BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/24/2010

Apple Roof Cleaning Tampa

(813) 655-8777711 Westbrook Ave, BrandonFL 33511-5439View Additional Web AddressesFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Apple Roof Cleaning provides asphalt shingle and tile roof cleaning services in the greater Tampa Florida area.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/24/2010

BBB has determined that Apple Roof Cleaning Tampa meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Apple Roof Cleaning Tampa's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Apple Roof Cleaning Tampa

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Changing cost estimate. Refusing to give a specified date for service.
I contacted Apple Roof Cleaning on 4/29/2014 to clean my roof. I live out of state. My tenant made first contact with this business. The original employee spoken to was, I was told, the owners son, who, was sitting in his truck across the street from my house while doing another job a few houses away from mine. The son quoted my tenant $450 to clean my roof, driveway, and sidewalks. Obviously, since the son was just across the street, he could clearly see the scope of work involved in order to provide his "verbal" estimate. The son never did provide a written estimate. This was my first warning sign, and I regret now that I did not heed it. Never again.

Two weeks later, I did call Apple Roof Cleaning to schedule service, The father, *****, took my call. He answered his phone promptly. After stating my name and purpose of contact, he appeared to have been expecting my call and, indeed he was. My tenant informed him a week ago to expect my phone call.

The first question I asked ***** was for a date availability so that I could relay that infor to my tenant in order to assure ***** that someone would be home to pay him when the job was completed. He refused to provide me with even a ball park date range. His response was: "I get to it when I can". My response was: "well, when will that be??". His very terse reply was: "whenever the weather will let me!!" He is correct. He needs at least 24hrs of dry weather. Instead of and polite and respectful reply, I got a short-tempered old man rudely admonishing me like one would a child. If I were him, my reply would have been something similar to: "Sir, Apple Roofing stands by it quality of work. We want to do the job right. Currently the 5-day weather forecast is predicting 30% to 60% chance of rain. I looked up the forecast today. In my business, I need to monitor the weather daily so if there is a window of opportunity to do the job, I will make every attempt to do yours, If the weather does not permit me this week, I will certainly make every attempt next week and you can be assured that I will keep in contact with you regularly from this point forward for scheduling......

Feeling insulted and belittled, I held my composure none-the-less and moved the topic of discussion to job detail and cost. I reiterated to ***** the details quoted by "the son" was $450 for cleaning roof, driveway, and sidewalks.

Before I could continue by asking about warranty of workmanship & materials, etc. ***** rudely cut me off in mid-sentence by saying the sidewalks would cost an extra $50 to do.

He then made a phony half-hearted attempt to be civil. I guess he is still in the mode of resorting to the well worn tactic of diverting a customers attention by quickly changing the subject. He did this by saying that he was from the Detroit area like my tenant. He asked me where I was from and I replied that I was from Colorado, and that I was transferred to ********************* in Las Vegas 3 years ago. After answering his question, I concluded the conversation politely & tactfully despite the fact that all I really wanted to do was to just hang up on him.

On my way home from work 2 hours later, I did call him back with additional questions. I got no answer. I left a message on his voicemail to call me back. It is now past 26 hours since my last attempt to contact ***** and he has not bothered himself with returning my call.

***** should have treated me with more respect, especially if he wanted my initial, then repeat business, not to mention my future referral. By his rudeness and "used car salesman pricing tactics", I get the impression that he of the mindset his business is so good that he doesn't need anymore. Clearly he did not keep in mind the true potential lost revenue resulting from poor customer service and satisfaction, lost opportunities for repeat business, goodwill, and future customers referrals.

Desired Settlement
Original $450 price quoted for roof, driveway & sidewalk. Written estimated containing price quote and scope of work, i.e. work to be done from price quoted, materials, equipment, and methods/processes intended to be used, as well as an accompanying explanation of the nature of work to be preformed together with inherent risks to health and property. The estimate will also contain a clearly stated warranty covering workmanship and materials used. The written estimate/warranty will also cover company liability for any subsequent damage to owner property resulting from faulty workmanship, substitution of originally stated materials, equipment, and processes used roof and landscaping. In addition, QUALITY customer service, before, during and after the sell!!!!

The terms mentioned are not negotiable and anything less than the expectations included here is unacceptable. Apple Roof Cleaning would do well to remember that it does not fill a unique market niche or offer any special or unique type of product or service. Competitors in the Tampa Bay area number in the dozens.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We have been in contact with this customer since the complaint was filed and everything is being resolved to his satisfaction. We are waiting on an email from him and then we will begin the job.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This "No response selection reply is solely intended to keep complaint open until satisfactory completion of work by Apple Roof Cleaning, Tampa if ultimately contracted to perform the service. Apple Roof Cleaning, Tampa, has stated in telephone conversations that it will work to resolve the basis of original complaint. Sent email requesting written estimate, warranty / chemical protection safeguards to exterior home and surrounding landscaping, lawn, and screened patio / foyer. Also requested date of availability, description of chemicals to be used, and disclosure of cleaning methods to be employed (pressure washing or non-pressure washing). Provided payment and contact information. Currently waiting for receipt of estimate and other requested information. Upon satisfactory review of estimate, will give Apple Roof Cleaning, Tampa final consent to proceed with work.

09/10/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Apple assured us that their roof cleaning process would not harm our expensive landscaping but it did. They call it an act of God & refuse to replace.
Apple cleaned our tile roof in Parrish on July 29, 2013 with the repeated assurance that they took great care to avoid damage to surrounding landscaping. *****, the owner, told us that they were the only ones who provided warranties against re-occurrence and would replace any damage done by his team. Within days of treatment, brown spots appeared in several spots in yard and now plants are dying. He calls it an act of God because there was not enough rain to dilute the chemical. He also claimed they could not have known where the downspouts were to predict where the runoff would occur. This is the exact opposite of what he told us before we hired him. He emphasized how much training he does for other roof cleaners because Apple knows all the potential problems that can occur. Now he refuses to honor his verbal commitments. He also charged us $175 more than the next bidder but justified it because of his warranty & vast knowledge about roof cleaning.

Desired Settlement
Apple needs to pay for all replacement costs of dying plants and any additional landscaping fees to replace or retreat dying lawn areas. Apple refused to even discuss or over to rectify.

Business Response
No matter who did this tile roof cleaning job, if the roof was cleaned chemically, you would have had this problem. The problem is this - Your downspouts empty right under, and well out into the yard, right under the Grass! The builder of this home chose to cut corners, unknown to us, and do it this way. We clean shingle and tile with downspouts going into the ground everyday, and never have we had this problem!
This is because every builder always runs the downspouts well down INTO the ground, instead of what they did on your home.
The real problem here is this. Your builder cut a corner, unknown to us, and now we are "the bad guys", in your mind!

Your Tile Roof was filthy, and it took us quite a lot of roof cleaning chemicals to get it nice and clean for you. It was taking so much chemicals to clean it, our employees actually called to inform me!

In fact, in the future, never have your tile roof chemically cleaned, because this problem will happen again, unless the downspouts are disconnected from the ground, and collection bags placed to catch and collect the run off.
A collection bag filled with 50 gallons of run off will weigh 350 lbs, so this is not a very good option either!

In fact, your only option for future cleaning of this tile roof is to insist that only Pressure Washing be used, and NO Chemicals at all!

Pressure Washing your Tile Roof always costs less then what we did (tile roof cleaning chemicals are not cheap), and will not last near as long as the service we provided for you. This is because Pressure Washing uses no chemicals to actually Kill that plant that was growing on your roof! But, since Pressure Wshing uses only high pressure water, the run off is harmless to plants.

As I told you, we are insured, but I was concerned that our Insurance Company would consider this an "Act Of God", and possibly deny the claim.
I will be more then happy to submit this to our Insurance Company, but they will need detailed pictures of all the damage, as well as 3 estimates for landscape repair/replacement.

Had we known (by you telling us), that your builder chose to take a shortcut by simply running the downspouts out into the yard, right under the grass, with a piece of cheap flex pipe, vs doing it the right way, and running the downspouts run off well down into the ground, we would have refused to do this roof cleaning job!

You were unaware of this, and so were we, so let's both agree that it was what it was, an unfortunate accident. I will gladly submit this accident to our Insurance Company, as soon as I am provided with what I asked you for.
*****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Apple continues to deny their carelessness and negligence in this matter by claiming the builder is at fault. This house was thoroughly inspected in November 2012 prior to our purchase and it was specifically noted that the downspouts were in excellent condition so his claim to the contrary is a desperate attempt to deflect their responsibility. All properly built downspouts empty into the yard and the better built ones do go underground. His claim to the contrary is absurd and more proof that he completely misrepresented their expertise in this area. They did not properly prepare the yard or take the usual precautions when using chlorine based chemicals.

The email he included was written prior to the full extent of the damage was known as the brown spots spread to the neighboring yard. He also did not have permission from me or the realtor to include that personal correspondence. This further indicates how desperate he is. He refused to honor any verbal or implied warranty when we engaged his company to clean the roof. I fully acknowledge that the roof is clean, but the damage done to the landscaping is the issue & he refused to discuss any possible solution until this complaint was filed. He claimed it was an Act of God and he was not responsible. Now he claims he made that reference as it pertains to his insurance company. That is a complete misrepresentation of our conversation and he knows it. As I noted in previous posts, we are still assessing the damage and may not know for months if the expensive palm trees were harmed. That could be a couple of thousand dollars to replace and we will pursue legal action if that is the case.

Apple should not have an A rating with BBB based on my experience. Please leave this post as a warning to others who might be deceived by his extensive web presence and claims of expertise.

Final Business Response
There are only 2 ways to clean a tile roof, Pressure Washing, or Chemically. This was explained to you, and you chose us, to clean your tile roof chemically.Your tile roof was extremely dirty, and it took a lot of chemical to get it clean, to our standards.
All the chemical we used to clean your roof has to go somewhere. On a roof with no gutters, the chemical runs off right onto the plants, where we either promptly rinse it off, or cover the plants. Your roof had gutters, that emptied into downspouts.
Your downspouts went right into the ground. We have cleaned over 20,000 roofs in the time we have been in business, many with downspouts that drain into the ground. Most really DO drain well down into the ground. However, your downspouts, unknown to us, drained right under your Grass!
How were we to know this, w/o us actually digging up your yard ?
You paid us for both a cleaning and a roof treatment. The treatment chemical needs to remain on the roof for as long as possible. Here is what happened. I checked the weather that day, and a very slight rain fell at your house, right after the cleaning and roof treatment. It was enough rain to rinse all the treatment chemical off the roof, but not enough to dilute the chemical, and render it harmless.
This is never a problem, on homes that have downspouts that go well down into the ground, below the grass. Unfortunately, your builder chose to run your downspouts right under your lawn, unknown to us, and you.
So, now we seem "negligent" and the "bad guys".
Every precaution was taken to protect your grass, our guys did their usual good job. It is not our fault what happened, but we will turn it into our insurance company anyway, as I told you before. We carry One Million Dollars Insurance.
As far as the damage "spreading", that is highly unlikely, because of the sandy soil we have here in the greater tampa florida area.

Here is an email from your own property manager, indicating the brown spots in the grass will soon grow right back.
She also remarks on the great job we did, cleaning your tile roof!



Hi *****: The Tenant reported there are several areas where, evidently, the
chemicals used to clean the roof have caused brown spots in the yard.
Attached is one of the photos she sent me. I went out and took a look at it
today and there are about a half dozen such places. It looks like it could
be where the sprayer sat. It will probably go away fairly quickly with the
rain we are having but the lawn maintenance company will I'm sure bring this
to your attention. The roof looks a lot better, by the way.

***** ********
Leslie Wells Realty Inc.
**** ** ****
Parrish, FL. XXXXX
(cell) XXX-XXX-XXXX
(fax) XXX-XXX-XXXX

Again, just as soon as I have pictures of the brown spots in the yard, as well as cost estimates to replace the small brown spots in the grass with new pieces of Sod, I will turn these into our Insurance Company.


Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/12/1999Business started: 01/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL 33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of 157814 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris G. Tucker (Owner)Mr. James Tucker (Operations Manager)
Business Category

Roof Cleaners

Products & Services

This company provides safe, non-pressure, chemical roof cleaning, pressure washing, and sealing services.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMSun: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PM
Service Area

Greater Tampa Florida Area

Alternate Business Names
Apple Roof Cleaning

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

12 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Apple Roof Cleaning Tampa

711 Westbrook Ave

Brandon, FL 33511-5439

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 711 Westbrook Ave 

    Brandon, FL 33511-5439

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Apple Roof Cleaning Tampa is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roof Cleaners

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.