXXX. The refund was completed on 12/19/2014.

Thank you,

*****

10/22/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On June 3,2013, I called Hancock seed to order a Frescue lawn seed. I was told that they had a newer seed that would be just what I wanted. It would grow any where; shade, sun, bare spots,or just over-seed an existing lawn. I bought a 50 lb bag with shipping for $107.00. A problem rose immediately. Directions included, said ideal planting between June-Sept. I called Hancock back. A woman spoke to me and said NO wait until fall to plant. About the end of August, I planted my Titan Rx frescue seed. It did grow at first and I made sure to water regular. It died after 4 days. I called Hancock again. Another woman said I planted to early. I said I was following directions. She then said she would have to see the owners for a settlement. I waited 1 week and calleed again. Another woman said there would not be a settlement as they only guarantee the seed to germinate. I feel this is wrong and I am left holding a literal bag.
Product_Or_Service: Grass Seed

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund or replacement with grass seed that works (grows).

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The seeds this customer purchased were not meant to grow in Florida and are not supposed to be planted during the summer months. The instructions on the package are just general instructions for planting, not specific to the brand he purchased. You have to be an informed consumer and know about the product you are purchasing. Customer service tries to assist customers but they cannot be responsible for the customer using the wrong product or planting at the wrong time. This customer never asked for assistance in having the seeds replaced, he only wanted a refund. We can help him select another seed and work with him but we cannot give him a full refund.


Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The customer can call our 800 number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) and ask to speak with ******.


Final Consumer Response
I contacted Hancock and spoke to ******. She was polite to a point.
We managed to conclude an arrangement where I paid for more seed.
I thank you for your help and concern.

12/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased 100 lbs of Argentine Bahiagrass. Watered as instructed. Product did not germinate. Seed no good. Company will not do anything.
I purchased 100 lbs of Argentine Bahiagrass Seed on 08/05/2014 from Hancock Seed Company. "Hancock Farm and Seed Co., Inc. **** ******* **** *** Dade City, Fl. XXXXX X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. I planted the seed soon there after. I watered every day as instructed. I keep watering for 45 days hoping for any results! I have almost any acre of land, with a well supplied sprinkler system that covers the entire property. Out of an acre of property I did not have 1 sprout of grass come up. I have contacted the company & all they can say is, the test show the seed is good, so they will do nothing. I have never filed a complaint in my life, but this is just robbery. The seed including shipping was $368.98, purchase on 08/05/2014, Sales Receipt # XXXXX. I am a Realtor & Ethics is very important in the business world. I feel this company has acted very unethically & unprofessionally with the treatment I have received. I am licensed with the DBPR myself, but I can find no record of this business the DBPR Website.

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back. I dealt with this company in good faith & received nothing for my money.

Thanks,
*****

***** *********
****** **** ******
**** **** **** ****
New Port Richey, FL XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX call or text
Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX
*****@FutureHomeRealty.com

Business Response
On August 5, 2014, Mr. ********* purchased 100lbs of Argentine Bahia. On Oct 17, 2014, Mr. ********* called the office complaining that nothing grew in his yard from planting in August. The customer was asked for pictures and he stated that he was unable to provide them. The analysis of the seed (seed test) was emailed to the customer showing more than satisfactory results on germination and purity. Emails were sent to the customer asking key questions and explaining any possible reasons for the seed not growing. After several emails corresponding with Mr. *********, it is our belief that it was completely his error in planting and maintenance that has caused his problems. His refund was denied due to the fact that the customer was sold good viable seed.
I have also attached the email correspondence with Mr. ********* for your review.
Hancock Seed Company warrants the extent of the purchase price that seeds sold are as described on the seed analysis, within recognized tolerance. NO further warranty is express or implied. There is no warranty given to the performance of the seedlings after germination or even germination as we cannot control and have no knowledge of what conditions seeds are planted under, the conditions seed is stored in after leaving our facility and before planting, how introduced to the soil or how maintained after planting.


Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I disagree with their response. I have an acre of land and it is absolutely impossible that grass seed over an acre of land that nothing would grow. Not one sprout. I watered the lawn for 45 days and nothing grew. There is nothing on their website saying no refund. They never asked me for pictures and if they had I have a digital camera and I am a realtor. I could have taken pictures but all it would show is that there was no grass on the ground, just a bunch of weeds that grew because I watered so much. Last year I planted rye seed and it grew but it was just a winter seed. It is not a problem with my soil. I have some of the seed leftover that a judge could test if they want to take it that far. I want all of my money back because this product did not work at all.

11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contacted Hancock Farms to purchase some Bahia grass seed for my backyard. Disappointed in the quality of seeds and the advice cust. svc provided me.
On two separate occasions, I purchased grass seed from Hancock Farms after discussing my needs with their customer service folks who answer the phones.

My first Order: Order Number: XXXXX
Date Ordered: Friday 23 May, 2014
Detailed Invoice: ***********************************************************************************

2 x Hancock's Pensacola Bahia Grass Seed Mix - 50 lb. Bag (975) = $239.98 United Parcel Service (100 lbs) (UPS Ground): $47.30 Total: $287.28

I followed the customer service rep's instructions exactly as they stated. The woman on the phone told me I was buying a "mix" that was 25% something else (not Pensacola Bahia Grass Seed) and it **** sprout fast and allow the Pensacola Bahia Grass Seed to germinate fast. I trusted this was best for me as I had explained to her my needs, where I was growing it, my sunlight/shade factors, etc. I received the 2X50lb bags and seeded my backyard. After about a week, something started to sprout. But no sign of Pensacola Bahia Grass. I waited three weeks and then called Hancock Farms on June 6, 2014 to speak with someone knowledgeable about Pensacola Bahia Grass Seed. I spoke to a woman who identified herself as knowledgeable customer service rep. I told her my issues. I explained to her I followed the instructions previously provided. I explained to her that a plant is sprouting but no sign of Pensacola Bahia Grass. I asked her why at first they recommended I get this "mix" and she stated it was because that is what they always suggest for people that have no grass. I explained to her that I had grass already only to find out I should have gotten the Pensacola Bahia Grass Seed, not the mix. Either way, a miscommunication, but I'm not upset about that. What I'm really upset about is the fact that this mix I purchased, which is supposed to be 75% Pensacola Bahia Grass Seed, is growing some green plant but not grass. She then told me to wait and it will grow eventually. She then sold me some Argentine Bahia Grass Seed(100%). Order no. XXXXX. She convinced me that this was the best seed they have. Details below.

My Second Order: Order Number: XXXXX
Date Ordered: Friday 06 June, 2014
Detailed Invoice: ***********************************************************************************

2 x Argentine Bahia Grass Seed - 50 lb Bag (scarified) (241) = $319.98 United Parcel Service (100 lbs) (UPS Ground): $47.30
Total: $367.28

After I placed my second order, I realized I'm spending way too much money and not getting the results I wanted. I called back to cancel the second order and the woman told me to change my order from the Argentine Bahia to the Pensacola Bahia Grass Seed. The woman said I'd save about $70. So she changed the order and a woman named ****** **** credited me the difference on June 6, 2014. They told me to wait a few more weeks to see if the Bahia would sprout. I waited an additional 3-4 weeks as advised, for the Pensacola Bahia Grass Seed (mix) to grow but regrettably it did not. I used up both bags so I had nothing left, it was on my soil in the backyard. I called again on July 2,2014 and spoke to I believe the same woman as the first time. I explained the situation and she informed me that I must have gotten a bad batch?? She then recommended that I fertilize my soil, apply 5 - 10 lbs. of 16-04-08 slow release fertilizer per 1000 sq. ft. She said to wait a month then reseed using my 2 new bags of Pensacola Bahia Grass Seed. I waited the month after fertilizing. The fertilizer they told me to use killed everything green in my yard. Not sure why, I followed the instructions and the amount. Then when I seeded nothing grew except in a few tiny locations and sporadically. I have now spent time and money $621.41-$70=$551.41 on 4 bags of grass seed. I was fed up. I went to another company, spent another $500 for 4 bags of Pensacola Bahia Grass, after 3 weeks it's growing. Something is wrong with their product, it's clear

Desired Settlement
I contacted them to complain about this issue and they keep telling me to return the product for a full refund, however, I keep explaining to them I purchased only enough seed for my backyard. When I seeded my backyard, I used both bags the first time with the "mix". Nothing was left that I can send them. Then I fertilized like they wanted me to. That killed everything green. I used the exact fertilizer they suggested. Still everything died. I purchased more seed from them only to waste more money and nothing grew except sporadically. I finally gave up on them and contacted another seed vendor. I purchased 4 bags of Pensacola Bahia Grass Seed and after only 3 weeks after seeding, the grass finally started growing amazing. I wasted time and money trying to work with their seed. Obviously there is something wrong with their seed. I live in ********, Georgia and they said that Pensacola Bahia Grass Seed should thrive here but not their seed. I am looking to get a full refund for their defective seed. I have nothing to return so I am asking for the help of the BBB to facilitate my refund.
Thank you,

**** *****

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

This customer has placed 2 orders with us. The second order he said he ordered the wrong item and asked to return the first order. We credited him and there was a difference in price which he paid. When he ordered in May he contacted paypal and did a dispute without ever contacting us. We noted this on his account and noted not to sell to him again. The second order had already been processed and he has never reached out to us to get assistance. We provide detailed information about planting the seeds and whenever someone has a problem we try to help them.

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I have since purchased the same seed from another company and within 2 weeks of seeding the grass started growing. I believe their product was defective because I put down 4 bags and it did not grow. I'm not saying all of their seed is bad but this batch that I got was not popping out like it should. I was disappointed with the first 2 bags. The girls that took my order over the phone told me about this mix. I didn't know anything about it. I think she assumed my backyard was completely bare but she never asked. She said the mixed seed would create an area for the Pensacola Bahia to grow. I did call them several times and I would be happy to provide my phone records. They actually wanted me to return the seed at one time which is ridiculous. How could I possibly return seed that is scattered all over my backyard? In between ordering the second batch is when I filed the charge back. I lost that one because they wanted me to return the product and they showed there was a credit on my account with them so American Express closed it. I want a refund of the payments I made to them minus the $70 credit they gave on the second order, total refund $584.00

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/26/2003Business started: 01/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

BBB records show a license number of 987 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com.

Type: Department of Agriculture

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2000, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher R. Hancock (Vice President)Mrs. Jaclyn Hancock (Vice President)Ms. Kathy Francine Hancock (Vice President)Mr. Anthony R. Hancock Jr. (President)Ms. Denise Rush (Office Manager)
Business Category

Seeds Bulbs Retailers, Wholesale Seeds Bulbs Companies, Wildlife Supply Stores, Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Environmental & Ecological Services, Farms

Products & Services

This company offers wholesale and retail sales of grass and other seeds and bulbs.

Alternate Business Names
Hancock Farm & Seed Co., Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hancock Seed Company has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hancock Seed Company

18724 Hancock Farm Rd

Dade City, FL 33523-0677

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 18724 Hancock Farm Rd 

    Dade City, FL 33523-0677(800) 552-1027
    (352) 567-6971
    Fax: (352) 567-0801

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hancock Seed Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 552-1027
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Seeds Bulbs Retailers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.