BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Acu-Line Roofing

Find a Location

(727) 286-6169 (Disconnected)View Additional Phone Numbers1201 Hamlet Ave, ClearwaterFL 33756-3329http://www.acu-line.comView Additional Web Addresses! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in commercial and residential roofing and construction services.

BBB Accreditation

Acu-Line Roofing is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Acu-Line Roofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
05/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told one thing and they did another. The contract states a 30 year shingle but it's a 10 to 15 year shingle. When the rotted wood was to be replaced it was very expensive and I was charged for the wood and the labor. The contract has a price for wood only , but included the labor. THE OFFICE MANAGER now claims the shingles are a 25 year and they will stand by the warranty. It was a rip off.
Account_Number: *******XXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like to get what I paid for, but will settle for the 15 hundred dollars. That is the difference between the estimate they gave me and the actual price I paid. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
Hello Miss******** I am in the process of selling the house with this new roof. It was in contract,so the buyer had an inspection done. I'm not sure what the truth is. Top Shelf Inspection wrote on a document, the poor quality of shingle used.

09/18/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/08/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Acu-Line is refusing to honor a warranty on a new roof they installed last year.
We purchased our home about 10 months ago and were informed at the time of purchase that the roof was new and still under warranty. We had a leak which resulted in some water damage inside the house, and contacted the previous owner to get the information on warranty service. We were referred to Acu-Line, the company that did the new roof install, and***** and one other person came out to the house to look at it. **** told us that it was of course still under warranty. They did a fix which supposedly handled the source of the leak this particular leak (this part could be handled though not confirmed) however the water damage was still there and was not handled.

There is also a current unrepaired leak on another part of the roof they installed, which has caused significant water damage and is still vulnerable to causing more as it is still unrepaired by Acu-Line at the time of this writing (09/03/XX--X:XXPM EST).

In subsequent efforts to contact Acu-Line, **** told me that ****** would be coming over to check it out and we made an appointment and he did not show up at the scheduled time, and did not respond to attempts to reach him at the time and several times after that. **** was also now not answering our calls or returning any of the messages we left for him. I finally reached him approximately two weeks later when I called from a blocked phone number. He said ****** would contact us and come over but then days went by and he did not. My wife finally reached him my phone and ****** only then told my wife that they were refusing to honor the warranty due to the change of ownership of the house. This was after weeks of avoiding our calls and not responding to our messages.

The roof in question is one they installed on 22 March 2012, so it is a quite new roof and there should be no reason they do not honor the warranty, especially considering that **** explicitly told us that of course it was still under warranty.

Part of the issue is that it appears that water damage due to their faulty roof installation has resulted in mold in and under the hardwood flooring directly below the area of the previous leak. This makes it a health concern and is in my opinion especially urgent due to the fact that we have two small children residing in the house.

And as I said there is still a current leak unrepaired by Acu-Line, and we cannot even get a repair done on the damages through our homeowner's insurance as they are requiring that the issue causing the damage be repaired first. So we are completely stuck with no recourse and it has been literally weeks since we were informed by **** from Acu-Line that a) the roof was still under warranty, and b) that ****** would come out to take a look at it and assess the problem and schedule the needed repairs.

I have left multiple messages on the cell phones of **** and ****** over the past 2-3 weeks without response, and have also left messages with the receptionist at their office and have been promised a call back--also with no response.

Desired Settlement
For starters, the faulty roof installation should be either fully and completely repaired if this will result in a high-quality and leak-free durable roof. Otherwise they should put in a new roof.

Secondly, they should take some responsibility for the damage immediately resulting from the faulty roof.

These would be the bare minimum expected actions from an ethical and reputable company that took pride in and stood by it's work.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We never had a contract with this person. We had a contract with the previous home owner and this customer bought the house from them. We only replaced the flat a portion of the roof because the prior homeowner did not want to replace the entire roof. There was no warranty on the work we did and everything was agreed upon by the old owner. We made a few different suggestions of things that needed to be done but they didn't want to do any of it. Now the new owner has called us saying there is a problem with the roof. We went out to take a look out of good will but explained we are not under warranty to do anything with the roof. If the new homeowner would like to contract with us to fix the issues we are more than happy to do that but we cannot warranty the whole roof when we did not replace the whole thing.

Final Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

This is not at all what happened. When we called the company, **** came out and said of course the roof is still under warranty. He did make a repair to one area of the flat roof. It started leaking in another area of the flat roof and we called them again. **** said he would have ****** come out and make the repair. He did not show up and we called and called but the company stopped answering our calls. We even got previous owner involved and they tried calling the business but they wouldn't take their calls either.

When we bought the house we were told the roof was under warranty. We had no reason to think otherwise since the work was done within the past year. The company should want to stand behind the work they did. The owner definitely told us this was covered under warranty. I finally called off a blocked number and ****** who said they decided not to honor the warranty. I asked for a copy of the original contract to see what is says about the warranty but they would not provide it to me and the previous owner doesn't have it either.

The roof is definitely leaking on the flat roof which is the part of the roof that they replaced less than a year ago. They cannot say that we are not the customer because they already made one repair to the roof. We just want them to stand behind the warranty and fix the leak.

06/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A/C line was damaged by a roofing nail in the attic. Aculine will not repair at their cost.
They want me to pay for damage - at least $1200.00
New roof was installed in late March 2013. A/C line was damaged by a roofing nail in the attic. Aculine will not repair at their cost.
They want me to pay for damage - at least $1200.00. Owner: ******* ****, *** ******** Salesman - ***** *******
I do not have air and it is getting very hot weather. I am 65+ and am a widow. I paid $9500. for the roof. I also recommended them to my neighbor and he purchased a roof.

Desired Settlement
I want the A/C line repaired and my air conditioning running. I lost freon and my air conditioning charged me $146.00 to find problem.
I have lost work time and this situation is very stressful. I have been in contact with the roofer for over a week with no resolution.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

The ac freon line was installed too close to the underside of the roof decking in her attic. Roofing code required us to use an inch and a quarter roofing nail which pierced one of the freon lines. All plumbing and ac lines should be 4-6 inches away from the underside of the decking according to building code but this was not the case with her line. The customer got quotes that were very high for the industry. We have an ac guy who could take a look at it and give another quote. We offered to remove the roofing in the area so the line could be repaired instead of completely replaced. Then the ac company can fix the line and recharge the ac. We also told her she should call the ac company that installed the unit since they did not install the line to code. The customer would not accept this option. We are willing to split the cost of repair with the customer if she agrees to allow the repair to be done based on a licensed ac contractor recommendation.

Consumer's Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

After my air conditioning company found the leak I called Acu-Line, they sent their supervisor who confirmed there was a nail in the line. We kept going back and forth about what they were going to do and they decided they would cut a hole in the roof and get an ac company out to fix the line. There was no offer to pay half, they just said they were sorry and that it would cost $1200. I did not trust them anymore and found an ac company who would replace the line with no damage to the roof for $1750. That is what I did and I feel Acu-Line should reimburse me for that amount, plus the cost of having it inspected by the air conditioning company who charged me $136 to tell me I had a nail in the ac line. ****** ********* from Acu-Line called me this morning, May 14th, to say they would pay for the whole repair. Then he called back later saying they would only pay for $800. Before that, they wouldn't pay for anything and only offered to put a hole in the roof to fix it. I want the full reimbursement of $1,886.

Also, I have called them to get a paid in full receipt for the installation of my roof and a lien release. **** said he put it in the mail Friday but I don't have it yet.

06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/08/2011Business started: 08/31/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach
100 S Myrtle Ave Rm 202
Clearwater, FL33756-5520
(727) 562-4567
http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

BBB records show a license number of CBC1258259 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CCC1329635 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of BTR-0028455 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach. Their web address is http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of I-CBC1258259 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of I-CCC1329635 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CCC1329635 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael D. Buis (Managing Member)Customer Contact: Mr. Jerome Hendrickson (General Manager)Ms Amanda Martin (Marketing and Sales Manager)Mr. Harry F. Roberts (Managing Member)
Business Category

Roofers, Commercial Construction Companies, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Window Installation Companies, Roofing Consultants, Commercial Roofing, Home Builders, Construction Companies

Alternate Business Names
Acu-Line Roofing, LLC, Acu-Line Construction, LLC
LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1185 Ponce De Leon Blvd 

    Clearwater, FL 33756-1040

  • 1201 Hamlet Ave 

    Clearwater, FL 33756-3329(727) 286-6169
    (813) 279-1725

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Acu-Line Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (813) 279-1725
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.facebook.com/AcuLineRoofing
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.