BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Reliant Roofing

(941) 586-55643465 Plantation Dr, SarasotaFL 34231-8518

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Reliant Roofing is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Reliant Roofing's rating include:

  • Failure to honor commitment to arbitrate disputes or mediate disputes.
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Factors that raised Reliant Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Reliant Roofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

inferior repair and then failure to show up for scheduled appointments
I bought a house in Sarasota in January 2013. The sellers disclosures showed that he had a couple of roof leaks recently repaired by Reliant Roofing. Also the buyers inspection showed an additional roof problem which the seller hsd Reliant fix. I closed on the house and when the rainy season came the roof was leaking in the areas that were supposedly fixed by Riliant. I called the owner and he said he would stand behind his work and he made an appointment to come to the house the next morning at 9:00 am to look at the problem. He never showed up nor did he call. I got in touch with him later that day and he said his truck broke down and he made an appointment for 8:30 the next morning and again he didn't show up nor did he call. I made repeated calls to him over the next several days and they all went unanswered. Because of the severety of the leaks and my concern over ceilings coming down I hired another roofer to fix the areas at a cost to me of $2,500. In my opinion this man should not be allowed to be in business.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be reimbursed for my repair cost. He obviously didn't show up to do it himself so I had no choice but to hire someone else to fix his work.

Business' Initial Response
We did indeed performed a repair on the roof in question while the house was owned by previous owner. Considering the overall condition of the roof, we recommended a replacement and offered no warranty. The new owner states he purchased the house in January. He called and reported a reoccurring leak a couple of weeks ago , although the source of the leak was not verified. We, however, were more than willing to inspect the roof and correct the problem as a courtesy to the new owner, but because of unexpected personal circumstances, we were unable to keep the scheduled appointment. We offer our sincere apologies and wish that prior to hiring a contractor to work on the roof, we had a chance to see if we can help. When ***** returned from out of state and was ready to meet with owner, the complaint was already filed, and owner stated that he has someone working on the roof.
Mr. ******, again, there was no warranty on the repair, but we would have been more than willing to help as a courtesy to you. I am sorry I was not able to respond to you fast enough, but unfortunately circumstances beyond my control prevented me to do so.

10/08/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Reliant Roofing has not returned to fix roof problem that he already been paid for three times and failure to show up for scheduled appointments
When we bought our home in 2009 there was a small leak in our sun room we called Reliant roofing and they fixed the leak it was a good service, after several months we had a brown spot on kitchen breakfast ceiling so we put plastic bags in attic to protect ceiling we called ***** he came to our home and said it was most likely the valley and that some tiles and some edges needed new cement. We also agreed to let him high pressure and paint the tile roof. Many months later again a brown spot on ceiling in the same area had to call him several times already before he eventually came and we showed him the spot. He then send his brother with other employee, his brother was kind of in a rushed bad mood not friendly at all we agreed to let him pressure wash roof as well also he said he had put the air vent cover better in place that he thought water was coming in there with heavy wind maybe. We agreed to pay him again for the same issue I asked for bill of sale and brother said he needed a check and ***** would send bill of sale. I did text ***** to ask for bill of sale and he didn't respond. Also I had noticed his brother had cracked a tile while there were still whole spare tiles on flat roof he didn't even bother to fix what he broke. I had taken all pictures so I text ***** with that picture asking him to fix broken tile. He responded that he would come back but he did not. Now already 2014 in February we had again brown spot and a big crack in same kitchen breakfast area took pictures every time. This time it was bad ceiling was sagging and cracked. After many attempts he finally sends three employees one his name was ****** Told him we were not happy it was still not fixed. ***** was very understanding and asked us that he could go onto attic this was the first time anyone from Reliant roofing was on the attic to check they tested with water hose they discovered a big leak at the air vent **** showed us on his cell phone. They put new air vent top on they took pictures for us(we have pictures showing they did not do anything on the valley) . I did ask him to check on valley as well because I knew by exploring the attic my self that it looks like it is coming from the valley he assured me he would look at it eventually they opened up very small space from bottom valley on the other side and did something there. After they finished ***** called and ask us to pay again we said we did not feel like we had to pay him anything but since **** and the other guys did work he asked that we would pay $300 for materials so he could pay ****. We agreed under one condition that if for any reason the same kitchen breakfast area still would leak somewhere that he would fix it free of charge under warranty so I waited for him to email and text me invoice with written warranty so I got that and paid with check. Now May 2014 the crack in same area had brown spots and broke open after exploring on attic I still found water on plastic bags so I was really worried about my ceiling so I called ***** and texted him he did not call me back. I had to replace ceiling and put new wood plank ceiling just now and have put a better plastic cover in attic so it will protect my new ceiling. After calling him and text him from May 10 ,2014 he called me back May 27th Tuesday apologizing he was out of town with memorial day and he would call us back next day to arrange to meet to fix problem. He did not call back all day Wednesday and Thursday we tried to get a hold of him after my wife suggested to call him with other phone number after three calls he did call back that number being surprised it was me he said sorry they are still at other job but they would come later when I asked what time we lost connection. So I texted him asking what time he never responded I texted him to tell him I would file complain on BBB if he would not resolve this he still did not call me back. So unfortunately here my complain in hope people at BBB can convince him to do his job. ****

Desired Settlement
That he calls me, makes an appointment shows up on time and fix the problem there is in kitchen breakfast area.This time I want him to open up the whole valley and inspect it correctly and fix the problem, I would be staying with them to oversee every move and will want to check after them while they are there with water hose to see if it still is leaking in attic.I am more then ready to finally have a roof without these problems. I have paid him more then enough for bad work so will only accept good work with written warranty.

Business Response
The source of leak homeowner is trying to have repaired is different from that of the original repairs and as such, the current leak is entirely unrelated to the past repairs we have performed. Unfortunately, as I have explained to owner, the overall condition of the roof is very poor, necessitating a whole roof replacement. Considering the roof's overall condition, we decline to bid on any additional current or future repairs.

Consumer Response
How can he claim that it is a different source then where he did repairs, he didn't even respond to my calls nor did he show up to see if it is in the same area. This is an excuse I see he uses on the other complaints he had on BBB as well, instead of showing a little effort to come and check out the issue so he could see it is indeed in the same area. I have his invoice with one year warranty and the pictures of same area after his supposedly repair. I will email them to BBB to support complain. As for the condition of my roof I had him re cement and paint my roof because he did say same as my inspection report that roof is still in good condition approx 11 years. I will email original inspection report to show the condition of roof. If he would have said it needed to be replaced I would never have paid him to re-cement and paint roof so another wrong excuse. If the business owner is not willing to give his warranty then I want full refund of invoice. Unfortunately I never did receive the bill of sale from the other two times I wrote him a check for a repair in THE SAME AREA that is till this day still not fixed. Although I do have many texts messaging back and forth to prove he knew exactly it was the same problem and where he promised to fix it but never did. I do not understand his problem the only thing I want is for him is to take the consequences that when he performs a bad repair with warranty he has to come back and do a good repair.

10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

***** ***** owner sent out crew, they identified problem with leak, left tiles lose, said would come back in AM, never showed and damage got worse
***** ***** owner ,sent out his Son with crew, they pulled up tiles to identify leak source. When found the problem his son said it would take 2-3 hours to do and with impending rain he talked to ***** and they deciided to come in AM when less chance of rain. Un known to me is they left tiles lose on roofs. The next morning they did not show as promised, nor have they shown since and it is now 6 days later! 10 text messages, 1 email, and 3 phone calls when unanswered until i threatened to file this complaint. Last evening ***** the owner said what his son identified as the problem was apparently wrong and that i needed to seal some decorative foam work that he thought is the source of the leak. Now understand ***** did not come out to the house for if he had he would have seen as i showed his son, the foam was sealed! He offered no explanation why he did not show when promised, nor even jad the professionalism to respond and keep me informed. Obviously the heavy heavy rains last week increased the water damage as i waited for him to respond , not thinking he would leave us hannging like he did. Had he just told me he was reversing what his son diagnosed and was not planning on doing the repair i could have contacted another company. In additon when he did respond late Sunday night he said he admitted they left the tiles lose, no explanation why, and said he would return to replace them show again! And now it is raining again. Due to this total lack of professionalism we have sustained additonal damage and thus costs when we hire another roofer...we want him to cover the drywall repair costs and the cost to reinstall the tiles they removed when his son apparently made a bad diagnosis of the problem that ***** was somehow miraculously able to change without even coming to the job! But it is the total lack of basic communication that caused the problems...we have the photos. Bottom line folks need to know there is no Relian on Reliant Roofing!!!! I expected more from this man as we had used him in the past and referred him to others.apparently he has just lost his professional way. And now we habe to pay the price and that is unfair to us the consumer. Thank you for your time

Desired Settlement
Want him to pay for drywall repair that got significantly worse when they failed to show as promised and scheduled and then subsequently failed to even respond to my inquirys. In additon goimg to have to pay another roofer to replace or repair the tiles they left loose. Do not know the extent of that damage yet.

Business Response
We have responded to this customer reported roof leak and inspected the roof.
As we have repeatedly explained to the customer though extensive phone/text communication prior to this complaint being filed, the leak was identified as a structural problem needed the specialty services which a roofing conntractor is not qualified to perform. The foam strucutre on the roof-top is the cause of the leak. Altough the customer, following our advice two years ago- had the strucutre sealed two years ago, it now presents a similiar problem. As a roofing contractor, there is nothing I can do to help this customer.

I am in no contractual or warranty obligation for this problem. I simply inspected the area and offered my expert opinion. The customer needs to call the appropriate sepcialty to address this issue.

We did remove some tiles during our inspection, and were prevented to place them back due to the sudden onset of heavy rain; however, 1. we have repeatedly asked the customer to specify a day when we can come back to reinstall the tile; and 2. I have explained the owner that the tile is not the element of the roof strutrure that offers water
protection: the waterproof underlayment under the tile is the water barrier, which we have not disturbed. Therefore, even if the few tiles we removed were not re-installed right aways, that does not influence the rate of the leak. The underlayment is what provides the water protection, not the tile.

We hope that this cusomer finds the appropirate specialty and solution to his problem.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The roofer was told we had sealed the foam and it still leaks. His son said there was a roof problem he found while removing tiles. He said he would be back the next morning. Never heard from them til i had to threaten with this complaint. They did not respnd to repeated textss, emails and calls as to status. Had they just told us they were not coming back or were wrong in his sons diagnosis i could have had another roofer out. The delay is basic professional communication is the issue. As far as we knew they were coming back and had solved the problem. And yes in those days waiting the rains were very bad and the leak got worse mand did damage. The total lack of responsiveness is where they are liable. And to top it all off the roofer finally said they would come back this morning to replace the tiles they removed and left my under roof exposed.......i have the text saying he would be here, and surprise surprise, they NEVER SHOWED AGAIN!...i had a new roofer out later today who replaced the tiles and even brought down a tar bucket they left on my roof . This is their fault and they need to pay for the drywall ceiling repair!...bottom line had he just responded timely and shown up the next day as promised we could have avoided this damage by the last weeks rains....just a total failing of common courtesy ...i note they offer no justification for not even letting us know what was going on until we filed this complaint and then they come up with this convenient excuse, oh we cannot help them! Thas why we did not come back!....and finally that wednesday morning they were supposed to come back did not rain til 3pm that day , then was torrential, and same deal on the next day thursday. So the excuse rain kept hime from coming back is really dishonest. My guess is they had other work and bumped our repair. Unfortunatley we the customer were left in the dark! Thats bad business in my humble opinion....

Final Business Response
My efforts to explain that the leak is not a roof but a structural problem needing the services of a general or specialty contractor are exhausted at this point. As I have repeated several times,mostly in response to the over fifty text messages this customer sent me, the source of the leak is not a roofing problem and I again recommend that the customer contacts a specialty or general contractor.

I am not in contract of any type with this customer and further decline entering into contract with this customer in the future.

And again....we did remove a few tile pieces when checking the roof: the sudden onset of rain prevented us from the immediate re-installation of those few tiles; however,note again, the tile is not the roof element that provides water protection, and did not lead to additional damage: the waterproof underlayment (under the tile) is that serves as water barrier.

On the very morning of the day when the owner agreed to let me come back to reinstall the tile, he sent me yet another text message saying that he had someone else reinstall the tile which message i kept and which contradicts the custmer's above statement "SURPRISE SURPRISE they did not show again"; i will be happy to provide BBB with a screenshot of this text message.

As far as this customers' claim of us not responding to him, I have saved the text message exchanges showing meaningful, informative and professional responses from me to his messages. I could not respond to all, as the tone and number of this customer's messages exceeded the limits of reasonable, and entered the domain of harassment.

I have nothing further to add, and refuse to subject myself to any further harassment from this home owner.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 06/10/2009Business started: 04/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395

Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax
101 S Washington Blvd
Sarasota, FL 34236-6940
(941) 861-8300

Sarasota County Contractor's License

Sarasota, FL 34231
(941) 861-3285

Charlotte County Contractors License

Port Charlotte, FL 33952
(941) 743-1201

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL 33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

BBB records show a license number of CCC1326751 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CRC1328045 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 990010077997 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax. Their web address is

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CCC1326751 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CRC1328045 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 990010106851 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax. Their web address is

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CCC1326751 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CCC1326751 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Istvan Gabor (Manager)Customer Contact: Ms. Zsuzsanna Gabor (Manager) Varadi Laslo (Manager)
Business Category

Roofers, Home Improvements, Home Addition Builders

Products & Services

This company provides residential and commercial roofing services including new installations and repairs, as well as residential additions and improvements.

Alternate Business Names
Tornado Construction, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Reliant Roofing

3465 Plantation Dr

Sarasota, FL 34231-8518

To | From


1 Locations

  • 3465 Plantation Dr 

    Sarasota, FL 34231-8518(941) 586-5564

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Reliant Roofing is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Roofers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.