BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/25/2013

Wintex Industries Dura-Loc, Inc.

Phone: (239) 437-3350Fax: (239) 437-3399View Additional Phone Numbers17221 Alico Center Rd Ste 2, Fort MyersFL 33967-6019Google+

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company provides complete roofing services including sales, installation, repairs, cleaning, and gutters and downspouts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/25/2013

BBB has determined that Wintex Industries Dura-Loc, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Wintex Industries Dura-Loc, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Wintex Industries Dura-Loc, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
01/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Customer service issues
Over-Billed for time and service provided
Finish work on roof & inclusives took almost two months from the start date
Signed contract ******* to replace roof 8.21.13 & "Repair damaged wood siding on gable end above living rm. Reinstall overhang...soffitt in same area." On 9.11.13, 7:30 AM, they called to say guys on way within hour. Crew removed shingles till early afternoon, P/u debris (partially) and said return next day to finish shingles & underlayment. I helped p/up nails, etc. As they were leaving, noticed my mailbox & neighbor's were bent over at angle & loose. Asked 2 of the crew about it & they giggled & said they guess they backed into them. Nothing done. Next AM before they came back, I was picking up more nails and noticed my hose was disconnected and the water was running. They had used faucet & did not turn off tight. I told them about it when they returned & asked to make sure tight. They finished by lunch, picked up somewhat, told me they were done, inspector coming next day and shingles coming also. Would return 9.16 to lay shingles.Checked hose faucet & again was dripping. I asked to fix mailboxes & they just left. **** (owner) came Fri 9.13 to inspect dry-in. We picked up more nails & debris, I told him about mailboxes; he implied I could fix them easily. During this inspection, missing soffit was quite visible while up on roof & I told him the 2 pieces of wood & soffit were in contract & to be replaced. Please note, we had torrential rains almost 2x daily during this time, & because my front & back gutters were "detached" & front gutters were pretty bent, I asked him for quote to replace front gutters only. "$260." I told him to add to job. Mon & Tues came & went & no crew. I texted ***** & he said Weds. Crew came & finished Thurs @ 1:30. I asked ******** (lead roofer) to re-attach back gutters as rain was brutal & he said other crew does gutters. I told him only front were being replaced, please re-attach gutters. Not done. Sat. 9.21 ***** stopped by 10AM & was going to finish cutting old wood & was up there for 10 minutes, said it was too hot & he'd be back to install new boards & soffit. Also discussed my timely need for Wind Mitigation for insurance & said he'd get that to me. Never saw nor heard from him again. Tues. 9.24, **** came by to pick up large check. We discussed invoice, discussed mailboxes, when gutters would be done, as he watched the torrential rain pouring down on front entry & asked why I had big pot out front & I told him to divert the rain from coming in my front door. Told him I was concerned about flooding front & back, why the back gutters were not attached & he said ******** thought I was having new ones & I told him I specifically told him no, just in front, please reattach back. Dave took no responsibility and never apologized about my flooding, erosion of back, etc. Also my need for Wind Mit. Mon 9.30, I called them begging for Wind Mit, gutters, soffit & they told me when Ralph gets back to office. Neglected to tell me he was out of town. Oct 2, Dave shows up to take pix & finally rec'd Wind Mit on Oct.3 by email. Also, Oct 3, I came home to find front gutters installed. 3 weeks go by, I have given up ever seeing anyone. Mon.10.21 around 3PM 2 guys show up. I'm shocked.Here to install 2 pieces of wood. They are aghast the soffit is missing. They call ***** & he says he knows nothing about it! OMG! Saw it, discussed it, written in contract. They were here 20 minutes. 10.29, receive bill for front gutters only. $570. I email back stating quote for $260. Call from **** 2 days later saying Gutters $280 and $290 for putting boards on. I said ok with the $20 extra for gutters, but not for 2 boards & 20 minutes. He said 2 men, 2 hours & material. No way. He said other hour-2 men was to pick up materials & again denied knowing about soffit.I asked for & rec'd revised invoice. I refuse to pay for 2 men 2 hrs @ $65 for 20 mins. and 10 mins to p/u 2 pieces of wood. TUES, NOV 5, a new guy shows up 4 to replace soffit & attach gutters! I want $570 reduced & do not expect bill for finish jobs 6 wks. later

Desired Settlement
Want the invoice for $570 (no problem with the $280 for gutters) reduced to one hour labor and do not expect to be billed for the finish work that was ignored, forgotten and should have been done with other job visits and not paying for "fix it" work. To have this take almost two months to the day is unbelievable. I should be charging my labor and materials for fixing the damages from erosion and water caused by unattached gutters,
front & back, not to mention frustration of lack of communication, never knowing when employee was coming and feeling as if you were less than honest and respectful with me, the customer. I assume ***** is MIA; sadly, he comes off now as a used car salesman, with promises never to keep.

Business Response
1) The damaged wood siding was a job to be completed when we could get to it as we agreed. Because it was raining quite often and you were not leaking, which we have many customers that were in need of our services and it was not that visible and it was not priority.

2) I asked the service man again about the installation of the trim boards installed. They said they had angle cuts to do job correctly - caulked the top entire length and then painted it by cutting in the bottom not to get any paint on roof. We allow 1/2 hour to retrieve cedar wood at supplier and get to job, as they stated they were there for 1 1/2 hours.

3) We talked about your water coming down on your cement drive and the possibility of water coming up to the front entry area and how much water (rain) there has been. I told you I would order the gutters for the front and install them when scheduling would permit or as soon as possible.

4) Our representative was not available to communicate with you due to his personal circumstances.

5) The back gutters were still attached and just needed a couple new gutter spikes which the service truck usually has some on board but, they were out so we installed them when we returned to install the metal facia at the soffit which we will not bill you for your inconvenience.

6) You may have discussed the metal facia with the service men but I did not recall seeing the portion of the job. My service man showed me a picture of that so I ordered that to be done along with the gutter spikes.

Please let me know if I need any more information.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is addressed to ********** ***...

1. With all due respect, it was very visible. All you had to do was physically tell me that it was not a priority, too busy to take care of it or ***** wasn't available.
2. As from my previous statement, they were there no more than a half hour. I was there, I watched what they did and handed them the paint. I also heard one of them call you about the facia, as they noticed it immediately upon arrival and were noticeably embarrassed.
3. Yes we did talk about the water...the front was not as much an issue as the back...see #5. Your response was less than caring and missing "customer service."
4. All you had to do was e-mail or call me and tell me that. I asked about him 2x in person...your response implied nothing was wrong.
5. Yes, the back gutters were attached, but because they were bent and spikes were missing, the water pouring out of them in several places was incredible. Even one of your service men commented they could collapse from the weight of the downpours. Again, when I first asked about them in person when you picked up check, your response was less than caring and missing "customer service."
6. With all due respect, there is no way you could not have seen that and deny the fact that we discussed it when you inspected the 1st phase of the roof. I'm actually embarrassed for you. ALSO, was written into contract. And ***** was quite adamant about his conversation with you about what he was going to do.

I have noticed again, lack of simple courtesy, missing "customer service." No, "Sorry about your mailboxes...we'll get right on it," etc. Nothing. I didn't even bring up questionable use of 7 sheets of plywood on roof, # of hours "repairing flashing," As the owner of a business, you should know better than making excuses and not taking responsibility for anything.

Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

Please have the customer call ***** to discuss the bill, he can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

09/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details


First contact was incorrect. Waited two months for them to show. Came out and did a second contract to fix errors and was for different measurements. Increased roof size from 3200 feet to 3700 feet. Was quoted wrong type of roof on first contract and wrong price. Was also told they did not need to pull a county permit with what they were doing to the roof. Called county and was told that was incorrect that they did need a permit to do the repairs. The company pressure washed the roof two months ago and it has sat since then. There was still mold on the roof and was told they would return and this has not happened. Told owner that the trust was gone and wanted the deposit back. The owner is not willing to give back the deposit as he stated he already paid the commission to the salesperson.

Desired Settlement
The $1000.00 deposit for the project.

Business Response
The salesman checked the wrong box in error on the first contract (he was newly hired). **** (the president) went back and checked the measurements and they were correct (it is actually 30 sq ft). When he went back, after talking to owner, he was asked to redo the first contract because she changed her mind as to what she wanted done. A new contract was written up and priced accordingly and she signed the new contract also.
We started the job doing the pressure wash, and then the rains came. We were tripled in work due to all the rains and she was notified about the time frame.
Not sure where she got the 3200 and the 3700 because no where does it state on our contracts what the square feet are.
Since she changed her mind after the first contract the price went from $5790 to $3700.
We pay our salesman a partial payment when they sell a contract (which is why we ask for a deposit) and the remainder is paid when the job is finished and when we get our money.
As far as a permit goes we only have to get a permit if it is a new roof (any kind) to replace an old roof and the job is over $2500.
The repair that she is talking about was just a CHECK to see only, if there was a leak on the Facia side of front entry as also stated on the contract.
The application that we were doing for this customer does NOT require a permit. It is a coating that has nothing to do with replacing or repairing the roof.
We do have two signed contracts from this customer.

Final Consumer Response

Final Business Response
We will be cleaning her roof, applying mold and mildew retardant for the balance of the deposit. That is a $280 discount from that application for her mis-understanding of her contract.

06/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The job done was improper.leaking in new dry wall, did half job ,covered it and billed me, senior fraud taken advantage of. have pictures.
Hello my name is ***** care person for Mr. ***** ********. a senoir ***** had a leak in his roof and callied Wintex Industries Dura-loc, Inc.

XXXXX *****************
************** XXXXX Contact ***** over the phone informed me of a price of 65.HR plus materal. payed 700.00 on credit card on may 2013 then when job was done he wanted to bill my card 1,910 on top of the 700.00 Have camera on house shows when they showed up total of 9hrs and have had people look at the work, have estimate of another roofing contractor of 975.00 prior to Dave doing the job. had a sheet rock person come in and show me what these company tried to get away with, theft for sure, of a senior, please any assistance would be grateful. Also inspection of a nother place *****did a repair job in 2011 is also leaking for a while the inspector said. are you ready for this. I have recits for over 14,500 insurfenent job *****takes advantage of the older people and dose not warranty his work 6/2/11 ***** paid 3,120.00 to extend the warranty .this has to be stopped,. prior to the roof being duraloc they had to fix two places leaking. both places leak and also payed again for roof repeair on warrantee work. he also charged ***** 500.00 then tried to charge ***** another 800.00 but showed him it was under warranty . and ***** never recieved his 500.00 back this companty needs to be checked out and monitored, any person I show this job to says they tried to take advenage of *** he has a nice house ansd things inside and *****has been know to take advantage of the older people, the more research I do the more I'm finding out about this person, please help,

Desired Settlement
would like the job done right and fair

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We went out to the customers house and contracted to repair a tile roof. We did plywood replacement and underlayment repairs. We pulled all the tile out of the valley/fascia connection. We let the repair set for a week with rain. There were no leaks so we put the tile back. On the heavy rain there was a seepage at the top ledge so we went back out and we are correcting the situation with another minor repair a little higher than the first repair at no extra cost to the customer.

We responded the same day he called about the new leak and made time to get out to him right away.

Consumer's Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

The company did contact me and said they will be resolving the situation.

02/01/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

There were leaks in the house during the time that they were doing work. We had dry out machines and repairs that need to be done.
There were two leaks in the house at the time they were doing the work. The first leak was all night and damaged the whole ceiling and the light fixture. We also had to pay for dry out equipment to make sure the room did not get any worse. The other was in the back room because someone did not fix a spot that had been made in the roof and water leaked in damaging the ceiling and making the clothes in the room wet and damaging boxes that we had to get rid of. Also there are Shingles that are damaged that they have refused to replace. He has said that they are fine but they are ripped and torn.

Desired Settlement
We have paid him 5000 dollars already for the work that has been done. We have about 2000 dollars worth of damages and bills in our house due to negligence on their part. We had agreed on 6000 for the whole project and would like to settle on the 5000 that we have already given him due to the fact that we have more then that in damages for the house.

Business Response
The first leak that occurred in his home was at the time of tearing off the large flat deck. The home had water in between the existing base sheet and cap sheet. When we were removing the existing old deck material the water stuck in between the layers leaked into the ceiling. I was called by Mr. ******* and told him I would assess the situation and do what was necessary to rectify the problem. He took it upon himself to have the company he works for come in and dry out the house without informing us. We have the same equipment and would have rectified the problem immediately.

The other leak was done by our supplier and we had no knowledge of it until Mr. ******* called me late in the day. I sent my foreman over immediately to stop the leak until the next day so we could fix it properly.

We replaced the damaged shingles on the roof and Mr. ******* says there are more and if so, we will replace those also. We have not refused any replacement of the shingles on his roof.

Mr. *******'s house has been leaky for a long time and he is well aware that this damage was there long before we put on a new roof. His balance at this time is $2,039.00 and we are trying diligently to get this resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
please see attached

The previous damage on the ceiling and roof had been patched up and had not leaked for over a year until the roof was taken off.
The first leak happened at initial removal of the flat roof. I called the roofer and told him that there was water coming in the house. He informed me he would be over to look at it. During this period they offered to sweep out the water which was over an inch deep. Meanwhile the roofer never offered to bring any dry out equipment and just said he was going to look at it.
My company arrived to drop off dry out equipment and at any point in time he had the option to turn the equipment away and tell me he had said equipment and could take care of these issues. This was the end of the initial leak. At this point it was not a big deal due to the previous damage and I was going to leave it.
Upon finishing the bad wood removal and dry in of flat deck/roof roofers supplies were place in one area of the flat roof where the original leak had been. Due to the weight of the materials being in one place the roof bowed downwards and because of that weight it created a spot for water to accumulate. This water caused the dry in to separate which we have pictures of. Due to the separation water leaked in the house all night long. The water leaked through the ceiling and fan into a 15 gallon garbage can that we placed under the fan/light. In the morning the garbage can was full. I showed the roofer upon his arrival that morning and it was still leaking. Armen told me that his guys should not have put the supplies all in one spot and should have spread it out across the roof. Due to the leakage all night it caused significantly more damage than originally was there. Upon them removing the weight from the area of the leak it caused the nail heads to pop through the drywall in the ceiling.
Damage would have been worse if I had not called my company to bring dry out equipment due to it leaking all night.
A few days later there was a leak in the back closet. This leak was due to rotten wood that should have been replaced but wasn't. Upon calling the roofer about the leak he had one of his men come out to fix it. Told us it was fixed and we said okay. After shingle roof was finished I went to do a visual inspection of the finish product noticed that they did not replace the damaged wood where the leak had occurred. At this same time I noticed several cut, torn, and ripped shingles.
Called Armen and had him come out to take a look at said areas. He told me it would be taken care of and a few days passed and I went to do a second visual inspection and noticed the wood had been replaced but the ripped and torn shingles were still there. I brought it to his attention a second time and he told me he would have it taken care of and I said Okay. Upon completion of the roof and wanting the final payment I told him for the third time that said shingles were still there and still damaged.
Armen said he would take care of them right away and he proceeded to glue damaged shingles and asked if it was okay that he did it that way. At this point I was tired of asking for the shingles to be fixed and said okay whatever but was not happy about this solution. He proceeded to tell me that it would never be an issue due to the waterproofing(granulated self sealing and water barrier) on the dry in which I told him the waterproofing dry in is meant to be a secondary and not a primary form of protection. Shingles are the first line of defence against water and the waterproofing of the dry in is secondary not primary. At this point I had given him the dry out bill and the estimate for damages. He was not happy with these bills and said it was an outrageous price and he would not comply.
Time has passed and all I am asking for is 1000 dollars off the total price and my wind mitigations so I can submit them to my homeowners insurance and the shingles replaced. I have not asked for any compensation for the any of the furniture or household goods that were in the two rooms that got damaged. I do not feel that what I am asking for is unreasonable due to the damages that have occurred.

Due to the fact that they had told me many times they would send someone over to look at the ceiling in question and no one ever showed up. They took a ladder that was brought back only after I told them and then reminded them of said ladder. They left trash in our yard and nails all over the yard and never bothered to clean them up. These are a few of the reasons I do not want them back at my house to even attempt to fix the ceiling I feel more comfortable doing it myself or letting an outside party do it.

Final Business Response
Mr. ******* and I inspected his roof after the job was complete and there were some shingles that needed attention. We did some minor adjustments with the shingles and he was happy with that. I had told him if he was not happy we would replace them at any time. The drying equipment from his company was his choice. We were not given any opportunity to use our own equipment at any time. The water that came in that area was not from anything we caused. That ceiling was bad from continuous leaking long before we did the roof. Now he wants us to be responsible for that. He would have had to replace that area from previous leakage. We do not feel we should be responsible for something we did not cause. The water that came into that area was trapped in his roof and just released when we started to work on the roof. He has a balance owed and simply does not want to pay it. The leak that occurred in his closet was due to the supplier that delivered our material. An 80 pound bundle was dropped on the roof and caused that leak. We fixed it immediately and Mr. ******* said nothing about any damage from that until now. I will say once again, we will be happy to fix the drywall we are responsible for and any shingles he feels need to be replaced at any time. All we would like is the balance of his bill to be paid.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have a video of the water coming through the ceiling fan and we have pictures of the supplies placed in one place on the roof.
As stated before at any point he could have turned my people away and said he had his own equipment on the way. I did not get told that he even had equipment until I gave him a bill for about 880 dollars. At this same time I gave him a bill for 1200 dollars for estimate on fixing the ceiling. This includes removal and replacement of the dry wall, texture, painting, and replacing the new ceiling fan. (it also includes painting the whole room which we are not asking for)
I have asked them to do this for the full payment (XXXX) and they said they would only replace the drywall and use the same ceiling fan. They have seen all the pictures and videos and still claim that it is not something that they should have to do.
If this had all been done right in the first place I would have no issues paying the full payment but there has been no consideration for me or my family. There was trash laid all over around my house and nails were left all over. I am still pulling them out of shoes and tires.
I am only asking that they take 1000 dollars off of the bill, do my wind midigations, and fix the shingles on the roof.
I feel that I am not asking for a lot just enough to make it right.
I am attaching pictures of where things were separated and where the ceiling is damaged.
The other thing I had asked for was for proof that the 15 sheets of plywood were replaced and he has not gotten me that either. They are asking for the remainder in full but with what I have seen with the with the broken shingles and with the rotted out board they did not replace until I said something about it I am not even sure that they replaced that many pieces of plywood.
On the account of damages in the other room. I did not mention them before because it was not a big issue but with explaining the whole experience I felt that I must but the whole time line step by step.

04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

didn't complete contract
changed signed contract
caused leak\ruined ceiling
damaged car
flat roof holds water
tar in yard
added charges to the bill

The week of August 18th I called Wintex Dura-Loc ****** the ''estimator'' came and gave me an estimate for shingles on the main house and talked me into a firestone/polyglass coating on the flat roof. ***** said the roof was good and the rubberized seal would keep the roof from going bad; forever. I told ***** the only reason I chose them was because of the flat roof seal. He actually put a star next to it on the contract I signed on 9/9 for:
1. GAF Timberline shingles
2. New modified Bitumen Flat Deck System Firestone/Polyglass
3. 2 Sheets of Plywood
4. Permits
The total was $8,900. I put $1,020 down.
Approx. 9/23 I called with what color shingles we wanted. **** answered and said that due to the heavy rains, they were way behind schedule.
Monday, September 30, **** called and said he hoped to get to our house that week.
Tuesday, Oct. 1, my father got a call from my neighbors saying someone needed to move my sister's car because men were ripping tile off the roof and throwing it over her car. They'd thrown a blue tarp over my sister's white car and put plywood on top. Not surprisingly, she has half a dozen new ''blue'' dents on her car.
Wednesday, October 2, my husband called as I was being picked up at the airport. He said **** had called him at 10:00 am and said our flat roof was rotten and he would need to replace the plywood. When I got to my home, around noon, three men were there. Two were working and one was the interpreter/ clean up guy, I guess. I asked if they had replaced all the plywood on the flat roof? The interpreter said, ''No, no! We used 5 sheets of plywood on the whole house.'' He said one corner and one edge on the flat roof was replaced. **** arrived shortly after I talked to the workers. I asked why he hadn't called me. (Since I'd made the arrangements, signed the contract, and made the down payment, I thought I should have been called about changes). He said my husband's number was the only number he had. Since my number was the one on the top of the contract and I used my cell phone when I called and ordered the shingles, I doubted the statement. When **** said he'd told my husband the entire roof needed to be replaced and the cost would be much more, I knew the statement was false. My husband is a businessman and would never give someone he doesn't know a blank check. If price was mentioned, which my husband denies, he would have insisted on an amount.
Thursday evening, October 3, Cape Coral had a rainstorm.
Friday afternoon we found the ceiling in the family room bulging with rainwater. They'd burned holes in 2 of the screen room ceiling panels and the edges of the flat roof all seemed to go up. When questioned, **** said they added a drip edge over the existing one. **** seems to think it will all drain eventually. ***** ****** the inspector, said putting a drip edge over a drip edge is rarely done. My husband and I took a garden hose up on the roof and found that we have standing water on the roof. (A problem we did not have before Dura-Loc ''fixed'' it!)
**** said the ceiling & insulation would be fine. We waited a week but the ceiling fell & water poured out of the insulation.
Saturday, October 19, Cape Coral had a little rain. The ceiling in the living room, (under the flat roof) LEAKED again!!! IN TWO PLACES!! When this saga started, I had no leaks in my roof! **** ********* was sent to fix the leaks. He went immediately to a seam and stuck his fingers in. When he pulled up we all heard a squish, squish noise. He said he'd patch it quick since rain was expected in the morning. As far as I know that was the last work done on the flat roof. I don't know if anything was done to alleviate the squish, squish under the roof. **** replaced the panels in the middle of the family room ceiling. Unfortunately its not possible to replace tongue & grove in the middle of a ceiling and expect it to look as good as it did prev. Tar was poured in the front yard.

Desired Settlement
Ideally, I'd like to never hear from them again. To be honest, I've had a contractor tell me to sue! I want the situation resolved fairly. But I don't want standing water or leaks on my flat roof. I don't want to pay for shoddy work, the destruction of property, and additions to a contract I made, signed, and have paid on.
I can't imagine having a worst experience. **** has never apologized for any of this mess. My flat roof is holding water, my family room ceiling will never look as good as it did, my sister's car is still damaged and the roof has still not been sealed. The fact that I thought I was taking the precautions by contacting a ''Five-Star Company'' and spending ''top dollar'' just makes the whole thing worst!! I paid Dave an additional $2,000.00 in November making the total $7,000.00. I continue to receive bills and lien notices, or whatever they are, yet I have received no satisfaction. 5 sheets of plywood were used on my roof. When I told **** this he stated, "Well there were eight on the truck." If there were 8 then 3 must have been used to do a poor job of protecting my sister's car or he should contact the workmen who picked up every useable item from our property. His solution is to have me pay for plywood that was not used on my roof. ***** quoted plywood at $55/ **** charges me $64. Permits were included in the original quote but **** charges $74 more. Some of the additional charges I don't even recognize and certainly didn't authorize. With the additional costs **** has added to the bill, he exceeds all the companies quotes I got before foolishly deciding to go with Dura-Loc. I honestly don't trust **** to fix the problem. Everything he has done on my property has been cheap and shoddy. He called 3 different companies to come and fix my screen room. He wasn't honest enough to tell any of them that the room was oversize and could not be fixed with regular sized screen. All were not happy to have their time wasted.
I personally think Dura-loc should thank their lucky stars I paid them $7,000. I owe no one and have never not paid a bill but I'll be looking for someone to fix my flat roof. Not only isn't it sealed but it's leaked twice and I have no reason to believe it won't happen again. You have no idea the frustration of having a perfectly good roof, then paying $7,000 to "up-grade" to disaster!

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We have been in contact with the customer and are willing to work with her to resolve these issues. We are sending someone out to look at the car she says we damaged. All we did was put a tarp over the vehicle to protect it but we will take a look at her concerns. We will also come out to see if we can assist the with pooling water. The customer does have a remaining balance with us and we want to help get these issues resolved so that we can get paid for the work we did.

Consumer Response
This matter is not closed as far as we are concerned. I had a missed call from ***** on Jan. 22. I immediately called her back but she was unavailable. I called 3 or 4 times but could not reach her. I left a message that my husband and I were leaving the country for a business trip on the 23rd and would be gone for over a week. I just read Dura-Loc's response to you but have not heard the car is fixed from my sister or that the roof drains properly. **** & **** ********

Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We are aware and are in agreement with touching up some of the areas on the vehicle. We will get a quote for that part of this. The customer did not say anything to us about water still on the roof but we are happy to send someone out again to try and satisfy her. The customer currently has not paid anything for the roof and owes us $3700. We are trying to do everything we can to satisfy her.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I accept that the company has attempted to correct the drainage on the roof but we still have much more water sitting on the roof than we did before it was replaced. The company sent a repair man to see the vehicle about a month ago. The company was called and the estimate was faxed to them. We asked if we should go ahead and have the car fixed. About a week later the company called and said they were being ripped off, so they sent another repair man. He says he's been told to go ahead and fix the vehicle but wanted to make sure we knew he doesn't paint cars. He said he could "touch-up" the paint but could not match the color that is on the vehicle. That would not be acceptable to us. We are in the process of talking to the repairman and the company.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/30/2001Business started: 04/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395

Lee County Business Tax Receipt

Fort Myers, FL 33901 criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria

Lee County Contractors License
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL 33901-3054
(239) 533-8895

Contractor Licensing-Collier
(239) 252-2431

BBB records show a license number of CCC057259 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 9603215 for this company, issued by Lee County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CCC057259 for this company, issued by Lee County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of C16477 for this company, issued by Contractor Licensing-Collier.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: April 1994, FL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. David R. Gustason (President)
Business Category

Roofers, Roof Cleaners, Pressure Washing Companies, Flat Roofers, Waterproofing Contractors, Roofing Consultants, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Gutter Downspouts Suppliers

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Wintex Industries Dura-Loc, Inc. has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wintex Industries Dura-Loc, Inc.

17221 Alico Center Rd Ste 2

Fort Myers, FL 33967-6019

To | From


1 Locations

  • 17221 Alico Center Rd Ste 2 

    Fort Myers, FL 33967-6019(877) 387-2562
    (941) 575-1536
    Fax: (239) 437-3399
    Fax: (239) 437-3399

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wintex Industries Dura-Loc, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 387-2562
  • (239) 262-6222
  • (941) 575-1536

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Roofers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.